D GRADE: Give me something...

Old Geelong vs Old Carey: Old Geelong seem to have hit their straps and there are questions over the health of some Panthers. It would have been disappointing for the OGs to have 14 more scoring shots than Therry and fail to put them away by more than 19 points. Old Carey are a bit of an unknown quantity, due to the injury rumors (may or may not be true) and the Como factor. I'm torn, but I'll go with what I know and stick with Old Carey to continue their march.

Yarra Valley vs Prahran: A great effort for Prahran to have come back from an 0-9 beginning to be a real show to stick in D1 for 2007. If they can win and St. Leo's lose, it sets up a make or break contest between the two for relegation next week. I think Yarra Valley will be good enough to win and hold on to fourth spot for another week.

Banyule vs Old Mentonians: How 'bout those crazy OMs? They certainly know how to screw up us tipsters! There's no doubt, when they come to play, they can mix it with anyone in the comp. It has been well documented how they dislike travelling and their only away win all season is against the Bullants. How does this make sense? It doesn't. Banyule look completely shot for the season and although it's dangerous, I'm going with the recent history between these teams and Old Mentonians smashed the Bears last time they clashed. That will have to do, because I obviously can't read the Panthers.

Rupertswood vs Emmaus St. Leo's: I'd like to think if we do the Animals a favour and get over Prahran, then they will do the same by us and beat Rupo. The corresponding fixture at ESL resulted in the Animals first win and they are a different unit compared to what the were at the start of the year. Emmaus St. Leo's will win this one.

Bulleen-Templestowe vs Therry Penola: Interesting stat about Therry over the past few weeks: twelve goals in the two first halves, one goal in the two second halves. A statistic like that has to call their fitness into question and coming up away against a pumped up Bullants outfit that is coming off a disappointing loss is not the formula for success. Bulleen Templestowe to defeat Therry comfortably

uglydermie said:
didnt BT pull YV's pants down at Domeney only 2 weeks ago?
uglydermie said:
YV are no good - forget them- I hear Prahan are very keen on that rematch after a certain YV player king hit the non playing Prahran coach FROM BEHIND during a heated malee on 3qtr time.
"Stone the CROWS"......

A King hit would suprise me...we didn't hear much about it if its true. Ugly - is that an exaggeration or was the story relayed to you as such? Might pop out to have a look-see...would back the Prahran boys every day of the week if they were seeking some retribution but think YV will be too good on the day (in football terms anyway).

Still think Yarra might sneak over the line into 4th spot but would love to see Rupo to get the chance to play one final.

DG is back. Firstly the tipping ladder:

MJS2 (3) 36
Is Taht So (4) 36

UglyDermie (4) 35
DG-Man (4) 35

Hansie (4) 34
Bullant (4) 34
Bede Me Up (4) 34

Henry (4) 33

Toohas (4) 32

Moss Rocket (3) 31

Midas (4) 30
St.Kevs Cowboy (1) 30

SideShowBob (2) 29

OC37 (3) 26
Magic Mickey (3) 26
Archangel17 (3) 26
Blue Boys88 (2) 26
KingBrown (2) 26

Knackers (2) 24
Half back (2) 24

OM28 (1) 23

ILSS (1) 21

Things are getting tight at the top. MJS2 went for Therry, with Is That So tipping the Oggers. Tied at the top. The next 7 (down to Toohas, all tipped OGS and scored 4/5)
Next weeks games on paper look fairly difficult. I think OGS vs OC will be split, Many will fancy banyule in an upset as the OM's travel very badly! Most will lean Rupo's way over Leos. Whilst YV and BT will be favoured at home.

Intersting results at the weekend. From these i have altered the DG market:

OC / BT 2.90 Joint Fav's
OGS 5.00
YV 15.00
Rupo 45.00

Despite earlier suggestions otherwise, BT will finish in the top 2. A minor slip on the weekend, however they will have little trouble defeating both Therry and Rupo at home. A loss by BT against the OC will not allow the Oggers to sneak into this position even if the OGS win their final 3 games (tough ones against Carey and also Rupo at Rupo)

So i have the OC and BT joint favourites. Interesting posts re OC sustaining 6 or so injuries including Parton broken hand. This would be massive news!! Hansie, OC37, Moss Rocket (or anyone else with OC info) please fill the forum in on what happened! Despite this, they have great depth and would be able to cover half a dozen injuries. Parton would be a concern.
BT also have some great depth, with Ressies starting to turn it on. BT will make sure they finish top 2 with a couple of clinical home wins. And come finals time they will be very hard to stop.

The OGS are firming. Talk at Como is that the side is beginning to peak. Huge list, great depth, V-W slowly gathering fitness for finals. I believe the OGS will be far to explosive and talented for Yarra in the first semi, so i have them shortening right in. Preliminary final day will be an interesting game!

YV will finish fourth, however i am not sure they will progress past that. Have not been impressed with YV's last month or so.

Will be back later on. 100's of emails to check!

DG

Gentlemen it seems King Brown keeps a very close eye on what's happening around the place. It appears Parton from OC was in a hurry after the game not to attend a wedding but to get his broken hand looked at. With this news and BT loss to OM last week what does this now do to the odds for the flag in D1?

XFiles said:
Gentlemen it seems King Brown keeps a very close eye on what's happening around the place. It appears Parton from OC was in a hurry after the game not to attend a wedding but to get his broken hand looked at. With this news and BT loss to OM last week what does this now do to the odds for the flag in D1?

Odds remain the same. Not many sides win a flag in Ammos from position 3 or 4. You have to win 3 cut-throat finals in a row. And there is usually a good reason why you are in position 3 or 4 in the first place. That is...the teams above you are better.
BT's loss against OM's will mean little come finals time. BT are a strong, talented unit. Well coached. Hardened and experienced. I did not see them play on Saturday against OM's, however i guess any side can have a bad one. It was not a loss that will cause any damage! They have plenty of youth and experience pressing for selection from the resurgent two's.
Parton has had a bung hand for quite a while. It has been broken before. Whether it is a new break, or just complications with his ongoing "bad hand", only the OC boys can tell us. Be interesting to see if he plays on the weekend. If it is just a complication with his ongoing injury, then i guess he will be rested, and "jabbed" come finals time. Like BT, the OC have depth and other forward options.

BT/OC - $2.90
OGS - $5.00
YV - $15.00
Rupo - $45.00

Conduct Unbecoming said:
A King hit would suprise me...we didn't hear much about it if its true. Ugly - is that an exaggeration or was the story relayed to you as such?

It is a very inaccurate and revisionist version of events...

Could not agree more DG. Parton is one tuff dude and a sore hand wont stop him come finals time. OC are in a great position to rest him up if they wanted to - Although I reckon Dolly would tell them to shove that idea where it fits.

DG- You seemed to have eased back on your love for the Oggers - Or are you holding out on us? Or has the low cloud the last few weeks effected your view from como hill? pehaps get Grieves to clean the windows for you.

BT's losing to OM at Keysborough is/was no great surprise to me. Having played out there myself in the early 90's when Patterson, Stroud, Ackerman, Bournen, Solly and co used to reek havic on all comers, the Panthers are always a tuff nut to crack out there - and interestingly, the talk at Panther land was that although they got hammered in the second half by OGS (panthers were a couple of goals in front at half time) - They firmly believe that BT and OC are heads and shoulders above the rest.

Not long now till we find out!

Yee Hah. Another big week of D1 footy coming up.
Good to have the 'Mecca' of this thread DG back in time for some round 16 discussion.
I'll crack the whip and get on with it. Old Carey and Old Geelong at Como will be a beauty if their first encounter was anything to go by. A 3 goal or so win from the Panthers but OGs kicked themselves out of the contest from reports. I like the OGs at home, but I also like OC anywhere. I'll go with Old Carey by a whisker.
Prahran have hit some form and one can only wonder where they'd be sitting if that form was hit in earlier passages of the year. I think they are too proud a club to just go through the motions for the remainder of the year and will cause a couple more upsets. This will be one of them. Prahran at dommeney by less than a kick.
Old Mentonians should bounce back against Banyule by roughly 6 goals. To potent a forward line to not get over this struggling Yulers mob.
I'll take Rupo at home by 4 points against Leos. They need to win big to leap Yarra on percentage and will need (for mine) some results to go their way to make finals. I'll agree with Conduct, would like to see them get there as I think the youth and leg speed would well suit the large open spaces of a sunny finals afternoon.
BT won't have an issue beating Therry. BT by 30 points. Cheers folks, have a good one. Good luck to whoever plays on Saturday.

uglydermie said:
DG- You seemed to have eased back on your love for the Oggers - Or are you holding out on us? Or has the low cloud the last few weeks effected your view from como hill? pehaps get Grieves to clean the windows for you.

Windows are sparkling Ugly! Geeves runs a very tight ship. On the contrary, i feel i may be starting to pump the hoops right up.
I have eased both BT and OC from $2.50 out to $2.90, and have brought in the Oggers from $12.00 into $6.00

The DG see's it as officially a 3 horse race. OGS will be playing either the OC or BT on Preliminary final day. Rupo are gone! Whilst YV (and yes i do know that they triumphed not long ago at Como) will be no match for the highly skilled and rampant running Como lads come finals.

YV's form against BT and OC recently showed that they are no match for either team, however i truly believe the OGS will be very dangerous come finals time. The list is almost injury free, and confidence is back within the playing group.

This weeks game between the OC and OGS should be a ripper. I will be tipping the OGS as i suspect the OC may rest a few.

I may as well tip.

OGS to defeat the OC in a possible Prelim final preview! (Shades of 2004)
As previous contributors have stated, the OGS have a solid record over Carey at home. Full strength, plenty to play for. I think they may be a little more desperate than the OC. OGS by 20 pts.

BT to ensure a second semi berth does not slip away from them with an impressive win against Therry. Therry, having avoided any possible relegation with a solid month of footy, may just run out of steam as the season closes. BT will want to right last weeks wrong. BT by 35pts.

YV will be too good at home for Prahran. We have seen some much improved performances from the 2 blues over the last few weeks, however with much more to play for YV by 4 goals in a good contest.

Rupo, still clinging to a fading finals dream to be a little quick for the Animals at home. Rupo by 32 points.

I am tempted to tip Banyule in an upset, as OM's are useless away. Assuming they put out a similar side that fronted BT, they should have a little too much power up forward for the undisciplined and struggling Bears. OM's just by 14 points.

Cheers - DG

DG (and anyone else who wants to have a crack) what do you think the exact order of the top 4 will be at seasons end?? Considering there are a few top of the table clashes. Also If things fall their way this weekend, are your boys, Old Geelong any chance of grabbing a spot in the top 2? how would the odds look then? It will be an interesting 3 weeks, with suggestion that OC may rest a few, and your inside information that OGS are starting to get a full list of players to select from, and BT who are sure to bounce back this week.

Interesting to note Ugly, that the word you heard from OM's was that BT and OC are clearly the better sides after OM's recently rolled BT, and that they rated them higher than a team which kicked 22 goals to none in a half of football against them. Not shooting the messenger, it's just contrary to whispers that i've heard from down that way. Apparently they rate OC very highly, and were very respectful of the OGS performance when they finally hit tope gear and broke free. Although i think OM's pushed OGS right to the line down there earlier in the year, so they might feel like they could have beaten them.

DG, if Parton Plays, who will go to him?

Who will BT play on the Bannisters?

Nice post C&G,

Ladder:

OC 13-2 (L, W, W) will see them 15-3

BT 12-3 (W, L, W) will see them 14-4

OGS 10-5 (W, W, W) will see them 13-5

YV 9-6 (W, W, W) will see them 12-6

Rupo 9-6 (W, L, L) will see them 10-8

The OGS are not without a chance of finishing second, however they need 2 things to happen for this to occur.

1. They must win all 3 games. This is likely, but certainly no pushover (OC at home, Rupo away)
2. BT must lose two of the next 3. Again, this is a possibilty as they travel away to face OC. However their other two games are at home against Therry and Rupo. They will be fired up for these and will not let a top 2 position slip IMO.

Tips this week:
OG OC had a tough game and despite what they claim will not like the space very heavy side for mine.
Prahran - in a good contest but playing better for mine.
OM - Banyule finished weeks ago (discipline on field etc)
Rupo - need to win and will the space will give them revenge over animals.
BT - because they must and Unlike Therry they do finish games well.

Great review DG, and from the look of it very accurate IMO. Maybe momentum, rather than ladder position will play a bigger role in this years flag than in previous years. I agree almost too hard to win from 3rd or 4th, but if any team out of the top 3 are up and going, full of confidence, anything could happen. It may prove important for one of the top 2 to win there first game, to get the week off, and get all of their top players right for the GF. I'm going to wait and see what happens this weekend between OGS and OC, but from what I'm reading I might be starting to lean toward an upset with OG for the flag. Could be worth a look at Como this weekend. DG will be lurking there somewhere!

DG & chips + gravy I agree and disagree with your points.
I think OC will go (W, L, W) 13/2 = 15/3
BT (W, W, L - go Rupo) 12/3 = 14/4
OG (L, L, W) 10/5 = 11/7
YV (L, W, W) 9/6 = 11/7
Rupo (W, W, W) (Gee I hope so) 9/6 = 12/6
This is of course what the heart and guts want, not the noggin'. But having watched the boys all year, I reckon they can just get over the line. This I think will leave the ladder as:
OC
BT
Rupo
OG
YV
I don't think it will matter where a side finishes in the top 4. All 5 of the teams currently in contention could have a big impact on their given day. It will be very interesting if some of these results pan out.

I have noticed the stockmarket has been improving the last couple of weeks. Not sure about any new K9 dishes, but these two factors seem to follow OG. Watch the stockmarket and the OC boys have a close look at the K9 variety. See if there noses are healthy and pointy. Look to see if their rumps are not too shabby. Watch their walk, look for balance and athleticism. This should give an indication of the OG performance to come.

DG-Man said:
Nice post C&G,

The OGS are not without a chance of finishing second, however they need 2 things to happen for this to occur.

1. They must win all 3 games. This is likely, but certainly no pushover (OC at home, Rupo away)
2. BT must lose two of the next 3. Again, this is a possibilty as they travel away to face OC. However their other two games are at home against Therry and Rupo. They will be fired up for these and will not let a top 2 position slip IMO.

Very interesting considering Carey playing fields are no more than 5 mins down the road. Not enough time for the engine to get warm! Prob more bullants living closer than OC boys. And both grounds (Ted Ajani and Dunshea) are very similar in size.

Fair call that one Smudge. It is not a long drive. However from the times i have ventured out to both grounds, the OC ground looks bigger and seems to have a better surface. I think all teams like playing at home. The OC are undefeated at home this year. Would not suprise me to see the OC/BT result go either way. And i really don't think the result of this game will do much to the ladder. They will finish 1 and 2. A thumping one way or the other, would certainly give the victor confidence going into the 2nd Semi, but i also don't see that occuring. Things are tight in D1...and likely to stay that way.
Geeves.....morning latte please!
Cheers - DG

My tips for this week.
Toss of the coin OC and OG. I will go with what suits Rupo OC
BT to run over what seems an unfit Therry, (very talented though).
I feel like tipping against Rupo because sometimes i think i'm mozzing them Rupo by 15pts
Go again with the results for us Prahran by 3pts over YV.
OM by 5 goals, a very dangerous forward line.
Clearly i am a very confused tipping machine.

Good luck to all!!!!

Still waiting on 10 tips. Send them in. Make or break time Henry and Ugly if you are looking for that winning date with Sandra Sully!

Massive game tomorrow gents at the Como. I hear rumours that there will be a bumper crowd. The 1956 and 1966 premiership sides are having a reunion. It will be a polo jumper and roll neck bonanza.

My spies tell me that the OGS are full strength and ready to rumble. The OC are a hard team to beat, but this is the OGS chance to be taken seriously with the big boys of the comp and press for C-Grade promotion.

Looking forward to this evenings weather report Ugly. I'm thinking it may be raining goals in a classic showdown at Como tomorrow afternoon.

Best of luck to all!

DG

DG-Man said:
Still waiting on 10 tips. Send them in. Make or break time Henry and Ugly if you are looking for that winning date with Sandra Sully!

Massive game tomorrow gents at the Como. I hear rumours that there will be a bumper crowd. The 1956 and 1966 premiership sides are having a reunion. It will be a polo jumper and roll neck bonanza.

My spies tell me that the OGS are full strength and ready to rumble. The OC are a hard team to beat, but this is the OGS chance to be taken seriously with the big boys of the comp and press for C-Grade promotion.

Looking forward to this evenings weather report Ugly. I'm thinking it may be raining goals in a classic showdown at Como tomorrow afternoon.

Best of luck to all!

DG

Sounds like a big day day at Como. There is sure to be some quality skirt floating around also. It's been impressive every time I've ventured to South Yarra.

DG, lets not forget the 2005 premiership reunion on Saturday, except there won't be a lunch for that one.

Great week in D1 footy, what a comp!