Daniel Menzel on 5AA

Apr 29, 2008
Northeast Suburbs
Hey Geelong people,

I try to record 5AA's sports show here in SA whenever I get a chance in case they interview Crows players. They didn't do any today, but they did have an interview with your new favourite player, Daniel Menzel :p Thought you guys have more use for it than I do, so here you go:

menzel.mp3 - 7.76MB

Incidentally you guys may be fascinated by the inside word on the Adelaide forums that, had Talia not been available at pick 13, we were intending to take Menzel. So if he turns out to be a gun, drop Melbourne and Carlton a thank you note :D:thumbsu:

Glad he mentioned he had never played in defense before the U18 championship. Well done to all the Melbourne based media people who watched those 3 games and formed their entire opinion of him based on that.

I checked up on the Central's U18 results (some sort of Maccas sponsored comp right?), he is in the bests a heap and kicked a bunch of goals. I think he is a Geelong style midfielder with his height, frame, clean skills and good hands. He has a nice low trajectory kick that if he can add 10-15m too will be a weapon. Call him a bit of Jimmy, good all round everything without standing out.

Thanks stabby.

Sounds like a good mature kid so I hope he'll settle in well and start working really hard.

I did have a chuckle at the silence though when they asked him about the weather-nice to see draftees are smart enough not to be too critical of their new environment :p

My apologies, apparently Koby Stevens was next on our list, not Menzel. Menzel wasn't far off though :eek:

As if being 'next in line' as a draft prospect for Adelaide is anything to write home about ;)

Thanks for the replay mate.
Cornsey sounded pretty good there. The other guy is a total moron whoever he is.

As if being 'next in line' as a draft prospect for Adelaide is anything to write home about ;)

Thanks for the replay mate.
Cornsey sounded pretty good there. The other guy is a total moron whoever he is.

Our last few years have been better drafts than the years before them mate :p

Cornes is actually a pretty intelligent man if you can get him to stick away from his pet hates, when he turns into a raving lunatic. The other guy is Stephen Rowe, former Crows player. He's actually pretty good to listen to and isn't dumb, but doesn't exactly have a voice that screams intelligence :eek:

Our last few years have been better drafts than the years before them mate :p

Cornes is actually a pretty intelligent man if you can get him to stick away from his pet hates, when he turns into a raving lunatic. The other guy is Stephen Rowe, former Crows player. He's actually pretty good to listen to and isn't dumb, but doesn't exactly have a voice that screams intelligence :eek:

To be fair , Id say you have the balls to make hard calls , the smarts to then make smart choices. Picking Dangerfield looks obvious now but just like with our FS , there must have been some serious pressure to pick the local kids. Generally I think you guys keep the kids you pick too , thats always a good indication of the type of club you have. Similar to the Cats , I doubt the Crows believe that you must get Priority Picks and you must bottom out to get back up to the top of the ladder

Listening to the interview , once you get threw the obvious crap about climate I thought its was a good interview , probing his background etc. The kid looks a nice all round package , a bit of Kelly , a bit Mackie and should be a solid AFL player in a couple of years.

Seems a fair analysis Turbocat. Not all of our picks have worked out just yet but we don't seem to have picked up any absolute spuds, and the few disappointing picks have been later in the draft rather than early like previous years :p

The Crows are extremely strong on not bottoming out and trying to be competitive every year. They're quite public about it. We respect clubs like Geelong that do the same :thumbsu:

And yes, the pressure on the Crows to select Ebert was enormous. The club copped flak from all sides for over a year when they selected Dangerfield, and some people still haven't come around on it. You guys in Geelong have known for a while that Dangerfield is a super kid, but to most people here in Adelaide we overlooked a sure-fire 150+ game star in Ebert for some great white hope who didn't even want to leave Victoria for his first season. Fortunately we've got strong people at the club willing to weather that kind of criticism for the right kid.

Keeping Tippett is a massive feather in the cap of a few people in particular. We've always lost people at the Crows to clubs outside of SA, but in the last few years that seems to have disappeared. Good thing too, because Rendell selects very few SA players :eek:

Best of luck with Menzel :thumbsu: Seems a quality kid.

To be fair , Id say you have the balls to make hard calls , the smarts to then make smart choices. Picking Dangerfield looks obvious now but just like with our FS , there must have been some serious pressure to pick the local kids.
Absoutely. The backlash from Adelaide not picking up Ebert was huge at the time, but Rendell clearly knows what he is doing. One of the best in the business.

EDIT: Beaten to it.

I still get bagged to this day for saying his older brother Chris, a good mate of mine, would play AFL. I used to rate Daniel when he played with us in Juniours but I never thought he would go in the first round of the AFL Draft. However now that I think about it he was always foccussed and gave 110% which is good for you guys!

Seems a fair analysis Turbocat. Not all of our picks have worked out just yet but we don't seem to have picked up any absolute spuds, and the few disappointing picks have been later in the draft rather than early like previous years :p

The Crows are extremely strong on not bottoming out and trying to be competitive every year. They're quite public about it. We respect clubs like Geelong that do the same :thumbsu:

One of the reasons I respect the Crows also. I don't believe in the philosophy of bottoming out to win a flag...apart from the fact I don't believe it's necessarily more effective than the alternative model...there's no ethics to it...a footy club actually trying to be at the bottom.

I don't think Adelaide in the last 4-5 years have drafted too badly considering position.

And yes, the pressure on the Crows to select Ebert was enormous. The club copped flak from all sides for over a year when they selected Dangerfield, and some people still haven't come around on it. You guys in Geelong have known for a while that Dangerfield is a super kid, but to most people here in Adelaide we overlooked a sure-fire 150+ game star in Ebert for some great white hope who didn't even want to leave Victoria for his first season. Fortunately we've got strong people at the club willing to weather that kind of criticism for the right kid.

Keeping Tippett is a massive feather in the cap of a few people in particular. We've always lost people at the Crows to clubs outside of SA, but in the last few years that seems to have disappeared. Good thing too, because Rendell selects very few SA players :eek:

Best of luck with Menzel :thumbsu: Seems a quality kid.

Agreed....I always knew how much talent Danger had, and no one can begrudge him staying home for year 12. I still think Ebert will be a decent player but there's no doubt recruiting Danger was a great decision.

I'm sure you are pleased about Tippett. For what it's worth I was never really that much of the belief that he'd leave-players who can't get gametime at their current clubs, or those whose current clubs are no chance to be contending (in GC's first few years) are much more likely to transfer there than one who is guaranteed game time and a genuine shot at a flag.

I smell of Cats in cmndstab!!! Being a Crow --- spells out good stuff about Cats --- quite gutsy I must say. Its rare to come across. Cats have history of having some great guns from our neighbouring state to the West.

Good Luck to Crows mate! They sure are going to be a huge force in 2010.

wow, one of those interviewers takes the title of 'world's biggest bogan'
:D Bogan = Stephen Rowe

But he was actually a pretty bloody good rover type in his day. IIRC he played a handful of games for the Crows but really made his name at Norwood in the SANFL after (again IIRC) coming over from WA...but I could be very wrong there.

Was a good SANFL player in his heyday for all those trivia buffs out there.

I think it is interesting that Geelong has drafted a few Central Districts boys now with the varcoes. Centrals had the same group come in and overhall their leadership and management that geelong had when they did their review. Centrals did it prior to geelong and 8/10 flags says a lot.

In the interview menzel mentions geelong going through the structures with him and then saying he had been through some of them before at centrals.

Daniel Menzel on 5AA