D2 Ammos

Congratulations to Cris Massis for winning his 4th B&F for Glen Eira and to Scott Diamond for coming second.

Also to Ben Zwar in the reserves, with Callum Reid and Andrew Haines tied for second.

Any other B&F results from other clubs

We obivoulsy haven;t had ours yet but Cheevo is the shortest possible favourite.

Is there any truth to the rumour that Massis, Diamond and Tsirogannis and hanging the boots up? That would hurt GE cause they are in your top 5 players.

We obivoulsy haven;t had ours yet but Cheevo is the shortest possible favourite.

Is there any truth to the rumour that Massis, Diamond and Tsirogannis and hanging the boots up? That would hurt GE cause they are in your top 5 players.

Sorry to disappoint you Saints ... No truth behind that rumour to my knowledge :cool:

well if we don't go up you will have to venture over the westgate twice, in case you haven't seen the d3 scores, old westbourne will be coming up. you reckon werribee pump themselves up, we have nothing on those blokes...

werribee already throwing cheap shots at old west.

would have thought they would have mouths tightly shut with the big game this week.

Never underestimate souths a good team on the rise.

werribee already throwing cheap shots at old west.

would have thought they would have mouths tightly shut with the big game this week.

Never underestimate souths a good team on the rise.
not intended to be a cheap shot at all mate.
i don't recall anywhere in my post underestimating south. in fact the post had nothing to do with south. go back and read it again. they didn't finish on top for no reason and they smashed us 4 weeks ago, you reckon we don't know we are up against it??? hosestly champ do some research before posting crap.

Sorry to disappoint you Saints ... No truth behind that rumour to my knowledge :cool:

Wouldnt be dissapointed at all mate, i have known these blokes through my brother for going on 15 years. It was great playing against them, but hopefully we wont be playing against you guys next year.

Who do people think will win this weekend. SMD or Werribee. Werribee were very good early on sunday and we were very dissapointing on Saturday.

not intended to be a cheap shot at all mate.
i don't recall anywhere in my post underestimating south. in fact the post had nothing to do with south. go back and read it again. they didn't finish on top for no reason and they smashed us 4 weeks ago, you reckon we don't know we are up against it??? hosestly champ do some research before posting crap.

didnt like that one did ya mate?

but thats the werribee way, dish it out and dont like it.

Ah they crumble in finals anyway the old tigers.

Welcome to the D2 thread Western!

Already looking forward to your input over the next 12 months! Do we have more Old West boys on Bigfooty? We need a few more posters cause we lose allot with Aquinas and Werribee or South moving on!

dish up what ever you like mate, i can certainly take it. there are a few ghosts in the old west closet that they wouldn't like getting out so be careful what you post champ.
anyway, back to this year's d2 action. hey saints, i see your hammy made a miraculous recovery after being out for the year??;)

hey saints, i see your hammy made a miraculous recovery after being out for the year??;)

Seeing as though i havent done my hammy since about round 10 its fine (touch wood its stays connected). It was my knee that was the problem and its still a week by week thing. Modern medicine is a faboulous thing. The hard ground didnt help on the weekend or the constant running back into defence and watching the ball fly through the Aquinas goals.

How is #27 for Werribee, everything ok there? Heard he left ground on stretcher and you dont want to see that happen to anyone.

While I would be disappointed not to be going to D1 next season all of a sudden some incentive to stay in D2.

Nothing better than beating Old Westbourne in a game of footy (I rate it slightly higher than beating Bentleigh)

Seeing as though i havent done my hammy since about round 10 its fine (touch wood its stays connected). It was my knee that was the problem and its still a week by week thing. Modern medicine is a faboulous thing. The hard ground didnt help on the weekend or the constant running back into defence and watching the ball fly through the Aquinas goals.

How is #27 for Werribee, everything ok there? Heard he left ground on stretcher and you dont want to see that happen to anyone.
sorry, my mistake, #27 is ok, took him a while to get his breath back. hitting that ground so hard didn't do him any favours.

Thats good to hear, so he will be right for this week? Even when you got tackled to the ground on saturday it took your breath away.

Hardest ground in the free world, even before the drought took hold. My old runner bluey brown ko'd himself on it playing kick to kick way back in 2001. Would hate to be on it again this week, Gerry Green is looking great as I drive by each day. I may go for a run on it tonight and report back tomorrow.

Well Done to Big Patty Dunne Salesian B&F winner, and Joey Morsello runner up.

Good signs for the club with 2 blokes 21 yrs and under filling the top 2 spots. With Kelly and Singh also 20 yrs old in the top 6 shows plent of upside for chaddy in 2008.

with all the problems Salesian had regarding their ground, staying up in D2 is a pretty good result for them. If a few of those young players can step up again and the club gets a permanent home, they might challenge for finals as they did last year.

and harps, i couldn't think of a better reason to get promoted than to avoid all things to do with Old Westbourne. particularly their forum trolls! see you on the d1 boards hopefully :thumbsu:

with all the problems Salesian had regarding their ground, staying up in D2 is a pretty good result for them. If a few of those young players can step up again and the club gets a permanent home, they might challenge for finals as they did last year.

and harps, i couldn't think of a better reason to get promoted than to avoid all things to do with Old Westbourne. particularly their forum trolls! see you on the d1 boards hopefully :thumbsu:

You a chance this week youngblood?

That morselllo kid is the best player in years to play for that mob, probably in the top 3 players under 21 in the comp smutto, could be anything next year...As for finals i dont really care too much now who wins havin been knocked out last week, good luck to both the tigers and districts this w/e.

i'm always a chance Harps, but i'll give you a definite answer tomorrow. wouldn't mind a berth up forward for a bigfooty/floggerific matchup against your good self!

I think Harps has given up on playing. Under estimates his Leroy Jetta type pace. Should play.

Any chance the Aquinas guys will be cheering for SMD on the w/e, so we can have that re-match?

Been very quiet on here the last week, expected to hear more from Werribee and more from Aquinas. Come on boys entertain me, bored shitless at work.

That morselllo kid is the best player in years to play for that mob, probably in the top 3 players under 21 in the comp smutto, could be anything next year...As for finals i dont really care too much now who wins havin been knocked out last week, good luck to both the tigers and districts this w/e.

He is a gun but surely not better than Micky Forer or Micky Hazell????

I think Harps has given up on playing. Under estimates his Leroy Jetta type pace. Should play.

Any chance the Aquinas guys will be cheering for SMD on the w/e, so we can have that re-match?

Been very quiet on here the last week, expected to hear more from Werribee and more from Aquinas. Come on boys entertain me, bored shitless at work.

Harps what are your thought on the ground we r playin at this w/e?? i remember havin a chat to you about chelts ground and u were happy u were playin on the smaller ground due to ur side being tall, what about the new ground?

Saints- I dont think the boys have any preference with who they play in the granny (mind u im a ressies player so wouldnt know for sure) with both side being very good as the results during the H&A season showed ( both one win one loss)... From a spectators point of view i would rather be watching South Vs Aquinas due to the lil rivarly over the last few weeks (and hopefully taken to D1 next year)

In saying this i guess most people would agree that the best sides through the whole season are left, with Aquinas South and Weribee being the best 3 sides throughout the yr which is great to see!

He is a gun but surely not better than Micky Forer or Micky Hazell????

Paul, to use M Hazell's name in the presence of Mick Forer is a Joke...Forer is a proven peformer over the best part of 3 decades in this cut throat football industry, has hazell covered :p...I hear we are trying a few things at the animals to try and get this elusive markesman down to the club to try and add a bit of spark to the foward line...Certaintly would be good for promotional purposes, with a nick name of Straunie' he could be invaluable ? Will need to get on the track on a regular basis if he is to live up to his high profile status in 2008, an absolute ornament to the game, would have loved to have met this bloke when we played them last but there was no site of him @ the game...What are we looking @ to lure furer ?

Does anyone know the team of the year for D2 - would be interested if someone could post.

Backs: McGuiness (Will) A.Williams (Aqu) P.Walker (St J)
HBs: Maaskant (Aqu) A. Taylor (Wer) Tsitogiannis (GE)
C: J. Robertson (Ben) Toomey (Aqu) Palmington (Wer)
HF: Pattie (St J) Mallet (Sal) Mahoney (SMD)
F: C. Lee (Wer) Gayfer (Ban) Costello (SMD)

Rucks: Dunne (Sal) Cheevers (SMD) Tedesco (Wer)

Inter: Ballard (EMM) Vamvakas (GE) Baranello (EMM) Cachia (St J)

Few interesting ones like Dunne, thought Ballard would have been ranked higher??? Also no Den Braber???