News David King: Reversal of fortune looms for Scott twins

The flog's "special comments" during the Grand Final are, well, special probably is the right word. When Collingwood kick their goals in the first half you can actually hear him laughing at times-especially when Krakouer kicks one of his and takes his great mark. You couldn't shut him up when the 'pies were up and about. Then when our boys kick back and peg it back to 3 points, you don't hear from him at all. Matthew Richardson actually asks him for a stat after the Bartel boundary line goal in the second and he 's just silent. Everything about his commentary reeks of "if Geelong wins this, my already miniscule credibility is stuffed." His groans as things go pear shaped for the Pie's (and him more so) in the last quarter are quite beautiful really

Compare his "special" comments to Leigh Matthews's who is such a considered person when it comes to football analysis. Mind you Lethal's cry of "oh yes" when Tommy H takes his second grab in the last quarter is not so considered but absolutely brilliant.

Had a quick chat with Gerard Wheatley at club best and fairest about David King. We both had a laugh an Gerard said "It would be hard to find a man more wrong"
And to top it off he referred to your video YOTC! He said "Go to youtube and look up To David King, From Geelong and you will have a great laugh"

Great stuff!

Brilliant work YOTC - particularly liked the use of the different audio sources to find the best particular commentary. Wonder if Gerard was waving at (Wan)King during the game in the adjoining booth? :D
Thank you for noticing this, this is what took the longest in editing. Some didn't call the correct players, some didn't get the right emotion, some talked about the umpiring decisions. I had to find the right audio for the situation. It would have been 100% ABC if Drew Morphett wasn't calling, Morphett sounded like he was at a Rd8 Sunday afternoon match between Richmond and Port.

Had a quick chat with Gerard Wheatley at club best and fairest about David King. We both had a laugh an Gerard said "It would be hard to find a man more wrong"
And to top it off he referred to your video YOTC! He said "Go to youtube and look up To David King, From Geelong and you will have a great laugh"

Great stuff!
*SQUEE* Fangirl squeal.

Herald sun, Robbo, Kingy....meh.

Gerard Whateley mentions my work in conversation? GREATEST MOMENT EVER! Outside of 07,09 and 11 of course :)

The flog's "special comments" during the Grand Final are, well, special probably is the right word. When Collingwood kick their goals in the first half you can actually hear him laughing at times-especially when Krakouer kicks one of his and takes his great mark. You couldn't shut him up when the 'pies were up and about. Then when our boys kick back and peg it back to 3 points, you don't hear from him at all. Matthew Richardson actually asks him for a stat after the Bartel boundary line goal in the second and he 's just silent. Everything about his commentary reeks of "if Geelong wins this, my already miniscule credibility is stuffed." His groans as things go pear shaped for the Pie's (and him more so) in the last quarter are quite beautiful really

Compare his "special" comments to Leigh Matthews's who is such a considered person when it comes to football analysis. Mind you Lethal's cry of "oh yes" when Tommy H takes his second grab in the last quarter is not so considered but absolutely brilliant.
I noticed too he was all giddy like a schoolgirl everytime Collingwood scored a goal, and total silence when Geelong got one back. He was continuing to mount a case all game why Collingwood were gonna eventually come out winners, and that last quater had absolutely nothing to say. The way he has carried on, it wouldn't suprise me if he bet his life savings on Collingwood to win the flag.

Can only hope

Unfortunately due to that trite "joke" apology, David King will be let off the hook far too easily by many under the misguided premise that he was being "a good sport". I would suggest that he was taking the piss by mocking the supposed "ire" of Geelong fans who felt compelled to take him to task for his comments. He'll be back next year making the same flog comments and predictions. Ditto Tim Lane.

To be fair to King, he did say immediately after the match that a few weeks ago he called it that we couldn't win the flag (particularly because of the lack of a CHF), and that he's in the business of making such predictions and he had to ride it out to the end despite T-Bone's improved form late in the year.

And to be honest, I much prefer that attitude rather than the one of Shehan, which is to make as bold a statement as possible based on the weekend's results only to assert the absolute opposite the following weekend should the results be different, with absolutely no acknowledgement of his previous opinions.

For a perfect case in point: the article he wrote about us not long before the first game against Hawthorn this year where he declared how cracks were starting to show. After we had our most comprehensive victory of the Hawks in 5 outings he all of a sudden called the Hawks finished. At the end of the day, both teams were far away in the best 3 in the comp and had legitimate claims to winning the 2011 Premiership, so he was wrong on both accounts.

I have no problem with people in the media having an opinion on us as long as that doesn't change week-to-week depending on the nitty-gritty of meaningless H&A games. Kingy made a call and stuck with it until it was proven he was wrong, which he admitted.

To be fair to King, he did say immediately after the match that a few weeks ago he called it that we couldn't win the flag (particularly because of the lack of a CHF), and that he's in the business of making such predictions and he had to ride it out to the end despite T-Bone's improved form late in the year.

And to be honest, I much prefer that attitude rather than the one of Shehan, which is to make as bold a statement as possible based on the weekend's results only to assert the absolute opposite the following weekend should the results be different, with absolutely no acknowledgement of his previous opinions.

For a perfect case in point: the article he wrote about us not long before the first game against Hawthorn this year where he declared how cracks were starting to show. After we had our most comprehensive victory of the Hawks in 5 outings he all of a sudden called the Hawks finished. At the end of the day, both teams were far away in the best 3 in the comp and had legitimate claims to winning the 2011 Premiership, so he was wrong on both accounts.

I have no problem with people in the media having an opinion on us as long as that doesn't change week-to-week depending on the nitty-gritty of meaningless H&A games. Kingy made a call and stuck with it until it was proven he was wrong, which he admitted.

You need to remember that Sheahan's continued employment revolves around selling newspapers - it's his business to be myopic to create outrage, or to pander to whichever fad is gripping the game at that point in time. For this purpose you cannot take Sheahan seriously.

King on the other hand is a relatively recent retiree of the game and multi-premiership player - his bias is much more personal in that Geelong winning this year's flag would see them exceed North Melbourne's (under)achievements of the 90s while they had arguably their best assembled list of players in their history. What's done is done and King's tears in the rain are wasted, but he will now hold a huge grudge against the current incarnation of GFC.

You need to remember that Sheahan's continued employment revolves around selling newspapers - it's his business to be myopic to create outrage, or to pander to whichever fad is gripping the game at that point in time. For this purpose you cannot take Sheahan seriously.

King on the other hand is a relatively recent retiree of the game and multi-premiership player - his bias is much more personal in that Geelong winning this year's flag would see them exceed North Melbourne's (under)achievements of the 90s while they had arguably their best assembled list of players in their history. What's done is done and King's tears in the rain are wasted, but he will now hold a huge grudge against the current incarnation of GFC.
I honestly think you're over reacting to the what King has said, but yes I agree with what you say about Sheahan. I guess my post made me seem more bitter about Sheahan than I really am; I don't resent him for what he does, but it bores me, makes it hard for me to take him seriously, but at the end of the day I really don't care what anyone says about our club. We won the flag.

I rate that rather highly. Although I was still bitter towards him for making such unreasonable statements I give him credit for sticking by his belief and not backing down.

What I did find wrong is that he made the claim of the Cats demise without any real evidence to suggest it would actually happen. I could understand if we ACTUALLY started slowing down and not running out games well. But we kept on getting better and better which him as an "analyst" couldn't see.

I honestly think you're over reacting to the what King has said, but yes I agree with what you say about Sheahan. I guess my post made me seem more bitter about Sheahan than I really am; I don't resent him for what he does, but it bores me, makes it hard for me to take him seriously, but at the end of the day I really don't care what anyone says about our club. We won the flag.

that's true but have you even watched AFL 360?

I truly dislike these type of people whom are regarded as experts in their field and make outlandish statements to the detriment of the clubs supporters and the organization itself especially after the club in question suffers a heart breaking defeat or off-field incident.

I think King is a very good student of the current game but how he couldn't see Geelong firming heavily to be the biggest threat to Collingwood is totally beyond me:confused: Either he did it as tactic to gain attention or his media commitments with the radio/tv stations meant he saw far more live games involving Hawthorn, Carlton and Collingwood than he eventually did of Geelong.

I mean we were like 12-0 and he still didn't believe but surely anyone that follows the footy closely would have noticed the considerable upside still left in our list with players of Varcoe, Hawkins, Mackie and even Selwood yet to really play their finest football.
Even Robert Walls on One week at a time stated our upside was better than most as our forward line hadn't yet got going as Podsiadly started slow and we were constantly rotating Hawkins/Mooney/West/Vardy.

Dermott Brereton is another that has a slight dislike toward Geelong. He seemed to try his best to rise public intrigue with incidents involving some of our players.
Most recent was Kelly/Kerr and of course his remarks implying Geelong had a tactic of playing for free kicks:mad:

He's is probably the best judge of that though...he gave away more frees than any other player in history.

I rate that rather highly. Although I was still bitter towards him for making such unreasonable statements I give him credit for sticking by his belief and not backing down.

What I did find wrong is that he made the claim of the Cats demise without any real evidence to suggest it would actually happen. I could understand if we ACTUALLY started slowing down and not running out games well. But we kept on getting better and better which him as an "analyst" couldn't see.

which is where his bias comes into play - his continued denial that Geelong could do it wasn't based on any actual observable data, since his assessments continually flew in the face of the evidence presented on a weekly basis. It was his own preference that drove him to stick by his statement rather than an impartial analysis of the team's form, injuries, history and wins against other contenders.

Dermott Brereton is another that has a slight dislike toward Geelong. He seemed to try his best to rise public intrigue with incidents involving some of our players.
Most recent was Kelly/Kerr and of course his remarks implying Geelong had a tactic of playing for free kicks:mad:

He's is probably the best judge of that though...he gave away more frees than any other player in history.

I would argue that Brereton's bias is more than slight. I'd call it outright loathing. It would appear to twist his bowel to make a constructive statement about Geelong, always disagreeing with other panelists's points when they talk up Geelong's success. If I were a bogan I'd call up SEN and say "Yo Dermott: 1989 is over bud, stop acting like one of the Hawthorn old boys and call a game impartially, because as you stand right now you sound like an arse. Peace out"

just watch the vid again super vid just noticed what the hell is stokes doing to kellys shorts right at the end? strange boy stoker.

Was wondering when that comment would come up. :D

Noticed it after I uploaded and was like "the **** is this?"

that's true but have you even watched AFL 360?

I truly dislike these type of people whom are regarded as experts in their field and make outlandish statements to the detriment of the clubs supporters and the organization itself especially after the club in question suffers a heart breaking defeat or off-field incident.

I think King is a very good student of the current game but how he couldn't see Geelong firming heavily to be the biggest threat to Collingwood is totally beyond me:confused: Either he did it as tactic to gain attention or his media commitments with the radio/tv stations meant he saw far more live games involving Hawthorn, Carlton and Collingwood than he eventually did of Geelong.

I mean we were like 12-0 and he still didn't believe but surely anyone that follows the footy closely would have noticed the considerable upside still left in our list with players of Varcoe, Hawkins, Mackie and even Selwood yet to really play their finest football.
Even Robert Walls on One week at a time stated our upside was better than most as our forward line hadn't yet got going as Podsiadly started slow and we were constantly rotating Hawkins/Mooney/West/Vardy.
Yep I have (albeit not weekly). I actually really like Kingy; he thinks deeply about the game, whether his predictions are right or wrong I could care less.

He is intelligent and offers actual insight into the stuff as fans you don't get to see. Much more entertaining and insightful than just hearing: "Collingwood play the boundary line; Geelong play the coridoor."

Re: the bolded part, honestly, if you think his kind of comments are a detriment to the club then I think you need to have a bit of a harder think about what the the club is concerned about. I'm sure absolutely anyone on the payroll will tell you not one thing that is said in the media effects their preparation/belief. Really, saying King's comments are detrimental to our club is lunacy.

I would argue that Brereton's bias is more than slight. I'd call it outright loathing. It would appear to twist his bowel to make a constructive statement about Geelong, always disagreeing with other panelists's points when they talk up Geelong's success. If I were a bogan I'd call up SEN and say "Yo Dermott: 1989 is over bud, stop acting like one of the Hawthorn old boys and call a game impartially, because as you stand right now you sound like an arse. Peace out"

:thumbsu: I could not agree more.

Did you happen to catch his comments just after the siren? Along the lines of Collingwood being by-----------a-----------wide------------margin------------- the best team of the year. He proved this by the fact the Cats lost games to three teams, Pies only lost to one team. :eek:
When questioned that the Pies lost three games to the same team he replied with 'yeah, but Geelong lost to three teams. That's a fact!'

Again, according to Dermie, the Grand Final only determines who has played the best footy in the final few weeks of the year. As the Cats had an easier Finals draw (sic), then they were in better shape for the last game.

Comedy gold. :p

It must be recent, he's on the GF 2007 DVD on the 3AW broadcast, and he's nothing but positive towards Geelong on that. Strange.

News David King: Reversal of fortune looms for Scott twins