• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

D2 Ammos

Well a tough slog in the mud down at Bentleigh on Saturday

For 3 quarters it was absolutely in the balance

Dont know if Bentleigh's current Undies captain has played much 1's this year but he is a gun player.

Im confused by some of the records in D2 because Bentleigh, Salesian and Glen Eira have all run us very close and in Salesian's case beat us.

Certainly the rain and mud will even up every contest somewhat as well.
Yeah, it was a close one for a while....but you guys just broke away in the last quarter, and left us dumb-founded....
Which Under 19s player are you talking about? The guy who soccerred that ripper from the boundary, or the one in the backline who got an award after the match?

And also, thanks heaps for staying around after the match....I'm pretty sure the entire team stayed back for a beer....it was great to see that many numbers hang around afterwards....even though we all had to rush off soon after the presentations to get ready for our Ball. Cheers Drifter....good luck for the rest of the season mate.

will luke nieme be a walk up start for the 1s down at south melb disc or will he have to work his way up through the 2s? when he get back from over seas?

Ash you know when Fezza gets back. It will be tough for him but expect him to come straight back in. He should drop a few kg's after his run with the bulls.

Yeah, it was a close one for a while....but you guys just broke away in the last quarter, and left us dumb-founded....
Which Under 19s player are you talking about? The guy who soccerred that ripper from the boundary, or the one in the backline who got an award after the match?

And also, thanks heaps for staying around after the match....I'm pretty sure the entire team stayed back for a beer....it was great to see that many numbers hang around afterwards....even though we all had to rush off soon after the presentations to get ready for our Ball. Cheers Drifter....good luck for the rest of the season mate.

Thanks for that mate - I was the one bloke who had to go after the game straight away - but delighted to hear our turnout was good for the post game wrap.

No 3 Fridman is a gun player - he kicked bags agst us last year in the Undies from FF and did a heap of damage again on Saturday

Very very good player as is Fidler who's going off probably helped us.

It really was tight for 3 qtrs so I wish you well in the run home too.

Match of the Round this week .

St Leos v Aquinas.

Did not realise that Leos have not lost a game since round 4. Have not really rated St Leos that highly this year but with that stat I would have to have a rethink. Big test to see where they are, hope both teams are at or close to full strengh!

What will be the key match ups? Who is running hot at the moment?

Match of the Round this week .

St Leos v Aquinas.

Did not realise that Leos have not lost a game since round 4. Have not really rated St Leos that highly this year but with that stat I would have to have a rethink. Big test to see where they are, hope both teams are at or close to full strengh!

What will be the key match ups? Who is running hot at the moment?

Don't know how much drifter wants to give away but i will say that St Leo's center half forward, is a major key, if its a dry day i cant see him dropping a mark all game...

Ash you know when Fezza gets back. It will be tough for him but expect him to come straight back in. He should drop a few kg's after his run with the bulls.

yeah mate gets back sat nate!! spoke to him and he didnt get to run with bulls as to getting there to late. im guessing he will be pushing the 95kg mark when he gets back

Don't know how much drifter wants to give away but i will say that St Leo's center half forward, is a major key, if its a dry day i cant see him dropping a mark all game...

Yeah he's going ok - contributed on Sat but not many grabs

He'll go ok back at Leos this week

Our match-ups with Aquinas will revolve around their onballers

Den Braber (DNP Rd 2), Toomey, Tibber will all have to be watched around the clearances

Also Maascant and Whitehead provide a lot of drive from the back line

No secrets there I think

We'll field a pretty good side - missing half a dozen per usual like all clubs

Yeah he's going ok - contributed on Sat but not many grabs

He'll go ok back at Leos this week

Our match-ups with Aquinas will revolve around their onballers

Den Braber (DNP Rd 2), Toomey, Tibber will all have to be watched around the clearances

Also Maascant and Whitehead provide a lot of drive from the back line

No secrets there I think

We'll field a pretty good side - missing half a dozen per usual like all clubs

What happened to your 2's on the weekend Drifter ? I didnt expect Bentleigh to knock you guys off. Did Bentleigh play well or you guys were a little off or combination of both of those factors ?

Bentleigh played well 1st of all and deserved the win

However we had about 13-15 outs/changes from the week before - it has affected our ressies all year Im afraid

We are in a tough position to make the 4 from in the ressies - hopefully we regain quite a few this week and put in a better effort

No 3 Fridman is a gun player - he kicked bags agst us last year in the Undies from FF and did a heap of damage again on Saturday

Very very good player as is Fidler who's going off probably helped us.
Yeah, Fridman is a quality player. He hasn't played much at all this year, even in the Under 19s, because of a broken finger....but it was good to have him in on Saturday, which was his first game in the 1s.

Fids was doing OK until that incident.
Gotta say Drifter, if Chris Sharp gets 3 weeks for calling the umpire a cheat, without even swearing, then the bloke that hit Fidler should get at least 5 weeks.
And yet, there was no on-field report, and I notice that he isn't due to face the tribunal this week....
Bizarre system they're running at the Ammos....say the word 'cheat' and you'll get rubbed out.....smash a guys nose all over his face and you'll be right to play the next week.....

Yeah, Fridman is a quality player. He hasn't played much at all this year, even in the Under 19s, because of a broken finger....but it was good to have him in on Saturday, which was his first game in the 1s.

Gotta say Drifter, if Chris Sharp gets 3 weeks for calling the umpire a cheat, without even swearing, then the bloke that hit Fidler should get at least 5 weeks.
And yet, there was no on-field report, and I notice that he isn't due to face the tribunal this week....
Bizarre system they're running at the Ammos....say the word 'cheat' and you'll get rubbed out.....smash a guys nose all over his face and you'll be right to play the next week.....

I suppose you want a camera at every game? Have not clue of what happened here, and it's very unfortunated that a young bloke got hurt but for an umpire to report something they have to see it! Or in Sharps case hear it!!

What more do you want them to do?

Sloth, what went wrong at Willy mate? Any tips on stopping Dowsey? Didn't play against us last time.

GE 1st's cost me my 50 bucks with Jono Healy as well. Filthy!:mad:

Round 11 Harper = $0 Jono = $50
Season Harper = $508 Jono = $145

Yeah Harps. I will give credit where is due Willi adapted to the conditions better than what my guys did. They jumped us in the 1's and maintained the buffer all day long. In the twos it was a similar story. Yeah not sure how to stop Dowsey in the 2's he played really well and Willi gave him plenty of space to run into. On another positive note was the surface was first rate at Crofts Reserve ! It made a change from when I played there a few years back when the ground resembled a BMX track gone wrong ;).

Have a few weeks to work something out for Dowsey, in the meantime we need to get over a few others, yourselves included. See you at yours soon!:thumbsu:

Unfortunate Mamba when anyone gets hurt - without a replay I cant even tell you if there was anything intentional/dirty in the hit - other than it was high so prob the FK and 2 or 3 25's was fair

So if umps dont see it I cant see a solution

I hope Fids is ok

PS One of your younger blokes used the knee once too and was doing niggly stuff all day

Honestly though - we're paiting the wrong picture - it was overall very clean and well fought out all day especially for wet, in close conditions

I suppose you want a camera at every game? Have not clue of what happened here, and it's very unfortunated that a young bloke got hurt but for an umpire to report something they have to see it! Or in Sharps case hear it!!

What more do you want them to do?

The ump did see it. He paid a 25m penalty for it....then another 25m for someone mouthing off as well.
I was about 5 metres away from it, and I'd say it normally wouldn't be worth 5 weeks....possibly 2 weeks, with a slight chance to get off.....but with Sharp getting 3 then you'd have to think that this guy would go as well....and for more than what someone gets for just saying something....

"sticks and stones..." - not the case with the VAFA

Don't get me wrong....as Drifter said, it was a a great contest all day....but it makes you wonder when the umpire is more concerned about telling off the guys yelling out at the scoreboard, than a bloke getting hit and ending up in hospital.

The ump did see it. He paid a 25m penalty for it....then another 25m for someone mouthing off as well.
I was about 5 metres away from it, and I'd say it normally wouldn't be worth 5 weeks....possibly 2 weeks, with a slight chance to get off.....but with Sharp getting 3 then you'd have to think that this guy would go as well....and for more than what someone gets for just saying something....

"sticks and stones..." - not the case with the VAFA

Don't get me wrong....as Drifter said, it was a a great contest all day....but it makes you wonder when the umpire is more concerned about telling off the guys yelling out at the scoreboard, than a bloke getting hit and ending up in hospital.

I was under the impression Sharp's penalty was a result of his shyte record in the past and not just based on this incident in isolation. You would think a bloke with his talent would have learnt not to talk to the umps by now.

25m penalty for a late hit + the bloke's nose being broken should equal a report.

Unless his nose was broken by the ball or the ground there really is no other conclusion.

25m penalty for a late hit + the bloke's nose being broken should equal a report.

Unless his nose was broken by the ball or the ground there really is no other conclusion.

I do agree that some ump's and tribunal members look as though they favour (or not favour) some players or teams at times. But if the ump was 5 meters away and saw the incident and didn't think it was reportable then I would take his judgement over someone standing in the crowd 50 to 200 metres away.

Just because a bloke broke his nose does not automatically make this reportable!!!

1 thing that is certain from the VAFA tribunal is that if you go up on the same charge within 5 years then you will get the raw end of the stick. (And deserved so in my book). I bet Sharp wont talk back to any umpire at any level for a while now hey!

But if the ump was 5 meters away and saw the incident and didn't think it was reportable then I would take his judgement over someone standing in the crowd 50 to 200 metres away.
Which would be true....but as I said earlier....I was only a couple of meters away....and it should have been a report.

Seeing something like that, as up close as I was....and to have virtually nothing done about it, really doesn't make me feel safe when playing footy with these umpires.

Which would be true....but as I said earlier....I was only a couple of meters away....and it should have been a report.

Seeing something like that, as up close as I was....and to have virtually nothing done about it, really doesn't make me feel safe when playing footy with these umpires.

I'm hearing you Mamba, the inconsistencies of what is and isn't a reportable offence are glaring. We've had 2 blokes rubbed out (1 last year and 1 this year) for late hits where no injuries have occurred and probably only deserved a down the field free kick, yet a bloke gets his nose broke and the umpire goes soft and leaves the cards in the pocket.
What's it going to be umpires?

Grow up - it's a mans game. There were other incidents in the game that we aren't going to whinge about. This issue has been done to death. Let's just celebrate the fact both sides were hard at it and the game was very tight all day.

Big one this week, St Leo's v Aquinas match of the round. It will be a great test to see where we are at against the premiership favourites.

Grow up - it's a mans game. There were other incidents in the game that we aren't going to whinge about. This issue has been done to death. Let's just celebrate the fact both sides were hard at it and the game was very tight all day.

Big one this week, St Leo's v Aquinas match of the round. It will be a great test to see where we are at against the premiership favourites.

We should be competitive Kibe but Aquinas have flogged their last 3 opponents

Big test for us