• ...Any Colour You Like

Votes: 4 1.7%
  • ...Eclipse

Votes: 11 4.6%

That’s why we just dumped Collective Minds.
That's the weakest thing I've seen our club do since they sanctioned Bernie Vinci for just being a good community member of his home team. Steve Trigg lost me for that decision and I have lost some faith in fagan for caving here.
Leadership is about strength and that means standing up to the media and the vocal minority.

I don't believe they are competent because they work for AFC, I believe they are competent because they have consistently kept our club competitive in an environment where they have 17 very professional competitors, and they have done it in an environment where the AFL constantly tries to level the playing field. You obviously have no idea of the challenge of doing that, bloody easy to be a critic from the cheap seats mate.
Collingwood fitness department are so bad that their players are blowing both hammies at the same time

I repeat my point, unless you honestly think you can do someone's job better than them then be very careful of criticising. You know glass houses and all that.
I'm starting to agree with you to a certain extent regarding the media having an agenda. When they start quoting a post on facebook from the wife of a deceased former coach on the national competitions website things have gone way too far. However, you say you have 100% faith that the AFC team is competent yet you say the Collingwood fitness dept are so bad. We have had at least the equal number of injuries so by definition.....................?

If you really are the supporter you claim to be then you would know and understand that every single organisation in the world has made mistakes. The good ones learn more from them than their successes. Our club has certainly made mistakes but any impartial observer judges us as having made less than most others. I know many of the guys at the AFC well and can tell you in all honesty you can rest easy, there is 100x more incompetence in our media than in our footy club. Our team is united and nearly everything you have read is crap.
Back em in to respond then?

And you working for the club was easier to spot than you lying about not knowing of the presser.

You are right , mistakes happen and people learn. But to suggest the club knows how to deal with mistakes is incorrect. Tippet sanctions that cost us more than the 2 years , Trigg stayed. Thats a big mistake by the club.

Not dealing with the PLAYERS concerns about the camp in the correct manner is another mistake. The further mistake is to be tone deaf to the players concerns that allowed the players to feel the best way to get satisfaction is to talk to the press. To suggest the press is to blame for CM getting the boot tells me you are a sycophant.

Our team is NOT united. You could see that in Alice Springs and Perth

I'm starting to agree with you to a certain extent regarding the media having an agenda. When they start quoting a post on facebook from the wife of a deceased former coach on the national competitions website things have gone way too far. However, you say you have 100% faith that the AFC team is competent yet you say the Collingwood fitness dept are so bad. We have had at least the equal number of injuries so by definition.....................?
Sorry mate I am not great on tablet and tried to have an Imogee with the Collingwood bit but failed, I certainly aren't blaming or comparing them. It was just a joke about hamstrings.
I'm glad you are at least realising that the media have an agenda. All I ask is that anyone who actually supports our club just look at the evidence.
Rucci, Wilson, McClure and god only knows "crows fractured and in crisis"
Sloane, Lynch, Walker, Betts, Pyke and Sauce "loved the camp and got heaps out of it"
My question is why would a supporter believe the journos?

Back em in to respond then?

And you working for the club was easier to spot than you lying about not knowing of the presser.

You are right , mistakes happen and people learn. But to suggest the club knows how to deal with mistakes is incorrect. Tippet sanctions that cost us more than the 2 years , Trigg stayed. Thats a big mistake by the club.

Not dealing with the PLAYERS concerns about the camp in the correct manner is another mistake. The further mistake is to be tone deaf to the players concerns that allowed the players to feel the best way to get satisfaction is to talk to the press. To suggest the press is to blame for CM getting the boot tells me you are a sycophant.

Our team is NOT united. You could see that in Alice Springs and Perth
Mate ready for bed but just want to clear a few things here. Don't work for the club at all, I have certainly thought about it but no I don't. I have a couple of the board members that I do work for, and one that I have been trying to convince to work for me, but no I am just what I said, a supporter who knows enough about the environment to know that the guys that work for us are bloody good at what they do..

Please don't get me started on the Tippett thing because we did absolutely nothing wrong there and it still shits me. That's AFL caving to the media at its finest..

And lastly, please mate would you listen to the players rather than the media when you make these assumptions.
You have heard at least 6 players say they enjoyed the camp and only heard media saying that players didn't
Why do you believe that?
If this was a court of law, what decision do you really think a judge would have reached.

Please don't get me started on the Tippett thing because we did absolutely nothing wrong there and it still shits me. That's AFL caving to the media at its finest..
Really?

And lastly, please mate would you listen to the players rather than the media when you make these assumptions.
You have heard at least 6 players say they enjoyed the camp and only heard media saying that players didn't
Why do you believe that?
If this was a court of law, what decision do you really think a judge would have reached.
I have listened to those who have found positives. i agree that its mostly a benefit

BUT

Do you think the negative noise is coming from them? Of course not. It is coming from players who didnt enjoy it. They had issues with it. They took those issues to the club. You agree with all of that surely?

If these noises and negatives have carried on for 3 months suggests the club , and in this case Burton, have not dealt with it. Doesnt matter if the club thinks it has. They havent. Or they havent tried enough. If they think the media have an agenda then they havent communicated through their own channels the better message. Sure its a game and at the moment the print and visual media are kicking the AFCs arse.

That the AFc have bunkered down suggests to me , and it would indeed suggest to a jury, that they havent dealt with it. Otherwise they would have EVERY player say they enjoyed it and not got rid of CM

Really?

I have listened to those who have found positives. i agree that its mostly a benefit

BUT

Do you think the negative noise is coming from them? Of course not. It is coming from players who didnt enjoy it. They had issues with it. They took those issues to the club. You agree with all of that surely?

If these noises and negatives have carried on for 3 months suggests the club , and in this case Burton, have not dealt with it. Doesnt matter if the club thinks it has. They havent. Or they havent tried enough. If they think the media have an agenda then they havent communicated through their own channels the better message. Sure its a game and at the moment the print and visual media are kicking the AFCs arse.

That the AFc have bunkered down suggests to me , and it would indeed suggest to a jury, that they havent dealt with it. Otherwise they would have EVERY player say they enjoyed it and not got rid of CM
Why do you assume the negative noise is coming from those that didn't enjoy it.
From what I read on this forum those unamed players where... Eddie, oh hang on he denied it, no no it was Sauce upset about his brother... oh hang on he also denied it, no it was Lynch, that's why he wasn't playing earlier, oh hang on, he denied it. MAte, who are these un named players that you believe above the ones that have talked. And more specifically, why do you believe them above Tex, Sloane, Sauce, Eddie, Lynch and others. That's what I don't get. It's like people so want it to be true that they don't listen to direct conflicting evidence.

Given you’re posting in a thread about a press conference that you don’t know existed, it’s fair to say my description is on the money.
No your right, me not knowing about a press conference that happened last week totally dismisses my argument. You are the winner and the case is proven. Good work mate, should be a lawyer or write for the Advertiser. Ha ha

Why do you assume the negative noise is coming from those that didn't enjoy it.
Because it sure isnt coming from those that did like it
From what I read on this forum those unamed players where... Eddie, oh hang on he denied it, no no it was Sauce upset about his brother... oh hang on he also denied it,
No they did NOT deny it. They actually took their concerns to the club. Do your homework.

And more specifically, why do you believe them above Tex, Sloane, Sauce, Eddie, Lynch and others. That's what I don't get. It's like people so want it to be true that they don't listen to direct conflicting evidence.
Because the noise is still happening. Why did the club drop CM. Because the noise is still happening

No your right, me not knowing about a press conference that happened last week totally dismisses my argument. You are the winner and the case is proven. Good work mate, should be a lawyer or write for the Advertiser. Ha ha
You not knowing about a press conference and posting in a thread about it does make you a moron, I’m sorry but there isn’t any other explanation. It’s in the title.

I must admit, hearing that sound grab again of Sloaney from a few months ago, he sounded really genuine in his comments.

Judd is right in that alot of players comments in the media can be treated with a pinch of salt, but in this case, I reckon he's completely misread it (either that or he is deliberately shit stirring).

Rory's tweet in reply seems to reinforce that. Sounds genuinely indignant.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

Because it sure isnt coming from those that did like it
No they did NOT deny it. They actually took their concerns to the club. Do your homework.

Because the noise is still happening. Why did the club drop CM. Because the noise is still happening
Just to play devils advocate here, you are accepting that several several players at least did like it. Well OK that means that it wasn't some wacky concept that the whole playing group thought was a stupid idea.
So some apparently didn't like it. Really? A work place where not all the employees bought in to something the managers tried. Imagine that.
Doesn't change the issue, who do you actually believe is unhappy and why do you believe the media over your own players?

Just to play devils advocate here, you are accepting that several several players at least did like it. Well OK that means that it wasn't some wacky concept that the whole playing group thought was a stupid idea.
So some apparently didn't like it. Really? A work place where not all the employees bought in to something the managers tried. Imagine that.
Doesn't change the issue, who do you actually believe is unhappy and why do you believe the media over your own players?
Because the noise is still happening. which part of it dont you recognise? Have the club offered EVERY player to the media to praise the bejesus out of CM. Because thats what I would do as Football Manager. Then tell the media to put up or shut up

Look even Pyke admitted some players weren’t happy, so unless Don is in the media, the poor boy is stuffing up again.

Because the noise is still happening. Why did the club drop CM. Because the noise is still happening[/QUOTE]

Sorry on this. Why is the noise still happening? Because there are 800 full time media for a sport that should have 50 and AFC alienate SA media because they call them out on being incompetent.

Sorry it annoys me so much that people will call for Burton or others to be sacked without knowing any facts on their performance while they will treat members of the SA media, who have been proven for so long to be incompetent and downright liars, as the founts of truth. Why do we do this without any evidence? The word supporter has support as its root for a reason.

Are you actually saying that the noise from the media is still happening therefore what the media is saying is true?

You know that press conference you didn’t know about, well Don admitted some players weren’t happy and instead of bringing the players together it did the opposite, he called it a fail. Do you know who Don is?

Sorry I thought you were ignoring me. OK some players didn't like it, how is that even a story.
"Club tries mind strengthening group, Sloane, Walker, Betts, Lynch, Jacobs and others thought it was great, some hated it, club decides after 6 months to not continue."
Have you ever been on a board? I promise you mate this is not even unusual let alone a story. The only issue here is that you are believing the tripe from the media, who obviously hate this footy club, over your own players.
Just a suggestion, try believing what makes sense rather than what makes headlines.

When the heat was probably at its fiercest, someone on our list leaked Tex’s text message to the players. That still seriously pisses me off.
First thing I totally agree with. Your footy mates are sacrosanct. Don't want anyone playing for our club that doesn't believe and live that.