D GRADE: Give me something...

Knackers: Fat blokes are bound to throw up when asked to run... i didn't think that was the most interesting part of the training session....I thought the work they did on coming from behind was excellent, it involved a game called heads down bums up.

I Love Sandra Sully said:
Knackers: Fat blokes are bound to throw up when asked to run... i didn't think that was the most interesting part of the training session....I thought the work they did on coming from behind was excellent, it involved a game called heads down bums up.
Is throwing up something you have suffered from before ILSS. I don't see any posts from or about lower sides in D1, come on if there are any St Leos people out there you have something to talk about after the weekend? Also they can clarrify with us if Rupo are as soft as butter............

OldMelburnian28 said:
Bout time those boys got a hiding to wake up to themselves!!!
So Steven Goodwin in gay? ILSS you said you;ve always been looking for a homosexual red head yeah??

OM28, I have heard rumours that he is not gay at all, but suffering from a severe case of Gingervitis, which may keep him out of the 1's for several weeks.....Poor Bloke!:thumbsdown:

http://www.gingerkids.org/

Moss Rocket tips for round 8 (am going away for 2 weeks, so need to get in early.)
Nightmare round. All games very hard.
BT to win at home over OC
OGS to win at home over Rupo
OM's just over YV at YV
Therry to finally win a close one at banyule
St.Leos 2 in a row at Prahran.

Bottom three games, i am going for the away side. Risky! Top 2 games between the top 4 sides at present are impossible to pick. Gone for the home teams.

It has been a great read lately, keep it up!

Moss...off!:)

What a difference a one point loss can have. Making your team run until they spew is a little extreme, if they got run over in the last quarter by 8 goals then the punishment may be just. Therry's performance in the last quarter was not all that bad, they managed to equal BT for the term. Looking at results, BT have only lost 2 last quarters so far by a total margin of 10 points, so they are strong finishers. On the other hand therry have not won a last quarter in the last 5 rounds!

Maybe the running should have occured in the pre-season?

Henry24, First post mate glad you have waited all this time to join, maybe you should have waited another 7 years. From reports one bloke had a spew which could have been from a number of factors, one being he ate before he came to training. Therry did have a hard session but what is really expected when you have a week off. So please mention Henry24........what team do you support??

Phar Lap go back to your stable and keep it down. Therry HAVE lost every last quarter in the previous 5 rounds so something must be done. From the look of their squad it seems they are in good shape, so maybe just lacking a bit of ticker henry 24? and in the coaches eyes one way to put their tickers to the test, is to make them run sprints for a whole training session to see who sticks fat...and who drops out or complains.

I think they are a fit looking unit (therefore a solid pre season has been done)
but are just lacking ticker and a positive attitude.

Good post henry 24, phar lap stop having erections or u may jusr die from a heart attack.

OM28, that is probably one of the stupidest posts I have seen in at least a week. I don't think therry has any problem with there ticker the games I have seen they have lost because of stupid mistakes not lack of disire!!

Interesting thoughts on Therry's training. They are way too solid a team to be 3-4 in D1 this year. I am not suprised the coach is a little surly and training them hard, after the close losses they have had. Nothing to do with ticker, but these last quarter performances are not flash. Expect them to come out smoking next week.
I think it is safe to say that Henry has a soft spot for the Bullants. However, he is a regular contributor to this thread. And his opinions are always welcome!
As Moss Rocket said, next week is a rip snorting round, where all 5 games are very difficult to pick. The top 4 teams play one another. The bottom 2 square off. Thus leaving the mid pack 3-4 teams to do battle. This means that 2 teams out of the Banyule, Therry, YV and OM's will be 3-5 after round 8. These two teams will not be playing finals this year!

So my tips:

Rupo will come out breathing fire after last weeks debacle. However the OGS too will be disappointed to have lost a close one to the OC. At home OGS..just
A 2004 D2 GF replay at Bulleen this week, as the Bullants welcome the OC. Will be a terrific game. You should be made to pay an enterance fee to go watch Dean Matthews, Chivers, Dolly Parton and co battle it out this week. It will be close all day, but after Henry's info on the BT's last quarters....I will go for them at home. BT it is!
YV welcome the OM's. Can't help but be imperessed with the margin last week for the OM's. Perhaps they have finally got things going in the right direction. YV are hard to beat at home. This is a hard one. I'll take the home side. YV for me!
The Bears welcome Therry in a must win game for both teams. This will be a fiery contest. No love lost between these two hugely successful amatuer teams. For me it is Therry
And finally, Prahran welcome St.Leos to Toorak Park. Hard to tip against the Animals after last weeks performance. Prahran will be desperate to register a win, and at home are a good chance to do this. But for me it will be St.Leos.

Good Tipping..Good Playing

Go D1!!!:thumbsu:

Pharlap calm down buddy i was simply stating a couple of facts, if you have a look back through the posts clearly it was not my first, and while you are doing this, if you have any form of intelligence, you will realise that all of my posts have BT mentioned in it somewhere along the way......if it still isn't clear for you private message me, i don't want everyone knowing! :rolleyes:

good result here for d grage!

Parton, crotty and chivas are all SUPERSTARS and we love'em.... go get'em boys!

The VAFA A-D4 Representative Side takes on the Southern Football League this Saturday at Clayton Reserve in the annual Cystic Fibrosis Community Cup.
The VAFA has been undefeated in the annual challenge since it's inception in 2002. VAFA Coach George Voyage, in his 10th year as representative coach, has the boys primed for another strong showing in the famous "Big V". The side contains a player from every senior section in the VAFA from A, right through to D4.
The match will take place at Clayton Reserve this Saturday (June 10) commencing at 2pm. Clayton Reserve is situated on Haughton Rd, Clayton (Melway Map 79 Ref B2). The VAFA side is:

1 David Boundy (c) - Old Paradians- Pacy and fit player enjoying a fine season at club level
2 Andy Cultrera - Old Trinity - Silky skilled on ball player
3 Sam Anstey -St Bedes/Mentone Tigers - Mid fielder enjoying a fine season at club level
4 Jason Israelsohn - Ajax- Well balanced young mid fielder.
5 Daniel Denbraber - Aquinas – Pacy on baller who enjoys a tough assignment
7 Michael Wintle- St Bedes MT – Athletic and versatile player with exceptional skills
8 Jason Ritterman - Ajax- well balanced player enjoying a fine season around the packs
9 Peter Harrison - De La Salle – Fit and versatile mid field gyro
10 Greg Chivers - Bullen Templestowe - Hard running and physical midfielder, strong mark
11 Justin Crotty - Therry – Resourceful mid field general
12 Paul Groves - St Bedes/Mentone Tigers – Resolute mid fielder and running half back.
14 George Smyth - Monash Blues - Excellent centre line player fast and tenacious.
15 Michael Miller - Ormond– Steadfast rep team regular with skill & poise
16 Al McQueen -Parton (vc) - Old Carey - High leaping, fast dynamic forward
17 Craig Mahony - Elsternwick- Astute and experienced mid field general
18 David Mitchell - Old Camberwell- Creates and delivers from defence
19 Chris Hosking - NOBS STP - Stout and dogged no nonsense defender
20 John Rutter – Oakleigh - persistent on baller and competition B & f winner
22 Paul Edwards (vc) - Powerhouse-Key defender who enjoys journeys to the forward line.
23 Tim Davis - Fitzroy Reds – Dour defender who enjoys big challenges
24 Christian Gregory - Monash Blues - Tough, strong marking key forward player.
25 Shura Taft - Collegians - Livewire forward with great potential.
26 Ryan Chard - St Kevins - Big man making his senior debut
27 Liam Wilkinson - St Bernards – Rep team debutante, looking forward to the challenge

The Southern League are keen to atone for last year's defeat and have placed extra importance on this year's game. The VAFA will be keen to keep their unbeaten record intact. Clayton Reserve will provide an exciting atmosphere for a game that promises alot, so don't miss this must see game of grass-roots football at it's best. Make sure the "Big V" has plenty of support there on Saturday and get behind your Association.

Great work Ugly,

Fantastic effort by the 3 D1 lads. Chivers and Parton can play together this week, and then come out as enemy's next!! (in a nice, fair and mutually repectful kind of way!)

Great for the guys making the side. Don't you think 3 from D1 is an insult. Old Geelong no representatives??? Rupo's Brennan and West are ripper players. (Perhaps under an injury cloud).

I think 11 wins will secure a spot this year. I'm convinced there will be more upsets in the second half of the year. 8/11 for the 4 sides on 3/4 is a tough ask. No injuries and perhaps an extra recruit will make the difference. I think the current top 4 sides can make it to 11 wins. 14 wins will push for top spot and perhaps 2nd.

Spot on Browndog. Absolute insult to D1. I am keen to see these Rupo blokes in a few weeks- surely at least one deserved recognition in this team.

Also agree with you in terms of the second half throwing in some upsets - the relegation battle tends to do this - as does injuries.

All in all a mighty battle over the next 10 weeks or so.

U-out

kingbrown said:
Great for the guys making the side. Don't you think 3 from D1 is an insult. Old Geelong no representatives??? Rupo's Brennan and West are ripper players. (Perhaps under an injury cloud).

I think 11 wins will secure a spot this year. I'm convinced there will be more upsets in the second half of the year. 8/11 for the 4 sides on 3/4 is a tough ask. No injuries and perhaps an extra recruit will make the difference. I think the current top 4 sides can make it to 11 wins. 14 wins will push for top spot and perhaps 2nd.
I actually would have said Monzell and Collins for Rupo.. thought they were clearly the best.. though note Monzell did not play against Leos.. so maybe injured..

not going to tip OC games..
so
OGs
v Rupo

YV v OM provided Hancock back.. but still will stick by this tip(no excuses)
Therry by a mile over Banyule
Prahran in a mini upset over LEos.. with BEvan to make an appearance

OC , the selectors pick who tries out. Brennan and West were selected. Young blokes with a ton of ability. Collins and Monz have been in great form. Being biased i'd have ten of our blokes there, it would be a great honor to represent VAFA, We had one in the u19 squad, Baddeley, terrific young player named in the best in a losing side. Great win for the VAFA, any reports on the other players?

Kingbrown......brennan and west are young surely there names should have been put up for U23 selection? i have seen the names in the current U23 team and there is no representation of players from the lower grades. have seen a couple of D1 games this year, there is quiet a number of young guns. especially from therry.

I agree, the Under 23 side was picked purely from A&B i think. 2 players Potter (St. Bernards) and Baddeley (OEG) (Robert) have played footy for Rupo in juniors were selected. I feel there are many u23 players in D1 who have the ability to play and are being overlooked for being loyal to their club. Mind you i have nothing against players improving themselves at the higher levels, so possibly they should be rewarded.

Ugly saw the state game. All three D1 boys did very well. Dollys mark with 10 seconds to go in the goal square was a classic. He held off 2 backman to take a very strong mark then cooly went back and slotted it.

Big round this week.

Ugly reckon:
BT
The Animals
OGS
Banyule
Old mentone

uglydermie said:
Ugly saw the state game. All three D1 boys did very well. Dollys mark with 10 seconds to go in the goal square was a classic. He held off 2 backman to take a very strong mark then cooly went back and slotted it.

Big round this week.

Ugly reckon:
BT
The Animals
OGS
Banyule
Old mentone

Can anyone tell me How J Crotty from Therry went in the Rep game???