Dane Swan's 2 GF performances were not of Brownlow calibre

We should just merge this pathetic thread with Hodgepodge's 'effort'

If not I'll just post this here too:
final39_482890464-600x400.jpg

Nice join date.

You're pathetic.

Yeah, 27th of August sign up for you, so much more respect. Knob. BTW - what does the Brownlow, a home & away award, have to do with the grand final?

Well the Brownlow medal is awared to the best and fairest player in the league for any given year.

Normally, as was the case this year, it was awarded to a true champion of the game.

A champion who captained his side to a premiership, has won a norm smith and is probably the best finals performer of the modern era.

Swan on the other hand, the favourite for this years medal, was embarasingly underwhelming.

Prestigious awards like the Brownlow should be awarded to true champs, not good average players who get some media attention after their teammates circle jerk over how good they think he is, despite the fact that he lacks composure and has dreadful skills.

Oh look, another.

You're as gutless as Swan was in the first half yesterday.

Can anyone really say he can rip games apart?

Blunt axe who goes missing when the heat is on.

The last two weeks have shown this.

Where were you on the 24th July?
Personally, I was at the MCG witnessing Dane Swan tearing Richmond a new one. 37 touches I believe. Umpires actually awarded him the three votes that day too.
He is twice as good as your best player. I'm not 100% sure who your best player is but it's actually irrelevant. The coaches, players & vast majority of the media rated him to have had the best season of anyone in the AFL this year. I'm guessing they know slightly more about football than your fine self.

People bag him because his disposal is not up to it.

He lacks composure, and now, to add to the list of negatives he has been exposed as perhaps the new Leon when it counts.

7 possessions in a half of footy as a starting offensive midfielder?

Not good enough. Only when the heat and the contest has been sapped from the game did he begin to rack up the footy.

Still not in the games elite with the likes of Judd, Pavlich, Ablett, Griffen, Mundy and Hayes.

His disposal is better than most players, especially considering the speed he usually dishes them off with.

Have u ever seen him play? Lacks composure is so far from the mark it isn't funny!! Unless ur talking about the very rare composure someone like Pendlebury has, Swan makes great decisions, knows when to go in hard and when to wait for loose ball, has one of the best footy brains when it comes to positioning (hence his high possessions), he also knows where to run when he has to the ball. So you're just wrong and you need to watch more football.

He is better than Pavlich, Griffen, Mundy by about 10 lengths. He contributed to a Premiership and you judge him on one game that you think he didn't have an impact on, but indeed had a huge impact - tackling, clearances, played on Goddard in the second half - he only had 10 possies. The 3rd qtr is the premiership quarter - it still could have gone either way (as per last week) - and Swan stood up.

Everything you're saying is just wrong mate. Give up.

No, it wasn't of brownlow standard - but he's better than that, he's a premiership medal winner.

AFL MVP, Coaches Award, All Australian and numerous media awards say you are wrong. Yes, he was quieter in the 2 grand finals but to say he has no impact is ridiculous. Kicked a goal in the third, and had a hand in the one before it, snuffing the Saints chances out.

I suppose flogs have to troll about something. Even though based on his GF performances, Swan would comfortably be Richmond's best midfielder.

Well the Brownlow medal is awared to the best and fairest player in the league for any given year.

Normally, as was the case this year, it was awarded to a true champion of the game.

A champion who captained his side to a premiership, has won a norm smith and is probably the best finals performer of the modern era.

Swan on the other hand, the favourite for this years medal, was embarasingly underwhelming.

Prestigious awards like the Brownlow should be awarded to true champs, not good average players who get some media attention after their teammates circle jerk over how good they think he is, despite the fact that he lacks composure and has dreadful skills.

Hahahaha. Ah dude, give up. Plenty of excellent players haven't won a Brownlow, including 2 players considered the best the game has ever seen - Leigh Matthews and Wayne Carey. The Brownlow might be a prestigious award but it's controlled by the umpires - men savaged pretty regularly, yet somehow they are an excellent indicator of the best players in the land? Quickly been eclipsed by the Players MVP IMO.

I guess all of the media, coaches and opposition players circle jerked him with everything he won this year as well? :eek:

BTW - his efficiency rating is higher then Judd's, I guess Judd has dreadful skills as well? :eek:

Nice join date.

You're pathetic.

Note my join date...

Premiersssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss....

No wait...

WORLD CHAMPIONSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

I don't like Swan. He's not a player I love to watch, he's not a player who blows us away with skill. But the fact remains that he is a premiership player and that demands some respect at least. Whilst his output disposals-wise wasn't up to the standards he's set this year, he still played a role for the side that ultimately allowed them to win on the day.

Swan will look down at the premiership medal hanging around his neck with the Brownlow perhaps the more furthest thing from his mind.

I think you'll find that the only stats Swan was down on in his GF performances was uncontested possessions, probably due to a couple of reasonable tagging jobs done on him.

After watching Swans two grand final performances it's fair to say the right man won the brownlow.

He was unable to stamp himself on the game like the truly elite players of the game.

He's a solid workhorse, but he cant turn matches simply because his skills arent up to it and he lacks that extra touch of composure that the likes of Pendlebury and Judd possess.

We cant reward players of his ilk with the prestigious of awards.

His downhill performance, where he picked up 19 of his 26 posessions in the second half of yesterdays is testament to this.

Fair call in terms of the right person won the Brownlow, but hey, he has a premiership medallion around his neck. Swanny played a fairly good game yesterday so I'm sure not winning the Brownlow wouldn't hurt him too much.
But thanks for trying to downgrade a premiership player.:D

just as some collingwood supporters give collingwood supporters a bad name, this troll is giving collingwood haters a bad name.

are we really going to have to put up with this from insecure collingwood haters all summer?

what a pathetic troll of a thread.

and it's already getting to people that collingwood supporters have actually conducted themselves pretty well. it would have suited the haters much more if we'd gone off our trolley and sledged oppo supporters.

Dane Swans was the best player 2010 and his second grand final was pretty good if just below the Norm Smith contenders.

He was hardly a write off in either game either, just because eh wasn't among the best it didn't stop him making an impact for his team and that's a good sign for a champion, below their peak but making an impact.

You idiot, pretty good in the 2nd grand final?

8 1st half possessions, 7 in the 3rd and 11 in the 4th when the game was over.

I said it in the match day thread, The 2 grand finals show exactly why swan rarely gets 3 votes. He has never and will never turn a match, he profits off the hard word of guys like Pendlebury who are the real stars of the pies side.

You only have to look at the difference between pendlebury's 2 games in relation to the GF results to see it, he has a bad game = draw, good game = easy win.

You see players like Judd and Ablett lift and win 6 clearances in a term to drag their side into a contest, Swan will never do this and as such should not be rated up there with them.

I have noticed he lacks the ability to step up when it really matters. No doubt was up there with the best players this year but I have yet to see him be as influential as Judd/Ablett/Hodge.

You have to be judged by how you play in the big games and quite frankly Swan has been quite average in both of them and was meaningless in the GF Replay as he got his stats when the game was already in the bag.

I still genuinly believe that Judd is the only player along with maybe Brown/Franklin that can win a game off their own boot. Nonetheless he has a Premiership medallion and that's the penultimate prize.

I have noticed he lacks the ability to step up when it really matters. No doubt was up there with the best players this year but I have yet to see him be as influential as Judd/Ablett/Hodge.

You have to be judged by how you play in the big games and quite frankly Swan has been quite average in both of them and was meaningless in the GF Replay as he got his stats when the game was already in the bag.

I still genuinly believe that Judd is the only player along with maybe Brown/Franklin that can win a game off their own boot. Nonetheless he has a Premiership medallion and that's the penultimate prize.

Swan seemed quite clearly more influential on the 2010 premiership than Judd, Ablett and Hodge combined, from where I've been watching.

Actually, its the ultimate prize.

As for your comments, you must have missed the previous 2 finals.

And the games this year he almost won single handedly, like the Port Adelaide game.

Do yourself a favour and find out about what happened in the 2nd quarter vs Port Adelaide earlier in the year. Swan was the reason we got back into the game, by memory he had 16 disposals in that term. We were 32 points down at quarter time and the scores were level at half time. He does do it. It's just that you wouldn't notice it as much mainly because our team is fairly even and there is more often than not a spread of 'winners' across the board.

Dane Swan's 2 GF performances were not of Brownlow calibre