D GRADE: Give me something...

Conduct Unbecoming said:
They are in a slump of Collingwood proportions. OC hit by injuries...Cats licking their collective lips:eek:

OGS are certainly right back in the hunt. 2 more wins against Rupo and Leos, with a little help from other results and a top 2 spot may be available. Fortunately the side looks relatively injury free and seems to be peaking at the right time.
Hoop Up!

DG-Man said:
Duchovny,
DG-Man said:
Correct you are. The silence is deafening. BT are on the ropes. The last month has been very disappointing. It seems that the list is full strength, so i guess they must just be in a form slump. Confidence is a funny thing. As quickly as you lose it, you can gain it again. I suspect that BT will come out breathing fire next week. The OC will have a battle on their hands!

C'Mon Ugly, Bullant, MJS2, Silky et al - whats the story with the Ants? Smashed Yarra and have since fallen in a heap. Where have the 2 x Bains, Waters etc gone? Chris Frost came from A-Grade via Nunawading - whats happened to him?

Dropping too many guys back to the twos to help them qualify?

If you had to compare all the D1 teams to bands:

Old Carey - Led Zeppelin
Bullen Temp - Duran Duran
Old Geelong - REM
Yarra Valley - Bros
RUPO - Lynard Skynyrd
Mentone - Aerosmith
Therry - Uncanny X -Men
St Leos - Pearl Jam
Banyule - WASP
Prahran - Van Halen

DG-Man said:
Hello all! Great weekend of football. Massive day at Como. As a couple of flags were unfurled from the grandstand, a bunch of old timers were able to reminisce about golden times and mateship on the field during the roaring 50's and 60's. It was a sea of blue and white hooped scarves. I spotted at least a dozen couples, hoop scarved, roll necked, leash in hand...enjoying the occasion. The OGS are back in town.
What a magnificent performance. After watching the ressies allow Carey just 1 goal, DG then settled in to watch the seniors dispose of the thier highly credentialled opponents. It was a great game. DG had to leave late in the 3rd, however from what i saw the OGS controlled the ball for most of the day. A little too quick, a touch more desperate and committed and certainly with a lot more to play for.
I read the Amatuer record on arrival and noted the the qwils comments on dangerous forwards Parton and Bull. However neither took to the park. I heard the OC had a few others out, but this should not take away from the OGS performance. Even at full strength, i think the OC will now respect that the OGS are a genuine premiership threat.

DG's new premiership market. (remembering it was OC/BT $2.90 and OGS $6.00 previously)

OC - $2.70
OGS - $3.40
BT - $3.70
YV - $25.00
Rupo - $50.00

This may seem a little strange with the OC being outright favourite and coming in 20 cents after a loss, but the DG has his reasons.

DG believes that the premiership will be won by a team that contests the 2nd Semi. Winning 3 finals in a row (with no week off) from position 3 or 4 will be just to demanding.

Despite OC losing, i have decided that the second semi final has a 50% chance of being OC vs OGS, a 45% chance being OC vs BT, and a 5% chance of being OGS vs BT. Therefore my market indicates this.

Interesting results from around the grounds. BT are starting to look shaky. Down 7 goals to 3 against Prahran 3 weeks ago at half-time, (then just got up), followed by losses to OM's and Therry. Makes next weeks game against OC a must win affair. Ther OGS are breathing down their necks, and have the form to pinch position 2 if the BT stumble.

In saying this, OGS will have to be careful against a desperate Rupo next week. Rupo have struggled with the OGS in recent times, however it is a grand final for them, and at home they will certainly put up a big fight.

Geeves has just rung the dinner bell. Sunday roast is always a strict 6.00pm affair. Best head to the dining room and see whom my company is this evening.

Cheers - DG[

Great report the only thing you got wrong is that you can't win from 3/4 The OGS are up and about and with players to come back including the previously mentioned sandy makin and a couple of others then they are a good chance to beat whoever loses the 2nd Semi. Their 2nd's were awesome and have a couple of there best still out along with some seniors to come back so they will take some stopping as well ]

Great report the only thing you got wrong is that you can't win from 3/4 The OGS are up and about and with players to come back including the previously mentioned sandy makin and a couple of others then they are a good chance to beat whoever loses the 2nd Semi. Their 2nd's were awesome and have a couple of there best still out along with some seniors to come back so they will take some stopping as well ][/quote]

Hello 19th. You have always been my favourite golf hole. Sitting back, drinking a pint for every birdie during the day. Would have to call Geeves to come pick me up if the putter had been on fire! DG could become quite sozzled!

I am going to stand by my "cannot win flag" from position 3 or 4 call. It is a bold suggestion, i know. However i like to stand by bold calls.

You see, finals time can be one where injuries are even more prevelant than during the regular season. The games are at a high tempo. Strange things can occur. A full strength list can quickly turn sour.

I am aware of the 3-4 players ready to slip into the hoops and help endeavour to lead the OGS to further premiership fame. However, from a 1st semi final, i fear this will be difficult to achieve.

The OGS certainly have the arsenal to win a preliminary final, however DG favours the rested 2nd Semi final winners in the big match showdown.

Hopefully for all OGGERS, a second semi final berth, win, rest and GF win....will be the upcoming order of events.

Cheers - DG

Conduct,

Impossible. BT are injury free and it looks like the only player missing is Waters from their best side. If you look at the 2's ladder and fixture it would take and absolute miracle for BT to scrape into the finals. With Rupo's 1's out of finals contention i reckon they'll play all their guns in the 2's RD18 against BT to ensure they get in.

XFiles said:
Conduct,

Impossible. BT are injury free and it looks like the only player missing is Waters from their best side. If you look at the 2's ladder and fixture it would take and absolute miracle for BT to scrape into the finals. With Rupo's 1's out of finals contention i reckon they'll play all their guns in the 2's RD18 against BT to ensure they get in.

Duchovny,

I disagree. The Rupo vs BT game will determine who finishes 4th in ressies (round 18) Hardly an absolute miracle for BT to defeat Rupo in the ressies playing at home.

And secondly, nobody at Rupo will assume they are out of the finals race in the seniors. At present they are level with YV (10-6) with only 4% seperating them. It certainly is a hard draw playing the OGS and BT, however YV also have a difficult run home. OM's at OM's will be a cracker. A real toss of the coin game. Infact DG leans towards the OM's. And a final game for YV against the resergent Therry is no stroll in the park. I'm sure some of the talented Bannister boys would love playing party pooper to the YV finals dreams.

Ah...who knows. But BT can certainly make ressies finals by knocking over Rupo in rd 18.

Cheers - DG

DG-Man,

My appoligies. I think your right about Rupo. I may have written them off to early. After this weekends games we'll have a much better picture of the top four. BT 2's would have to knock off the second placed OC to have a chance of getting into the September action.
Where has Ugly Dermie got to? This is BT hour of need and they've all gone missing. Come on boys give us something!

Thorpedo,

Our spy's at the game reckon he was given a fairly cheap shot to the mouth while standing on the mark. Apparently this woke him up then he played some pretty good footy. He must be up tonight to give evidence.

Congratulations to Yarra's reserves, breaking through for their first win of the year! Well done, boys!

I'll get my tips out of the way quickly, as pretty much every game could go either way:

Old Carey vs Bulleen-Templestowe: All of a sudden, Bulleen-Templestowe are in danger of losing the double chance after unexpected losses to Old Mentonians and Therry Penola. Combine that with the fact that Old Carey have a couple of players out and I think Bulleen-Templestowe will rise to the occasion and win this one.

Rupertswood vs Old Geelong: Now that Old Geelong have claimed the scalp of Old Carey, they have the league's undivided attention. A game that, not so long ago, looked like it would just be the third place playoff in the finals race now has much bigger implications. An Oggers win would possibly see them reclaim a spot in the top two, while a Rupertswood victory could see them rejoin the top four after a win against St. Leo's. The stakes couldn't be much higher. I'm going for Old Geelong as they really seem to have lifted after the Prahran loss.

Old Mentonians vs Yarra Valley: Rupertswood have kept the pressure on the Bushrangers, who must keep winning to keep their place in the four. Won't be easy against a Panthers team that has now won a couple in a row. Yarra Valley to win.

Therry Penola vs Banyule: After a big win against the Bullants, Therry Penola have cemented their spot in D1 and they look keen to put two more wins on the board to finish off their year. Banyule put up probably their best effort in recent times against Old Mentonians and they can still avoid relegation if they win both their last games and other results fall their way. I don't see it happening though, they have lost ten in a row and Therry Penola are going to make it eleven.

Emmaus St. Leo's vs Prahran: All five games have huge implications on either the finals race or the relegation zone and this may be the biggest of the lot. An Animals win would ensure Prahran and Banyule go down, whereas a Prahran win keeps the race wide open. The game is at Deakin and St Leo's are never easy there. Having played against these two teams in the past fortnight, I think Emmaus St. Leo's can get on top of Prahran and have a comfortable win.

This thread is losing its oomph and appeal. 2 weeks out b4 finals and everyone goes quiet. Has there been a ban by clubs? No Bull Temp people, Rupo, Carey etc. I hardly think this site breaks any amazing news that clubs are trying to keep quiet on. what is happening. It was a good read up until now.

Monkeyboy said:
This thread is losing its oomph and appeal. 2 weeks out b4 finals and everyone goes quiet. Has there been a ban by clubs? No Bull Temp people, Rupo, Carey etc. I hardly think this site breaks any amazing news that clubs are trying to keep quiet on. what is happening. It was a good read up until now.

Agree entirely although i have been very quiet of late. Not that i'm worried about exposing or giving away secrets, merely just enjoying the read. All games this weekend have some sort of appeal, the oc v bt match is going to be a thriller, but i'll be watching the rupo v old geelong clash! Where will everyone else be? :thumbsu:

I think the thread misses the Therry boys spruiking. They've finally won a few and have shut up, not good enough. The BT boys on fire like Rupo, have kept quiet. Kingbrown not drinking as much. Ugly too busy at work, trying to earn a living.

The OG's are very welcome this week providing they bring those poo pick up gloves and leave our arena in pristine condition. Mind you a bit of fertilising might not go astray. I hope they didn't have shares in Vision Systems that went up 21.6% yesterday. I'm sure Geeves would have been onto that one. It's about time the OG's went a bit easy on the boys from Rupi. The boys still say they were the most impressive, so we will need a big effort Saturday.

I think the thread is going ok, there are probably just a few people out there getting a touch nervous leading up to the business end of the season, so are reluctant to make any bold statements. Also might be some readers losing interest as there team is out of the contention for finals.

The form of the top sides is becoming difficult to gauge with different sides faultering at some point nearing the end of the home and away season. It seems as though the OGS might be getting the right players back at the right time of the year. But who is to say that clubs such as BT, or Carey aren't just resting some blokes now to get them cherry ripe for finals, and maybe dropping a game or 2 as a result?

The way it sits now I think all teams will have all available players out on the park this weekend, making all games an intriguing spectacle.

Interested to know who people think will take 4th spot, can Rupo get over an inform OGS, or will Yarra continue on there winning way to claim that 4th spot?

kingbrown said:
I think the thread misses the Therry boys spruiking. They've finally won a few and have shut up, not good enough. The BT boys on fire like Rupo, have kept quiet. Kingbrown not drinking as much.

Having never met you, kingbrown, I always find it enjoyable to read your posts on a Saturday evening and trying to guess what your BAC was at the time. Love your work, kb.

Yes Chip & Gravy, this thread is cruising along, ready for a big push come finals time. I would also like to say, you go down very well as a 4-5am snack post-night-out-on-the-turps. Haven't seen many chip shops open but by golly are they good after hitting the sauce.
R17 has huge ramafications depending on certain outcomes.
OC should maintain top spot over BT who could end up playing Rupo two weeks in a row if they sneak in.
I think the OGs will finish top two but Rupo will finally shake the monkey this week by a couple of como sausage rolls. From what I have heard all female Old Geelong supporters would be welcome.
Therry will beat Banyule, Prahran will push but fall short v St.Leos andI reckon the panthers 2 will push the rangers all the way but big Keem up forward and the brothers Drew will be too hard to stop. Yarra just. Although, OM have played some belters at home this year so wouldn't be suprised to see it go the other way.
A few closing questions. Can we take anything from the OG v OC match last week? Are BT foxing us all before making a moccery of the finals? Can Yarra hold 4th spot? Can Rupo complete a bit of a fairy tail and contest the finals? I guess we'll find out in 18 short holes.
Cheerio lads.

I am sure with the gravity of the matches being played that many are biting their tongues.

The issue I believe surrounds the identity of many posters, and exactly where their allegiances lay. Are people foxing, are people who they say they are, could they say something to give others ammunition. There is sensible silence from many, and media gagging appears rife!!!!

I will say this, there is a spray building somewhere in the list of regular posters that might be worthy of top billing for post of the year - from an impact persepctive anyway. It might just hit the screens later this week, or failing that probably pre-finals.

There is a side in the competition that has won no favours or respect amongst many of its opponents, and the reasons for this will be revealed I believe fairly soon. I can say no more!

Stay tuned characters, some entertaining controversy may be just around the corner!!!!

Ripping post Midas. Love it. Have no idea what you mean, but sounds jucier than one of Geeves's T-Bones!
The spray/impact perspective call?? If i had to guess i would lean towards the posts relating to BT players in ressies, names on team lists etc. That was about the most interesting of recent posts. Or maybe the umpire posting on here?!?! I am intrigued.
The side winning no favours/respect from opposition. This is a difficult one. A few people have had a few nasty things to say about YV. Banyule have been labelled undisciplined on the field. Again very interesting.
Are you sure you don't want to give us just a little more????

Cheers - DG

All pertaining to the one poster's one post. From what I gather it will have strong opinions and have an impact in the strength with which it discusses a number of issues.

All in good time!!!

DG-Man said:
The spray/impact perspective call?? If i had to guess i would lean towards the posts relating to BT players in ressies, names on team lists etc. That was about the most interesting of recent posts. Or maybe the umpire posting on here?!?! I am intrigued.
cheers - DG

S h i t Midas - you got us all worried about we may/may not have said!!

BT is not dropping players or secretly bringing ex-players back via the twos. As one of those named in earlier posts, I can asure you our friend Conduct was throwing out a line he knew would get some people thinking (and talking). Would not expect too many inclusions from here in - although if the twos make the finals they will have some experienced senior players 'making up the numbers' in the earlier game.

That leaves Yarra valley as the club in question (or is there a dark horse who has been secretley paying players?), and after playing against them a few weeks back, I am a little mystified where/why/how they would get a bad name. No better or worse than anyone else I would have thought.

No. It's just one poster's opinion, based on factual evidence from football incidents throughout the season. Won't be slanderous, and doesn't directly pertain to anyone on these boards or what they have posted!

Nothing to be too concerned about for anyone posting on here!!!