Dennis Pagan = Most Overrated coach in history?

Pagan is a great coach, ahead of Sheedy Malthouse and Matthews, arguably in that order.

Only Blights mysterious coaching witchcraft matches Pagans excellent record of developing and bonding tough harsh sides who get opportunities to show flair, yet remain a tight knit unit.

Carlton have very little ability at the moment, but he gets what scraps there are. He is building like Malthouse built at Collingwood, if anything with less and faster.

Denying Pagan's ability seems very ignorant to me. Then again, you should really get your Carlton bashing done fast and furious because they'll be back all to soon, nasty and arrogant and winning again (and I hate the thought).

Originally posted by Bombers 2003
Well u've explained that,so now i have a clue.
BTW-have u ever looked at Phat's profile to see who he supports?.
I was out during the last shower, didn't see you coming down in it but you never know.

Originally posted by The Old Dark Navy's
I was out during the last shower, didn't see you coming down in it but you never know.

No need to get narky or personal with other posters. Veiled insults are not allowed per the rules here. You should watch yourself.

Note - Has Thrawn already got home while it is the 3rd Quarter?

Mate, I never depart from a gmae no matter how much we're losing by. Un(fortunately) I couldn't get to the game today, but I was macho enough to listen all of it on the radio.

As for The Phat Side, what a hypocrite. You you are still sooking about that warning you got?

Originally posted by Mark Viduka
I said it 2 months ago. Yes Pagan is overrated because he was handed a premiership team at the Kangaroos for 10 years. He only knows 1 coaching method and is by far the most overrated coach ever.

AHAHAHAHAHA.

Did you know how he came into being the North Coach? He was coaching their U/19 and Reserves sides... he made those players! He knew their strengths and developed that game plan and made it as simple as possible so under stress and duress (finals footy) they could still get it right even if they had a brain melt.

The game plan is proven, Matthews even uses a variant of it. I will agree with anyone who suggests Pagan is attempting to mould the side too much, and that he should be moulding the game plan to suit them a bit better.

But in saying that, Carlton are devoid of faith in themselves. What they need is an old-fashioned kick up the ass and then a new style of training, something that will help them enhance their weaknesses and much as humanly possible (field kicking, reading the play, running and disposal on the run).

Were, Kouta, Whitnall, Campo, Hulme et al complete hacks in 2000? No. They played in a confident side that was steam-rolling teams and won 12 on the trot mid-season. They seem poles apart now. Look what a couple of season of beating yourself around the head and turmoil everywhere you look can do.

The problem is not the coach. It is the way the fitness staff let him cater to old-fashioned training habits and it is the players' fault for not having the guts to make a fist of every minute despite the outcome.

Imagine if we had've had 22 blokes there today who had the mental strength of Matthew Lappin. One bloke in navy blue who can be proud.

Originally posted by Jimmae

Imagine if we had've had 22 blokes there today who had the mental strength of Matthew Lappin. One bloke in navy blue who can be proud.

Probably due to his early formative years.:D

I want to know where Dan26's input is on this subject?
According to Dan, North success in the 90's was due to Denis Pagan and he would have the Blues in the finals chasing premierships in no time.

Originally posted by speedy
I want to know where Dan26's input is on this subject?
According to Dan, North success in the 90's was due to Denis Pagan and he would have the Blues in the finals chasing premierships in no time.

Yes I do recall him saying this and that if Carlton didnt make the 8 he would walk naked up Punt Rd with just a Carlton scarf on.
That was a wooden spoon and a 15th finish ago.

I know what that Jesus Christ fella did with the loaves and fishes was pretty special but blokes like him are hard to come across.

Pagan just can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear and anyone who thinks he should be able to must think you can give a crap horse to a good horse trainer and win the Melbourne Cup. It ain't that simple. Carlton have got a crap list and some key injuries and need time to recover from what Elliott did to them.

Originally posted by The Phat Side
No need to get narky or personal with other posters. Veiled insults are not allowed per the rules here. You should watch yourself.
Stop your whining and report the bloody post then. I'm game. Reinvention number 3 for you hey Phat?

Pagan is a great coach - He may have one style but it is a good one - The same one Leigh Matthews uses - Kick the ball long to a strong marking forward. It works in finals under pressure.

Look at Choco - Good coach but his game plan doesnt work under pressure.

Problem for Pagan is that Fevola is not as good as a Carey, Lynch, or J Brown.

Carlton needed a hard task master to come in and turn the palce upside down. They were not in a position to entertain a softie like Wayne Brittain or a rookie like Gary O'Donnell, they needed someone who had been through the highs & lows before.

Whilst Pagan will always have his detractors in regards to his tactics, he sure as hell has the right approach & won't tolerate some of the antics previous Carlton players tried on for size.

Regardless of whether we win a flag or not under Pagan, whenever he does leave the club, he will leave it in a much, much stronger position than when he arrived. And I don't mean just in the playing list either !!

Originally posted by The Phat Side
Im not a sook or a dobber or soft as butter. Im also not a hypocrite.

You've proven to be a sook because you are still sooking about your precious one edited post in total, as well as a warning you recieved from Adrian.

This plus the fact that you are calling us soft as butter makes you a hypocrite. You're just upset because you are finally being moderated. The post alone sums it up in one, you've said this how many times already? That sort of obsession must indicate that there is a problem - and it is your own.

Let's all shed a tear for The Phat Side. I'm sure hundreds of BigFooty posters are crying out for you.

Originally posted by Blue Boyz
You are a complete pickle Bombers 2003!!!!!!!

It is hard to believe that a senior member would make such a stupid and niave comment like that. With your moniker name I can only assume you just started following footy in 2003 and in that short time have gained zilch understanding or may be even less on even the basics of the how the game works.

Premiership coaches in their 1st season generally have a bit better list Carlton's present squad.

I would defy any present day coach or any other for that matter to win a flag or may be even finish top 8 with this team.

Salary cap penalities incurred before his recruitment to the club have ensured that Pagan has very little to work with in the way of new quality players.
Poogirlz.
Obviously u didnt read the post mentioning Alan Joyce.

Dennis Pagan = Most Overrated coach in history?