David Rodan

One-eyed Tiger said:
Rodan has no footy smarts and gets caught with the ball.

He does not have clean hands and constantly fumbles the ball, tapping it along in front of himself till he gets knocked aside.

He is not slick by hand or foot, constantly misses players on the lead, and is one sided to boot.

and also for those that compare him to Libba,

He is placid as a church mouse. He cannot make a tackle stick and has no defensive side to his game (which was Libbas biggest strength).

That's a fair bit that Wallace has to turn around.

Is it worth it?

I was a big fan and used to think so, but a player of his stature must have clean hands and this is something that comes naturally. At U18 level he could get away with tapping the ball along in front of himself, probably assisted him in winning votes and catching the eye, however there is no time for it at AFL level.

IMO trade him for anything we can get.
Spot on ;) There were reasons why he was left so late in the draft , and we are seeing them now

Colonel Matrix said:
A bit harsh 'One Eyed Tiger', but you're more than entitled to opinion. He's explosive and nimble around the packs, and showed promise towards the end of the season, I reckon we should give the following players one more chance (one more season) to get their game on track under a new coach;

Pettifer (im not expecting anything)
Rodan
Fiora
Fleming

Agreed. IMO give them a chance to prove their worth. They all showed glimpses this year and trades for any of them would be premature and worthless.

erm no offence to some of u "experts" but one of rodans weaknesses is definitely NOT fumbling LOL! he has very clean hands and one of his strengths was always being able to scoop the ball up low to the ground cleanly, anyone remmeber his nickname wen he first arrived? hoover? Its not his fault spud saw him as another type of player and stopped using his strengths

tigerT said:
erm no offence to some of u "experts" but one of rodans weaknesses is definitely NOT fumbling LOL! he has very clean hands and one of his strengths was always being able to scoop the ball up low to the ground cleanly, anyone remmeber his nickname wen he first arrived? hoover? Its not his fault spud saw him as another type of player and stopped using his strengths

No offence taken however I don't recall claiming to be an expert, merely expressing an opinion which I still stand by, but would genuinely love to be wrong about. I was probably a little harsh, trying not to be sentimental about someone I'd love to see make it, but I thought he was given a decent go in the midfield this season and didn't produce.

I too remember seeing Rodan in an intra club game at Optus Oval in his first preseason and I also recall the "Hoover" nickname he quickly acquired as he mopped up any crumbs. I also remember seeing Pettifer dominate in the same game and went away quite upbeat before pausing to reflect on who the opposition were....

I still think Rodan fumbles too much, and doesn't have clean hands especially under pressure, whether or not this is a lack of confidence or not, I'm not sure.

There are not many blokes of Rodan's stature running about in the AFL. Libba, Harvey, Hulme and Matera come to mind. These guys have various strengths to make up for their height deficiency. What are Rodan's strenghths that you say Danny stopped using?

For 20 years you Tigers have been blaming coaches , the list is endless.

FFS you guys think Wallace will be your savior ..... he wont .
You guys needed to get either a Sheedy,Pagan,Malthouse or a Blight.
All of these have a proven record and have a touch of "Sinatra" about them .....they dont take shet from anyone as the record will show that prima donnas are the first one to be shown the door .

Culture is a difficult thing to change and Wallace wont unless you guys are prepared to stay around the bottom for the next 2/3 years .
Get rid of eveyone Richo ,Gaspar, Stafford ,Campbell ,Ottens ,as well as a lot of your recycled players and blokes that have had a fair enough....stop blaming Spud because you list needs to take a fair amount of responsibility.
The best way to give an example of why your culture is where it is :

Look at Richo he leads and is ignored , he sulks .When he is sulking he is forever looking at himself on the big screen.When a lead is honoured he usually misses...no wonder he is ignored .Coaches never seem to drag his ares or send him back to the magoos ,he has been doing this for many years
and will not change,never ever.
You may be suprised at what little you may get for him as a trade ,but if you are to attempt to alter your culture hes just gotta go not if you get a suitable trade.It is the single most important thing that you can do but i doubt you guys have the necessary ticker to do it.Graham Richmond would have.

I think you've just reiterated everything we've been whinging about the club for the last 20 years - what's new? Wallace may not be the be all and end all, but he was the best "available" coach. The others are contracted or off in lah lah land in Queensland.

I think Miller is changing already the damage done by the club's predecessors. Come back in 12 months time and tell us how we're going then - don't think anyone would disagree with your perceptions of the club and players, but i think the bit about the ticker is a bit rich - no comment on what i think of that statement.

There were some funny comments coming from Channel 9 when we played Adelaide a few weeks back. They went something like:

Commenator 1: Did you know that David Rodan's uncle John represented Fiji in the 100 metres sprint at the Atlanta Olympics?

Some time later as Rodan grabs the ball and bursts away from a pack

Commenator 1: And there is Uncle John's pace!

Commentator 2 (as Rodan takes a second bounce and runs into trouble): ... and unfortunately, there is Uncle John's football knowledge!

I remember that one, had a good chuckle.

Bluboy - yes, the list needs to take some responsibility, but don't underestimate how bad spud was. Who is responsible for building and developing the list? Who clearly lacked a gameplan all year and the ability to react to changes in the opposition gameplan?

As for culture, there's been a complete change in the football department, there will be a massive list turnover in the next 2 years, the culture will change. You highlight Richo's bad side (and I for one think the sooking thing is overplayed in the media far too much, if you watch the games it just doesn't happen that often) but you need to take into account what he brings to the club, he is our only genuine matchwinner, and if the rest of the team gets fixed up, he will kick a ton easily. Also Richo did get dropped last year I think for blasting his teammates.

Overall I completely disagree that trading Richo is the most important thing for us to do, I think it would do the club more harm than good.

bluboy said:
Look at Richo he leads and is ignored , he sulks .When he is sulking he is forever looking at himself on the big screen.

If thats the case then Fevola should be traded as well, he is worse the Richo

One-eyed Tiger said:
There are not many blokes of Rodan's stature running about in the AFL. Libba, Harvey, Hulme and Matera come to mind. These guys have various strengths to make up for their height deficiency. What are Rodan's strenghths that you say Danny stopped using?

Obviously everyone has different perceptions, and I apologise for coming across as a bit of an arrogant know it all :) (bad day at work) personally I think Rodan in the midfield for the last 8-9 games was a positive for the season, he showed glimpses of what he is capable of. There were many instances where he grabbed the ball cleanly in a pack and burst out at a full gallop, not many players have that capacity and Id like to see if that along with his crazy runs could be harnessed or tempered in a positive way by Plough. Maybe Iv watched the wrong games or havent watched as closely as I should have, but Iv never thought he had butter fingers, he has alwasy seemed sured and controlled when paddling the ball or taking it off the ground.....I may be wrong, but I feel theres definitely something to work with there

Alternatively what about Rodan for Hamish McIntosh - hasnt played a senior game yet but at his size, he has the physical attributes to dominate for years to come.[/QUOTE]

Do you think we are f***** stupid?!?

:rolleyes: Exactly what you wrote the big H will dominate....for the blue and white for years to come!

David Rodan