Cranbourne Cup this Sunday

Dec 11, 2006
skye
Gday Boys

Going to a marquee at the Cranbourne cup this weekend for The Punters club for Skye FC

Anyone got any inside knowledge on some good tips for me??

Thanks in advance.......

Fields will come out in the morning so we will get a better guide then!!

just looking at the noms, in the cup i like:
  • pacino,good run last start in the jra cup
  • blue collar jack is going for back 2 back i think as well

Yeah i had Pacino marked down after his JRA Cup run, been waiting for his next start. Depends on weight, barrier and of course who else is in the field though.

yeah his run was massive as he worked hard early, and then pulled his head off!!

if he can settle in his races, i think he has legitimate claims in group races!! i know its a big call, but its amazing how well he fought on in the JRA

fields are just out:

• race 8, number 5- pacino..... he has barrier 10 in a field of 12 and the the race has dropped away. this wont be a problem as he will go straight to the front!! sarrera, and blue collar jack are the dangers for mine.
  • race 7, number 1- straight legs...honest campaigner who is a really good each way bet.he has only been out of the top 3 once in all of his 1st up runs,and is a 1000m specialist. although he has plenty of weight, alot of these runners have question marks over there heads: sharkbite, apple lode, blessed sue( who i presume will start very short)
  • race 9, number 4- tall trees.....this horse will start big odds, but i rate his chances on an each way basis. he never runs a bad race, and this race isnt strong. the other horse who i think will be hard to beat is escape artist. this son of redoutes choice go's well at the track and is ready to win
  • race 10 numbers 4 and 5, larson and mr baritone:- these open class gallopers are always competitive and are great each way chances. larson runs well at the track and mr baritone has the class edge in this field.
it is harder to find winners in the earlier races, maidens and 3yr old restricted events, i dont know the form as well!!

Always a good day Cranbourne Cup day, the crowd are a bit feral down there but its a nice way to spend a Sunday down there. Hoping the weather clears up by then.

Thanks for the tips boys, I hear Jennifer hawkins might be there on Sunday!! god I hope so!!

I will report back on Monday and let you guys know how I went on the punt, Go Fullta thanks heaps mate

I should be able to remember the day, the punters club has organised Bourbon for breakfast so I will put my bets on early I think!!!

Anyone know the program for Pacino after today? Can he get more then 2000? If so why wasn't he in the Winning Edge yesterday? I'm really interested in this horse, would like info!! :)

Greg Carpenter (Chief Handicaper) said yesterday that it would have to win the Cranbourne Cup in a super impressive display (say 5 lengths) to get enough of a penalty to get into the Caulfield Cup.

Will be interesting to see how he goes on the slow today.
Previous runs on anything worse than dead must be a concern.

Sarrera for me,quality horse ready for the trip.
Pacino was good last start but he's won 2 races & he'll be $2.5

seth

Itstheone for me, which will come as no shock to the regulars.
Has been deliberately left for the country cups & alike.
Given no northern raiders may not be a bad year to have a promising new stayer on the scene. Will be an interesting year to see how the Country Cups stand up.

Anyone looking at Kilmore today I did get a phone call this morning informing me that Race 6 No 10 Stravinsky's Image would be tough to beat.
Will be favourite. To be honest I don't know much about the horse.

Will be interesting to see how he goes on the slow today.
Previous runs on anything worse than dead must be a concern.

Yep but you simpily have to back it at current price regardless. The JRA form is first rate, the form race of the spring so far and the horses Pacino faces here are inferior in every respect. Pacino should be odds on.

Seriously, if Maldy was in this, he'd be $1.05 and Master O would be $1.40. So how on earth does Pacino warrant $2.60 carrying the minimum weight splitting the 2 best horses in the country at it's previous start?

Oh i know!! I stepped into the twilight zone and watched a different Pacino run..... :rolleyes:

I hope the layers get massacred on betfair over this race... :)

Oh i know!! I stepped into the twilight zone and watched a different Pacino run..... :rolleyes:

I hope the layers get massacred on betfair over this race... :)

Track upgraded to dead.
Ease up Ron, if you have seen Pacino on any worse than dead you would know where I was headed.
Wasn't slagging the horse, just concerned about the conditions.

Bobby, i wasn't being hostile towards your post. It was more aimed at the betfair layers happy to take Pacino on. I respect what you have to say. :)

Cranbourne Cup this Sunday