Dane Swan injured in night club attack

Your mate is a liar then.

The players you've listed are hardly sighted anywhere.

The only time I've seen Chappy about town is pushing a pram around whilst going for a run. Why on earth would somebody his age go out?

The only cats players who are "regulars" on the Geelong night scene are the young guys who nobody knows and even that is a stretch.

Not saying Mackie, SJ etc. don't ever go out, but to suggest they are "clubbing every saturday night" is complete and utter bullshit.

The Geelong boys are pretty good actually, sticking only to places owned and run by ex-players, sponsors of the club etc.

Swan has always come across to me as a tool, plain and simple. Not saying what happened to him is justified, because it's definitely not acceptable, but i'm not suprised. Let's just say I wasn't "shocked" when I heard the news.

Every club has got these types by the way.

No offence but wicksy has mates and they told him. FACT!

:rolleyes:

He probably just touched some dude's girl 30-40 times and, and the dude just didn't realize that 30+ touches from swan doesn't mean anything......

Wow, I've not seen this level of hostility in a while.

I know little of this or Swan's last incident, but some people seem to be revelling in a bad situation. Seems either Swans a Dog, got what he deserved, or he's a Saint and got sucker punched....

Likelihood is it's somewhere in the middle and it's another bad situation for the AFL, for clubs, and for anyone wanting to go out without dealing with all this stuff.

Curfew is coming Melbourne, wish everyone would stop ****ing it up.

Bottom line, this isn't something to be pleased with.

Well said Wall-e.

I can't believe these AFL players are still getting themselves into these situations, seriously how old is Swan? What is the attraction to these nightclubs for these players?

It can't possibly be a nice relaxing night out with their mates can it?

Females seem to be involved often too, which brings me back to the attraction to these places?

You would think it would be the last place they would want to go.... surely they have classier, more relaxed environments to go and hang with their mates?

Obviously they are going to attract attention and these days, that attention is more likely to be negative than positive, sad but true reflection on society.

ALL AFL players are suseptable but as they say, none moreso than a pies player, particularly a star pies player.

I just hope this doesn't affect Swan's/Collingwood's performance for the rest of the season... Everything has been going to well lately I was wondering when a story would break, I predicted one would this week........... voilà....

For some, maybe the pies, and Swan's season was going a little to well for them.

When you think about it, its so damn easy for a demented oppositon supporter to derail a player and a club's season if they really wanted to!

Re: Dane Swan gets into night club brawl

Seems a reasonable comment that all the people who witnessed it and post on bigfooty did not think it worthwhile to post about it until it appeared in the news.
yes that seems a telling point. It seems they have come out and chorused the first story on Bf about the headbutt etc. If so this is incredibly dishonest and corrupt behaviour and in factthese people are risking gettging sued for defamation. Better be careful what you say if you are liars.

Love the way there were so many people there on Sunday night... or who had friends there... Yet nothing was posted before it was on Channel Seven news on Monday night at what time???

So everyone claiming to be there/ know people who were there only remembered to post this after the News???

Really???

Crap.

The pies hierarchy allegedly knew about this on Saturday night. If Swan had done nothing wrong, why did they wait until Monday night to make a statement?

Why wait for it to appear on the Channel 7 news? Surely they had nothing to hide.

But good to see that Swan rang the club immediately, and didn't run away down St Kilda Road like last time he was involved in something like this.

Or maybe Collingwood's just changed their Standard Operating Procedure.

I can't believe these AFL players are still getting themselves into these situations, seriously how old is Swan? What is the attraction to these nightclubs for these players?

That has been my question all along. Some players just gravitate towards trouble, then wonder why they are in the news. Some people ask, "Can't players have a night out?", well, yes they can, but does it have to involve hanging around in places riddled with drugs, booze and bad manners? Believe it or not people, there are plenty of other things to do on a "night out" than getting plastered and punching each others' lights out.

Players should realise that by frequenting these dives, they have far more to lose than gain ... but then again, some players are just idiots.

I'm going to abstain from commenting on this one

:thumbsu: So many Collingwood supporters have short memories around here!

Just to refresh their memories:

http://news.aflspace.com/story.php?title=Footy_Thugs_Cop_Soft_Sentences

aflspace said:
In Melbourne, the County Court (AFL Division) has disappointed once again in releasing violent AFL bruisers onto our streets. Three ********s who went on a bashing spree in Federation Square, leaving a trail of damage and hospitalising a number of people, have managed to dodge jail. Even the one with priors for violence. Hard to understand, isn't it. Oh, did I mention they were good at playing footy?

Collingwood's Dane Swan and Williamstown's Aaron Ramsay (VFL, footy's second-tier comp) both got off with "community-based orders". Kade Carey (from Essendon's VFL team), nephew of disgraced footballer Wayne Carey, also copped a CBO plus a suspended sentence. Here at the Speccy we've been following this case closely for some time - from crime to preliminary hearing to plea - and are mighty let down at the sentence.

Let's just step through it:
Kade Carey "has a previous conviction for assault" (Melbourne Herald-Sun, 11/2/06). Not sure when, who or how, but this is not his first time.
In December 2001, at Federation Square, Kade Carey inexplicably launched himself at a passing motorist.
Lauren Marriner, the driver of the vehicle, told police that she saw three men standing on the side of Flinders Street. Then one of them ran at her car.

"As I got closer to the males, I slowed down so I wouldn't hit them. As I was still moving slowly, the larger guy ran at my car, ran onto the bonnet and jumped on my windscreen 'body slam' style," Ms Marriner told police. (The Age, 25/1/05)
Kade Carey then "initiated the fight, beating up a cleaner and three security guards with the help of his two mates." (Melbourne Herald-Sun, 11/2/06).
Kade Carey led the assault that left the cleaner and one bouncer in hospital. One witness "told police that two of the men had stopped attacking the security guards but the third had continued kicking a guard until the police arrived." (The Age, 25/1/05)
Dane Swan and Aaron Ramsay scarpered off down St Kilda Road. Kade stayed behind and was arrested at the scene. "The court was told Carey resisted attempts to arrest him, punching a police officer in the face before being subdued by capsicum spray." (Melbourne Herald-Sun, 11/2/06).

What absolute disgraceful conduct from these three men. Surely, this kind of public melee warrants the strongest possible condemnation from our justice system. What was the response from the County Court's Judge John Barnett?

The judge described his actions as "stupid and arrogant", but ... acknowledg[ed] that Carey was provoked.

He said Swan and Ramsay joined the fight to defend their friend. (Melbourne Herald-Sun, 11/2/06).
No comment. Readers can draw their own inferences about the implications of that. Final tally for their drunken violence spree:

Kade Carey. No jail time. Two months suspended sentence. Fine of $3000. 200 hours of community service.
Aaron Ramsay. No jail time. No suspended sentence. No fine. 120 hours of community service.
Dane Swan. No jail time. No suspended sentence. No fine. 100 hours of community service.

Source: The Age, 24/1/05Dane Swan (left), Kade Carey (middle) and Aaron Ramsay (right) at last year's hearing.

Some people may scoff at the leniency of the sentences. Well, I'm sure it's got nothing to do with these boys being good at footy. No siree, no playing favourites in this town. So presumably all citizens can attack a female motorist, a cleaner, three bouncers and a policeman. You can even put a couple in hospital (by kicking, according to one witness). Hell, even if you've got prior convictions for assault - you'll still not lose your liberty! Plus, if it's one of your idiot mates doing the offending, you can step right in and help dish out some biff without even risking so much as a fine. That'll make Victorians feel safe in public places.

It's enough to make you wonder: what does it take to get put in jail? (They probably reserve jail time for the really serious stuff - like contempt of court charges arising from questioning a judge's sentences!)

One thing I'll say in defence of the judge though: he gave Kade Carey the "toughest" of the sentences; fair enough, given the massive preponderance of his guilt in all this.

I just hope that these young men use the opportunity for the three or four weeks of "unpaid work" to do something positive for the community. No doubt it will just be signing footballs at a primary school somewhere, or pouring beers at their team's social club. But they could make a positive contribution by publicly denouncing the warped values and alcohol-fuelled violence that permeates AFL culture. Sadly, I don't think this is the last we'll be seeing of these three idiots

Re: Dane Swan gets into night club brawl

Seems a reasonable comment that all the people who witnessed it and post on bigfooty did not think it worthwhile to post about it until it appeared in the news.

that's because most of the so called witnesses big noting on here are talking utter rubbish. they probably hadn't even heard of eve nightclub until this story broke

seriously some of these supposed witnesses would have been falling over themselves to get home and break the big news on here or some other forum if they'd actually witnessed anything

just reading some of the comments on here there seems to be a great deal of resentment to the fact that right now the pies are the best side in the comp with the best player in the comp in swan. i think after saturday it has dawned on people that they can in fact really win this year's flag. and sounds like most of you are very worried about the possibility

I guess it is what it is, pressing charges will drag it on longer than it deserves, court case etc drags on, giving the lowlives of the earth (caro, hutchy) more opportunity to keep bringing it up in the media.

Team going great, top of the ladder, business end of the season, move on straight away..

Come on Lance but you were to an extent defending Hurley. I'd imagine, that the same idiots that wanted harsh penalties for Hurley are vicously claiming karma with Swan, i'd say almost everything to do with who they play for than say a genuine moral stance.

Whatever Swan did in the past, some idiot, has just belted him for what seems no reason, maybe because he plays for Collingwood.

Collingwood supporters just like the Pendles and Cloke incident, (coincidently there were many posters on here making up lies about what happened playing the moral high ground) have every right to be pissed off. How would opposition supporters respond if one of there players was targeted.

I mean we know he got belted and it is a matter of what ifs, but if some ****ing loser has just belted Swan cause he plays AFL or plays for Collingwood, than he should suffer the consequences.

This is the issue here, make no mistake, if one really cares about society than they would be far more worried about a potential tragedy from the other night all because of the possibility of who he is or who he plays for. It could well be nothing short of a disgrace.

Fair dinkum some of the absolute bogan loser on this board that made up lies after the Pendles incident, all because blatantly who he played for make me sick... And its the very same calibre of people the scream Karma. Not only is that ironic, they must have such a sheltered existence which means they should have just STFU with there limited perception on societal matters.

Lance this is not at all directed at you I know you are a good bloke, I have no idea what happened with the other instance with Swan, but you could understand the outrage of Collingwood supporters with the possibility that one of our players was attacked all because he plays for Collingwood all because of some ****ing brainless loser wanted to be a hero.

I haven't really defended Hurley at all, I've repeatedly condemned his actions, and made the point that should he get assaulted in the future, he'll receive as little sympathy on here as Swan has.

I abstained from commenting because it's never good when someone gets assaulted, but you can't deny Swan did what he did. However, it was a long time ago and I'm sure he's grown up a lot since then

Hard to have sympathy for a bloke who kicks someone in the head then tries to weasal out of paying the compensation.

It wasn't just a fight, he chased a bloke and kicked him repeatedly in the head.

I wonder what proportion of the population has kicked someone in the head?

It is karma.

Ahhhh good old karma.

Karma is a solid explanation when an assult occurs. Holds up against any other means of deflection. Hell, lets just claim all assults are the direct result of karma, so lets not ask what that poor guy did that was left brain damaged then, must have been horrible. :rolleyes:

Ahhhh good old karma.

Karma is a solid explanation when an assult occurs. Holds up against any other means of deflection. Hell, lets just claim all assults are the direct result of karma, so lets not ask what that poor guy did that was left brain damaged then, must have been horrible. :rolleyes:

Interesting i bet the BigFooty nobs didnt think about that