Crows to face Power in U23 trial game at Thebarton 23/2/2019

Given their relative draft position if I was rating our new draftees on today's performances
1. Lachlan Sholl
2. Ned McHenry
3. Jordan Butts
4. Chayce Jones
5. Will Hamill
6. Keiran Strachan

Thoughts?
Agreed, Ned being the best of the lot IMO.

What excites me though, is Crouch. The guy hasnt played in 18 months and didn't look like he missed a beat.

Dont care for negatives or the result.

Liked Davis. Looks like another pre season has really helped him.

Still not convinced with Stengle or McAdam. Id like to see more defensive pressure in the forward line from them. But they are only young, so there will be improvement.
Liked Murphy, Doedee, Crouch, Keath. Fog just ok, but we didnt really have a big man stand out.

Oh, and by the way, it was a trial game.

Himmelberg is nowhere near ready to be a first choice ruck.
Can also say that about Jacob's. I think this year with the rule changes we will see a massive change in the type of player in the ruck combined with more rotations through the position.

Given their relative draft position if I was rating our new draftees on today's performances
1. Lachlan Sholl
2. Ned McHenry
3. Jordan Butts
4. Chayce Jones
5. Will Hamill
6. Keiran Strachan

Thoughts?
Butts and McHenry impressed me.

I like Butts size and he had good positioning.

McHenry is just tenacious. A trait you have spoken about, I believe. Seeing his second and third efforts was great.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Still not convinced with Stengle or McAdam. Id like to see more defensive pressure in the forward line from them. But they are only young, so there will be improvement.
Liked Murphy, Doedee, Crouch, Keath. Fog just ok, but we didnt really have a big man stand out.

Jesus you're a hard marker, I thought McAdam's pressure acts in particular up until he ran out of petrol tickets were 1st class, one of his chase downs one of the highlights of the game for mine.

What disturbed me was the massive drop off between the 1st and 2nd halves. Port had a much more experienced team, with a lot more players who are likely to be in their R1 team. I wasn't expecting Adelaide to win. Despite that, Adelaide dominated most of the first half (other than a period late in the 1st quarter). That dominance disappeared completely in the 2nd half, as Port ran all over us. Our midfield was smashed, with the result that the ball spent 80% or more of the time in Port's forward half.

It was only a trial game, and it's entirely plausible that the coaches went into the 2nd half with the aim of trying out different players & different tactics. I wouldn't have a problem with that, and it would explain the discrepancy between the two halves. On the other hand, it could just as easily have been a fade out by the Adelaide youngsters, in which case it's a greater cause for concern.
Our intensity dropped off markedly in the 2nd half. Whether this was by design or a fade out is slightly worrying. The 2nd quarter was very pleasing. I am very happy with our small forwards moving forward. My major concern is ruck and pace through the midfield. Fix that and we should finish top 5.

Butts and McHenry impressed me.

I like Butts size and he had good positioning.

McHenry is just tenacious. A trait you have spoken about, I believe. Seeing his second and third efforts was great.

Yep Neddy is something else and the hardest at it kid I've ever seen in all the time I've been watching the U18's, what he lacks in class he more than compensates for with pure grit and determination. No kid has ever bettered his 10.8 average tackles across an U18's Championships ever.

Not convinced by 7 goals from our smalls ?? Hard man to impress !!!

FWIW, my impressions from Thebby.

1) Brad Crouch; started slowly but put his foot down in the second quarter and I was very excited.

2) Alex Keath; Controlled the backlines in the first three quarters (we had Kids and Top-ups in defence in the last quarter. If he stays fit (big IF) he has a big year in front of him.

3)Tyson Stengle; He has a natural instinct for kicking goals, the snap in the third quarter was breathtaking. I was standing next to the fence, the pocket is very deep at Thebby and he just knew what to do.

4) Smurphy; Has gone up another notch, big chance to play in round one.

5) ROB; He dominated the ruck in the first half, his follow up work is excellent. Must play at least 8 games this year.

6) Poholke; Played most of the game as a defensive inside mid. He is much stronger and played very well. Some posters do not understand the roleof the defensive inside mid.

7) McAdam; He has a touch of class, imho will play some games this year.

8) Gallucci; Looked a bit flat and took a while to get into the game.

9) Knight; Refer to Gallucci. IMHO Riley wasn’t as bad as some posters suggested, he does a lot of work off the ball. I expect him to play against the Hawks

10) Fogarty; Struggled to impose himself, not a lock for round one.

11) Davis; Showed flashes of class, I really, really, really hope he is O.K. He landed awkwardly (I was standing nearby) and he could have tweaked his knee but I have seen ACLs done in the same fashion.

12) Chayce Jones; He is a neat looking footballer but he couldn’t get into the game.

13) Ned McHenry; Like an energiser bunny, showed some good flashes but unlikely for round 1.

14) Hamill, Scholl, Butts, Strachan; All showed why they were drafted but unlikely to play AFL this year.

15) Patty Wilson; He has clean hands and can find the ball. His off the ball running seemed much better but he turns the ball over too much.

16) Paul Hunter; Looks like goliath compared to Strachanie. He would not be the worst ruck to play in the AFL. Hopefully we will not need him.

17) The Dude; looked a class above this level (but Ryan Burton has a magnificent tan and a great looking body).

Our intensity dropped off markedly in the 2nd half. Whether this was by design or a fade out is slightly worrying. The 2nd quarter was very pleasing. I am very happy with our small forwards moving forward. My major concern is ruck and pace through the midfield. Fix that and we should finish top 5.
Easy to forget that by far our classiest ball user is U23 and didnt play today. He provides pace too, albeit I dont see a full time mid role for him..... this year

I'm not concerned by the fade out, cue went in the rack and even a 5% drop against a focused opponent will see a turnaround like we did.

I'd be more concerned if we were blown away early, that's a sign we arent switched on. Also, our defence had 1 or maybe 2 R1 players in it, which made for some very easy goals.

I'm in hospital with high blood pressure, admitted on Thursday with bp 281 over 135, by today Dr's had it down to 220 but after watching the game it went up to 247 and they were going to call another emergency meeting but I explained to the Doctor about the game so she said she would give me 30 minutes before she called the meeting, thankfully it dropped to 220 in time after me thinking about the first three quarters.

Thought it was a great game to watch. Atmosphere was nice and relaxed. Thought it was great to see both sides getting together to shake hands after the game. Too often things get too over the top so that was nice.

In terms of performances, you guys had alot of really raw talls it seemed. Bit of filling out to do. Murphy is a great little goal sneak. Jones and Fogarty would have been underwhelming I would think? Fogarty is a big lad, maybe too big. Very McCartinesque.

Hope Davis is okay, I was near the bench and he looked in a bit of strife.

On our side, Drew had me really happy as did Duursma. Drew is a funny case, no one at port would even know who he is but he's been on the list a few years and has missed a shitload of footy. Only played 1 SANFL game last year.

Gotta be happy with Brad Crouch getting through unscathed, thought he was a bit rusty but players of that calibre cruise in games like this.

I reckon the rule changes are looking a treat too.

I'm in hospital with high blood pressure, admitted on Thursday with bp 281 over 135, by today Dr's had it down to 220 but after watching the game it went up to 247 and they were going to call another emergency meeting but I explained to the Doctor about the game so she said she would give me 30 minutes before she called the meeting, thankfully it dropped to 220 in time after me thinking about the first three quarters.
You probably sbouldn't have been watching the footy mate! That is extreme high blood pressure. You're literally a ticking time bomb if it keeps going higher and higher..
The docs should probably be banning you from any TV or watching anything exciting on Youtube!

FWIW, my impressions from Thebby.

1) Brad Crouch; started slowly but put his foot down in the second quarter and I was very excited.

2) Alex Keath; Controlled the backlines in the first three quarters (we had Kids and Top-ups in defence in the last quarter. If he stays fit (big IF) he has a big year in front of him.

3)Tyson Stengle; He has a natural instinct for kicking goals, the snap in the third quarter was breathtaking. I was standing next to the fence, the pocket is very deep at Thebby and he just knew what to do.

4) Smurphy; Has gone up another notch, big chance to play in round one.

5) ROB; He dominated the ruck in the first half, his follow up work is excellent. Must play at least 8 games this year.

6) Poholke; Played most of the game as a defensive inside mid. He is much stronger and played very well. Some posters do not understand the roleof the defensive inside mid.

7) McAdam; He has a touch of class, imho will play some games this year.

8) Gallucci; Looked a bit flat and took a while to get into the game.

9) Knight; Refer to Gallucci. IMHO Riley wasn’t as bad as some posters suggested, he does a lot of work off the ball. I expect him to play against the Hawks

10) Fogarty; Struggled to impose himself, not a lock for round one.

11) Davis; Showed flashes of class, I really, really, really hope he is O.K. He landed awkwardly (I was standing nearby) and he could have tweaked his knee but I have seen ACLs done in the same fashion.

12) Chayce Jones; He is a neat looking footballer but he couldn’t get into the game.

13) Ned McHenry; Like an energiser bunny, showed some good flashes but unlikely for round 1.

14) Hamill, Scholl, Butts, Strachan; All showed why they were drafted but unlikely to play AFL this year.

15) Patty Wilson; He has clean hands and can find the ball. His off the ball running seemed much better but he turns the ball over too much.

16) Paul Hunter; Looks like goliath compared to Strachanie. He would not be the worst ruck to play in the AFL. Hopefully we will not need him.

17) The Dude; looked a class above this level (but Ryan Burton has a magnificent tan and a great looking body).

Lol.

Did you spot anyone wearing cycling gear and a crows hat that was cheering on Burton and booing the Dude? :)

Thought it was a great game to watch. Atmosphere was nice and relaxed. Thought it was great to see both sides getting together to shake hands after the game. Too often things get too over the top so that was nice.

In terms of performances, you guys had alot of really raw talls it seemed. Bit of filling out to do. Murphy is a great little goal sneak. Jones and Fogarty would have been underwhelming I would think? Fogarty is a big lad, maybe too big. Very McCartinesque.

Hope Davis is okay, I was near the bench and he looked in a bit of strife.

On our side, Drew had me really happy as did Duursma. Drew is a funny case, no one at port would even know who he is but he's been on the list a few years and has missed a shitload of footy. Only played 1 SANFL game last year.

Gotta be happy with Brad Crouch getting through unscathed, thought he was a bit rusty but players of that calibre cruise in games like this.

I reckon the rule changes are looking a treat too.
Did the 666 formation at the start make a massive difference?

Not just a question for you but others at the game.

I thought it had minimal impact however it is a small.ground with the 50m arc not that far from the centre square.

I do feel it is really going to make an impact at the G.

Holding the Ball was a bit of Russian Roulette. Both ways.

I have 50Mbps NBN broadband - not fraudband. The stream was solid, but at only 2.74Mbps it lacked the bandwidth to provide a decent picture. You could tell from the still shots (ball ups) that they were using HD cameras, but shoving that signal down a narrow pipe meant that the picture quality suffered really badly whenever there was significant movement.
I have the fibre to the home version.
I was going through a provider called AusBBS, with really good customer service and up until a few weeks ago, speed test usually ran about 21 Mbps down.
Then 3 weeks ago I get an email alerting me I’m with Southern Phone. Well my 25 Mbps service now averages 10Mbps and lots of nothing loading for long periods They are impossible to contact outside weekdays. 9 to 5. Anyone got a good provider?

Did the 666 formation at the start make a massive difference?

Not just a question for you but others at the game.

I thought it had minimal impact however it is a small.ground with the 50m arc not that far from the centre square.

I do feel it is really going to make an impact at the G.

Holding the Ball was a bit of Russian Roulette. Both ways.

I thought holding the footy was adjudicated pretty harshly.

As for 6-6-6 I think it's hard to say but it felt like it opened the middle more for more centre breaks and that is what allowed Bonner to steam up through there so many times. No way he could do that with how congested it was getting in there last year.

I reckon it opens the game up for many more goals kicked straight out of play from the middle. The G by comparison will look like a paddock of space. Having outside options and winning ruck contests is going to be of supreme importance.

Crows to face Power in U23 trial game at Thebarton 23/2/2019