Rodney Dangerfield
Doesn’t matter
I dunno mate, but it sounds like you know the guy personally and are getting upset at everyone bagging him. Well I probably would too.
But if you take the emotion out of it he's not doing any good, and for a guy in the leadership group, well you'd have to think that talent is a kind of prerequisite. I know he's obviously got talent to just be on an AFL list, but it's a tough gig and if you regularly stuff up you are going to get caned by the faithful.
I don't know about your points about 'could have got a better contract', the way I remember it, his name got mentioned early on as someone out of contract and then all the other guys came out and got resigned quickly and poor old DJ got left with not enough money in the kitty for him. That's the way I remember it anyhow.
As for the works hard bit... Tell you what, every single guy on this site would work hard to play just one game for the Tigers. I'd be up at 3am if it meant a game. So it's a kind irrelevant point about working hard. And given he's from a different generation to the 'early 90's' players, I fail to see the relevance. It's not like we are comparing him to Nick Daffy.
I don't reckon anyone is complaining about Jacko getting bagged, that's just footy.
But there is a genuine hatred from some people which seems odd.
He doesn't pick the team and I'm sure he doesn't play shit on purpose.
Just reckon passion and emotion take over at times which is understandable but I've even read where his commitment has been questioned which is ridiculous.
Everyone is in unison I think in saying he's really stinking it up and very fortunate to be in the side.The frustration should be levelled at the match commitee who aren't doing him any favours really.