D GRADE: Give me something...

BT just doing it all over the past month or so. Firmly stamped their name all over this grade of footy. Well done.
Rupo just got over Banyule. Banyule play a hard at it attacking game and they are better than their win loss ratio suggests IMO.
Were Old Geelong any good at all? I mean, they just got done by OC smacked the living crap out of the Rupi and then lost at home which was un-doable. BT really are the travellers I guess.
can Banyule pounce on the wounded OGs, OM v Therry will be another good one, YV v Rupo will effectivelty decide 4th spot BT should beat ESL and I think regardless of this weeks results, Prahran will find the going tough v OC.

uglydermie said:
Cat - Go back about 10 pages and read the multitude of comments about BT mergers and hitmen. Tell me about the 2 behind the ball incidents you have witnessed this season?
uglydermie said:
I think I stupidly started the talk about BT mergers, behind play hits and the rumour of them being 'encouraged' by the VAFA Executive to leave the Ammos....didn't mean to start throwing mud - but thought it was pretty well known by most. I heard it from a nearby A-Grade club official who was at an Executive meeting where it was mentioned and he mentioned it to me. Anyaway, we should all move on coz they (BT) have always been a hard at it side - thats how district sides should be. They have a fantastic junior program and a community involvement and commaradarie that most local EFL & DVFL clubs splashing round big $$ wish they had.

Speaking of local A-Grade clubs, was at Marcellin v Trinity on weekend. Marcellin's team reminds me very much of Rupo - very strong reliance on under-19s to bolster senior ranks. Not saying Rupo will be up with us in A-grade soon, but should be looking for further movement up the grades in next 2-3 years.

Ugly - was speaking to an ex- BT player 2 weeks ago who played at Marcellin rumoured to be making a comeback at BT. Tattood bogan - has he trained? What about the Essendon guy?

Can anyone connected with BT let me know how Rob Schneider is going this year. Also, is "SCRATCHER" still running round. Can't remember his surname but he had red hair and always wore long sleeves. I have been o'seas until a few weeks back and am still trying to catch up on things.

Played on both of these blokes a few years ago and wold be interested how they are going.

Midas said:
OG's v Bulleen, definitely a critical clash, but I think OG's at home.

Leos will out tough Mentone at home.

OC will get themselves back on track and pump the Valley - their cockiness will catch up with them.

Therry ought to get over Prahran, whose performances are up and down but they're not far away. If there's an upset, this will be it. Big call.

Rupo should be able to account for Banyule.

All the best

Wish I had some balls, because the Two Blues selection would have been the biggest of the year. From all accounts they played some pretty good footy, particularly in the final quarter when they comfortably outscored and controlled the game kicking into the wind. Blew my faith in Therry being a top two side completely out of the water.

YV bubble burst, Rupo just keep on getting up in tight ones much to their credit, Leos and OM's played out a thriller which suggests there isn't much between the two sides and BT, well what a ripping win. They would have to be flag faves now IMO, they have a solid record over Carey, their main rivals and the trouncing of OG's at Como is a massive feather in its cap.

Framing the market, would look like this:

BT 3.00
OC 3.75
OG 4.50
Rupo 9.00
YV 15.00
Therry 40.00
OM 50.00
Write your own ticket the others.

Relegation odds

Prahran 1.33
ESL 2.40
Banyule 3.30
OM's 15.00
Therry 41.00
YV 80.00

Quickest - Rupertswood
Most skillful - Old Geelong.
Biggest forwards - Therry
Best Forward - Parton, Vickers-Willis, Chivers
Best Midfield - Old Carey, great depth
Best Backline - Bulleen Temp
Most Physical - BT
Best Ruckman - Ballard
Best onballers - Collins, Crotty.
Best Coach - Lockman

Hi all, we are very dissapointed down at Bennetswood - a game we should have won. All credit to OM's, they never gave up, but we were a couple of goals up late in the game, went a goal down, and kicked a goal with almost the last kick of the day to get the draw.

Big chance gone for us to continue to fight our way out of relegation.

KingBrown, 17 is Nic Robin, one of our young guns. First year out of U/19's, was best on ground in their grand final win last year. Playing on a wing at the moment.

Midas said:
Framing the market, would look like this:

BT 3.00
OC 3.75
OG 4.50
Rupo 9.00
YV 15.00
Therry 40.00
OM 50.00
Write your own ticket the others.

Relegation odds

Prahran 1.33
ESL 2.40
Banyule 3.30
OM's 15.00
Therry 41.00
YV 80.00

Quickest - Rupertswood
Most skillful - Old Geelong.
Biggest forwards - Therry
Best Forward - Parton, Vickers-Willis, Chivers
Best Midfield - Old Carey, great depth
Best Backline - Bulleen Temp
Most Physical - BT
Best Ruckman - Ballard
Best onballers - Collins, Crotty.
Best Coach - Lockman

I think that's a pretty decent analysis, Midas. Old Carey and Bulleen-Temp seem to have been the most consistent teams over the course of the year and I think they'd have to be the two clear favourites for promotion. I still think Therry Penola would have to be the best defence, not just because of how stingy they were when we played against them, but if you look at their points against for the season, they are 91 points better than the second best on the ladder. Ballard is the best ruckman in the comp while Radywonik is struggling with injuries. And I think I'll do my betting with DG Man, $20 on Yarra Valley, thanks...

DG Man said:
If i was a bookie (and let's pretend i am) My new market would be:

BT - 9/4F
OC - 3/1
OGS - 5/1
Rupo - 15/1
Therry, YV, OM's - 100/1

Midas,

I was close to giving you the Prahran win. Had to read it two or three times b4 deciding that you were sitting on the fence, slightly leaning away from a Two Blues win. Very nice call. I don't think anyone saw Therry losing another close won at home again!

DG-Man said:
Midas,

I was close to giving you the Prahran win. Had to read it two or three times b4 deciding that you were sitting on the fence, slightly leaning away from a Two Blues win. Very nice call. I don't think anyone saw Therry losing another close won at home again!

COuld be the beginning of those crazy results as a result of the dual promotion/relegation scenario, one of the great features of Amateur footy.

It would appear that Prahran are certs, and looks like you may even need to win 7 to avoid the drop given the improved form of Leos and the consistently inconsistent Banyule. The next side down might be tough, but wouldn't it open up if the Two Blues could claim another scalp in the next two while OM's or Therry falter. The draw may be a godsend for both OM's & Leos in the final wash up!

Still think it looks straight forward, but stranger things have happened and it is truly a relatively even comp.

I think Prahran will be absolutely pumped up with their result. Playing at home against Old Carey next week, they will fancy an upset and 2 wins in a row.
OC will have to have their minds 100% on the job to ensure they don't let this one slide.

I'm going to get in nice and early with my tips (work 9is a little slow this morning)

OC, but it will be a tough slog at Prahran
YV to roll Rupo at the Domoney.
OM's at home over Therry
BT easily over the animals (on bandwaggon)
OGS just (massive danger game) at the Bear Lair!

ILSS, thanks for your concern about me mate..........nice to see. What can I say we were just outplayed by a side that wanted to win more than us. I hate to harp on about injuries but losing Bannister and Goodwin is crucial. We may not be a top two side now but we can still make finals. We are yet to get a belting this year and have lost 4 games by under 10 points, and yes I know they are the ones you need to win. Anyway I look forward to 4 weeks time when we get to venture down to the town that never sleeps.

Conduct Unbecoming said:
uglydermie said:
Cat - Go back about 10 pages and read the multitude of comments about BT mergers and hitmen. Tell me about the 2 behind the ball incidents you have witnessed this season?
uglydermie said:
Ugly - was speaking to an ex- BT player 2 weeks ago who played at Marcellin rumoured to be making a comeback at BT. Tattood bogan - has

he trained? What about the Essendon guy?
I remember him well Ugly. If that is the same person with the arms bigger than Chris Tarrants and more tattoos than the boys at Fawkner, then beware opposition sides. Not only is he as mean as cats ...... but also a brilliant footballer. I remember him training with an AFL club.
Your club seems to be kicking goals on and off the ground Ugly. A spy tells me you do actually have some good players yet to come into the side and there are some uncanny similarities to 04.
Where are you playing this week?P.S. How is player Hare going?

I can answer that Hare is on fire. Infact, if it is not raining on Tuesday at training, someone should bring down a bucket of water!!!

This BT and new players talk is getting intriuging! It hardly seems fair on the others. I think BT are a GF cert as it is. More class added to the side will only spell big danger for the challengers.

A guess the big question is?

Are other sides player for the glory of a runners up medallion and the promotion to C-Grade that goes with it??

OC and OG fans. What do you think. Can you turn the tables on BT??

Like pre-season, so much talk but lets wait and see what eventuates. If you listen to Carey & BT they both have half a side ready to make a comeback for the finals....Old Geelong still the pick imo.

Amused, you seem to know some BT people - Did the Essendon CHF play for BT v OG? What has happened to former Trinity A Grade rep Chris Frost?...and had to laugh re former player comeback (yeah, I asked a loaded question the answer to which I already knew). He was sighted at Marcellin on weekend on crutches. If he was keen he would be watching BT play - not his old club. No comeback there.

Conduct Unbecoming said:
Like pre-season, so much talk but lets wait and see what eventuates. If you listen to Carey & BT they both have half a side ready to make a comeback for the finals....Old Geelong still the pick imo.

Amused, you seem to know some BT people - Did the Essendon CHF play for BT v OG? What has happened to former Trinity A Grade rep Chris Frost?...and had to laugh re former player comeback (yeah, I asked a loaded question the answer to which I already knew). He was sighted at Marcellin on weekend on crutches. If he was keen he would be watching BT play - not his old club. No comeback there.

You obviously didnt read my thread properly C.U. I only commented on him as a player, not about him playing for B.T. Dont get ahead of yourself in stirring the pot! You will outsmart yourself,which doesnt seem too dificult.

Tiges Alive said:
Can anyone connected with BT let me know how Rob Schneider is going this year. Also, is "SCRATCHER" still running round. Can't remember his surname but he had red hair and always wore long sleeves. I have been o'seas until a few weeks back and am still trying to catch up on things.

Played on both of these blokes a few years ago and wold be interested how they are going.

Tiges,

Scratcha (Ash Humphrey) is working in QLD. doing well and about to become a DAD for the first time (that he knows off.... plenty of scruffy looking red headed kids bere his genetic look).

Snids is still playing in the seniors and going along OK. For such a small bloke I have never seen a harder bloke at the ball - both in the air and on the ground.
Any other blokes? Your not an old Cobra?

Cheers and thanks for your interest.

UGLY

name is Chris Darby - Played 20 odd reserves games with Fitzroy and Collingwood - played in under 19 flag with marcellin in 1990. Plenty of his mates still pull the boots on with the ants (Matthews, Tulloch, Hare etc). Darbs tore his calf muscle on Thursday night at training - hence the crutches. Can he play? You bet. Was he hard at it? You bet. Will he be fit by finals? Time will tell - we hope so......

uglydermie said:
name is Chris Darby - Played 20 odd reserves games with Fitzroy and Collingwood - played in under 19 flag with marcellin in 1990. Plenty of his mates still pull the boots on with the ants (Matthews, Tulloch, Hare etc). Darbs tore his calf muscle on Thursday night at training - hence the crutches. Can he play? You bet. Was he hard at it? You bet. Will he be fit by finals? Time will tell - we hope so......

Thought it was him. Then what i posted earlier stands. Hey Ugly, what can you tell me about these old B.T. boys. Smith,Glover,Robertson and Driver. Is it true they are being nursed through. I have seen their names floating around the best in the seconds. Once again this comes to me second hand, but i hear a couple of them are keeping very fit, all be it very quietly.

Quote: Dont get ahead of yourself in stirring the pot! You will outsmart yourself,which doesnt seem too dificult.

Now Amused, you are a treat, but let me point out the following.....

In your post # 601, you commented that you "used to play against BT and found them a very hard and occassionally unfair team". I would suggest that this post was designed to convince all and sundry that you are not affiliated with the club in any way, having played 'against' them.

However, I draw your attention to the following posts:
#610: somehow you knew that player 36 was 39 years old;
#644: somehow you knew that Chivers had won 3 B&Fs in a row and that his nightclubbing prowess was legendary down at BT;
# 662: somehow you knew of at least 3 EFL clubs that have sought to merge with BT and that the entire strength of the BT sporting club was a reason why such clubs would be seeking to do this; and
finally, in your final post above, you knew the identity of the ex-player I referred to, that he had some time with an AFL club; that he had also spent some time in both the gym and tattoo parlour.

Now, Amused...which one is it? Either you used to play against the club, or you know everything about it. So before I outsmart myself (which incidentally, is not that hard to do), would you please decide?

Conduct Unbecoming said:
Quote: Dont get ahead of yourself in stirring the pot! You will outsmart yourself,which doesnt seem too dificult.

In your post # 601, you commented that you "used to play against BT and found them a very hard and occassionally unfair team". I would suggest that this post was designed to convince all and sundry that you are not affiliated with the club in any way, having played 'against' them.

#644: somehow you knew that Chivers had won 3 B&Fs in a row and that his nightclubbing prowess was legendary down at BT;
# 662: somehow you knew of at least 3 EFL clubs that have sought to merge with BT and that the entire strength of the BT sporting club was a reason why such clubs would be seeking to do this; and
finally, in your final post above, you knew the identity of the ex-player I referred to, that he had some time with an AFL club; that he had also spent some time in both the gym and tattoo parlour.

Now, Amused...which one is it? Either you used to play against the club, or you know everything about it. So before I outsmart myself (which incidentally, is not that hard to do), would you please decide?

Don't worry about Darbs, he is only just a player and would now be 34 / 35. Has always been injury prone. Clubs will have to keep a watch out for Ryan Bain. Easto expects him to be 1 of the premier players in the comp. Was at Eatern Ranges before being highly though of as a draft pick. Think he was a rookie for a year.

Conduct Unbecoming said:

Never played there but did indeed play against them throughout the 90`s. have an associate who is well connected. As for 3 B&Fs. That was brought to our attention by another posting. I watched the B.T v O.C game and associate asked me to watch 2 players. 36 and 1. He asked me to guess his age,(which i missed by 10 years).I have no knowledge of oast proposed mergers. Suffice to say you were stirring the pot... AGAIN.
As for Darby, i personally played against him, hence the hard and occasionally unfair comment. Like you i keep an eye out for names i played against to see who is still getting a kick.
It is also well known to anyone who has there ear close to the ground that B.T. have gret junior set up that perhaps now is paying off.
Does that satisfy your curiosity C.U?

Yes Amused - that satisfies my curiosity (but I am watching you). And yes, I am stirring but given that it looks like the BT guys run this whole thread, it seems the only way to get a bite is to throw the bait towards their well-run sporting club (imagine being told 5 years ago that BT people would know how to type or use the internet!!).;)

Anyway, would be interested to hear from those at Rupo re their views on the differences between D1 and D2 grades. Personally, have no first-hand knowledge of D2 so it would be interesting to guage some feeback from those who would know. Old Geelong seem to have covered the jump pretty well (and Rupo too for that matter). I believe they will cover the jump to C Grade equally well.

I would suspect whoever else goes up to C Grade this year (OC or BT) will be happy just to consolidate in the higher grade in 2007. It will be a difficult jump.

Very intresting CU, that you still fancy OGS to be the certs for promotion with OC and BT fighting out the other spot. In 2004 OC and BT had OGS covered, and more recently (last few weeks) both have had wins against them.
Do you think the OGS are just in a bad patch or are they perhaps missing some key players? What gives you this confidence?

Good point C.U.! I think everyone gets the feeling the bulleen people run this thread, and i am personally sick to death of the rumours being posted about ex AFL guns etc etc etc. Just my opinion so dont bother spraying me with a return post Bullant people.

OG's and Rupo have definently impressed me (and im sure the majority of D1 followers) with their success this year in a new grade. Both have spent time at the top of the table and are expected to make finals, with promotion still a big chance. As for last year these 2 teams coasted through without being challenged by other d2 sides. Although the Ogger's a;ways had the wood on the woodsmen. (pardon the pun).

Anyway, what a great round of football we have just seen! Therry Penola...goodbye. And to think i rated them as finals definants earlier in the year lol. Phar lap no more talk off you please, your team is hopeless and will not make finals.