Demetriou blocked Tassie team bid

If Tasmania was serious about wanting a team they would start buying Memberships of a low-supported Melbourne team with no strategic advantages.

Once the Tassie portion of the membership is high enough they could vote for a move. This would be a underhanded act but it is the quickest way to get a team.

Say the Tassie government paid for 40k memberships, they probably have enough votes to move a club.
Yes, until the team's administration cottoned on and then there would be a membership war.

Would at least be interesting one year seeing North or the Bulldogs with 100,000 members!

Smells like racism against the Tassies. Isolated out there like castaways on that little Island looking for Sherrins washing ashore but all they get are volleyballs. Luckily theres great clubs out there like North and Hawthorn willing to share.

If AD blocked a Tassie club then he did his job.
Tassie is a captive market. It makes emotional sense to have a team in Tassie but it doesn't make economic sense, particularly if a club or two generate a following there by playing games there.

The AFL really want to move North there and quite frankly it's the only way Tassie will get a team. It will take a generation for GWS to get a foothold. There will be no more expansion for a long long time.

I don't see what the issue is here?

Is it just a sook about Demetriou being a bit of a prick? That's not newsworthy.

Is it just a sook about someone not getting what they want? That's not newsworthy either.

Its pretty simple, if the game is to be national they need AFL played at least weekly in 2 of the 3 largest states in the country. That had to be a priority. Tassie will get their team, we'll probably expand the comp to 20+ teams and play each other once.

I don't see what the issue is here?

Is it just a sook about Demetriou being a bit of a prick? That's not newsworthy.

Is it just a sook about someone not getting what they want? That's not newsworthy either.

Maybe even the dim witted news media are getting a whiff of the fact that the public are getting tired of Demetriou's dictotorial style and are finally calling him out on it?

He's not really accountable to the public on style points though is he? There's no "ALF" issue here.

The media have their own agenda, that's a separate issue.

how much was a tassie team going to add to the broadcast rights?

$0. if itwas at the expense of GWS possibly -$

He's doing his job ffs..
and its a pretty serious job thats pretty hard to manage without offending someone along the way. FFS ease up on the AFL bashing. Its an organisation doing its job.
He knows how to deal with governments.. infact, its quite obvious he is quite brilliant at it. this is the same guy who got Qld and NSW governments to actually pay for AFL stadiums! So where were all your acknowledgements of that success? None, because you guys ahve got nothging useful to say except throw insults at a pretty easy target.. the boss.
aas if you guys woiuld know any better how to do it!
So his job is to expand broadcast rights?

And if a Tassie side doesn't increase broadcast rights, there shouldn't be one? That's the sole criteria?

If Tasmania was a Rugby State,they would have an AFL side already,Demetrious obsession with putting AFL sides in Rugby Heartland is an obvious ploy that in my opinion will never work,I moved to Tasmania 3 years ago fom Victoria and I can tell you I have never seen people more passionate about there AFL,they eat,Breathe and sleep Aussie Rules Football.!!!!
No doubt it's not fair that Tassie doesn't have AFL side, but your comment is wrong WRT if it were to be a Rugby area. Look at the Hunter region in NSW a Rugby league area with about the same population as Tassie with no talk whatsoever of an AFL side there. It's all to do with market size and potential. Sorry, Tassie just doesn't cut the mustard

well said. Tough t***ies Tassie

Sick of this attitude from mainland w***ers.

I keep hearing the argument about this game belongs to the people, that it should be about the grassroots supporters and shouldn't just be about the corporate suits and the money, yet the argument against a Tassie team and for a GWS team is all about money. So which one is it? If it's all about money then all those clubs that are not financially stable must go.

Why should Tasmanians contribute to a competition if that competition doesn't want us. A lot of Tasmanians would buy memberships, merchandise, how many travel to Melbourne to watch games (I'm guessing a hell of a lot more than come here to watch Hawthorn). We now have two clubs playing home games here and have had Fitzroy and St Kilda in the past.

We are being treated with contempt. We are not a lifeboat for financially struggling Melbourne clubs looking for easy dollars.

For everything Tasmania and Tasmanians have contributed to this great game they deserve better than to be treated like second class citizens.

how much was a tassie team going to add to the broadcast rights?

He's doing his job ffs.. and its a pretty serious job thats pretty hard to manage without offending someone along the way. FFS ease up on the AFL bashing. Its an organisation doing its job.
He knows how to deal with governments.. infact, its quite obvious he is quite brilliant at it. this is the same guy who got Qld and NSW governments to actually pay for AFL stadiums! So where were all your acknowledgements of that success? None, because you guys ahve got nothging useful to say except throw insults at a pretty easy target.. the boss.

Finally some bloody sense

Is this the demetriou who tried to broker a deal to have North Melbourne play 7 home games there and boot the hawks out (with generous compensation ?)

In perspective Geelong played 7 home games in geelong for the past few years (8 this year)

AstroboyUK;23630072[B said:
]how much was a tassie team going to add to the broadcast rights?[/B]

He's doing his job ffs.. and its a pretty serious job thats pretty hard to manage without offending someone along the way. FFS ease up on the AFL bashing. Its an organisation doing its job.

If that's the main criteria for a club then there's a few clubs about that must be in huge trouble. Let's make the competition all about how much money you can bring to the table. How much does North Melbourne, Western Bulldogs, Port Adelaide bring to the broadcast rights? Maybe they need to go for the good of the competition. Bad luck to their fans, after all it is all about the money.

Don't talk about emotion.

Because that's the only reason there are still so many sides based in Melbourne.

Is this the demetriou who tried to broker a deal to have North Melbourne play 7 home games there and boot the hawks out (with generous compensation ?)

In perspective Geelong played 7 home games in geelong for the past few years (8 this year)

Yes, the first big step to permanent relocation. The AFL want North to relocate to Tasmania, but it isn't the highest priority on their agenda and they don't want to be seen as pushing them there ala the Gold Coast. The AFL like the Fitzroy/South Melbourne model where by they lose perhaps 50% of the smallest club supporters in Melbourne, but when the Tasmania Kangaroos play in Melbourne they may still get 6,7,8,000 of their old supporters who haven't let them go come to the games. As I said it's not the highest priority at the moment, but I dare say it is their long term vision.

You don't relocate a side to existing AFL territory, where everyone already supports a side.

Mind you, it wouldn't surprise me that the AFL would consider it or that people here would suggest it.

The last expansion was about TV and getting games each week in NWS and QLD. Tassie did not score on that front at all.
Tassie is stuck with part time teams until another expansion or a relocation of a Melbourne side. I think the best that Tassie can get is about 10 games a year from the Roos and Hawks combined.
Another expansion? Not for a long time. If it happens I suspect Perth 3 and Tassie.

At the moment its 4 games to hawks and 2 to north which is 6. If north games pay off, they might go to 4 as well so that is 8. Once you get to that, its only 3 more games to 11 and thats a regular allotment of home games per season. Tassies biggest issue by far IMHO is the north south divide. if they were a homogenous market of 500k, they'd have got a team a long time ago.

I still think they will get there - via a relocated team (probably North). This will preserve the 18 team competition. In terms of further expansion its at least 10 years away. Perth (for reasons stated elsewhere on this thread) looks the obvious choice. They are currently packing out Subi - if they are packing out the new 60-70k stadium in 10 years time, then its a no brainer.

My final prediction (for a 20 team comp) is my new home here in Canberra. There is a market here make no mistake. The Giants got almost as many spectators to a NAB practice match than the raiders got to their first and only home match of the year. There are a shyte load of footy followers here who have been here for a long time and want a team to follow. It's a 400k market that - barring any decision to strip Canberra of capital city status, will continue to grow. The AFL would get massive government funding/support if they ever decided to set up shop here.

The game does.

The AFL however does not comprise the entirety of the game. There are other competitions.
I've heard that argument (the one that g-man put forward) made here solely in relation to the AFL competition. On numerous occasions.

Your attempt to broaden the context of what he is saying doesn't reduce the validity of his point. He is spot on.

At the moment its 4 games to hawks and 2 to north which is 6. If north games pay off, they might go to 4 as well so that is 8. Once you get to that, its only 3 more games to 11 and thats a regular allotment of home games per season. Tassies biggest issue by far IMHO is the north south divide. if they were a homogenous market of 500k, they'd have got a team a long time ago.

I still think they will get there - via a relocated team (probably North). This will preserve the 18 team competition. In terms of further expansion its at least 10 years away. Perth (for reasons stated elsewhere on this thread) looks the obvious choice. They are currently packing out Subi - if they are packing out the new 60-70k stadium in 10 years time, then its a no brainer.

My final prediction (for a 20 team comp) is my new home here in Canberra. There is a market here make no mistake. The Giants got almost as many spectators to a NAB practice match than the raiders got to their first and only home match of the year. There are a shyte load of footy followers here who have been here for a long time and want a team to follow. It's a 400k market that - barring any decision to strip Canberra of capital city status, will continue to grow. The AFL would get massive government funding/support if they ever decided to set up shop here.
North can go to Canberra then.

Tassie will have its own home grown side thanks.

:)

Demetriou blocked Tassie team bid