• South Melbourne

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Yarra Valley

Votes: 0 0.0%

Will be a very intersting last month of footy with 3 teams fighting for 2 finals spots. Should be some ripper games in the run home.

OMs - OG (A), Fitz (H), Pra (H), SM (A)
OG - OM (H), SM (A), Aqu (A), Fitz (H)
Fitz - Pra (H), OM (A), BT (H), OG (A)

Plenty of footy to be played between now and Round 18, but that OG vs Fitz clash could be a belter!

I would thnk we have the 'easiest' run home, but obviously last round vs Fitz is a must win, and OM have a game on us.

interesting to note, Fitzroy have the lowest points for and points against, they seem to struggle to kick big scores (but conversely dont have many kicked against them) is this good or bad comes finals football?

I would thnk we have the 'easiest' run home, but obviously last round vs Fitz is a must win, and OM have a game on us.

interesting to note, Fitzroy have the lowest points for and points against, they seem to struggle to kick big scores (but conversely dont have many kicked against them) is this good or bad comes finals football?

We are the Sydney Swans of D1. ;)

History tells you finals footy is won with great defensive teams

Ease up JC15 - thanks for the sage advice though.

No spruiking here, the previous post asked if a low for/against total was good come finals football.

Basically a hypotheical question, and I believe my answer didn't suggest we thought we would definitely make finals. May well have to win everything from here on in to do so. Will be a tough month ahead.

Originally Posted by overtheline
Well beating the out of form NOBS this week might test your theory.

I thought that was a pretty good call last week with very few picking the REDS!

Will do it easily again tomorrow and with 3 playing four there is plenty to play for.

OG to embarrass OM this weekend and stamp their authority on the competition. they dont like it at como, never have, never will

Oggers over OM by 8 points after being 30 points down at three quarter time.
Great game, we were lucky to be in it at 3 quarter time (combination of our accurate kicking the their wayward kciking) but the last quarter effort was massive and could have been a 3 goal win if we took a few late chances.

It may look it but i wasn't actaully right, OG emabrassed the most hated figure in the ammos (Magee) not OM.

having cost OM c-grade last year by refusing to drop players back, he's gone one better by deliberately trying to keep them out of the top 4, couldnt happen to a nicer bloke!

onto bigger fish, the round 18 battle (OG v Fitz) is heating up, cant wait!

any other results?

Reds by a couple over the two blues
still have the job ahead of them the boys from BSO
the scribes boys just

Pretty flat game all around - little atmosphere until Ross Ackland lit up in the last term kicking 3 goals to ice the game. Prahran were better with the ball when they got it, we just managed to get it more often than them.

Need to play better to win the next 3 games, but a couple of handy inclusions should help next week.

No doubt OMs will be seething, so it should be a ripper down at Keysie this Saturday.

Oggers over OM by 8 points after being 30 points down at three quarter time.
Great game, we were lucky to be in it at 3 quarter time (combination of our accurate kicking the their wayward kciking) but the last quarter effort was massive and could have been a 3 goal win if we took a few late chances.

It may look it but i wasn't actaully right, OG emabrassed the most hated figure in the ammos (Magee) not OM.

having cost OM c-grade last year by refusing to drop players back, he's gone one better by deliberately trying to keep them out of the top 4, couldnt happen to a nicer bloke!

onto bigger fish, the round 18 battle (OG v Fitz) is heating up, cant wait!

any other results?

explain?

just couldnt resist the chance to dig the heels in. i would have thought with a team 30points down and getting a run on you'd drop someone back rather than letting our forwards run riot. obviously hasnt learnt his lesson.

Cameo King, you seemed to only just do enough against YV, do you think your a good chance against BT? could be a huge edge either way as these two will definitely meet again in a month

just couldnt resist the chance to dig the heels in. i would have thought with a team 30points down and getting a run on you'd drop someone back rather than letting our forwards run riot. obviously hasnt learnt his lesson.

Cameo King, you seemed to only just do enough against YV, do you think your a good chance against BT? could be a huge edge either way as these two will definitely meet again in a month

Dunno about that. If I was 30 pts up at 3/4 time and had dominated for alot of the match I'd be backing myself to win the ball in the middle rather than go defensive.

Panthers would be kicking themselves about all the missed opportunities. Could have iced the game in the first half - particularly the first qtr. Bad kicking is bad footy...

Will be a great test to play BT @ BT- cop out answer but no idea how we'll go. Bar the last twenty minutes the game was very even last time, probably even slightly their way, though obviously they're in far better form than us at the minute and will be favourites, so it's a great challenge for us and really looking forward to it. Though with OGs red-hot form, the top two isn't set just yet.

Circular to clubs on Monday said details of senior finals venues should be known by this weekend.

I'd be confident of Box Hill, if available, given 3 of the 5 potential finalists are in the inner North/East. Wouldn't be a long trek for OGGs either. Only OMs would have to travel far, and even then its only 35-40 minutes up Springvale Rd.

Every chance C section should be played at Trevor Barker Oval.

Anyhow, all should be revealed in 4 days time.

Circular to clubs on Monday said details of senior finals venues should be known by this weekend.

I'd be confident of Box Hill, if available, given 3 of the 5 potential finalists are in the inner North/East. Wouldn't be a long trek for OGGs either. Only OMs would have to travel far, and even then its only 35-40 minutes up Springvale Rd.

Every chance C section should be played at Trevor Barker Oval.

Anyhow, all should be revealed in 4 days time.

Could the Vafa use MC Labour/ Optus/ Princess Park? Very handy for NOB, Fitzroy, BT, not bad for OG, shite for OM's. Great ground sadly under used.

Just got the word from HQ.

All D1 finals will be played at Central Reserve, Glen Waverley - home of the mighty Nodders.

Great ground, we should all be pretty happy (provided you get the home rooms!!!)

2nd semi is Saturday 23/8
1st semi is Sunday 24/8
Prelim is Saturday 30/8
GF is Saturday 6/9

All at Central Reserve.

Lookin forward to seeing the result of BT vs NOBS tomorrow. NOBS will need to improve dramatically on recent efforts to knock off the Bullants.

BT by 28pts for mine - BT vs OG will be there in the first Saturday in September...

om by 1 goal over fitz with a 100 pt turn around today. also news chris sinclair to debut in ones after impressing coach mcgee with his off field antics last Saturday. definitely proven his worth after drinking 12 wet pussies and then taking on 4 bouncers only to get himself booted out.