Mega Thread Dayne Beams trade (Its over, thread closed)

What do you support the club to do? (Opposition respondents will be carded)

I like this sauce of yours.

Wait and see I guess but if Beams was thinking of staying it might explain the rumours re Greenwood staying, ie our interest has waned as we do not need a replacement.

I was selling the farm for Ryan Griffen. I was probably a bit excited really, but I love the way he plays. We would never (and shouldn't now that I realise he is actually 28) make this deal.

I thought he said he wanted to go to GWS....maybe he meant God We Suck and is happy to go anywhere.

Chilli its not about 'appearing' tough to anyone, its about standing up for principles and being true to your own ethos. Our 'ask' for Beams is eminently reasonable and Brisbane are trying to ream us without lube.

The board has come out and said publicly that we aren't anyone's slushbucket so that's the end of the matter.
The reality is though we are in a buyers market in this case. Sticking to your beliefs is fine, but when Brisbane pick him up for nothing next year we'll look fairly stupid. Plus every other club will be on our back about not letting him be with his Dad etc...

I just remember thinking how stupid St Kilda were for not taking anything for Ball at the time.

I thought he said he wanted to go to GWS....maybe he meant God We Suck and is happy to go anywhere.
We are exactly like GWS, good young talent with loads of potential and (all of a sudden) reasonable cap space... the only difference is that we play in front of crowds.

The reality is though we are in a buyers market in this case. Sticking to your beliefs is fine, but when Brisbane pick him up for nothing next year we'll look fairly stupid. Plus every other club will be on our back about not letting him be with his Dad etc...

I just remember thinking how stupid St Kilda were for not taking anything for Ball at the time.
Do not underestimate the extra year from Beams in terms of getting our kids to play with him + standing our ground as a club and not getting shafted royally.

We are exactly like GWS, good young talent with loads of potential and (all of a sudden) reasonable cap space... the only difference is that we play in front of crowds.

What we actually need to do is get on the front foot and offer Beams to GWS for their two first round picks. Tells Beams it is GWS or stay.

BigBrown******Mod can't help but respond - he'd never miss an opportunity to make himself look smart on an internet forum.
he's worth a No Comment |:) bigfooty is all he has in life with 67 thousand posts. don't waste your time or posts replying to him. IGNORE BUTTON works great for him :) If they got a good deal on beams he will be the first person to post on our board and shut down and abuse our posters with i told you so childish posts breaking rule 1 and 3 on bigfooty...............

Incorrect Chilli BRISBANE are the buyers in this particular market - they approached Beams with an offer and as he is OUR CONTRACTED player that Brisbane are trying to get THEY are the buyers in this market.

As for standing on principle, why do you think so few do it mate??

Because it can be costly to stay true to your ideals.

Looks like Brisbane are getting Pick 21 for Patfull.
That may be thrown on the table with Pick 5 & 25.

One thing that would make me laugh is if Beams signed another contract at Collingwood after the trade period.

I hope people are not too harsh on him because 90% of what he is doing are clearly instructions from his managers to get him to Brisbane. People want to change clubs, it's all good and it's part of sport. The manager is giving him instructions that he believes will speed the process and give him a better chance to get to Brisbane.

Yes, his manager is a flog. I still think Beams likes the club a bit even though he wants to leave.

You must have mis-read the area on the thread where it says "Leave Aish, Rocky, Redden, Hanley and Zorko trades elsewhere"
Why even make a thread on Beams if you won't allow conversation regarding the trade details then? Especially considering one of those players is about the only thing that will get it over the line... Pretty weak of your board to not even allow those trades to be talked about, do you see anything in our thread title about take picks 5 and 25 elsewhere? I understand you don't want to lose them but not allowing any discussion about them is a bit North Korea like if you ask me.

Can't wait until 5.00 pm tomorrow as I am already over it.
Despite what you think about Judd, when he left WC, he did it with class. Tried to get the best deal from Carlton and they gave up a fair bit.
Beams has left it all to his manager and not attend B&F as was relaxing at local pub, then goes off on a holiday. Difficult to feel compassion for his situation.

Why even make a thread on Beams if you won't allow conversation regarding the trade details then? Especially considering one of those players is about the only thing that will get it over the line... Pretty weak of your board to not even allow those trades to be talked about, do you see anything in our thread title about take picks 5 and 25 elsewhere? I understand you don't want to lose them but not allowing any discussion about them is a bit North Korea like if you ask me.

Time to start carding them on here I reckon.