Darwin Football Association - Part 3

Re: Darwin Football Association Part 2

roos 09 got the tempo up today!!!!!!!!!!big tasks ahead but i think they are up to the challenge.........thoughts?

Just got word of Cupronas Best and Fairest!

Seniors

N Cann 83
A McIntosh 57
J Wells 54
J Riley 52
J Townsend 51
C Pattie 42
S Braslin 31
J Bloom 30

Reserves
D DeVries 138
A Lowe 65
S Davis 56

Anyone got any results for Yolla,Queenstown and Somersets best and fairest held today?

Seniors

N Cann 83
A McIntosh 57
J Wells 54
J Riley 52
J Townsend 51
C Pattie 42
S Braslin 31
J Bloom 30

Reserves
D DeVries 138
A Lowe 65
S Davis 56

Anyone got any results for Yolla,Queenstown and Somersets best and fairest held today?

Good young player is Canny, imagine what he could do if he lost some weight and got himself fit!

Seniors

N Cann 83
A McIntosh 57
J Wells 54
J Riley 52
J Townsend 51
C Pattie 42
S Braslin 31
J Bloom 30

Reserves
D DeVries 138
A Lowe 65
S Davis 56

Slappa Mathews, second in a row, from Bull Innes at Somerset I am led to believe, good effort seeing as he missed the first four games and has been playing with injuries most of the year.Not very often our boys beat South in both games although South did have a few out.Good to see both Towna and Bricka contribute in their milestone games, give the Roos a bit of momentum going in to the finals having beaten a side above them.Ridgley hitting their straps this time if the year which is ominous for the other 4 teams.Yolla will be hard to beat this week v Sth and Somerset and Natone are one all after winning their games at home so a neutral venue will be interesting.Well done to Beauy and his Reserves side up the hill, a season undefeated is one not to be scoffed at and also Ridgley in the ones to dropone game and at a hard ground by a small margin is exceptional as well

Being abit harsh on Frenchy there I think Darwinasaurus. Since Frenchy has been on board the Robins actually haven't been to bad, They have come along way from being beaten by 200+ on a week to week basis. Atleast now they are competative. And from what I've heard he done a pretty good job in the state gig. You know you dont just get those positions, you've got to know abit about your footy before the'll give you a state gig. Give credit where it's due. Goodluck to Craig and all the best for the future:thumbsu:
Would not be a bad side for someone to take on next year, they have young guys with plenty of leg speed although they come up against the rampaging Saints by the looks of it at the weekend, anyone know how many points Willy kicked on top of the 14, I bet the DFA B and F will come from Ridgley as well as the leading goalkicker and he missed a couple of games as well, Mous e mus have been in the midfield on Saturday ?

The yolla best and fairest was won by Nathan Rowdy Riley and second was Jayde Nash. Good effort by Rowdy considering he missed 3 or 4 games. I havent heard who won the reserves though.:thumbsu:

Rowdy can add this to the one he won at Ridgley, well done Rowdy, poor boxer though !

roos 09 got the tempo up today!!!!!!!!!!big tasks ahead but i think they are up to the challenge.........thoughts?

I checked out South/Somerset on Saturday which was a good game of footy but neither played like a premiership team I didn't think - did both teams have players out?

Natone's discipline might be tested on Saturday night. A birthday bash for Max F and they have to play on Sunday.

I checked out South/Somerset on Saturday which was a good game of footy but neither played like a premiership team I didn't think - did both teams have players out?

Natone's discipline might be tested on Saturday night. A birthday bash for Max F and they have to play on Sunday.
Somerset had their two best midfielders out in Bratden Field and Mark Innes while I am not one hundred percent sure on South, thay had at least Dustin Crawford, Flipper Gilham, their big ruckman Clarky, Bossa Bakes, to name but a few.The boys can run the grog off Sunday from Sat night, just like having a couple on Friday night anyway

Are you out there "Arrow"?? Your comments in the past seem to indicate you knew a bit about the game and the DFA - how do you think the Natone boys (1's & 2's) will go in the finals?

I am still out here whisky17,have been keeping a low profile the past month or so as duffy asked me not to talk us up too much :D

As for how do i think we will fare over the coming weeks, we will have to improve on our efforts from the past two games to get over somerset this sunday in the ones, the twos have been the trend setter in the seconds all year, and if they regain a couple back from injury/seniors then there wont be much between us and a pennant at years end.

Ive got a feeling that sundays elimination final is going to be a very close affair, the boys have to regain their early season confidence-from the coach down, if this happens then the mighty maggies will prove to be a handfull over the next four weeks..:thumbsu:

Being abit harsh on Frenchy there I think Darwinasaurus. Since Frenchy has been on board the Robins actually haven't been to bad, They have come along way from being beaten by 200+ on a week to week basis. Atleast now they are competative. And from what I've heard he done a pretty good job in the state gig. You know you dont just get those positions, you've got to know abit about your footy before the'll give you a state gig. Give credit where it's due. Goodluck to Craig and all the best for the future:thumbsu:

yes the french kisses have improved from where they were three years ago thats for sure, they were however talked up a bit pre season as a finals pospect in place of Yolla,four wins including two over Cuprona( who as i stated preseason deserved to be in the leven)is nothing to crow about, three of their wins were three weeks in a row mid season which leaves gaping holes in their rest of year.
Good luck to frenchy and lets hope he goes back to umpiring. They could do with it.

Good young player is Canny, imagine what he could do if he lost some weight and got himself fit!

Congratulations to the young fella- a best and fairest is nothing to sneeze at.
Imagine if they were ruled ineligible for the B&F at club level when suspended( the same as the assoc is) then there would be no-one left to win it out there at heybridge :D :D

Congratulations to the young fella- a best and fairest is nothing to sneeze at.
Imagine if they were ruled ineligible for the B&F at club level when suspended( the same as the assoc is) then there would be no-one left to win it out there at heybridge :D :D

Canny was in fact not suspended this year Cupronas suspensions have been as follows

S Braslin 3 weeks
C Pattie 2 weeks
D Wall 2 weeks
J Townsend 1 week
C Harris 10 weeks
J Payne 8 weeks
J Bloom 4 weeks

Thats only 7 players and out of the 7 only 2 were serious reports it just seems the tribunal has a thing against the dogs and yes it was a terrible year and hopefully if they get a decent committee out there at Heybridge they might go somewhere in the future :thumbsu:

Would not be a bad side for someone to take on next year, they have young guys with plenty of leg speed although they come up against the rampaging Saints by the looks of it at the weekend, anyone know how many points Willy kicked on top of the 14, I bet the DFA B and F will come from Ridgley as well as the leading goalkicker and he missed a couple of games as well, Mous e mus have been in the midfield on Saturday ?
willy had the kicking boots on saturday mooch...kicked 14 straight...mouse went off before half time after rolling his ankle..the same 1 he done in the combined game...plus he probally shoulnt of played anyway after being kicked in the head by a cow on thursday

Did anyone play on him on saturday?

I am still out here whisky17,have been keeping a low profile the past month or so as duffy asked me not to talk us up too much :D

As for how do i think we will fare over the coming weeks, we will have to improve on our efforts from the past two games to get over somerset this sunday in the ones, the twos have been the trend setter in the seconds all year, and if they regain a couple back from injury/seniors then there wont be much between us and a pennant at years end.

Ive got a feeling that sundays elimination final is going to be a very close affair, the boys have to regain their early season confidence-from the coach down, if this happens then the mighty maggies will prove to be a handfull over the next four weeks..:thumbsu:

Good to see you back - for a while there I thought you may have been related to that Fairleigh Arrow chick who faked her disappearance in the 1980's :D

Yeah will come down to a bit of luck in Sunday's game. Probably the same re South & Yolla. Sounds like the Hawks had 3 or 4 out but they didn't look like a 2nd on the ladder team on last Saturday & Yolla have been going ok.

Great effort then by Willy, sometimes the forwards cop it for different stuff but you still have to catch em and kick em, I reckon the cow must have a broken foot after hitting that hard looking noggin !

Canny was in fact not suspended this year Cupronas suspensions have been as follows

S Braslin 3 weeks
C Pattie 2 weeks
D Wall 2 weeks
J Townsend 1 week
C Harris 10 weeks
J Payne 8 weeks
J Bloom 4 weeks

Thats only 7 players and out of the 7 only 2 were serious reports it just seems the tribunal has a thing against the dogs and yes it was a terrible year and hopefully if they get a decent committee out there at Heybridge they might go somewhere in the future :thumbsu:
Will the committee be the same for next year , and if so, would the Club have some of these suspended players back as it does not set a great standard for the culture and the team has been competitive most times at varying stages throughout the year but it appears to me from the outside especially the night gane against Somerset that discipline has been the major problem and its not fair on the Jack Rileys and Freezer DevRies that play good footy wothout mouthing off at the opposition and the umpires , just an opinion for the sake of the Cuoprona FC and the comp as a whole

Did anyone play on him on saturday?
Anyone got any heads up on the DFA B and F as it would be interesting to see who has had good seasons for their respective clubs from players and supporters on this mighty forum bearing in mind there will be plenty of oos and ars at the count when the umps give their version of events !

I reckon young max fisher from natone will go very close to bringin home the cheddes has had a very good year. But as for go dogs saying there was only 2 serious reports come on mate get your head out of your ass they had 7 players rubbed out when more then half the clubs didn't have a single report let alone a suspension from both teams. You'd piss on someones back and tell em it was rainin you would.

S Braslin 3 weeks
C Pattie 2 weeks
D Wall 2 weeks
J Townsend 1 week
C Harris 10 weeks
J Payne 8 weeks
J Bloom 4 weeks

I don't think the tribunal has anything against Cuprona in particular. Any player going there is going to get rubbed out - the trick is not to get in the umpy's book in the first place (I think Leigh Heath may have been the only player to get escape suspension this year after being reported). The umpires can be a bit trigger happy with reporting blokes but the players have to keep that in mind and change there ways

Lets get some facts right about Cuprona

First of all while most players deserved what they got at tribunal with a couple of exceptions

Josh Townsend was suspended for 1 week for striking Nathan Russell(SB) he was reported by a goal umpire who was 70 meters away while central umpire was 10 meters away did not even pay a free kick

Shaun Braslin was reported while he was in the showers because the Ridgley player he struck father came on the ground complaining to central umpires that they better report him

Justin Bloom received 3 weeks while Troy Pile received a week after the umpire gave evidence that Pile struck first and Bloom hit pile with open hands The Club paid $200 to have the suspension heard by AFL Tas they took nearly 2 weeks to tell the club after talking to Tribunal chairman they did not have a case to rehear it the Club got $200 back big deal Bloom missed rep game which he was selected in

Yes the dogs where undisciplined and it was a disgrace at times young townsend was hard done by and Bloom was a case of a kanagroo court

The DFA has to do something about umpires most are 40 plus cant keep up with game and very few move from center corridor

As for dogs committee Ruffles has done well against the odds maybe what they need is more help from players not just players who throw thier hand out to get paid

10 maybe 12 players of their senior list would get games at other clubs the others are just seconds players

10 maybe 12 players of their senior list would get games at other clubs the others are just seconds players[/quote]

Am interested to know who these 10-12 players are sports pac can you name these players you think would play seniors at other clubs as I can only think of 7-8

10 maybe 12 players of their senior list would get games at other clubs the others are just seconds players

Am interested to know who these 10-12 players are sports pac can you name these players you think would play seniors at other clubs as I can only think of 7-8[/quote]
i herd there will be no dogs at all next year they are stone broke and are going to fold and the dfa are opening the doors up for the circular head to come into the comp

Somerset had their two best midfielders out in Bratden Field and Mark Innes while I am not one hundred percent sure on South, thay had at least Dustin Crawford, Flipper Gilham, their big ruckman Clarky, Bossa Bakes, to name but a few.The boys can run the grog off Sunday from Sat night, just like having a couple on Friday night anyway
anyone no if rat hering going to play finals did troy pile or rob williscroft plat saturday was not named.somerset will beat natone .but it will not matter saints got it in the bag.

Darwin Football Association - Part 3