Nov 17, 2007
🐍Ophidian Old Boys🐍
Parkside in, Wyndham Suns out.

"Tonight at the WRFL Senior Presentation Night it was announced that the Wyndham Suns will play in the WRFL senior competition as of 2015. This move has been made in the best interest and future of our great club.
Thanks for the hard work from the committee and WRFL in securing our playing future."

Sorry to see it happen and its definitely the VAFA's loss, but there are sound reasons for the decision and those from other clubs who have been in a similar position will understand the amount of effort involved.

Roll on 2015.

"Tonight at the WRFL Senior Presentation Night it was announced that the Wyndham Suns will play in the WRFL senior competition as of 2015. This move has been made in the best interest and future of our great club.
Thanks for the hard work from the committee and WRFL in securing our playing future."

Sorry to see it happen and its definitely the VAFA's loss, but there are sound reasons for the decision and those from other clubs who have been in a similar position will understand the amount of effort involved.

Roll on 2015.

Overheard a Wyndham Suns Supporter say that the way that the Suns were made to clear all their players outside of the rules of the VAFA and AFLVIC has left a sour taste in the mouths of the Suns, and was a major catalyst for them going.

That's a major dent to the VAFA - A strong club with 20 years of service to the competition and lots of Juniors coming through, and a major coup for the WRFL for their pathetic but growing division 3. I am sure the Suns will grow out of division 3 rather quickly on the strength of their 19's.

Still waiting to hear about Masala and Mt.Lilydale.

Roll on 2015.
Any prospect of dusting off the flags?

Roll on 2015.
Hey Over The Post
Can I just correct you on something no ones playing future is secure these days. However I wish you guys all the best and will be watching your progress. Its not easy getting a paying club up and running compared to a ammo club good luck with those challenges most of the recent new clubs seem to have struggled in this area.

Overheard a Wyndham Suns Supporter say that the way that the Suns were made to clear all their players outside of the rules of the VAFA and AFLVIC has left a sour taste in the mouths of the Suns, and was a major catalyst for them going.

That's a major dent to the VAFA - A strong club with 20 years of service to the competition and lots of Juniors coming through, and a major coup for the WRFL for their pathetic but growing division 3. I am sure the Suns will grow out of division 3 rather quickly on the strength of their 19's.

Still waiting to hear about Masala and Mt.Lilydale.

Table Tennis lets just clear this up once and for all the Suns cleared players that didnt want to leave the school hence Westbourne Grammarians. Players have a choice where they want to play and no club owns them especially when the are not payed or contracted. However Wyndham Suns recieved compensation from Grammarians in a deal brokered by the VAFA and then charged all players that owed them accordingly (Rightly So and Cash Windfall.). Wyndham Suns can now offer the ammo guys (Grammarians) money and potentially win on both accounts. Although just so both sides of the story is out there Wyndham Suns agreed to take Westbourne Grammarians compensation package on the proviso they stay in the VAFA for the next 5 seasons( Signed Contract). Now lets have people judge on the facts and not rubbish rumour or opinion. Over the Post please dont remove this statement as I know its factual.

OTP can you now please leave the VAFA Div 4 forum to those that play and enjoy the Ammo comp it would be a shame for you to continue to censor opinion that you clearly dont support based on your bias.

Table Tennis lets just clear this up once and for all the Suns cleared players that didnt want to leave the school hence Westbourne Grammarians. Players have a choice where they want to play and no club owns them especially when the are not payed or contracted. However Wyndham Suns recieved compensation from Grammarians in a deal brokered by the VAFA and then charged all players that owed them accordingly (Rightly So and Cash Windfall.). Wyndham Suns can now offer the ammo guys (Grammarians) money and potentially win on both accounts. Although just so both sides of the story is out there Wyndham Suns agreed to take Westbourne Grammarians compensation package on the proviso they stay in the VAFA for the next 5 seasons( Signed Contract). Now lets have people judge on the facts and not rubbish rumour or opinion. Over the Post please dont remove this statement as I know its factual.

However there is a limit on how many players can be cleared from one club to another - that is where the Suns issue lied.

I believe that number is 6.

Has the VAFA granted permission for Wyndham Suns to leave yet?

However there is a limit on how many players can be cleared from one club to another - that is where the Suns issue lied.

That is the number for teams that are competing against each other. (Not necesarily in the same grade, but competing for the same players in a local area etc.) This is so that clubs cannot effectively cannibalise each other of players, sending clubs to the wall because they cannot compete for whatever reason.

The VAFA has historically allowed the clearance of larger numbers of players where competition is not direct (Richmond clubbies team getting cleared from their previous home, the break up of Brunswick Power when that team disintegrated are two that I know of off the top). However these applications will be at the discretion of the VAFA.

I don't think that it is up to the VAFA to release the Suns; pretty sure that would be at the discretion of AFL Victoria. And they would rarely hold them back unless there was money owed or some other particularly compelling reason to stop them.

New clubs seem to struggle at this? Lucky for the suns the juniors are very successful and growing and the 19s team lost in a prelim.. Seems to be in good hands to me mate
Yeah mate new clubs seem to struggle with the paid player enviroment. And its great that the Juniors are successful and the 19's are doing well. Holding on to them now they have been exposed to the rest of the WRFL and the money factor becomes a whole new ball game. I am sure the club is in good hands I know a few down there but finding the money to be competative and progress thru the grades isnt easy. Not knockin the club just speaking from experience.

Hey TT

Am aware of the 6 player limit however unique situations do arise and the VAFA had to broker a deal or most players would have been lost to both clubs. Having said that lets move on to your second question. I dont think the VAFA would have the balls to take on the Suns or the WRFL on this matter but they did sign an agreement to remain in the VAFA. I guess it will come down to how hard the Westbourne Grammarians jump up and down maybe.

Hopefully its let go and the Suns can enjoy their time in the WRFL and everyone moves on that will be the best outcome.

Hey TT

Am aware of the 6 player limit however unique situations do arise and the VAFA had to broker a deal or most players would have been lost to both clubs. Having said that lets move on to your second question. I dont think the VAFA would have the balls to take on the Suns or the WRFL on this matter but they did sign an agreement to remain in the VAFA. I guess it will come down to how hard the Westbourne Grammarians jump up and down maybe.

Hopefully its let go and the Suns can enjoy their time in the WRFL and everyone moves on that will be the best outcome.

I was only reporting what I had been told why a major reason they left.

They should be fine in comparison to tarniet and Sanctuary Lakes as they have had juniors for a few years and a stable club.

They won't have to compete against money anymore than all clubs in the area, and the clubs they are up against are the riff raff. There biggest challenge will be getting out of the rubbish and into the second division fast. WRFL is just a graveyard for clubs

Just to add - after the shemozzle of the SFL's Grand Final being called off this year - I don't know why anyone would want to take their club there.

My guess would be player retention due to traveling around D4. From South Mornington to Point Cook (no offence) thats a few tanks of petrol of the year, it can wear a little thin on peoples enthusiam. In my opinion they shouldnt have left in the first place & probably would've been still situated in division 2 with a bit of luck. We as a club became stronger by making the switch back to the SFL due to player retention, getting juniors back and having the ability to reward your best players on the day from the days where we competef in VAFA D2 & D3.

Learnt yesterday that it was the coach at the time's influence over the club that wanted to go to the VAFA in the first place.

Putting the SFL Div 3 GF aside, its a great comp to play local footy & is perfect for the Dragons. You don't have to pay much to compete in Div 3 or Div 2 for that matter to be competitive

I doubt that Fish.

The Dragons were a disgrace when they entered the Vafa. They were a direct product of thier environment in the SFL.

They were vastly improved in 12 months

I doubt that Fish.

The Dragons were a disgrace when they entered the Vafa. They were a direct product of thier environment in the SFL.

They were vastly improved in 12 months
Yep - every so often we get exposure to how other leagues operate through practice matches with teams from other leagues. Plenty of good, well contested footy, but enough reminders through cheap shots, or drunken spectators screaming abuse, to remind us of the benefits of the VAFA.

In saying that, it should also be a reminder to the VAFA that D4 (and other district clubs without support from schools etc) need a bit more support from the league to continue to be relevant.

Wait so the Parkside Seniors aren't going to WRFL Division 1, rather they are headed for bottom division VAFA?
If this is the case expect 200+ margins on a weekly basis

Wait so the Parkside Seniors aren't going to WRFL Division 1, rather they are headed for bottom division VAFA?
If this is the case expect 200+ margins on a weekly basis
Different Parkside mate.

From Northern FL. Not the Parkside that is newly promoted to WRFL div 1

The Dragons take the best offer, wherever that may be. To be fair they do pretty well to not burn bridges.

Coming back to a league, that comp investing a lot of time and effort into that club, for them to turn around after 2 years, and leave.

Bridge burned imo.

Different Parkside mate.

From Northern FL. Not the Parkside that is newly promoted to WRFL div 1

Oh thank god; well in that case this might be a good thing for D4 VAFA as I know a few of the Wyndham Suns boys and I think they'll challenge for a Divi 3 flag in the WRFL but won't be overly dominant and after a quick google search looks like the NFL's Parkside may be semi-competitive in D4 VAFA

Dragons came from division 2 SFL league and struggled. Don't under sell div 4 ammos. Most sides would be competitive with div 2 Wrfl.

I know blokes who play div 4 ammos and they reckon they'd be competitive with div 3 wrfl sides, only reason for that though is because it's amateurs and you're not gonna find many top tier players who are willing to play for free