Current Membership Tally

You can rip 10-15k members off Freo as its well known the queue to get Eagles membership is over 4 years and you have to pay $45 every year just to stay on the list. I have mates who are hardcore Eagles and they bought docker memberships just so they could go to watch AFL games and get seats on Docker home game Derbies.

So there are 10-15k freo members who are Eagles fans, but only 5k on the (much cheaper) Eagles waiting list that also gives you the opportunity to buy tickets to Eagles games?

Wasn't that said last year?

And the year before?

And the year before that?

One thing you have to love about Carlton is that no matter how bad a year can get there is always a fantastically optimistic sense that things will be massively different the following year.

If Ratten doesn't win many games and Judd fails to live up to expectation can the same level of hype and optimism continue another year?

Hopefully we'll be well over 35K by our Round 6-7 home matches against Richmond and Collingwood (both at MCG).

Could push 38K by June.

What does a Tassie Hawk adult member pay for his/her membership and how many games does that give him/her access to.

EG is a Tassie Hawk who might pay $90 for 3 games in Tassie + 1 NAB given the same full status as a Melbourne based adult member who might pay $150 for home games and maybe have access to away Melbourne based games?

What does a Tassie Hawk adult member pay for his/her membership and how many games does that give him/her access to.

EG is a Tassie Hawk who might pay $90 for 3 games in Tassie + 1 NAB given the same full status as a Melbourne based adult member who might pay $150 for home games and maybe have access to away Melbourne based games?
Then they get 100% value. Unlike Port members who may buy their memberships, but judging by the piss poor attendance at games, don't even bother to turn up.

Hawthorn supporters having a go at other clubs' members not showing up?

Fair dinkum, your club has been famous for pulling crowds nowhere near supposed membership figures mate.

$70 for the 4 games, it doesn't guarantee you a seat. The one with seating is $140 for 4 games. Not sure if Hawks play 3+1 NAB or 4 H&A games there. I thought it was 4.

The Tassie memberships are santioned by the AFL as ticketed memberships.

Unlike the SA clubs, Melbourne clubs don't have the luxury of including AAMI Stadium memberships in thier membership totals. IMO Melbourne clubs should be allowed to include the MCC members that nominate their club as their nominal club in their membership figures to give a better indication where their club sits support wise in comparison to the SA clubs.

The Tassie memberships are santioned by the AFL as ticketed memberships.

Unlike the SA clubs, Melbourne clubs don't have the luxury of including AAMI Stadium memberships in thier membership totals. IMO Melbourne clubs should be allowed to include the MCC members that nominate their club as their nominal club in their membership figures to give a better indication where their club sits support wise in comparison to the SA clubs.

AFAIK, Football Park membership actually includes a membership to the AFL club, possibly both AFL clubs. MCC membership doesn't.
If you want a comparison, AFL members with club support (which is a huge majority of AFL members) are included in the figures of the club that the member elects.

The Tassie memberships are sanctioned by the AFL as ticketed memberships.

Unlike the SA clubs, Melbourne clubs don't have the luxury of including AAMI Stadium memberships in their membership totals. IMO Melbourne clubs should be allowed to include the MCC members that nominate their club as their nominal club in their membership figures to give a better indication where their club sits support wise in comparison to the SA clubs.

No need to be consumed with anger and fear on this. The main reason I asked was to find out what sort of income stream Tassie members provide for the Hawks rather than bagging them. The AFL recently announced their 2007 Clubs Financial Review and the big issue for them is Stadium Returns. Read the article in this thread I started. This is the reason why asked about the cost of these memberships not any my dick is bigger than yours reason that you seem to be so consumed with.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=421330

All clubs, but mainly the Vic clubs benefit from having AFL Club support members included in their figures. But just like the AFL transfers part of the membership fees to the clubs, ie the equivalent of the Club Membership Adult 11 fee of $131 in 2008, for every adult member, so does the SANFL pass on these payments to the SA clubs from their membership fees. The MCC give the AFL clubs nothing, so why should they be included as financial supporters. They are just barrackers instead.

Consumed you read the headline figure and expect all these members to turn up. Well let me do a bit of a breakdown for you. We have between 34k to 35k members of which 11.5k are SANFL members, what was called category 1 memberships, who have rights to all games at AAMI Stadium. These included about 7k who are crows supporters, 4k Port and its been estimated 0.5k are true neutrals or support both clubs. So you can take off most of those 7k of people from attending Port games. Some crows supporters share memberships with their Port mates, or might turn up to watch a big game but not many. We have 4,800 kids members included in our figures. These kids have rights to game but as they don't have guaranteed seats, that's an extra cost, so probably half don't go to the footy more than a couple of times a year as their parents/grand parents buy the membership more for goodies the kids get with it rather than wanting to take them to games.

Then there are those of us who live interstate and who buy game day memberships so that we can get seats if we make the GF, see it as a donation to the club and leave the tickets with family members who can use it if they wish. We have about 1,500 of those according to the club, mainly Vic based supporters and in WA our supporter group has over 700 members. Then there are our country members. The west coast of SA is Port territory from the SANFL days. I met a couple of guys from Whyalla in Sydney for the swans game on Sunday. They are geologists and were in Sydney for a seminar. They told me they are game day members but only get to 4 or 5 games a year. It's a 4 hour drive from there and they don't go watch Sunday games as they get home too late. How many game day members do we have on the west coast ? I have no idea but given we have several supporter groups on the west coast and country SA it wouldn't surprise me if it close to 1k.

So if you actually look at who attends Port games, you would probably find out that 90%+ of our true port supporting adult "official" members who live within a couple of hours drive of Adelaide, would attend 8 to 11 of the 11 home games.

But don't let the facts get in the way of a simple cliche.

Geelong at 33k +
(no 4 game memberships included :))

Obsessed :)

All clubs, but mainly the Vic clubs benefit from having AFL Club support members included in their figures. But just like the AFL transfers part of the membership fees to the clubs, ie the equivalent of the Club Membership Adult 11 fee of $131 in 2008, for every adult member, so does the SANFL pass on these payments to the SA clubs from their membership fees. The MCC give the AFL clubs nothing, so why should they be included as financial supporters. They are just barrackers instead.

I agree with this, although the MCC membership does hurt Melbourne clubs - especially MCG tenants.

Its a situation the MCC and AFL need to adress...maybe they should introduce an AFL membership type scenerio where part of the membership fee is designated to the nominated club.

Does that include your 5 game Melbourne members

Tongue and cheek aside its a good total, infact its a great total, but was it nessasary to have a dig at another club also having a good year on the membership front?

Melbourne members are 11 games.

I'm not having a dig, I just find it interesting that hawthorn seem to have a different set of rules when it comes to what counts as a ticketed membership.
You had the infamous 'pet' membership a few years ago as well IIRC.

Melbourne members are 11 games.

I'm not having a dig, I just find it interesting that hawthorn seem to have a different set of rules when it comes to what counts as a ticketed membership.
You had the infamous 'pet' membership a few years ago as well IIRC.

Tassie members have access to a few MCG home games and can sit in the Family Area (M8-M12) or in the GA, its not just a 4 game ticket.

The Hawks have around 3000 Tassie members and 1500 WA members. Both are recognised as ticketed memberships by the AFL.

Really?

Tasmanian General Admission - Adult 4-Games
Introduced for our Tasmanian members this 4-game Tasmanian membership package is exclusively for our games at Aurora Stadium.
Save on gate entry and support your team by purchasing a Tassie Hawks 4-game membership. Your membership entitles you to gate entry to our four Aurora Stadium games. If you want a reserved seat please consider a Hudson Club membership or you can purchase daily reserved seating through the AFL ticketing agency, Ticketmaster.

Note: 4-game ticket holders do not have priority access to a Hawthorn Grand Final ticket.

Key components:

* 4-game membership with 2008 membership kit
* Members Only Loyalty Scarf

$70.00

What does that 'exclusively for our games at Aurora Stadium' part mean then?

Well it must have changed this season then?

Either way we only have 3000 Tassie members anyway, if we didn't play down there chances are we would make it up from alienated Hawthorn members in Melbourne. These members are counted as ticketed members of the club - like Geelong's Melbourne members, and cost up to $150 a membership.

Why are you obsessed with our numbers anyway, its pretty obvious that Hawthorn and Geelong have similar sized support bases, the only reason why we have more members is because we play home games at a bigger ground.

Well it must have changed this season then?

Either way we only have 3000 Tassie members anyway, if we didn't play down there chances are we would make it up from alienated Hawthorn members in Melbourne. These members are counted as ticketed members of the club - like Geelong's Melbourne members, and cost up to $150 a membership.

Why are you obsessed with our numbers anyway, its pretty obvious that Hawthorn and Geelong have similar sized support bases, the only reason why we have more members is because we play home games at a bigger ground.

I agree with you mate, but Hawkk posted in a thread a few months ago that Geelong are a good club, but Hawthorn are a GREAT club. he claimed that the difference was off field performance. I think thats why Geelong fans are so interested in this.

I think a few Cat fans took those tongue and cheek comments too seriously.

With the amount of Bay13 flogs in the Cats ranks, you'd think their fans would have a thicker skin

Current Membership Tally