D GRADE: Give me something...

Nice pick up Harvs! Hadn't thought of that one either!

Seems my Collins (OC) and Chivers double is looking good. Forgot that Parton would be there for the goalkicking and not the B&F.

Still waiting on plenty of tips: Leader MJS2 and chasers Ugly, Is that So, Hansie and Bullant10 being the most crucial.

At the moment - 6 tips in 5/1 in favour of OC and 3/3 in the 1st Semi.

Are we 100% sure that both games are on Saturday???? All other sections have one Saturday and 1 Sunday. Reading a footy mag today, it said 1st Semi on Sunday. Can i have confirmation from the smartest cookie in the jar please??

Re training tonight. Geeves will be everywhere. Teams will be listed as soon as they come to hand!

Cheers - DG

Two big games this week as we all know, it will be interesting to see if selection throws up any suprises/disappointments - I'll take a stab in the dark and suggest they will.
I think Carey will just get over Geelong although I wouldn't be shocked by any means to see the Oggers do the double jump (as opposed to the double drop) in a nail biter. I don't think we can take much out of the last game as neither was apparently at full strength.
The loser of this will face a running, running and running youthful Rupo side who I think will enjoy the lovely finals weather and open spaces at the Snake Pit. Having said that, reading previous reports from the BT v Rupo game suggest they have upped the ante in terms of hardness and aggression which will only benefit them in the finals series. I'm not taking anything away from YV here, have been an admirer of their season thus far, but I think Rupo will be too good on the day.
Interesting to see the highest vote getters from C-D4 grades posted on VAFA site. I guess this means a winner will come from Parton/Collins, Casboult, Chivers, D.Collins or Drew. I'm gonna go with either Casboult or Drew. I think they were in the top few for number of times in best.
Good luck to all those playing this weekend. Hope those that aren't had a cracker on Mad Monday!
Ride on train, ride on.

The B&F is hard to pick this year, but I think that it's a race in 2 between Collins and Casbolt. They're both prolific ball winners in the centre and own the corridor for there respective teams. They both stand out in different ways. I think Casbolt will take the honours just, due to greater effectiveness and has the ability to go fwd or back in key positions when required, which is sure to really catch the umpires eye. DG, how far have the odds blown out on the Hoops since the tips have come in??? I've decided to jump right on board the Ogs banwagon with you, so if the odds are lengthening I want some more action.

VOTE COUNT - YOUR CLUB'S HIGHEST VOTE WINNERS ANNOUNCED!
OLD CAREY - Stephen Collins
OLD CAREY- Allister Parton

Hmmm, you're right Harvs, not sure where I got the idea that Parton was equal with Collins as OC's highest vote getter...

DG-Man said:
Nice pick up Harvs! Hadn't thought of that one either!

Seems my Collins (OC) and Chivers double is looking good. Forgot that Parton would be there for the goalkicking and not the B&F.

Still waiting on plenty of tips: Leader MJS2 and chasers Ugly, Is that So, Hansie and Bullant10 being the most crucial.

At the moment - 6 tips in 5/1 in favour of OC and 3/3 in the 1st Semi.

Are we 100% sure that both games are on Saturday???? All other sections have one Saturday and 1 Sunday. Reading a footy mag today, it said 1st Semi on Sunday. Can i have confirmation from the smartest cookie in the jar please??

Re training tonight. Geeves will be everywhere. Teams will be listed as soon as they come to hand!

Cheers - DG

Sorry DG though the tipping was over for the season:
OC will win
Rupo will win

OG will beat Rupo
and OC will win Flag

B & F
Best player in comp at the moment is Collins (OC) by a fair bit IMO.
Chivers was awesome for about 6-7 weeks and and will Poll very well, needs to be in front early as last 4- 5 weeks he was well under done.
cant have casboult saw him 3 times and was solid in 3 of the 3 but not BOG in any.

Collins of Rupo strong.

Ugly still sooking..... Hopefully will come good once the prozac kicks in (Dr said could take a week when heavy grief is involved)!

On to this week. I have seen all BUT OGS recently so for what is it worth:

Old Carey by 25 point (even with out Dolly). Hoops have no one to stop Collins - not that they are on their own there...
Rupo by 80 points (I genuinely belive this - they were very good last week and Yarra want be able to get close to them). - Ugly happy to take $$ on this if someone wants to offer odds!

thanks for listening...thanks for caring.....love you all....

Carey easily

Ruppo will destroy yarra

but who cares......

Nah good luck to all in finals still cant believe bullants not in.....:eek:

Selection night on finals, what a nightmare for the coaches. I'm with Ugly, i love you all but i have to go and have another VB. This was a very difficult night, not easy.

My tips Rupo, we are looking very,very good IMO.
The other game i don't give a stuff because barring injury we currently have the ability to beat anyone.

I honestly believe YV are the side that would hold the least fears playing us, hopefully they are in for a shock.

Watch out for our reserves, just very quietely!!!!!

Just dropping down a Section briefly to pass on a tip regarding the VAFA Section vote counts...treat with caution the teams who have had two names listed on the Ammos website...it could in fact be that both players poll extremely well and one of the two or both win or finsh very high in the count...my mail is the Ammos are not giving everything away!

Been great reading the D Section thread throughout the year.

Best of luck to all teams/clubs in the finals

RCT

Interesting thoughts RCT. Very interesting indeed. With OC winning 15 games, you can expect enough votes to enable either of their stars to win. However the other 4 leading clubs with "Rock the Cazboult", The Helmetted Chiv", "The other Drew" and "The other Collo" all being come alone attendees....it is a difficult one to pick.
I think everyone concedes that the OC's Collo is the premier player in the comp in 06, however i am just not sure he stands out as obviously as Parton and Chivers do.
I'm going with Chivers. Yes he will need to be out in front early as he tailed a little. But remember BT won plenty of games early and he seemed to star in all of them. Does not hurt wearing a helmet and shaking the umpys hand before a game each week.

DG says:

Chivers - 20
Casboult/Drew/Parton/Collins/Collins - 17

Geeves has told me that the OGS welcome back 3 important ins for the weekends game. White, Munro and Paul seem to back in the side. This is not 100% guaranteed, as Geeves only sourced this info by bribing an official with a plate of scones. With the respect Geeves scones have at Como, it is unsure whether the unamed official gave up the correct info...or was just desperate for a plate of Geeves gourmet delights!

Down at Bulleen, the selection committee toiled long and hard. A few key ins, plenty of ressies players putting thier hands up...but definately no Parton. Still waiting for spy tape footage re final side. Geeves bugged the committee room where coach Matthews and crew were deciding the final 22. Is looking to retrieve the tapes this afternoon.

Cheers - DG

Half Back's Finals Tips

First Semi

YV V Rupo.... Yv in a close one by 3 Goals

Second Semi...

OC V OG... Another close one OG the first through to C Grade by 4 Goals

Cheers
Half Back

Firstly DG, Geeves must've been in the wrong place last night! We don't have a committee room at Bulleen. Kanga and Co pick the sides while standing out on the landing outside the clubrooms. Makes it interesting for the blokes in the club that smoke - they get first hand knowledge of the sides!

For what its worth, we'll get over OGS - in a close one. Hopefully we can do the double and win in the 2s as well.

Meanwhile, I tend to lean towards Rupo in the first semi - think the warmer weather will favour their running style of footy more so that Yarra's stoppage-type, arm wrestle style. Again, not too much in it and I wouldn't be surprised if Yarra beat them at all!

A well-stacked Mentonians Ressies will get through and await the loser of us and Oggers.

Good luck!

Cheers,

I think Old Carey will win, show why it finished on top of the ladder and why its overall evenness will set it apart. Parton's apparent injury will hurt, and I see this as being some issue for them but the back up in Bull, White and Angus might still stretch a somewhat brittle OG's defence in my opinion, as will the penetrating kicking of Collins, while Tiras' addition to the upfront cavalry has also been significant.

The midfield will be where the game will be won, and some great battles will be seen with the likes of James (massively underrated in my opinion), Howgate (a super addition), Angus (excellent shadower) and of course Collins coming up against the OG's strong on ball brigade of Casboult, Bayles, Bell etc. The mix of size, strength and speed in both sides will be imperative here, but I just feel like the balance is slightly better with OC hence finishing significantly clear on top.

The OG's forward line can rotate and score heavily - and damn quickly. The Hyphen, along with messrs O'Brien & Kimpton, and Bell provide the class from on the ball will be difficult to contain. But the mid sized defenders of Old Carey are solid if not spectacular, and might be able to hold the varied OG's attack.

In terms of style, the OG's blatantly shovel backwards, to try and create the man with vision running forward to hit leading targets. It's interesting given the size and strength of many of its onballers, but it also plays into the strength of its backline in having the capacity to run off in numbers.

Conversely, the strength and speed of the Carey on ballers will often see them take players on, and with devastating effect. This is where the likes of Howgate and James have really strengthened the OC midfield, along with Collins. It is the area thought that with the size and strength of it'smidfield, the OG's may be able to hold them up and then unleash its own game to effect.

The midifeld battle is critical, as I think OC are better up front and have a better, more organised defence from a defensive point of view compared to OG's attacking style. OG's really need to win the battle in here, and should they do that, then the hoops hitting C Grade are a possibility.

But I just feel that some of the older heads in the OC, having played higher level footy and having I believe superior ability over the park, will prevail by about 25 points.

As for the Bushrangers and Rupo, I must confess to having more of a gut feel with how you look at this one, as I've Rupo a really hard side to put a finger on.

They are not that big, but they hold their ground well over the ball. Their defence seems stretched height and strength wise, yet they have the ability to get a fist on the footy. Their skill level appeared ordinary (note we played them on the wet day, so can't comment like the BT boys from last week who'll differ), but yet they seem to score heavily.

They are the ultimate conundrum.

The upside, and the thing they do well, is run well in numbers, rotate heavily through the midfield, have an even multi dimensional forward line and are almost impossible to shut out by focusing on one or two players.

The Bushrangers, well you;ve got to give them respect for the effort to make the Finals after being written off pre-season and after their disastrous start.

The evenness that exists with the other three finalists I don't believe is the same, but the star quality in a few players is exceptional when they are on and haven't they been on lately.

The Drew borthers in the midfield have been spoken about ad nauseum, but it is their contrasting styles that makes them so dangerous. Ash is brilliant at getting in and under, extracting the footy to a teammate in a better position by hand or forcing it forward by foot. Rob is equally as hard, with the same hard ball winning capacity but can break a pack, as well as roll back across half back and provide a thorn in the forward line of an opposition but winning and using the footy deep.

Valoppi is so underrated in this comp, hard, skilful, gets on the end of it, and has a huge enigine. And it is these three in the midfield that hold the key to their fortunes, along with Hancock who needs to play in the ruck apologies Toohas. In these four players, they can dominate the midfield for extended periods with their hardness, skill level and will to win the footy. I know Rupo have some good smalls, but these guys strength, speed and second and third efforts are difficult to stop and I believe are a little more complete than the six or seven Rupo rotate through there. Rupo could do worse than to work hard to tire this crew out through rotations and try and take advantage when they're off the ball.

Up forward Le Cordier and Keem provide great targets. Big admirer of Le Cordier, leads genuinely, with pace, adn attacks the footy with eyes only for it and is a beautiful kick. As for Keem, a true key forward in every sense of the word, but his yips are as bad as you'd see and if he's off, it could spell danger. Wonder how happily he'll be driving that really "super" Lancer of his with the Keema number plates! Stone is the other one up forward - clever, attacks the pill and the man hard and is probably going to be difficult to stop from kicking two or three, been consistent all season.

Defensively YV are a little brittle, and the even spread of goalkickers Rupo consistently has will be the YV Achilles Heel, as they do have a couple of defenders that can be exploited. This will be critical and provide Rupo with plenty of opportunities to score even if forays inside 50 are limited.

It's a really tough call this one, but YV have stepped up to the mark, have some tall forwards that will make it tough and as long as its midfield quartet dominate for long enough patches, they might just get over the line against a Rupo side who as long as they keep coming will be so very close.

YV by a point.

Great Analysis Midas, very insightful (obviously you're not the quill), its interesting to see the game through a coaches eyes. If you were coaching against these sides (OGS & OC), which players would you be trying to shut down? Would it be just the obvious ones??

Enjoyable read everyone. Think Old Carey will win as they have been the best side all year. Rupo will beat YV as they are fast and confident and will be too slick for Valley unless it rains.
Think Carey and Geelong will go up. They will play off in both senior and reserves grand finals.
Winner of the B&F - Drew YV and Collins Rupo
Good luck to all the players and teams. It has been fun reading all the posts through the year. Geeves and Sandra Sully the funnyiest stuff.

Mate, with 1 win, 7 losses against these mobs, is my opinion worth that much?

In all honesty, I would look at a key few, but it would be more about implementing a game plan to counteract the style of play you're up against.

Collins I'd have a run with player, told not to worry about the footy too much and make sure every touch he gets is under pressure. But what you do there is negate your own ability to win the footy, so I'd instruct him to try and stand between Colllins and where he thinks the footy will go at any stoppage, with a hand on, but not get sucked in unless he was supremely confident he'd take the ball quickly - because the quick squirt will kill you. A lot of it gets back to fanataical tackling from your half forward line, so I'd be inclined to roll a predominantly defensive player on to the half forward line with the role of crashing the contest, and hunting them down from behind, try and create perceived pressure. This would be the same for both these sides.

But rather than players, it's a style of play that may well determine the result. How well you implement it might make the difference.

See for instance with OG's, if they tackle well around the stoppages and can stop the ball being cleared by pack-breakers and force spills to where they have numbers at the rear of the pack (or fwd for Carey), they could really cause some problems by winning some clean possesions after turnovers strictly by weight of numbers.

If however, Carey start to look backwards, and handball away from the contest, they could really expose OG's propensity to sit off the footy around the contest - meaning plenty of uncontested, clean footy for the likes of Collins, James etc who are penetrating kicks

But the key thing here is still always winning the footy first, and then making sure you use it as effectively as possible.

Then about how you can break sides down. Be it defensive run, be it allowing a run at all coast mentality or a crowded, stay at home defensive mentality. Up forward, against both these sides I'd back their forward lines one out so I'd try and separate them as much as possible, as they tend to assist each other pretty well so I'd have the forwards own their own space but stay well and truly clear of others, as both have five or six who could kick five or six. This also creates confiusion and allows more accountablility on rebound from defence. It's always horses for courses, but being able to slightly tweak your own basic game plan is usually the key to getting over the line.

My two cents worth anyway

Do you think these 2 sides will go relatively head to head? I think that both sides will back themselves in, in the one on one contests, so it could be an attacking game.

If it comes to which side can tweak it's structure to gain the advantage, then I think the OGS will win out, as they seem to have an extremely flexible side with many players who can hold down various positions. From reading what a few others think, if OC can settle, and there structure is right from the 1st bounce then the damage could be already done.

If it's a close game, or even close at half time, expect the OGS to be the first promoted to C Grade, as they have come home strong all year by all accounts.

Chip & Gravy said:
Do you think these 2 sides will go relatively head to head? I think that both sides will back themselves in, in the one on one contests, so it could be an attacking game.

If it comes to which side can tweak it's structure to gain the advantage, then I think the OGS will win out, as they seem to have an extremely flexible side with many players who can hold down various positions. From reading what a few others think, if OC can settle, and there structure is right from the 1st bounce then the damage could be already done.

If it's a close game, or even close at half time, expect the OGS to be the first promoted to C Grade, as they have come home strong all year by all accounts.

Gravyman, you are an OGS through and through and know exactly how your side has been coming home. I'm sure you will deny it, but it is sooooo obvious. Deny it all you want, but you will be the first one showing your true colours when the season is over and OGS are in C Grade. Nothing wrong with laying low, but you don't do it very well.

I am quite happy to run with this accusation. At least I now have a team in the finals!

In all seriousness, I guess I am going for Ogs, but only because I simply don't do things in halves, I said they would win, and I'm explaining why.

I think that you might have been reading too many of your little sisters text messages when you chose to emphasise sooooooooo the way you do.......... All i'm doing is providing some opinions on what I know about rather than what I don't know about......

What's amazing about Rupo really is that no one really has an idea about them. I've read some stuff on players that is not even close, it is very interesting that Midas calls us a conundrum!! All other sides there seems to be a close analysis of key players. I am not sure they are accurate however there seems to be alot more knowledge of them.

DG Man has seen us out our best twice and at our worst once, i am quivering with excitement and anticipation of the Rupo side that runs out tomorrow.

Good Luck to all.