Past Daniel Bradshaw (1996-2009)

Re: Daniel Bradshaw

Link

At the Lions however, ACL victims Daniel Bradshaw, Joel Macdonald and Anthony Corrie have all returned in fine fettle more or less immediately. Not only that, but Macdonald and Corrie are in career-best form.
So what’s the secret? Lions strength and conditioning manager Lachlan Penfold isn’t sure there is one, other than pure hard work and rehabilitation exercises that put players in physical situations they will confront on the field.
"It’s really interesting – I think if you look at just Braddy, I don’t think any of us had any idea that he’d come back in this good a form," Penfold said.
"I think it’s mainly a confidence thing and over the 12 months that they were out, all of our guys – Braddy, Paddy Garner, Joel Macdonald and Anthony Corrie – put in an awful lot of work.
"As part of that rehab, you structure what you do around movements that players will be required to do in game situations. I think that really helps them with their confidence when they do get back to playing."

OMG I was like a mother today!

So proud of my boy Braddles when he kicked his 400th, i stood up - cheered and clamped for ages. Love ya Braddles, you do me proud. :thumbsu:

I loved the "Braddshaww Braddshaww Braddshaww Braddshaww" chant after he kicked that 400! It went on for about 30 seconds!

That was amazing, sent chills up my spine and i was only watching it on T.V, would have loved to have been there.

No doubt Cozi started the chant lol :p

Link

Must-see sequel
Article from:
Sam Edmund
May 27, 2008 12:00am

IT is fast becoming the biggest comeback since Indiana Jones. Brisbane forward Daniel Bradshaw, nine games into life after knee surgery, is arguably in the best form of his 12-year career.
Champion Data statistics show the AFL's own Harrison Ford is the modern-day comeback king of the dreaded knee reconstruction.
Bradshaw, 29, averages 93.9 ranking points a game - the most accurate gauge of a player's effectiveness.
His average of 10.7 disposals, 5.3 marks and 4.1 goals a match belie the fact he missed last season while recovering from surgery.
Former Geelong and North Melbourne utility Leigh Colbert said he had been amazed by Bradshaw's return.
Colbert ruptured the anterior cruciate ligament in his left knee in 1999 and battled to recapture his best form after joining the Kangaroos.
"It's been extraordinary to watch Daniel," Colbert said yesterday.
"The position he plays is very much a stop-start power position. I know a lot of guys who do their knee end up playing backward of the ball so that the play is in front of them, whereas he is leading out and turning 180 degrees back to goal.
"To do what he's done after coming back is amazing."
Bradshaw injured his right knee just 10 minutes into a practice match before the 2007 season.
As a 191cm, 95kg key position player, it was always going to be a long road back.
But 18 months on, Bradshaw sits equal second with Carlton's Brendan Fevola in the race for the Coleman Medal with 37 goals.
His career-best 59 majors in 2006 will almost certainly fall this year.
He has kicked bags of seven, six (twice) and five (twice) in a two-pronged Lions attack with Jonathan Brown, and represented Victoria in the Hall of Fame tribute match.
Colbert, who retired after the 2005 season, said Bradshaw's recovery was aided by a mature approach.
"I think it helps that he's a little bit older," he said.
"As you get older you get a little smarter. For mine, if I had my time again . . . I ended up training more often but it wasn't necessarily smarter.
"Full credit has to go to his medical staff. The training techniques have definitely improved out of sight."

bradshaw8iw3.jpg

Link

Daniel Bradshaw became only the eighth player in the merged Club’s history to reach 400 career goals when he kicked his sixth goal against St Kilda on Sunday. Bradshaw currently sits behind only: Alastair Lynch (633 goals), Jack Moriarty (626 goals), Bernie Quinlan (576 goals), Garry Wilson (452 goals), Jim Freake (442 goals), Allan Ruthven (442 goals) and Richard Osborne (411 goals) in the Club’s all-time leading goal kickers.

bradshaw5ym7.jpg

That was amazing, sent chills up my spine and i was only watching it on T.V, would have loved to have been there.

No doubt Cozi started the chant lol :p

definitely one of those things that you love to look back and say you were there for. got a huge cheer when the 400 came up and the clapping lasted ages, and then the chant. we love our braddles up here, you could really feel the appreciation the crowd had for him. wasn't an obligation cheer.

27k for the crowd too i thought was pretty good on a sunday arvo.

"If Lillee don't get you, Thommo will"

bradshaw12li7.jpg

In the last two weeks Brown and Bradshaw have had 62 possessions, 44 marks, 24 goals from 36 scoring shots and 553 Super Coach points.

Link

Brown and beefed up Bradshaw in another spree
03Jun08
AUSSIE RULES by Roger Merrett, Terry Wilson and Nick Smart

AS BRISBANE'S twin towers, Jonathan Brown and Daniel Bradshaw, went on another spree at the Gabba on Saturday night, I could not help but wonder how much work the latter put in during his enforced layoff.

Bradshaw must have spent a lot of time pumping iron as he recovered from a knee reconstruction. He looks much stronger in the arms and upper torso.

In their past two matches, 24 goals for the Brown-Bradshaw pairing shows just how much firepower the Lions have.

They looked good against North Melbourne and barring any injuries, the Lions are right in the race for a top-four finish.

62 touches for 44 marks. That's an incredible ratio of marks :thumbsu: Have only seen highlights of the game, but that mark Braddles took against 3 other opponents was something special. those big guns weren't coming down empty handed

On the radio last night they were saying we had something like 18 marks inside 50 to North's 6 :eek: I for one have no problem with our mob being labeled Brownshaw centric :D

Coleman Watch:

Franklin - 50
Bradshaw - 43
Fevola - 40
Brown - 33
Roughead - 32
Pavlich - 31
Motlop - 29
Burton - 28

Odds:

Franklin - $1.30
Bradshaw - $5.00
Fevola - $8.00
Brown - $9.00
Roughead - $26.00
Pavlich - $51.00
Burton - $101.00
Motlop - $251.00

Gerard Healy

"I am just about to enter an all-Australian selection meeting and Bradshaw's name will be on the board for discussion."

Link

Bradshaw ready to step up for Lions
June 4, 2008 - 7:18PM

Life without Jonathan Brown would have been unthinkable for the Brisbane Lions just last season.
While the Lions will still be sweating on their prized co-captain Brown's fitness before Sunday's AFL clash with Fremantle, Brisbane won't have to look far for inspiration if he succumbs to a knee injury.
Forward Daniel Bradshaw says he is more than comfortable with stepping into Brown's big shoes if the reigning Coleman Medallist pulls out.
And no wonder - after Brown carried the Lions in 2007, he has happily become a support act for new headliner Bradshaw.
The Lions' one dimensional forward line of last season has been replaced by the twin towers of Brown and Bradshaw in 2008, kicking 76 goals in 10 games to date.
That haul includes six goals each in the past two games.
Bradshaw has made a remarkable comeback from a knee injury that ruled him out of 2007, kicking 43 goals with more than half of the season still left.
His personal best haul of 59 majors is in serious threat and Alastair Lynch's club record of 78 in 2003 appears on borrowed time.
Now a player who gingerly walked onto the practice field with modest goals for 2008 has the confidence to step up if Brown falters.
"I feel reasonably comfortable if Browny doesn't pull up," Bradshaw said.
"I have played a bit on the forward line when Lynchy and Browny weren't there as well (in the past).
"And we've got other players - they aren't Jonathan Brown - but they can do their part and hopefully we can get a win."
Bradshaw's form has already sparked talk of everything from new club records to Coleman Medals for the Lions' comeback kid.
Bradshaw joked that there was only one way he would collect Brisbane's second straight Coleman Medal.
"Maybe if (Hawthorn's Lance) Franklin falls over and hurts himself, which of course I don't want to happen," he laughed.
But his 2007 injury heartbreak taught Bradshaw that it doesn't pay to look too far ahead.
"I had a little hiccup in the pre-season where I was still getting a bit of pain but once that went I did everything they asked of me and felt really confident in it," he said.
"I came into the season without big expectations, just enjoy myself - I'm not going out there putting too much pressure on myself.
"I don't want to look too far ahead, anything can happen like last year."

bradshaw7in8.jpg

Love ya Braddles, well done on your achievements thus far this year, let's hope they continue, including a Coleman, you can do it!

All the best.

Link

Bradshaw said he and Brown had learnt to complement each other.

"Browny is very good at organising the forward line and working the space so we don't bump into each other too often," he said.

"It's going to happen a couple of times a game, but as long as it doesn't happen every time it comes in there.

"I normally start a bit behind Browny, so I tend to see where he's going to lead first and try and lead to the space on the other side of the ground so we're one-out most of the time.

"I don't think we are doing anything different - it's been the way forwards have played for years.

bradshawdz0.jpg

Link

Matthews is a master of doing the basics right and the way Brown and Bradshaw are combining is no different to the manner in which successful centre half-forward/full-forward partnerships have always operated.

Brown plays further up the ground and will therefore mostly head to the attacking side, which, when Brisbane's game plan is working to its optimum, would see left-footer Josh Drummond starting an attacking raid from the left half-back flank.

That leaves Bradshaw to work to space.

Bradshaw said the leading patterns had nothing to do with the side each player preferred to shoot at goal from.

"I actually thought I led to the other side a bit more and I'd prefer to kick from that side," he said.

Link

Bradshaw: better, stronger, faster
Martin Blake
June 4, 2008

"Gentlemen, we can rebuild him. We have the technology." - Introduction, The Six Million Dollar Man
That lame 1980s television show about the cyborg Steve Austin, an astronaut rebuilt as a super-human after a space accident, rings in the ears when you watch Daniel Bradshaw play. Bradshaw could be today's Six Million Dollar Man. He's come back better, stronger, faster from a knee reconstruction, and that's quite a feat.
In fact, Brisbane Lions' power forward can lay claim to a title that carries no statistic or trophy with it. By a strong consensus, Bradshaw has returned from the dreaded knee reconstruction better and more quickly than any AFL player before him.
Just ask Leigh Matthews, the Brisbane Lions' coach, who believes his full-forward is not merely playing as well as he was before he went down in the pre-season of 2007; he's actually improved. "We're pleasantly surprised," said Matthews. "I would have thought his last eight weeks are as good as he's every played, really. I've never seen him play any better than this over a period of a couple of months. I don't know what we expected, but I don't think we necessarily expected him to come back as well as he has as quickly as he has."
Or Michael Voss, his former skipper. "I can't think of anyone who's done it better," said Voss. "To be pressing for all-Australian selection the year after you do an ACL is quite impressive."
Bradshaw's 43 goals in 10 games put him second on the AFL's goalkicking list, only behind Lance Franklin. He is averaging career-highs in goals and contested football. In concert with Jonathan Brown (33 goals this season), he is providing the Lions with the best one-two punching forward line in the competition. Witness the past fortnight, during which the pair have buried St Kilda and North Melbourne with 24 goals between them.
It is not meant to be so. Conventional wisdom is that in AFL football, players returning from knee surgery take at least a month or two, sometimes longer, to reach anything approaching their optimum level of play. The Western Bulldog Robert Murphy, for instance, is playing brilliant football right now, but his knee surgery was in 2006.
Bradshaw has smashed the theory. "I reckon he's the best result ever," said Peter Brukner, The Age columnist and current Socceroos' travelling medico. "He'd have to be, wouldn't he? I can't think of anyone who's come back better."
Ironically, Bradshaw endured several complications to the 12-month rehabilitation that is being put up as the model for success. Firstly, he had an injured right shoulder, too, and the Lions opted to have that reconstructed as well.
In April, 2007, he had the reconstruction, in which surgeons inserted a piece of hamstring tendon inside his right knee to replace the anterior cruciate ligament that had pulled away from the bone. Secondly, when he began training toward the end of last season, his knee became chronically sore.
It was not the smooth progression that the club would have liked, for the 29-year-old was forced into a bout of arthoscopic surgery on the patella tendon in the same knee. But he was a good student of rehabilitation, according to the Lions' strength and conditioning manager, Lachlan Penfold, who has seen players in the same situation fall victim to boredom. Bradshaw virtually lived in the gym at the Gabba, churning out three and four-hour sessions on leg weights, in the pool and on the bike.
"The guys battle at times, mentally and emotionally," Penfold said. "They might not turn up for a session or something like that. 'Braddy' might have battled emotionally, but he didn't bring it with him."
By February this year, Bradshaw was flying on the track. Significantly, he showed none of the tentativeness that afflicts other players. "I remember saying to him one night: 'You just don't look like you've ever had anything wrong'," recalls Matthews. "Even at that point, it was out of his mind. He was able to move on really quickly. His confidence in his body, those mental scars weren't there."
Penfold believes that with all the leg weights Bradshaw lifted last year, he has come back physically stronger. Moreover, he appears to be hungrier. "Everyone takes things for granted at times," said Penfold. "Now there's a bit of mortality about it. It's like 'oh s..., this is what life's like without football. I better make sure I do the right thing'. It's a lonely road back. I think they do some soul-searching: 'I'm not going to have this for the rest of my life. I'm going to make the most of my opportunities'. It's a sobering experience."
Matthews agrees that Bradshaw looks more motivated. "There is that subliminal, subconscious aspect that your career is almost lost, or severely interrupted. OK there's a physical downer, but on the motivational side it makes you quite possibly hungrier to do what you can when you can. I think I'd offer the view that he appears to be a hungrier footballer."
Bradshaw is happy to stay in the moment. "I've actually been pulling up really well," he said yesterday. "Obviously there was a fair bit of rehab involved in the injury and on the way back I did heaps and heaps of work involving turning - which is how I did the knee in the first place. Before the first game back (against Sydney) in the pre-season, I spoke to my doctor and he said that once you are able to do that kind of turning work, it means you are pretty much right to go.
"Since I've started playing again the knee has felt really strong and hasn't played on my mind at all. The more times I got my hands on the footy, the more comfortable I began to feel. It was good to be able to take a few grabs and kick a few goals just, I suppose, to realise you can still do it."

DANIEL BRADSHAW'S NUMBERS
Year Goals a game
2000 2.9
2001 2.3
2002 1.9
2003 1.2
2004 1.8
2005 2.2
2006 2.7
2007 -
2008 4.3

bradshawfz2.jpg

If Braddy is the Six Million Dollar Man, Jmac must be his clone. Jmac never displayed his current form before his knee operation.

I would probably class Jmac's re-invigoration as better than Braddy's. They are both in AA form this year.

Bradshaw has received heaps of press this week, let's hope he kicks 10 and sends the media into a coleman frenzy, in saying that Buddy will probably kick 10 this week

you weren't far off, got 9 did buddy. if braddles can kick a bag of about 6+ he will stay in touch with buddy i think.

Bradshaw is your old style full forward and I love watching him play. Brown is your grunt chf blessed with class and courage. Franklin is a genius! Bradshaw can't catch him but god I hope he gets close. If Buddy stays injury free he will kick 120 plus goals this year. I hope Braddles can crack the ton with 3 or 4 finals games thrown in!

Past Daniel Bradshaw (1996-2009)