Player Watch Darcy Fogarty - Re-Signed to End of 2031

How many goals will Darcy Fogarty kick in 2023?

I'm wondering if Nicks will be will be playing Himmelberg down back this year to help his forward craft in the future

Being realistic, Himmelberg probably has a better shot at making it as a defender instead of a forward.

It's absolutely up for debate when the alternative was to put 20 games into him as a forward.

Would he be better had we done that? Yep.
I agree if it was 20 games as a forward in our league side, but no ones arguing that. Again, I would have played him rd 1 so this is not an endorsement of them leaving him in the SANFL for most of the year.

But for right or wrong (read: wrong) he did spend most of the year in the SANFL, and in that context, he would have learnt more about his forward craft than spending 10-15 games doing the what he's always done against lesser opponents (imo at least). It's a luxury we couldn't and shouldn't have had, but he did, so there's no denying the benefit he would have derived from that.

They were trying to Rutten him. They just told everybody it was a learning exercise to placate fans. How many other AFL sides are playing their young forwards in defence?
Ben Rutten was a rookie - you can bring them on and craft them into whatever need / requirement you have, with little or no risk. There's no way they would burn a first round pick on a proven dedicated forward with a view to turn him into a defender - that was never their intent.

THe likely explanation is that they probably saw it as killing two birds with one stone - fill a need that arose from poor list management (per someone's previous post), while giving him an extra perspective in defence. Again, all of this is in lieu of everyone else's preferred option of just playing the bastard as a forward in our league team.

Ben Rutten was a rookie - you can bring them on and craft them into whatever need / requirement you have, with little or no risk. There's no way they would burn a first round pick on a proven dedicated forward with a view to turn him into a defender - that was never their intent.
You mean like they did with Milera?

??

You're comparing apples with minbuses. Every team in the competition uses the backline and/or forwardline to groom and onboard their midfielders. Whether Jnr should be in the midfield by now is a whole other discussion, but it's nothing like the notion of recruiting a gun key forward with your first pick with the intent of turning them into a defender.

??

You're comparing apples with minbuses. Every team in the competition uses the backline and/or forwardline to groom and onboard their midfielders. Whether Jnr should be in the midfield by now is a whole other discussion, but it's nothing like the notion of recruiting a gun key forward with your first pick with the intent of turning them into a defender.
Fair call. Think I need my afternoon coffee.

Him playing as a defender in the SANFL wasn't even about his development. Let's not make things up.

It was due to our poor list management, plus Doedee's injury that left us short on defenders (Otten was also travelling emergency for a lot of the time).

Andy Otten only missed 4 SANFL home and away games for the year.
Otten, Butts and Merrit were the Crows Tall Mainstay defenders for most of the year,
Fogarty only played defender for development
It was pretty obvious when you watch the games. and who was giving him the instructions, It one of the reasons I wanted Otten to stay and become a development Coach, and why I believe Doedee will become a good coach when he finishes playing.

Might be on to something there. He's a solid tall but maybe not enough x-factor to make it as a forward. Anyone know where Berg played his junior footy?

Spent his draft year primarily as a defender actually.

Well worth the time to see if he could make it forward with the skill-set, however, considering our dearth of KPD talent, and Himmelberg struggling to push up the pecking order in our offence, it's time for a switch.

Bit of an apples and oranges comparison, seeing Milera was drafted as an outside midfielder. Any outside midfielder worth their salt is going to be good at halfback (due to it being one of the main drivers of teams offence, and easy ball), which is why it tends to be a starting position to develop them.

aaa
Spent his draft year primarily as a defender actually.

Well worth the time to see if he could make it forward with the skill-set, however, considering our dearth of KPD talent, and Himmelberg struggling to push up the pecking order in our offence, it's time for a switch.
Crows currently have 5 tall defenders fighting for 2 spots and maybe a 3 if the Crows run with 3 tall defenders.
I Do not class Deodee as a Tall Defender,
Up Forward we have 6 tall Forwards, fighting for 3 spots, maybe 4,
Ruck wise we have 4talls training, in ROB, Strachan, Frampton and Himmelberg, last 3 I also class as tall Forwards. And yes I have seen all 4 at times training with Clarko.

If we are looking at a switch hitter, Himmelberg would not be my first choice he needs to improve his marking game.
Crow just recruited 2 very good mobile talls with pace who can clunk the marks and run Play forward and Back, I would be looking at those guys first.

aaa

Crows currently have 5 tall defenders fighting for 2 spots and maybe a 3 if the Crows run with 3 tall defenders.
Ruck wise we have 4talls training, in ROB, Strachan, Frampton and Himmelberg, last 3 I also class as tall Forwards. And yes I have seen all 4 at times training with Clarko.

If we are looking at a switch hitter, Himmelberg would not be my first choice he needs to improve his marking game.
Crow just recruited 2 very good mobile talls with pace who can clunk the marks and run Play forward and Back, I would be looking at those guys first.

You would think that 2nd Ruck spot behind ROB is well and truly up for grabs as both a ruck/KPP position, All three you have mentioned can put their hand up and grab it as none are standing out at this stage, will be interesting to watch now JJ and Sauce are gone, it could uncover a gem or be an achilles heal, only time will tell I suppose

Add that to the fact that ROB hasnt established himself yet as someone capable of playing out a full season

This could go either way

I'm not wasting my time debating with a club apologist like yourself. The Crows could take turns shitting all over your head and you'd probably thank them for the hat.
It’s called giving them the benefit of the doubt whilst applying some rational thinking. You striking at the club at every opportunity doesn’t make you a better person or a more rational thinker. Learn to speak with respect mate, I’m not here to be anyone’s online bitch.

THe likely explanation is that they probably saw it as killing two birds with one stone - fill a need that arose from poor list management (per someone's previous post), while giving him an extra perspective in defence. Again, all of this is in lieu of everyone else's preferred option of just playing the bastard as a forward in our league team.
The argument from the mockers is that we’re stalling Fog as a forward by playing him in defense at SANFL level (for half a season). This is actually false logic, because a heap of youngsters have been tried in various positions in their junior years and yet, most would be improving as a player as the years progress.

Then the fact Fog kicks 5 goals in an AFL match end of 2019. Some here are conveniently forgetting he never got anywhere near that amount in the previous year at AFL level. This suggests his development is moving forward, not stalling.

It’s called giving them the benefit of the doubt whilst applying some rational thinking. You striking at the club at every opportunity doesn’t make you a better person or a more rational thinker. Learn to speak with respect mate, I’m not here to be anyone’s online bitch.
They don't deserve the benefit of the doubt John. We've been 20 years without a flag. Grow up and stop pretending your blind fanboyism makes you better or more rational than those of us with the sense to call a spade a spade.

You need to understand the difference between fanboyism and casual conversation. Either way, this forum is filled with disrespectful idiots, don’t be one of those. Respect other’s opinions.

Is it possible that the respect that your opinions don't garner is a measure of the quality of the opinions you produce?

aaa

It's much easier to mark the ball in defense, then offense. That's by virtue of weight of numbers. It's something that'll hopefully clean up with Elliot getting used to AFL football as I reckon most of his marking problems stemmed from fatigue.

Beyond that though, solid field kick and not particularly slow could see Elliot be able to impact in transition which is really the key with 2nd and 3rd talls.

In terms of the depth chart though. Forward wise I'd expect Himmelberg to be behind everyone capable at this point with us signaling we're not satisfied with how much he's come on in the past year (by recruiting Frampton), as well as Fogarty being the star in tha making and Tex/Lynch being solid vets.

Defense though and that 5 is very misleading. You have Talia in one position, however the other two spots a tall defender could play are wide open with Doedee being able to move to a mid-defender (a move we would be stupid to ignore now). From there you have Hartigan who'd be very lucky to not be phased out regardless due to us rebuilding, Butts who could only play 3rd tall at his size and McAsey who I'd expect to get one of the two free positions. I'd opt for Himmelberg prior to Butts if given the choice due to the extra size

Worrell isn't ready though where he ends up is anyone's guess

I can acknowledge your right to an opinion but I'm not obligated to respect them.

Usually when I hear the words "I'm entitled to my opinion" it's coming from my 87 year old Grandma, after she's said something bigoted.

You would think that 2nd Ruck spot behind ROB is well and truly up for grabs as both a ruck/KPP position, All three you have mentioned can put their hand up and grab it as none are standing out at this stage, will be interesting to watch now JJ and Sauce are gone, it could uncover a gem or be an achilles heal, only time will tell I suppose

Add that to the fact that ROB hasnt established himself yet as someone capable of playing out a full season

This could go either way
Going on last few years and only on what I saw, The Pecking Order would be ROB, followed by Strachan and Frampton, Then Himmielberg,
Re Stracham Tap wise is ROB equal, but around the Ground, he needs more work.
Re Frampton 1 on 1 against ROB and it looked Close, ROB was better when the ball hit the ground, But Frampton was better up Forward in the contested Mark and Kick for Goals.
Re Himmelberg contested marking lets him down, Also the others are better tap rucks.

Is it possible that the respect that your opinions don't garner is a measure of the quality of the opinions you produce?
It’s pretty simple. If you don’t agree then ignore the comment, put the poster on ignore, or ask the poster to put you on ignore. Why the need to ridicule someone, particularly if there is some validity to a point they’re making?
Everyone here has stress in their lives, we all deserve some kind respect, regardless of our opinions.

It's much easier to mark the ball in defense, then offense. That's by virtue of weight of numbers. It's something that'll hopefully clean up with Elliot getting used to AFL football as I reckon most of his marking problems stemmed from fatigue.

Beyond that though, solid field kick and not particularly slow could see Elliot be able to impact in transition which is really the key with 2nd and 3rd talls.

In terms of the depth chart though. Forward wise I'd expect Himmelberg to be behind everyone capable at this point with us signaling we're not satisfied with how much he's come on in the past year (by recruiting Frampton), as well as Fogarty being the star in tha making and Tex/Lynch being solid vets.

Defense though and that 5 is very misleading. You have Talia in one position, however the other two spots a tall defender could play are wide open with Doedee being able to move to a mid-defender (a move we would be stupid to ignore now). From there you have Hartigan who'd be very lucky to not be phased out regardless due to us rebuilding, Butts who could only play 3rd tall at his size and McAsey who I'd expect to get one of the two free positions. I'd opt for Himmelberg prior to Butts if given the choice due to the extra size

Worrell isn't ready though where he ends up is anyone's guess
I did mention that it depends on if we go with 2 tall defenders or 3 talls, I don't campaigner Doedee as a Tall defender. and did not count him.
Butts vs Himmelberg extra size, Same Height, butts started Last year at 86kg finished around 90, be intrested to see how much he has gained this year. Himmelberg weight has not changed much in the last couple of years. And Butts is the better 1 on 1 defender,

End of the Day McAsey and Hartigan will be fighting for the 1 spot. Followed by Butts and Worrel. And I doubt we will be Going with 3 tall defenders.

I can acknowledge your right to an opinion but I'm not obligated to respect them.

Usually when I hear the words "I'm entitled to my opinion" it's coming from my 87 year old Grandma, after she's said something bigoted.
I’m having a go at you because I made a valid point which you chose to mock instead of a counter-argument. I don’t wish for everyone to agree on everything I say (that would be boring to me), but if I’m actually making some logical sense, don’t bash me for being different. I won’t stand for that attitude thrown my way (my New Years resolution). ;)

It’s pretty simple. If you don’t agree then ignore the comment, put the poster on ignore, or ask the poster to put you on ignore. Why the need to ridicule someone, particularly if there is some validity to a point they’re making?
Everyone here has stress in their lives, we all deserve some kind respect, regardless of our opinions.
That isn't how message boards work. You'd have to be pretty thin-skinned to put somebody on ignore because they disagree with you. It's also not healthy to spend too much time worrying whether or not some random on a footy forum respects you imo. Don't take it so personally.

My only greivance with you is that your self assumed role as general of the Crows Defence Force doesn't make any sense at this point in time. If the club actually turned things around, it would be much harder to argue against optimism. As it stands right now though, the club is a shit-show so I find that sort of commentary pretty grating.

(The only people I have on ignore are Marty and a few whackos from the Trump thread. I generally try to avoid putting people on ignore because it makes using the forum pretty frustrating. I usually give fellow Crows fans more leeway too)

That isn't how message boards work. You'd have to be pretty thin-skinned to put somebody on ignore because they disagree with you. It's also not healthy to spend too much time worrying whether or not some random on a footy forum respects you imo. Don't take it so personally.

My only greivance with you is that your self assumed role as general of the Crows Defence Force doesn't make any sense at this point in time. If the club actually turned things around, it would be much harder to argue against optimism. As it stands right now though, the club is a shit-show so I find that sort of commentary pretty grating.

(The only people I have on ignore are Marty and a few whackos from the Trump thread. I generally try to avoid putting people on ignore because it makes using the forum pretty frustrating. I usually give fellow Crows fans more leeway too)
Toughen up princess

On SM-G965F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Player Watch Darcy Fogarty - Re-Signed to End of 2031