Darwin Football Association - Part 3

Re: Darwin Football Association Part 2

yes i agree coulsen has to be close this year,little maxie will push him all the way tho,in the twos our boys should fill half the top ten since our dew kickers havent lost a game all year,staff,mevo,treloar,triff should figure prominently

the pies might take the double in the awards :thumbsu::D:thumbsu:

I like your thinking arrow:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::D:D:D

Hopefully your right, It would make the bus trip to queeny even sweeter

But those awards are just a bonus if you win one. The real prize is still a few weeks away and there is a lot of footy to be played beetween now and then:thumbsu:

was talking to someone that went to that do and a few of the names said were mick petterwood, terry chatwin, cyril hodgetts, lofty white, colin loring, don bevridge, dale baker, glen eastley, tony denby, harry denby, fish denny, nige rowbottom, ado king, trevor carpenter, griz sweeney. cant remember the rest does any one else know?
backs---tony denby/cyril hodgetts/jim duniam/ half backs---grizz sweeney/lofty white/nipper broomhall/ centre---trevor carpenter/bruce duniam/mick petterwood/ half forwards---harry denby/dale thurley/colin loring(vc)/ forwards---dale baker/glenn eastley/richard saltmarsh/ followers---bruce hodgetts/john braslin/don beveridge(c)/ interchange---terry chatwin/fish denny/nigel robotham/adrian king/ coach---gerard russel

Thank you very much, an interesting team might I say, would love to see Oscar take a hanger on Dolly !

South Burnie beat Yolla by 4pts in the qlfy final while Somerset beat South Burnie by 3 pts in the ressies.

In the Elimination Final, Natone beat Somerset by 61pts in the Seniors and Ridgley beat Cuprona by 4pts.

This weeks games are:
2nd Semi: Ridgley Vs Sth Burnie (Seniors) Natone Vs Somerset (Ressies)
1st Semi: Yolla Vs Natone (Seniors) Sth Burnie Vs Ridgley (Ressies)

Hope that helps

My tips for this week,ridgley over south,south not defensive enough and the saints have all the answers at this stage-saints by 32,in the twos on the sat the mighty maggie twos will get over the roos but only just-10 points.

On sunday the maggies will scratch the second stage off duffys wall and will have too much depth for yolla who were very unlucky last week-nat by 22,south and ridg twos will fight out a good game at twelve but south will make up for their loss last week and win by 65 pts.

chalky has the pedigree for the job,wooden spoons u say :D:D
na that was in jest,i think chalky would be a good fit for cuprona and may be what they need,the guy who told me this hasnt been wrong on too many other goings on down at heybridge so i believe him :thumbsu:
I still believe that the dogs would be better off back in the leven tho...

why do you say that? they have had two bad years but they did not spend what south Burnie Natone Yolla and Ridgley have and dont have that sought of money to do so even if they wanted

Did you want Yeoman to go back to leven a couple of years ago if you did your a drop kick every one has bad runs look at bloody richmond

Here Here sportspac.
On a different note, Nigel Coulson will shit the league BandF in! When you get 60 possies and 6 free kicks a game the umps notice you. Nige is a legend and will be a deserving winner. Max Fisher second has had a good year and is a good player, Never stops and just gets on with things. Jade Nash to finish third has had a good year from all reports, will attract alot of votes. There's my top 3 but that's just my tips I'm probably way off as I don't really know much anyway lol

why do you say that? they have had two bad years but they did not spend what south Burnie Natone Yolla and Ridgley have and dont have that sought of money to do so even if they wanted

Did you want Yeoman to go back to leven a couple of years ago if you did your a drop kick every one has bad runs look at bloody richmond

dont shit me cuprona did try to spend as much as them clubs but cant pay out money when u need it for other reasons eg the fire. dont tell me shaun braslin, daggy wall and clark radford played for match paymets

West Park would be the obvious choice for crowds etc.But the Burnie sports and events want all the cash.Like Duffy says We have had four or five games in the wet and mud so Westpark and Wynyard dont look good at the moment.from a quality game point of view.That leaves Somerset or Wivenhoe.Im startin to think Wivenhoe is best for the GF.
I agree about the grandstand being too far away. Langley Park is ok, if you are there early enough to get your car in, but because there is no grandstand, thats not ideal either. I think a deal should be struck with Burnie Sports and Events to get finals footy back at West Park. I know they are being unreasonable about their terms and conditions, but if it was worked upon earlier in the season, surely they could have come to some arrangement, given there will be no finals action there in either NTFL or SFL:thumbsdown:

dont shit me cuprona did try to spend as much as them clubs but cant pay out money when u need it for other reasons eg the fire. dont tell me shaun braslin, daggy wall and clark radford played for match paymets

yes you are right braslin wall and radford all contract players but you will be happy to know 2 of those 3 all handed their match payments back to help when fire happened
Good news for all of those who want to kick the Bulldogs back to leven Council is almost finished repairs and a club sponsor is keen to upgrade club room area which would incude a enclosed viewing area if coucil approve.

yes you are right braslin wall and radford all contract players but you will be happy to know 2 of those 3 all handed their match payments back to help when fire happened
Good news for all of those who want to kick the Bulldogs back to leven Council is almost finished repairs and a club sponsor is keen to upgrade club room area which would incude a enclosed viewing area if coucil approve.
Is big Gazza Newton still going to be around next year? I was talking to him the other week and he said that Cuprona needs a new coach and really stressed that they need a good FF. Will be interesting to see who they chase!!

Has been a tough year for the Dogs - full credit to the committee/volunteers/sponsors if they can hang in there - off field help is the key - hopefully they'll get more helpers there so it doesn't get left to just a handful as often happens

Is big Gazza Newton still going to be around next year? I was talking to him the other week and he said that Cuprona needs a new coach and really stressed that they need a good FF. Will be interesting to see who they chase!!
Gazz will be president the word is however if they are as bad off financially as some think it will be difficult to attract key personell, I certainly hope the visitors changerooma are better than they were as they were particularly small, will Browny stay on as a player if not coaching has anybody heard ?

Here Here sportspac.
On a different note, Nigel Coulson will shit the league BandF in! When you get 60 possies and 6 free kicks a game the umps notice you. Nige is a legend and will be a deserving winner. Max Fisher second has had a good year and is a good player, Never stops and just gets on with things. Jade Nash to finish third has had a good year from all reports, will attract alot of votes. There's my top 3 but that's just my tips I'm probably way off as I don't really know much anyway lol
Hope the winner makes the trek down to Queeny for the dinner, Couls should have won last year

But they made up for it by giving him BOG in the GF. Champion player but def wasn't BOG. Same thing happened in the rep game last year too Gave it to Couls but def wasn't the best from the Darwin. Not Couls's fault as he didn't pick the winner but just think they get it way wrong sometimes. I'd like to see how the votes went. Do they have 3 vote cards and give 3.2.1 n the GF?

No prize for guessing which of these 3 didnt give up their match payments is there? From what ive heard Browny wont be at Cuprona next year at all I wonder how many other dogs are leaving the kennel?? I have heard a couple names rumoured to be leaving! :thumbsdown:

My tip for the league b and f would have to be Nigel Coulson from Max Fisher Jarrod Stubbs and Chris Temby with Milo Jones Josh Newson and Nathan Cross the smokies.

And for the reserves award I think it will be Damien DeVries from Benny Lewtas,Damien Stafford and Doggie Gow

I am with you Arrow i think The Magpies are on the march.Last weeks win in the conditions was a good sign.
I am still out here whisky17,have been keeping a low profile the past month or so as duffy asked me not to talk us up too much :D

As for how do i think we will fare over the coming weeks, we will have to improve on our efforts from the past two games to get over somerset this sunday in the ones, the twos have been the trend setter in the seconds all year, and if they regain a couple back from injury/seniors then there wont be much between us and a pennant at years end.

Ive got a feeling that sundays elimination final is going to be a very close affair, the boys have to regain their early season confidence-from the coach down, if this happens then the mighty maggies will prove to be a handfull over the next four weeks..:thumbsu:

No prize for guessing which of these 3 didnt give up their match payments is there? From what ive heard Browny wont be at Cuprona next year at all I wonder how many other dogs are leaving the kennel?? I have heard a couple names rumoured to be leaving! :thumbsdown:

Who are some of these names rumoured? It'll be good to see the kennel fixed up, the dogs have had a tough year. Is any1 going to be good enough to beat the mighty saints this year in the big one?

our league cant afford to have one or more clubs leave or fold. its in everyones interest to keep the clubs we have and even maybe add more. all clubs have bad years it doesnt mean u just kick them out for it. look at ridgley 6 years ago. they had poor results on field. they got the right people in to run the club and chase coaches and look now. every club has cycles dont kick them, toss them aside when there down. every club needs the right people to make good decisions to prosper on and off the feild

the dogs are chasing a full forward to coach they should chase robbie devine best player in tassie
Best player in Tassie? That is the worst call I've ever heard. He's a good player and has prob kicked over 800 goals for North Hobart but he is in the Twilight of his career and is on the wrong side of 30. Def an awsome player and would be awsome for the dogs (In saying that he would never consider it) but is not even close to being the best player in Tassie.

The Darwin has lost Sprent,West Ulverstone and Myalla in the last 15 years I think too many people have too much too say about teams when they are down.Poor form I say.I agree with you Buddy the league should be looking to consolidate and strengthen.
our league cant afford to have one or more clubs leave or fold. its in everyones interest to keep the clubs we have and even maybe add more. all clubs have bad years it doesnt mean u just kick them out for it. look at ridgley 6 years ago. they had poor results on field. they got the right people in to run the club and chase coaches and look now. every club has cycles dont kick them, toss them aside when there down. every club needs the right people to make good decisions to prosper on and off the feild

Who do you think the best player in the state is?
Best player in Tassie? That is the worst call I've ever heard. He's a good player and has prob kicked over 800 goals for North Hobart but he is in the Twilight of his career and is on the wrong side of 30. Def an awsome player and would be awsome for the dogs (In saying that he would never consider it) but is not even close to being the best player in Tassie.

the dogs are chasing a full forward to coach they should chase robbie devine best player in tassie

The dogs need a ruckman to take pressure off Nick Cann a quility backman and third on the list is a forward but most off all they need a coach first
Browne has done a good job with the cattle he had and hopefully he will stay on even if it as a player the guy works backside off around the club and if not for him and his wife Jenni the club would not have limped through this season.

Sure their budget is not as big as other clubs but if those guys that want to leave for money reasons I say dont let the door hit you on the butt on the way out

South Burnie when they came back from NTFL did not pay players at all for a period to get rid of their debt look at them now

Darwin Football Association - Part 3