• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

D1 - 2010

Very unsavory stuff - was just reminiscing today about the game at Monash in late 80s when our immortal president Keith Frearson called the police at half time because he thought (reasonably) one of us students was going to get killed. A divvy van watched the second half, no one died, we won by 20 goals... ah yes Heatherton and the good old days....

Trevor's Tips for Round 5

NOBS v Willy - NOBS have perfect record at home and Willy have imperfect record away. NOBs quite easily for me

Aquinas v Peninsula - 2nd top v 2nd bottom and based on respective form that is about right. Pirates easily for me

Monash v Werribee - can't see why they won't pump us too...

OMs v BT - BT on fire and it won't stop this week.

Friars v SMD - If they can kick 9 in the last qrt v Aquinas last week then I expect some serious party time in the second half at home again this week. Ouch!

(Progressive 15/20 = 75% but who really cares...)

Very unsavory stuff - was just reminiscing today about the game at Monash in late 80s when our immortal president Keith Frearson called the police at half time because he thought (reasonably) one of us students was going to get killed. A divvy van watched the second half, no one died, we won by 20 goals... ah yes Heatherton and the good old days....

Trevor's Tips for Round 5

NOBS v Willy - NOBS have perfect record at home and Willy have imperfect record away. NOBs quite easily for me

Aquinas v Peninsula - 2nd top v 2nd bottom and based on respective form that is about right. Pirates easily for me

Monash v Werribee - can't see why they won't pump us too...

OMs v BT - BT on fire and it won't stop this week.

Friars v SMD - If they can kick 9 in the last qrt v Aquinas last week then I expect some serious party time in the second half at home again this week. Ouch!

(Progressive 15/20 = 75% but who really cares...)

Lock in the same tips for me too EXCEPT I will keep the faith (unlike Trev)and tip against the Werribee lads after their big drive across town. They have to drop one at some stage, why not against the Ashes. Fancy G.Smyth, T.Craven and Co. might outrun the Bees on the Frearson, ala Blues vs Saints on monday night.

Also very interested in OMs vs BT. Suspect OMs might find something and BT are not flash away from Ajani. Still tipping BT however...

Trev, must have been a tough day for the Professor to call the cops, having dealt with the Hun in WW2, he didn't scare easy!!

Good luck to all, especially the umpires - give em a go this saturday.

Very unsavory stuff

Your an idiot. How can you call an incident unsavory, and slag off a whole club, when you didn't see anything, and have only heard second hand reports. Just because someone unfortunately gets injured, doesn't necessary mean there was a 'thug' involved. A bit of balance would be nice.

Balance is a term used by people to try to put a positive spin on a situation. Unless the bloke broke his own jaw i cant see how it is anything apart from thuggery and should be dealt with accordingly, by the VAFA and the courts.

When you sign up to play football you assume the "risk" of injury from a game related incident (Tackle/Bump), and if this occurs you have to wear that. You do not sign up to become a victim of assault, which i believe, if you hit someone on field or off is still assault. That is not a risk anyone who is playing football for the "love of the game" want in the league and hence should be dealt with accordingly.

Lock in the same tips for me too EXCEPT I will keep the faith (unlike Trev)and tip against the Werribee lads after their big drive across town. They have to drop one at some stage, why not against the Ashes. Fancy G.Smyth, T.Craven and Co. might outrun the Bees on the Frearson, ala Blues vs Saints on monday night.

Also very interested in OMs vs BT. Suspect OMs might find something and BT are not flash away from Ajani. Still tipping BT however...

i dont think BT have ever won at the playing fields....must be about 0 and 10 there i reckon...will take a good effort to break the hoodoo and get the points

Un true Half Back - we have won one game at the playing fields since 1993, taking the chocolates in 2003. Net deficit thou would be about 80 goals, with Ackerman, Stroud, Patterson, Solley, Bournon, Palmer (just for you Chicken) and more recently Basile all having the odd picnic against us. I even recall Murphey (full back) breaking away from a lazy BT full forward (who will remain nameless) to kick one into the ring of Reserves players that used to hang out behind the goals at the club rooms end. Not a fond memory!!

Used to be a long trip home (about 6 cans) down Springvale Rd but now with East Link it is almost a home game.....

Very unsavory stuff - was just reminiscing today about the game at Monash in late 80s when our immortal president Keith Frearson called the police at half time because he thought (reasonably) one of us students was going to get killed

Keith Frearson was a man that was admired and respected by all at Hoe Park!

Trev, must have been a tough day for the Professor to call the cops, having dealt with the Hun in WW2, he didn't scare easy!!

Good luck to all, especially the umpires - give em a go this saturday.

Les - From what I heard you would want to have your skates on as the word is that the Bees are a running machine! Will no doubt be a great game though as those players you have mentioned are terrific players. But I can't go against the form and I reckon the Bees will get over you by 4-5 goals!

Aquinas no doubt would have dug deep after the capitulation last week and they will be feirce for the contest but the Pirates have strong bodies and this will wiin it for them in a tight tussle

NOBS over Willy by 5-6 goals NOBS looked the goods last year out there and their form has been OK this year. Willy finding the step up a bit challenging but they have escalated 2 grades in 2 years so will settle in the 2nd half of the year.

OM's will want to be nice and hard to get over BT who are a strong bodied team also. This will be close but I think the strength of BT will get them over the line in a thriller.

Finally not much seems to be going right for SMD at present and perhaps the Friars are just starting to get a bit of confidence so I think they will win by 5-7 goals on the vast expanses of Friar Park.

Notice that C.Lee got in the state squad, well done, and sounds like he is concentrating on his footy this year which no doubt will be of great benefit to the Juggernauts!

Les - From what I heard you would want to have your skates on as the word is that the Bees are a running machine! Will no doubt be a great game though as those players you have mentioned are terrific players. But I can't go against the form and I reckon the Bees will get over you by 4-5 goals!

Aquinas no doubt would have dug deep after the capitulation last week and they will be feirce for the contest but the Pirates have strong bodies and this will wiin it for them in a tight tussle

NOBS over Willy by 5-6 goals NOBS looked the goods last year out there and their form has been OK this year. Willy finding the step up a bit challenging but they have escalated 2 grades in 2 years so will settle in the 2nd half of the year.

OM's will want to be nice and hard to get over BT who are a strong bodied team also. This will be close but I think the strength of BT will get them over the line in a thriller.

Finally not much seems to be going right for SMD at present and perhaps the Friars are just starting to get a bit of confidence so I think they will win by 5-7 goals on the vast expanses of Friar Park.

Notice that C.Lee got in the state squad, well done, and sounds like he is concentrating on his footy this year which no doubt will be of great benefit to the Juggernauts!

G'day Jack, our first ever look at the Bees tomorrow, so we'll soon know what they've got to offer. Sounds like plenty!!

Think your boys might boost the % tomorrow as well as the 4 points!!

Great win by Werribee today. Wasn't so much our run but our hardness at the footy that gave us the win. Playing sensational footy.

Good spot to play footy Monash. Great surface (apart from the centre wicket area!) and great food too! :thumbsu:

Nice work by Werribee - too good on the day in all areas at Monash. We had a tiny sniff early in the last to get within about 4 goals with a slight breeze, but Werribee snuffed that out easily & finished all over the top. Not a really tall side but very good runners, clean users of the footy and plenty of footy smarts. Certainly the bench mark for all sides to measure up to in D1 at the moment.

Next round should be a cracker with the top 6 sides all playing each other.

Aquinas must be happy to upset Pirates - things must have clicked out there boys?

Watched an interesting game at the playing fields. The Bullants seemed have the game wrapped up, but ran out of legs after half time and choked under the pressure.

What are the stories from the other games?

Watched an interesting game at the playing fields. The Bullants seemed have the game wrapped up, but ran out of legs after half time and choked under the pressure.

What are the stories from the other games?

Reports from Friar Park was that the game was a pretty ordinary display from both teams. South applied plenty of pressure between CHF & CHB, Friars played wide to little effect. Had it not been for the presence of a couple of key forwards the game could have gone the other way. All in all I would have thought that our young Friars would be happy to collect the 4 points!

On the bright side believe that a few players are starting return with Baggoley & Crea playing the early game. They will make a huge impact when they get back!!

Out to play Willy this week in what will be a real crunch game for both sides. This will give us an indication about where the Friars are going for the year ahead.

The Bullants will be seething i'd reckon...letting one slip that was there for the taking. I'm sure they'll be jumping out of their skins this week with the long trip to Peninsula (lol). At least it'll be beach weather.

Jack - at 3-3, and with a couple of results going your way...things could well and truly be back on track for your boys....(on another note - not being smart - did you see my mate D. Kelly was best again for NR...he's started the season in ripping form)

The Bullants will be seething i'd reckon...letting one slip that was there for the taking. I'm sure they'll be jumping out of their skins this week with the long trip to Peninsula (lol). At least it'll be beach weather.

Jack - at 3-3, and with a couple of results going your way...things could well and truly be back on track for your boys....(on another note - not being smart - did you see my mate D. Kelly was best again for NR...he's started the season in ripping form)

Yep I have noticed he must have got on top of his injuries from last year. Always looked like he had the potential to be a star.

Good luck to him hope NR go weLl this year.

Reports from Friar Park was that the game was a pretty ordinary display from both teams. South applied plenty of pressure between CHF & CHB, Friars played wide to little effect. Had it not been for the presence of a couple of key forwards the game could have gone the other way. All in all I would have thought that our young Friars would be happy to collect the 4 points!

On the bright side believe that a few players are starting return with Baggoley & Crea playing the early game. They will make a huge impact when they get back!!

Out to play Willy this week in what will be a real crunch game for both sides. This will give us an indication about where the Friars are going for the year ahead.

Definitely a crunch game for both sides, if we lose this we'll be 1-5 and finals would be off the radar. With Aquinas hitting form, 1-5 is not where our footy club wants to be in terms of relegation. As such, i expect the boys to come out all guns blazing and replicate last weeks 4th quarter which nearly got us over the line. Should be a cracker!

I think that last week results (especially Aquinas over Peninsula) shows that aside from SMD and Werribee, the competition is very even.

Incidently, i see on the Vafa website that the OM player got 8 weeks. Not sure if its too harsh (ie umpire didnt see it etc) or too weak (SMD player will be out for much longer).

Trevor's Tips

Closest round for the season coming up..

Willy v Friars - big games for both sides as a loss will make finals hard. Willy must have been pretty good in patches last week so home ground is enough for me to think they can sneak home in nailbiter

Monash v OMs - should be another close one and hopefully the Ashes can get over the line at home

SMD v Aquinas - could this be the duck-breaker for SMD? By all reports have started putting closer to 4 qrtr effort in, but going for Aquinas by a few goals

Peninsula v BT - home side likely to bounce back and BT can't be happy heading even further south this week. Should be close but

Werribee v NOBS - NOBs have a chance if all goes right for them, but would be more of a chance at home.

Willy v Friars - Friars had some tough games to the start of season and are starting to hit there straps

Monash v OMs - Monash only beaten SMD, Aquinas and Nobs at home. OM's for me in a close one after coming off a good win last week

SMD v Aquinas - Aquinas will enjoy there second win on the trot

Peninsula v BT - BT will run out of legs again

Werribee v NOBS - NOBS no chance

Willy v Friars - Friars had some tough games to the start of season and are starting to hit there straps

Monash v OMs - Monash only beaten SMD, Aquinas and Nobs at home. OM's for me in a close one after coming off a good win last week

SMD v Aquinas - Aquinas will enjoy there second win on the trot

Peninsula v BT - BT will run out of legs again

Werribee v NOBS - NOBS no chance
Friars-should prove to good for Willy.
Monash-OM's better at home Monash for me.
Aquinas-In a close one
BT-Don't think BT will lose 2 in a row.
Werribee-NOB'S will give them their first test,but the Bees should win at home.

Friars-should prove to good for Willy.
Monash-OM's better at home Monash for me.
Aquinas-In a close one
BT-Don't think BT will lose 2 in a row.
Werribee-NOB'S will give them their first test,but the Bees should win at home.

im pretty sure monash was the team that could have beaten the bees and look what happened there.
have seen nobs play the bees both home and away and they just simply cannot keep up with the pace the bees have for the full 4 quarters.
lets face it, the team in just unstoppable. the only thing that will hurt them in injury.