Mega Thread Delist/Trade/Draft Supermegaultrathread - Now Starts A Long Offseason

You can to a certain extent teach a kid to go in a get the ball, you can also teach him how to create space to allow composure, what you can't teach him at 17 is to kick the ball 'elitely'. If he hasn't got that skill by the time he's arrived it's too late, & WC need skilled kickers.
Yep and this is why, at under 10s-12s I demanded the kids I coached could kick the ball properly first. This trend changed some 5 years ago, I think it was, when EP came to the coaches in the district and said, we have been requested, by the AFL clubs, that you coaches concentrate more on developing skills.
It's also interesting to note that some kids with suspect kicking also go backwards when they get to 13s (open rules) and start chasing more of the ball. So they need to keep working on the skills their teenage years. But if they had learnt better kicking skills as auskickers would they revert to type? I'll need to do some research.

Interesting tomorrow what happens with Waterman bidding , Howlett is a chance by the sounds of it with Fremantle and WCE showing interest but Howlett sounds like he is neutral and doesn't mind staying interstate .

The "interstate" thing amuses me. Why would a young guy on good money who has lived since he was 18 in a vastly better city for young people (or pretty much anyone else) "mind" staying there?

Genuine question.

The "interstate" thing amuses me. Why would a young guy on good money who has lived since he was 18 in a vastly better city for young people (or pretty much anyone else) "mind" staying there?

Genuine question.
Don't care too much E87, as long as he stays there. ;)

Genuine question.

He ( Howlett ) wants to continue his career in the East , Melbourne has a lot on , the home of AFL . Maybe for now he likes being part of it but Donnybrook will be there when he returns , ..... nice place !

Donnybrook? Nice place for a quick visit if you're in need of relaxing.

But if you were living there everyday? Well for me it'd drive me stark raving mad :)

My question though was why in your earlier post you implied that being interstate might be a factor for some - you said he was "neutral" - but the implication is that there's an interstate factor for the WA guys. Is there?

I just don't think there is when they are in Melbourne and have been there for a few years.

Genuine question.

Who knows. It does happen though and it's seems to be family/friends and familiarity that lures some back.

Not big names but Wellingham/Cripps just in the last two years left Melbourne. It's not that common but it has and will always happen.

I'm not sure you can argue that go home factor is an aspect of every trade though.

Wellingham was offered overs by us in terms of salary and contract length. He said all the right things but was "coming home" the issue really?

I'm not sure you can argue that go home factor is an aspect of every trade though.

Wellingham was offered overs by us in terms of salary and contract length. He said all the right things but was "coming home" the issue really?
He only looked at offers from Freo and West Coast, so you'd have to think it was a factor.

I guess there are degrees of difference between it being 'a factor' and it being 'the issue'.

None of us will ever really know which it is, because it really depends on what the players and coaches tell the media. For instance Yeo and Judd might have claimed homesickness, but also might just have wanted the hell out of their dysfunctional clubs at the time.

Similarly Wellingham might have missed Perth, but he probably would rather people think that he was poached cos he's such a supastar

Donnybrook? Nice place for a quick visit if you're in need of relaxing.

But if you were living there everyday? Well for me it'd drive me stark raving mad :)

My question though was why in your earlier post you implied that being interstate might be a factor for some - you said he was "neutral" - but the implication is that there's an interstate factor for the WA guys. Is there?

I just don't think there is when they are in Melbourne and have been there for a few years.
I know this is going to stun you Eagle87 so make sure you are seated, but not everyone is like you. :drunk: I wouldn't be driven mad by the solitude of a place like Donnybrook, having been brought up out country. Not being able to talk to you on BigFooty might sway my mind though. ;):p
However, on a more serious note, when I attended the 91 and 92 grand finals I could have happily stayed in Melbourne. Wonderful city.
I've also frequented bars\nightclubs a max of 5-10 times in my life, so I am probably not the norm?:$

Yeah it won't be a factor in every trade. A lot money can pull some just about anywhere too (Mitch Clark, Melbourne).

I know this is going to stun you Eagle87 so make sure you are seated, but not everyone is like you. :drunk: I wouldn't be driven mad by the solitude of a place like Donnybrook, having been brought up out country. Not being able to talk to you on BigFooty might sway my mind though. ;):p
However, on a more serious note, when I attended the 91 and 92 grand finals I could have happily stayed in Melbourne. Wonderful city.
I've also frequented bars\nightclubs a max of 5-10 times in my life, so I am probably not the norm?:$

I reckon even a country boy would go mad back in Donnybrook after 7 or 8 years playing AFL in Melbourne ....

Its also funny that we quote "go home" factor for guys from, say, Albany & Northampton who have the briefest of associations with Perth. Just saying.

You've only been to a pub 5-10 times in your life Swannies?

I reckon even a country boy would go mad back in Donnybrook after 7 or 8 years playing AFL in Melbourne ....

Its also funny that we quote "go home" factor for guys from, say, Albany & Northampton who have the briefest of associations with Perth. Just saying.

Yeah, I agree with this. Same with Lycett in reverse. Once you are several hours from home it doesn't make a huge difference.

I've lived in Melbourne and don't think it's that good. Too many cold, windy and overcast days. I like the restaurants/bars/cafes there though.

Reece Homfray on Superfooty rates you club's dream and nightmare trade

WEST COAST

Dream Scenario: Win the race for Nick Malceski’s signature.

Worst Nightmare: Miss out on Malceski and are unable to bolster their defence.

Who is this guy? Our defence is not a priority

You just got to laugh...:oops:

Yeah, I agree with this. Same with Lycett in reverse. Once you are several hours from home it doesn't make a huge difference.

It's that plus, say 3 years + in Melbourne.

Melbourne is great and at say 22 and living there from 18 its more likely than not "home" unless you're a bit of a sook. Or a total fringe player.

The only established players we've got back from Melbourne in the last 10 years are Chick and Kennedy aren't they? And Kennedy didn't want to come and Chick had a death in the family.

And Chick loves the place so much he now lives in KL and plays for the Malaysian Warriors :)

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1412470717.737908.jpg

I've lived in Melbourne and don't think it's that good. Too many cold, windy and overcast days. I like the restaurants/bars/cafes there though.

Well yes, but if you're going to argue Perth weather is so awesome I'll take you to task in that too ...

I spend 7 or so days a month in Perth and in the last 4 months I've had 2 decent weather days .. the rest cold, wet or both.

****ing cold mornings... windy ... And then in summer way too hot to do anything in the day time and most things shut at night ...

Perth people have a distorted idea of their weather. I'm from Perth. Get out more. London has shit weather. Melbournes is ok.

Will be interesting to see what we do with Wilson.

There were was a post somewhere back in this thread suggesting we were looking to rookie him, which frees up that 4th pick. Carter is obviously subject to what happens trade period - if we land anyone he's gone.

Surely Carter's gone anyway?
We currently have 4 picks from 2 delistings n 2 retirements? And one rookie spot.
Sinkers is/has been upgraded with our final pick.
Waterman takes penultimate pick.
Currently makes our last open pick around 30.
Carter has to go to free up pick 48ish.

Talk has been around picking a 4th ruckman. Why not rookie Cox? That makes him available if lti to one of our rucks, but not holding a place if not needed.

Imo Carter has to go anyway, preferably one more to take advantage of another pick (66 ish).
Imo with 12 f/s / academy selections there must be a few others who will slide eg Caleb Daniels, Panos, etc

Pick 10 Picket/ Laverde/ Ahern/ Weller
Pick 30 Cocky2/ Jackson Nelson/ Miller/ mid
Pick 48 Clem/ Garlett/ Nelson/ mid
Pick 66 Daniels/ Panos/ mid
Pick 84 Waterman
Pick 102 Sinclair upgrade

I completely agree. Some country boys don't acclimatise well to Perth, took me 15+ years to get used to people being on your back doorstep etc. That being said, everyone's different. There are going to be those who think, what the hell have I been missing out on?

I dare say with Chick there are different circumstances altogether. ;)

Yep and this is why, at under 10s-12s I demanded the kids I coached could kick the ball properly first. This trend changed some 5 years ago, I think it was, when EP came to the coaches in the district and said, we have been requested, by the AFL clubs, that you coaches concentrate more on developing skills.
It's also interesting to note that some kids with suspect kicking also go backwards when they get to 13s (open rules) and start chasing more of the ball. So they need to keep working on the skills their teenage years. But if they had learnt better kicking skills as auskickers would they revert to type? I'll need to do some research.

I assisted with an under 12's team last year. A rep from our district told us that we shouldn't be teaching the kids to kick with their opposite feet. We ignored and continued to make a huge emphasis on skill development and teaching these kids how to find space and win their own footy. Needless to say with the transition into 13's the kids were all the better for it.