Did someone say KFC?

Taking the ethics out of it - when you consider the stature and wealth of KFC, I’m fairly proud our club is announcing a sponsorship with that tier of business as opposed to those from one of the ‘big 4’ clubs.

F49D2A73-9AE2-4EED-A4F6-4BB2F5918D06.jpeg

It's a more vexed question with pokies; gambling addiction is a valid, physically observable (in terms of brain chemistry and dopamine) disorder.

I'm must admit I'm more morally troubled by the pokies than the fried chicken....
Firstly I have zero issue with either and I am a fat person who loves to gamble but eating junk food is an addiction so it’s very similar to gambling in that respect that being said though getting money from them or pokies is fine with me if it’s a legal process than make the money. We live in a world where governments are more corrupt than anything yet we all expect sporting clubs to have this super moralistic approach to making money. As far as I’m concerned if it’s within the law then it’s fair game, people need to take responsibility for themselves instead of trying to tell people what to do.

Taking the ethics out of it - when you consider the stature and wealth of KFC, I’m fairly proud our club is announcing a sponsorship with that tier of business as opposed to those from one of the ‘big 4’ clubs.

View attachment 1079260
Any tripper, after a "deal", would be wise 2 buy the good stuff from byron based company who could source directly from nimbin up the road.

Firstly I have zero issue with either and I am a fat person who loves to gamble but eating junk food is an addiction so it’s very similar to gambling in that respect that being said though getting money from them or pokies is fine with me if it’s a legal process than make the money. We live in a world where governments are more corrupt than anything yet we all expect sporting clubs to have this super moralistic approach to making money. As far as I’m concerned if it’s within the law then it’s fair game, people need to take responsibility for themselves instead of trying to tell people what to do.

At least nissans products aren't addictive

View attachment 1079260

How the hell does a travel agent have any money in 2021!?

I used to be addicted to KFC

Can still remember the tingles down the back of my neck when I'd bite into a Bacon & cheese fillet burger as the dopamine hit. Still remember the day I first had it as a kid. I was hooked first try. Small country town growing up, never knew chicken could taste like that. Then, As a young adult if I had the opportunity to eat KFC, then I would always choose to eat KFC. And it got out of control from there as opportunity and means increased.

Funnily enough, the way I got it under control was not by dieting, but by actually treating it as an addiction - like AA. Used to count the days - build up inertia.

I'm good with it now.

Can still remember the tingles down the back of my neck when I'd bite into a Bacon & cheese fillet burger as the dopamine hit. Still remember the day I first had it as a kid. I was hooked first try. Small country town growing up, never knew chicken could taste like that. Then, As a young adult if I had the opportunity to eat KFC, then I would always choose to eat KFC. And it got out of control from there as opportunity and means increased.

Funnily enough, the way I got it under control was not by dieting, but by actually treating it as an addiction - like AA. Used to count the days - build up inertia.

I'm good with it now.

Similarly ate wayyy too much of the stuff after my mum died. Haven't touched it in about 9.5 years and don't miss it at all - until they bring out special releases of hot and spicy buckets!

How the hell does a travel agent have any money in 2021!?

Byron Bay has a lot of celebrities camping out there throughout the pandemic - possibly they're bankrolling it as a front for something. Would be a very Carlton thing to be involved in.

I'm good with it now.
Similarly ate wayyy too much of the stuff after my mum died. Haven't touched it in about 9.5 years and don't miss it at all - until they bring out special releases of hot and spicy buckets!

Byron Bay has a lot of celebrities camping out there throughout the pandemic - possibly they're bankrolling it as a front for something. Would be a very Carlton thing to be involved in.
So Mike Myers in 'So I Married an Axe Murderer' was correct?

Stuart Mackenzie: "Oh, you're gonna buy my chicken! Ohhhhh!"

Charlie Mackenzie: Dad, how can you hate the Colonel?

Stuart Mackenzie: Because he puts an addictive chemical in his chicken that makes ya crave it fortnightly, smartarse!

So Mike Myers in 'So I Married an Axe Murderer' was correct?

Stuart Mackenzie: "Oh, you're gonna buy my chicken! Ohhhhh!"

Charlie Mackenzie: Dad, how can you hate the Colonel?

Stuart Mackenzie: Because he puts an addictive chemical in his chicken that makes ya crave it fortnightly, smartarse!

On this. Years ago we watched this movie as a family. The scenes with Stuart Mackenzie were a hit with the kids so we watched them again. ANd again (which is fine by me, because they're also my favourite scenes from that movie, which is otherwise meh IMHO). Anyway, next day, my son is playing CHB in U11s or U12s, and the kid who he is playing on had a head of frizzy red hair and looked just like William / Head (we're all carrot tops as well). I'm the team photographer, and at one point in the game I'm standing near the coaches. We were attacking, and my son was so wrapped in what was happening up field that he'd drifted a good 20 metres off his opponent. The coaches were yelling at him from the sidelines to get back on his opponent, but he is blissfully unaware. So I cup my hands together, yell out his name, followed by, "Head! Noo!". My son looks as me, waves at me and trots back to his man.

The coaches ask me what it was I said, and I explained it. They were then busy laughing so hard on the boundary line it took them a while to refocus on the game.

Afterwards I mentioned it to my young fella, and he said, "Oh, I didn't hear what you said, but I heard your voice, looked up, and realized I'd left my man."

P

The media really are a bunch of nuffies!
Not one of them have correlated Clarkos' - "did someone say KFC" at presser when Q re: Downie not getting a run as the medical sub.
On Footy Classified dear lil Caro once again accused him of dis respecting the media...LOL.
Great pun for our new sponsor AC....media once again clueless!

I don't want to start a fight, but....

the burgers are better at hungry jacks.
Whilst this may or may not be true, IF you can convince your kids of this, then you are some way to reducing the Mac attacks that occur whenever you see a McDonalds.👍
My kids, like any kids, were happy to shovel the shit down because they saw the ads, and other kids shovelling it down.
Convince them the Hungry Jacks burgers are better, and that Maccas is in fact shit. They become loyal to that brand, and you have to put up with only a fraction of the demand because there just aren't that many Hungry Jacks around as compared to Maccas. They still eat shit occasionally, but is tolerable. When they wake up to the fact that the burgers are shit anyhow, you're home and hosed.

KFC. t's a sponsor. They will give us money, and we will give them brand exposure. But it does seem a little degrading and disingenuous on our part. Given our team members wouldn't, or shouldn't be touching the stuff with a barge pole.
Degrading, in that KFC and fast food companies in general make their profit from low socio economic, educational backgrounds. People who don't have the education to understand nutrition and the issues surrounding a healthy diet. I take it as a slight affront that they think Hawks fans are those kind of people. 🤔
I know KFC didn't look at Hawks fans and say, 'hey, they're our key demographic', but I feel the stain of the dirty, greasy, oily association all the same.

It will pass.

Whilst this may or may not be true, IF you can convince your kids of this, then you are some way to reducing the Mac attacks that occur whenever you see a McDonalds.👍
My kids, like any kids, were happy to shovel the sh*t down because they saw the ads, and other kids shovelling it down.
Convince them the Hungry Jacks burgers are better, and that Maccas is in fact sh*t. They become loyal to that brand, and you have to put up with only a fraction of the demand because there just aren't that many Hungry Jacks around as compared to Maccas. They still eat sh*t occasionally, but is tolerable. When they wake up to the fact that the burgers are sh*t anyhow, you're home and hosed.

KFC. t's a sponsor. They will give us money, and we will give them brand exposure. But it does seem a little degrading and disingenuous on our part. Given our team members wouldn't, or shouldn't be touching the stuff with a barge pole.
Degrading, in that KFC and fast food companies in general make their profit from low socio economic, educational backgrounds. People who don't have the education to understand nutrition and the issues surrounding a healthy diet. I take it as a slight affront that they think Hawks fans are those kind of people. 🤔
I know KFC didn't look at Hawks fans and say, 'hey, they're our key demographic', but I feel the stain of the dirty, greasy, oily association all the same.

It will pass.

Weve come a long way since HSBC graced our jumper as a major partner.

Still I guess theyve had their own issues

I eat KFC like it's going out of fashion (I'm 47 and have done for many, many years - I love the shit lol).

I also lost 10kg this past year while doing so (and wasn't necessarily over weight to begin with). 6 3, mid 90kgs (now mid 80s) and fairly active, lots of running.

Basically I got some extra weight off due to knee issues and a knee op and trying to ease the load. Still eat KFC whenever I want, which is often enough.

TLDR version - KFC doesn't make you fat. Overall lifestyle does. Enjoy yourself but have balance. Eat well as often as you can, eat the things you enjoy as often as you want. Do some exercise.

As long as you wash fast food down with a Diet Coke or Pepsi max it’s all good :drunk:

Seriously, don’t be a couch potato, do some exercise and KFC in moderation is fine

Im 49, 74 kgs and probably have fast food 4 times a week for lunch
I also walk every morning with my wife and 8 month old and keep myself busy during the day with work or home projects

Every time I drive past a KFC I think of the South Park episode where because their KFC was turned into a medical marijuana dispensary, Randy tries to give himself cancer to get some. I laugh and wince at the same time watching him bounce on down the street...

Did someone say KFC?