Player Watch Darcy Moore

Very interesting highlights there !

Looked at the vision on the link below and just to make sure went back and watched the replay of the game as i had recorded in on the iq, It to me doesnt look like a push to be honest it looks like Howe is being held by Townsend and gets loose and unbalanced just at the time the pack forms. He body is upright but head is slightly foward if there is a push i dont think its of any force to drive him foward with momentum but i suppose 2 people could see the same thing but see it differently.

The Richmond defenders are trained to push the fowards with their body/Chest from behind to push the foward under the ball and rance and Astbury are the 2 good exponents of this deliberate tactic.

Pushing of players in the side is not a new thing and has been around for years to unbalance the opponent , As i mentioned i went back and re watched it i sen 3 incidents with Castagna but didnt really see a blatant push in the back but more a nudge or a push on the side to unbalance but happy to look back if you have a particular time in the game which i could look at.

Interesting selection of words though 'Gutless' & Cheat when referring to Townsend & Castagna , I wouldnt call either of these players 'Gutless' as they are 2 players that play hard and are Kamakazi like in their attack on the ball and ball carrier with no consideration for their own safety whilst cheating is a very damning word andcheats are usually exposed pretty quickly and with so much media attention it would be highlighted instantly if it was 'Cheating'

I do however agree with the interfere with opponents part and have noticed this is the main reason for Richmond being the club that gets the least amount of free kicks and the most amount against for the last 2 years and its done deliberately in the foward line due to the game plan of using 1 tall and 5 crumbers ' Smalls' the directive would be to bring the ball to ground at all costs and maintain possession at all cost and if a free is given so be it.
Just smart play by the tigers really.

We should off load him and get what we can while we can.
Undoubtedly has oodles of talent and potential but will be Reid Mk II.
Move him on while there is still a good chance we will get a good return for him.

I thought Moore was very good Saturday

Let's have him play on Buddy next week.

Go with Athletically but I be very Worried about the Big Strength Advantage he have Over Moore

Very interesting highlights there !

Looked at the vision on the link below and just to make sure went back and watched the replay of the game as i had recorded in on the iq, It to me doesnt look like a push to be honest it looks like Howe is being held by Townsend and gets loose and unbalanced just at the time the pack forms. He body is upright but head is slightly foward if there is a push i dont think its of any force to drive him foward with momentum but i suppose 2 people could see the same thing but see it differently.

The Richmond defenders are trained to push the fowards with their body/Chest from behind to push the foward under the ball and rance and Astbury are the 2 good exponents of this deliberate tactic.

Pushing of players in the side is not a new thing and has been around for years to unbalance the opponent , As i mentioned i went back and re watched it i sen 3 incidents with Castagna but didnt really see a blatant push in the back but more a nudge or a push on the side to unbalance but happy to look back if you have a particular time in the game which i could look at.

Interesting selection of words though 'Gutless' & Cheat when referring to Townsend & Castagna , I wouldnt call either of these players 'Gutless' as they are 2 players that play hard and are Kamakazi like in their attack on the ball and ball carrier with no consideration for their own safety whilst cheating is a very damning word andcheats are usually exposed pretty quickly and with so much media attention it would be highlighted instantly if it was 'Cheating'

I do however agree with the interfere with opponents part and have noticed this is the main reason for Richmond being the club that gets the least amount of free kicks and the most amount against for the last 2 years and its done deliberately in the foward line due to the game plan of using 1 tall and 5 crumbers ' Smalls' the directive would be to bring the ball to ground at all costs and maintain possession at all cost and if a free is given so be it.

Thanks for getting back to me, and for the appraisal. I note a few things:

1. That you (and I'm assuming other Richmond people) admit to the tactics of "holding", "pushing under the ball", and pushing to unbalance a marking player (whom I'm assuming would have his intent and eyes on the ball). You make the point that your defenders are "good exponents" of the tactic and then proffer that they get plenty of frees paid against them for it, so its all ok.

2. You down play the effect that Townsend had on Howe's injury by claiming his actions were more "holding" rather than "pushing" (both of which in my memory are both illegal actions within a marking contest). You do note though that Townsend's actions unbalanced Howe (something that Howe is not known for himself...he is a wonderful aerialist).

* At least you do offer that different people could see the incident differently. I'm just recommending that the MRP should be involved in these deliberations.

3. The Castagna incidents again you downplay by saying its more of a "nudge or a push in the side to unbalance" to which I simply ask why Castagna cannot simply try and beat his opponent without resorting to unbalancing them when their feet are off the ground?
He's fast, he's athletic and can jump and mark. Why does he have to "unbalance" someone who cannot control their path once they are airborne?

4. I don't use the words Gutless or Cheat lightly and I appreciate the way Townsend and Castagna play once the ball is on the ground. My description was purely based on what I witnessed on Saturday. Not having seen the Tiges "Live" in 2018 I was surprised by the repeated tactic of pushing players INTO contests. They did it repeatedly in marking contests but also in ground situations the Richmond players tended to herd their opponents towards contests and then push or knock players over into contests to clog up the contest but to also allow them freedom to escape the packs with their opponents on the ground.

Unbalancing an athlete whilst they are in flight is a deadly prospect. Once they leave the ground they are easy to move but they cannot control their own descent or landing path. If Howe had broken his neck on Saturday would Townsend's coaches have been congratulating the young man for bringing the ball to the ground? Would he have forgiven himself?
This is not a great "tactic" to reinforce and its not something we need in the game.

Once again thanks for getting back and for the candour of your appraisal. Hopefully some people can see what is happening and DO something about it.

DeGoey was business, his price is going up by the day. He signs for two years and as a result he will end up earning more in what would be year 3 4 and 5

Yes that’s why they have managers. A manager isn’t doing his job unless he is able to get the most for the client he/she represents. But it’s not just contract $. I’m sure they look at opportunities outside and post footy as well as obviously looking at where the player is going to heat the best out of himself and enjoy playing the game.

I hope Buddy plays but think he could miss.

Moore will have a picnic running off him.
Imo, Sydney would be better resting him up to have a crack in the last 3 games rather than having him play sore in them all. Would be good for us too. An unfit Franklin, can still be a dangerous proposition.

DeGoey was business, his price is going up by the day. He signs for two years and as a result he will end up earning more in what would be year 3 4 and 5
I hope you are right, only time will tell. Its still a gamble which isnt business. I prefer to think he did it for the jumper :)

While we have the two Tiger lads with us AT and The GUN

I posted this last night and just wondered what Richmond people might think about it. (I know other teams do stuff like this from time to time as well but the TIGES are specialists at it)

Have a read: Tell me what you think.

It didn't contribute to Shazz's ACL injury today (though it could have if he'd landed differently) BUT multiple times today I witnessed Richmond players pushing their opponents into marking contests. The first one was Townsend pushing Howe into Moore's path but others also occurred like Costagna's push of Shazz into the pack before Higgins kicked his goal. They do it OFTENwaiting until their opponent is in the air and then easing their opponent under the ball or into the oncoming traffic.

Now Jeremy Howe is an outstanding aerialist (as we've all witnessed for many years) and his balance and timing in marking contests means he invariably ends up with his hands on the ball and he usually lands on his feet. In the contest today where he was knocked out by "friendly fire" (Darcy Moore's knee coming in courageously from the front of the pack) Howe didn't get his hands to the ball because he was shunted forward by Townsend in mid air. Thus he was totally unbalanced, unable to protect himself and unfortunately unable to continue to play today due to concussion.

The Costagna version pushes his opponent (Shazz) into the back of his team mate, allowing the ball to spill over the back of the pack and allow Costagna to run unimpeded towards goal. It's clearly a push in the back but because SO MUCH INTERFERENCE (arm holding, blocking the run of forwards who lead or want to run at marks, pushing in the back or shepherding when the ball is further than 5m away) IS GOING UN-PUNISHED these days, that umpires just let this dangerous practice go unnoticed.

In days of old, a player dealt with in this "dirty" fashion by his opponent would have dealt with his "GUTLESS" foe invariably. No player would have wanted the rep of being that GUTLESS CHEAT that would gamble with their opponents safety rather than facing them in man to man contests.

If the AFL has a look at the Howe concussion replay they will easily notice Townsend push Howe into Moore's path. If they view footage of Costagna they will witness him doing it on a regular basis through the game. In defence, Astbury, Grimes, Vlaustin and Rance all regularly interfere with their opponents and do so with IMPUNITY.

If Howe's neck had been broken today but Townsend's GUTLESS push would that be enough to stop similar acts?
It's not clever play, it's GUTLESS.

Townsend's action was worse than just as a push. He grabbed him held his arms and then pushed him into the pack.

I hope you are right, only time will tell. Its still a gamble which isnt business. I prefer to think he did it for the jumper :)
I have no doubt he loves the club and will be a one club player but it’s just a smart move by him. The salary cap will be bigger then so why lock yourself in at today’s price?

Yes that’s why they have managers. A manager isn’t doing his job unless he is able to get the most for the client he/she represents. But it’s not just contract $. I’m sure they look at opportunities outside and post footy as well as obviously looking at where the player is going to heat the best out of himself and enjoy playing the game.
A good manager does an incredible amount of work to maximise their players value

I have no doubt he loves the club and will be a one club player but it’s just a smart move by him. The salary cap will be bigger then so why lock yourself in at today’s price?

I reckon he do same as De Goey as well. Take 2 Year Deal and with Wells Going and Mayne Contract coming to the End. We have more Control over our Salary Cap then

Not sure why he hasn't signed yet, hopefully they work it all out. Kid is a champ.

Because he wants to get Best Deal he Possible Can and IF he plays some very good footy he have more Power at the Contract Table

Imo, Sydney would be better resting him up to have a crack in the last 3 games rather than having him play sore in them all. Would be good for us too. An unfit Franklin, can still be a dangerous proposition.

Would depend on whether they assess a 1 week break would offer any significant gains with the injury. If not, he might as well play.