Autopsy David Koch and the Vanillarization of Port Adelaide (by tribey)

I don't know as much about the inner workings of your club, so I would have to default to the Port supporters who are invested in it.
My take is purely as someone who has seen the improvement of the club off field, from where things were pretty grim, to what is really a healthy side, financially, and stable.
I drove past the club the other day for work and I was impressed by the training facilities and the whole set up down there, so when looking at that, and the massive reduction in debt, I think that's quite impressive.

Anyway, I have outlived my welcome.

Well its all well and good to have nice shiny new things but the only shiny thing that matters is the premiership cup. A nice shiny new one will do.

Ironically, these two players are from the AFL era.

This is good, actually. (So is Tredrea.) Then, again, they need to be vocal.

Can the members call for a EGM and have the president and members of the board removed?

The only way seems to be somehow buying Port’s debt and reclaiming the club from our AFL overlords.

They have no plan to allow for member control once the debt is retired.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I know. The club will remain under AFL’s control even if debt free.

Money is the only language the AFL seems to understand. Thus, I was thinking in Port’s supporters somehow buying it. That would change the circumstances.

As an outsider, Koch has been amazing for the club, and in hindsight could be seen as the savour of the club.
He came in at rock bottom, and gave the club a high profile leader who went to bat for the club, in an adversarial way if needed, to get the best outcome. Was front and centre for the AO move, and brought about the one club.

His profile gave the club a higher presence in the media, brought in new sponsors and he absolutely helped manage the books at the club.
Financially and off field the club has never been better.
The clubs debt has gone from 12 million down to a low 1.8 million as of today. Even while reducing the debt the club has still managed to upgrade their training facilities at Alberton, turning the ground into a very good home with excellent facilities, something the Crows are still trying to achieve.

Some may say his public spats with Kenny, and the lack of a flag bring him down, but it's not the President's job to do that, it's the list managers and coaches, it's up to him to give those guys the tools they need to achieve that, which he has. Ports list manager is one of the best in the business, and has been able to attract talent to the club. He is also pretty good with talent id at the draft.

I think he has saved Port.

Let’s accept this is true, just for argument’s sake. Then, his job was already done in 2015. However, the only person to accept this fact was KT, who also overstayed.

I don't know as much about the inner workings of your club

We can all see that. We are telling you those. If you are really interested, you should pay attention. Then, you will know.

Hmmm, not sure how to respond to that comment other than you might want to look back to 2015, then go forwards regarding Kochie, Ken and the change in culture during that period.

Cleric just needs to read the OP for this thread.

can you think about it and elaborate for me, i am cooked

Koch acknowledges his own lack of knowledge with footy by letting the footy committee effectively do whatever they want. The last time he tried to get actively involved was that time he called out the playing group and Travis Boak had a sook about it and that was the last time anything approaching accountability happened at the club.

Koch's job isn't to direct the footy committee. His job IS to get them to commit to a plan to win a premiership and then hold them accountable for the success of that plan, and he's completely failed in that job.

Koch has done it again by coming out in the media earlier and stating in response to questions around a possible mid-year sacking that it won't happen because 'we're not that kind of club's. So he's backed us into another situation where we either:
A) Have a good year and we look good
B) Have a crap season, don't sack him, waste it and look stupid
C) Have a crap year, sack him and look stupid

This is 2023 all over again.

Koch has done it again by coming out in the media earlier and stating in response to questions around a possible mid-year sacking that it won't happen because 'we're not that kind of club's. So he's backed us into another situation where we either:

Because I think the crap year is likely, I'll take option 'c' please.

Not only has he backed us into a corner, said comments that the entire organisation is now beholden to were made on the checks notes Eddy Cornes Podcast.

This is not a serious organisation.

"We are not that kind of club" lol yes we know we are not a ruthless successful club take a bow.
Exactly. Maybe we shouldn't be the type of club that guarantees a coach a 'goodbye tour', regardless of performance or off-field circumstances. It's the same thing with the announcement of the 'plan' to begin with. I'm not sure what they were hoping to achieve. I'd love to hear an honest account of the discussion from somebody like WGT, but you just won't get it, certainly not while he remains on the board. I've said it before, from the refusal to truly analyze the 2007 GF, through the Primus era and the early days of Ken, through to the last few extensions (including the threat of leaving for the GC) there's a fascinating documentary that could be made.

This year, I reckon Ken has the boards complete backing, politics style.

I know. The club will remain under AFL’s control even if debt free.

Money is the only language the AFL seems to understand. Thus, I was thinking in Port’s supporters somehow buying it. That would change the circumstances.
heck, you mean we have to pay for an AFL licence for the third time!

Carlton have a Member Elected Board look how well it's worked for Them with Zero Top 4 Finishes since the Year 2000.
So does Brisbane, Geelong, Richmond, Melbourne and Collingwood.

Tell me how well Adelaide, Gold Coast, Greater Western Sydney and North Melbourne have gone under AFL control.
Sydney is an exception to the rule because of COLA and northern academy's.

Carlton have a Member Elected Board look how well it's worked for Them with Zero Top 4 Finishes since the Year 2000.

AFL Premierships:

Member Elected Boards:

Essendon - 2
Hawthorn - 5
Western Bulldogs - 1
Carlton - 1
Melbourne - 1
Collingwood - 3
St Kilda - 0
Richmond - 3
North Melbourne - 2
Geelong - 4
Brisbane - 4

Total: 26 (ave 2.36)

AFL Controlled Boards:

Sydney - 2
GWS - 0
Gold Coast - 0
Adelaide - 2
Port Adelaide - 1

Total: 5 (ave - 1)

WAFC Controlled Boards:

Fremantle - 0
West Coast - 4

Total - 4 (ave 2)

So being an AFL controlled club is statistically the worst chance to win a premiership - but because Carlton hasn't done anything in 30 years, a member controlled board is bad right?

AFL Premierships:

Member Elected Boards:

Essendon - 2
Hawthorn - 5
Western Bulldogs - 1
Carlton - 1
Melbourne - 1
Collingwood - 3
St Kilda - 0
Richmond - 3
North Melbourne - 2
Geelong - 4
Brisbane - 4

AFL Controlled Boards:

Sydney - 2
GWS - 0
Gold Coast - 0
Adelaide - 2
Port Adelaide - 1

WAFC Controlled Boards:

Fremantle - 0
West Coast - 4

Total - 4 (ave 2)

So being an AFL controlled club is statistically the worst chance to win a premiership - but because Carlton hasn't done anything in 30 years, a member controlled board is bad right?
Actually Adelaide and Port Adelaide were technically SANFL controlled during those flags. AFL took over both clubs from 2014.

So the average drops to a paltry 0.4 premierships per team that are AFL controlled.

Side note - since 1997 only Geelong, Sydney and Collingwood have won more games than us, so this BS of Port being a little battler club pushing shit uphill is grating.

What about almost every premiership team over the last 20 years?

AFL Premierships:

Member Elected Boards:

Essendon - 2
Hawthorn - 5
Western Bulldogs - 1
Carlton - 1
Melbourne - 1
Collingwood - 3
St Kilda - 0
Richmond - 3
North Melbourne - 2
Geelong - 4
Brisbane - 4

AFL Controlled Boards:

Sydney - 2
GWS - 0
Gold Coast - 0
Adelaide - 2
Port Adelaide - 1

WAFC Controlled Boards:

Fremantle - 0
West Coast - 4

Total - 4 (ave 2)

I love that this has become common knowledge now.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Autopsy David Koch and the Vanillarization of Port Adelaide (by tribey)

Write your reply...