• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

D3 D3 2009

Do you work Stewie?
Rumour has it that WB may have a new Fuey lining up this year. Care to comment?

Someone from WB might wan to clear something up that's been bugging me for years: Why do WB call Stewie "Fuey?"

of course red gum. doesnt everybody who writes on this forum work?? ;)
theres only one fooey red but im interested to see & hear about this new player you speak of but i guess we'll have to wait until round 4 though for him to appear when we come visiting to mcalister. fooey v fuey... what an interesting possibility!!

i'll help you with this sniper. its a nickname i picked up from st josephs pascoe vale in 1983. there used to be a cartoon back then "hong kong phooey" & it came from that. when i arrived at west brunswick, a couple of former schoolmates were there so the nickname resurfaced. these gents were also playing at the same cricket club i was (youlden parkville) so the name was always going to be at either club.

i hope this clears up your being puzzled, brother...

Welcome back Stewie!

SMS have Neerim South at Neerim on Saturday. Staying down there for the night after the game. Looking forward to it!

Next week - Sth Belgrave @ Pakenham
Week after - Sydenham Hillside @ Sydenham

thanks griff!!

your certainly going to do some travelling in the lead up matches. sure thatll be a good thing as well... play some footy then have a top night bonding together!!

our other 2 games are heatherton at heatherton... always an "interesting" hitout to say the least. weve become preseason "rivals" over the last 3 years.

eltham at eltham... havent played them since my north old boys days so another interesting game will await. this game replaces another we had scheduled but for the life of me, i cant remember who it was against!!

some help from other "demons" is welcomed...

Giff...How are the new coaches working out. Is it working well with two coaches? What is the vibe around the club?

Couldnt be working better to be honest!! They have both taken really well to the boys and the vibe around the club is energetic to say the least!!! Everthing is positive at the moment, had a ripping pre season, picked up a few quality players and lost very little!! Both the coaches work really well together and both a good football brains.... Cant wait for the season to get under way!!!!

Bentleigh last night had a solid intra-club hitout.
Although a little rusty and scrappy at times, there were some very good signs from players young, old and new. Hard to get a good look at everyone though with two full teams of 18 plus about 8-9 on each interchange bench.
It wasn't only this intra-club session that training numbers have been high at, with 50+ players attending each session since it was changed to Tues/Thurs a couple of weeks back.
Looking forward to getting down to Phillip Island this Sunday.
One month until round 1 today.. unless it gets pushed back.. how likely or unlikely is this looking at this stage??

Although a little rusty and scrappy at times, there were some very good signs from players young, old and new. Hard to get a good look at everyone though with two full teams of 18 plus about 8-9 on each interchange bench.
It wasn't only this intra-club session that training numbers have been high at, with 50+ players attending each session since it was changed to Tues/Thurs a couple of weeks back.
One month until round 1 today.. unless it gets pushed back.. how likely or unlikely is this looking at this stage??

Very unlikley it will be pushed back.

thanks griff!!

your certainly going to do some travelling in the lead up matches. sure thatll be a good thing as well... play some footy then have a top night bonding together!!

our other 2 games are heatherton at heatherton... always an "interesting" hitout to say the least. weve become preseason "rivals" over the last 3 years.

eltham at eltham... havent played them since my north old boys days so another interesting game will await. this game replaces another we had scheduled but for the life of me, i cant remember who it was against!!

some help from other "demons" is welcomed...

I don't think North Old Boys has EVER played against Eltham.....

G`day lads, first time poster. I am a SMS player new to the comp this year and already enjoying my new surrounds and lapping up the city life.

Wondering if there are any hot heads in this comp, characters or just nutcases. Nominate someone. Also what standard would u attribute D3 in comparison to other comps.

One month until round 1 today.. unless it gets pushed back.. how likely or unlikely is this looking at this stage??[/quote

pity i missed this as i wouldve loved to have "mixed it up" with the other lads last night.

it is indeed!! id say we'll be underway on time this season, drybones... but of course, were relying on the vafa executive to think like us & want to play too!! ;)

I don't think North Old Boys has EVER played against Eltham.....

i'll try & clear this up for you, jaf. it was the early 90s i played against eltham when i was with the north old boys club 18 side. we played at their ground & i remember the change rooms being something like a bomb shelter because we came out onto the ground from a tunnel & the ground had a cliff-face at one end.

i think we were "caned" this day as well by 100+ points so it wasnt a particularly pleasant memory!!

G`day lads, first time poster. I am a SMS player new to the comp this year and already enjoying my new surrounds and lapping up the city life.

Wondering if there are any hot heads in this comp, characters or just nutcases. Nominate someone. Also what standard would u attribute D3 in comparison to other comps.

welcome lfl!! youve found a good club there in st marys/salesian but we wouldve welcomed you even more so at bentleigh!! anyway, look forward to round 9 when we go at it!!

as to your second question, i dont think theres any of those in this division as all we want to do is play football & not punch on... youll find plenty of characters though!! the standard would be equal to any division 3 competition in any of the metropolitan leagues throughout melbourne. for instance, we have forest hill this weekend (eastern football league division 3) so were expecting their standard is similar to ours.

hope this clears up your query...

welcome lfl!! youve found a good club there in st marys/salesian but we wouldve welcomed you even more so at bentleigh!! anyway, look forward to round 9 when we go at it!!

as to your second question, i dont think theres any of those in this division as all we want to do is play football & not punch on... youll find plenty of characters though!! the standard would be equal to any division 3 competition in any of the metropolitan leagues throughout melbourne. for instance, we have forest hill this weekend (eastern football league division 3) so were expecting their standard is similar to ours.

Ya reckon.

Might have to get down to training as it sounds like I might not get a game this year:eek:, and will also with regret, sadly will miss the first prac match in Phillip Island.

i'll try & clear this up for you, jaf. it was the early 90s i played against eltham when i was with the north old boys club 18 side. we played at their ground & i remember the change rooms being something like a bomb shelter because we came out onto the ground from a tunnel & the ground had a cliff-face at one end.

i think we were "caned" this day as well by 100+ points so it wasnt a particularly pleasant memory!!

Stewie, I went to watch my mate when they played against Eltham last year. The behaviour of the senior team that day was the worst I have seen in my long years playing and watching ammo footy. They were disgraceful. Hopefully, their Club 18 were a bit better.
I did have a chuckle at half time when both teams appeared to disappear only to reappear magically 20 mins later....

Stewie, I did have a chuckle at half time when both teams appeared to disappear only to reappear magically 20 mins later....

Quote of the day right there.

Who's on first base?

No he's on first base, who's on second.

Who is on 1st?

HE's on 1st, WHO is on second!!

What?

Whats on 3rd.

I dont know.

He's pitching.

No he's on 1st.

Forest Hill are running around in EFL div 4 with us at South Belgrave Stewie.

Having knocked around the lower divs in a few leagues over the years I can tell you there can be a huge difference between the standards.

Div 4 EFL is certainly better footy than Div 3 SFL or Div 2 YVMDFL. I have played in all three and have friends in the same boat that share this view. Canterbury were a strong div 3 SFL side who have just crossed over to EFL Div 4 and no one expects them to be near finals action this year ( although Canterbury might argue that!)

Thats why I also asked for someone with experience in your comp to comment on the strength compared with other leagues.

I would imagine it to be a strong comp going by the quality running around at the top end of the ammos.

Having knocked around the lower divs in a few leagues over the years I can tell you there can be a huge difference between the standards.

Div 4 EFL is certainly better footy than Div 3 SFL or Div 2 YVMDFL. I have played in all three and have friends in the same boat that share this view. Canterbury were a strong div 3 SFL side who have just crossed over to EFL Div 4 and no one expects them to be near finals action this year ( although Canterbury might argue that!)

Thats why I also asked for someone with experience in your comp to comment on the strength compared with other leagues.

I would imagine it to be a strong comp going by the quality running around at the top end of the ammos.

The Hawks played Whitehorse Pioneers (Div 3) last year in the last practice match before the start of the year. Not sure what type of team the Pioneers had on the field but the Hawks were no where near full strength as most of the older guys were given the week off. The game was very even and not sure who won the game.
I would imagine they would have been similar to us in the amount of players that did not play.

tigersman, i stand corrected after viewing the eastern football league website today.

having played in the amateurs for 15 of the past 20 seasons (including this season) id have to say the victorian amateur football association has always been a strong competition to play in. the competitiveness is second to none & there have been some rivalries between clubs that have built through the years.

the a b c sections without doubt is where youll find some decent fellows running around but take nothing away from d1 d2 d3 d4... theres some top flights to be found here as well!!

hope this helps...

Nick Smith helped Old Westbourne get the 2007 D3 flag before going off to Wagga Wagga to teach. He's now back in Melbourne, playing for Balwyn, and in the EFL rep side coming up against the VAFA on the 29th.

this sounds like the nick smith who played at the werribee centrals football club in the geelong & district football league between 1995 - 2000. he had a brother chris who played at the centurions as well.

is this the one & the same, ttn??

it doesnt surprise me hes been selected - nick no doubt is still a superstar as he was between those years mentioned above...

Nick Smith helped Old Westbourne get the 2007 D3 flag before going off to Wagga Wagga to teach. He's now back in Melbourne, playing for Balwyn, and in the EFL rep side coming up against the VAFA on the 29th.

this sounds like the nick smith who played at the werribee centrals football club in the geelong & district football league between 1995 - 2000. he had a brother chris who played at the centurions as well.

is this the one & the same, ttn??

it doesnt surprise me hes been selected - nick no doubt is still a superstar as he was between those years mentioned above...

The Nick Smith at balwyn is not the former OW or Centrals Nick Smith boys! ;)

He is back in melbourne tho after a stint in wagga wagga coaching and playing up there but is now playing coach of Mernda in the NFL for 2009. I will pass on the kind words to him tho. He's a lot older now than he was back then. Just hanging in there and trying to get a kick at almost 37! (so im told ;))