Disgusting, Arrogant, Cocky Hawthorn Fans **MB Thread **

Re: Disgusting, Arrogant, Cocky Hawthorn Fans

I was a neutral observer last night and agree 100%.
I have never seen so many fans from a club act like hyenas.
I was in AFL members and all night I was listening to Hawthorn d*i*c*k*h*e*a*d*s around me whinging and screaming abuse.
They were 10 goals in front and sooking about free kicks.
Even if they won by 50 goals they would not be happy.
I am going to Grand Final and will be going for Geelong all the way.
Hope they put these clowns back in their holes.
I have to say that Geelong supporters are amongst the best behaved at Games. :thumbsu:
I thought some Richmond and Carlton flogs were bad, but after experiencing Hawthorn at a few Games this year, they win by miles as the biggest bunch of W*A*N*K*E*R*S. :p

Were all the Hawk fans wearing sunnies and v neck t shirts? Their supporters try and start fights at games with smart ass comments. Only when we play Hawks it happens. They stop talking when you confront them though :cool:

So let me understand this, Hawthorn fans throw around some smart ass comments and you turn around and confront them?

This would suggest that you are basically a pretty weak individual that can't take the banter and are stupid enough to take issue with it.

On your own keyboard, you have admitted therefore to being the protagonist is anything was to start.

You really are bereft of any real intelligence aren't you now.:rolleyes:

You found that funny? Why are you pissed about it then?

Im guessing you are about 15... am I far off?

Grow up you little shit and open your eyes, what would you have been doing in that situation you self-righteous prick?
I think you'll find that i used the word 'funny' because of how stupid all of them really were.

Their complete lack of footy smarts for the whole night was amazing, usually you get that every week, but starting fights, spitting and throwing beer?

If i was in the situation of my team winning by 8 goals at half time, i would've at least allowed the op. team to give their greatest ever football player a bit of respect.

3 years off, btw.

I'm sure stuff like this happens at most matches during the year- but it's no excuse for terrible behaviour like that.

There was a reference to "soccer hoolaginism" before- And I think that's what some morons are turning our game into.

Aussie Rules fans are better than that.

Are you trying to suggest that this ill behaviour is a result of the influence of soccer? What a joke, on one hand you guys on here argue that diehard afl fans would never watch a game of soccer, yet when the same fans cause trouble, its soccers fault.

Aussie rules fans are better than that - If you are suggesting that there arent drunken morons who start fights and throw objects at the AFL then you are deeply mistaken. Its been happening for years, and will always happen because it brings together all the commoners in society who gather with their mates, have a few drinks, engage in banter - a few idiots get carried away and cross the line.

Is anyone surprised?

Everyone knows about the "other" Hawthorn Cheersquad. Aggressive, offensive and intimidating... unsociability runs deep through the family club

It's funny, I've never seen anything like this at the footy. The worst was at the QF last year when a fair bit of abuse flowed between supporters at various intervals, but nothing like spitting or beer throwing.

As a side note to this thread, saintsational.com is one of the most hilarious forums ever. Some guy there (probably the OP) is going off because a Hawks fan called Milne a rapist and apparently that's never happened before! :D

It's a bit unfair of RE to tar all Hawks supporters with the same brush with his thread title. It sounds very much like a tiny minority of fans. I had one such idiot sitting behind me in the Ponsford stand, some kid who every ten minutes called someone or something a "JACKAAAAASSSS" for no apparent reason, probably just because he liked the sound of his own voice.

I do have a problem with something moistie said, though.

There is a core of about 50 Hawks supporters who know each other and stand in M10 every game the Hawks play at the MCG during the H&A and Finals. I stand there a lot of the time I go watch the team play. We don't brook fighting or aggression and anyone that way inclined is politely asked to leave.

Sure, we sing songs about our players or to stir up opposition supporters. Who the hell doesn't engage in banter with opposition supporters?

The only trouble is, on the bigger games, we get a larger group which can often include some f***wits. Every club has them, so what can you do?

What can you do? Don't tell me you don't know who the "larger group" consists of. You can tell whoever's scaly mates are the ones causing the trouble to piss off, that's what you can do. It's only going to escalate to Plod getting involved if you don't knock that sort of thing on the head early within your little community. Do you want policemen surrounding your mob at every game, watching for the first sign of trouble? Do you want to be segregated like unruly fans are at the EPL? Clean out your own house. Don't tell me there's nothing you can do.

As a side note to this thread, saintsational.com is one of the most hilarious forums ever. Some guy there (probably the OP) is going off because a Hawks fan called Milne a rapist and apparently that's never happened before! :D
I do not post on Saintsational.

Theres 2 kinds of people on there...

We will win the flag next year
Sack Ross Lyon

Is anyone surprised?

Everyone knows about the "other" Hawthorn Cheersquad. Aggressive, offensive and intimidating... unsociability runs deep through the family club

Yeah, I am.

Don't stand in M10 but I know many of the guys through a forum. To suggest they are worse than any other group of supporters from any other club is plain silly. One of their number actually gave a fair explanation of events on Saintsational, which was promptly ignored.

Let's not let facts get in the way of a good story........

funniest thing i have ever heard of is when a certain supporter of a certain club was getting pissed off at the chants fronm the supporters below so he lowered his pants and did a dump onto the supporters below apparently they were all looking up to see who did it

What a flog you must be rough_edges.
No-one wants violence at the footy, and not one person here has tried to say different, Hawk or otherwise.
There are bad eggs at every club, yet you single out the handful from the club that annihilated yours last night in a preliminary final.
But I guess your objectivity today wouldn't be in question, would it?

This year alone I've seen:
A North fan run up and down an aisle of the Hawthorn members after the siren jeering.
Two Richmond fans asked to watch their language due to young children in front, making a point of throwing a swear word into every line they shouted from then on.
An Essendon fan (child) stick his flag out to trip (unsuccessfully) a Hawthorn fan walking down the steps in the southern stand, to the laughter of the two adults with him.
Punchons or confrontations started by Collingwood, Carlton, St Kilda (gasp), Richmond, and yes, Hawthorn, supporters.

And that's just the stuff that springs to mind. None of it's desirable.
I would suggest that in most cases, alcohol is the common factor, rather than the club supported.

As for sooking about the treatment of Harvey by Hawthorn fans, you should go find a Carlton fan still crying over Fevola and share a tissue with them about it. Hawthorn supporters aren't in the business of making fairytales come true for opposition players.
As an AFL footballer, I respect Harvey's longevity and sustained quality. For that reason I - like every other Hawthorn fan at the game - stood and cheered and clapped him off AFTER the game (which is more than some of your own St Kilda fans did, by the way). I even put up with the song and the tribute clips on the big screen that kept going well after he'd left the ground, that ate into MY celebration of my club's win.
But DURING the game, as a St.Kilda player, playing us in a preliminary final, I couldn't have given a toss for him... and even less of a toss for you and your preference for Hawk fans to be polite and quiet to allow you to cheer for him.
Get over yourself.

I've been to M10 a lot over the past few years. I'm the type to steer clear of an argument, much less a fight, and I have never had any trouble there. The only troubles I've seen are: a couple of drunk Sydney supporters crashing through and slopping beer around in a game where Sydney was well ahead in the last quarter (they got moved on pretty quickly); a couple of Carlton fans who wanted to rub it in after Carlton had beaten Hawthorn in a close one (they shoved a couple of Hawthorn supporters, and a fight broke out for about 20 seconds); and a couple of occasions when one or two Hawthorn fans went a bit too far, and were turned on by their own and pretty much ejected from the area. About 4 incidents in six years, only two of which involved opposition supporters - I would have been to more than two thirds of the games in that time.

I remember a game a few years ago when a bunch of Collingwood supporters from a rival board set up camp in the next bay and there was a bit of verbal to and fro, but nothing came of it. They were pretty good-natured.

I wasn't in M10 last night, but I had a mate who was and he didn't see anything out of the ordinary. That's not to say the incidents cited above didn't happen, but whatever did was unrelated to anything M10 were doing.

Back around 2004-05, there used to be a lot of security and police hanging around M10 during matches. They drifted off later in the season once they realised there was nothing going on that was worth supervising. They haven't been required since.

I do recall a lot of spite and nastiness when St Kilda beat us last year - most of it directed at Franklin. But you live with it. That's footy. On the other hand, I saw none of that attitude at either of our games with St Kilda this year, and on the whole I have no problem with their supporters.

What I see in this thread is an attempt to link a couple of unsavoury - alleged - incidents with a bunch of supporters who have no relation to those incidents. If you tried to make a big issue out of every little comment you hear at the footy you'd never get any rest.

All sides have good and bad members.
They are always worse when you are on the receiving end.

Agree with that. I've never encountered problems with Hawks fans until the game this year, when a very drunk female Hawk supporter was abusing & mouthing off all night & ended up hitting a little guy in a wheelchair, then tried to take on the security guards who were escorting her out. Then after the match, she came in to the Locker Room to get another bourbon & headed straight to the guy in the wheelchair to have another go, only to be thrown out again & handed over to police. She is the only Hawk fan I have had issues with.

Unfortantely, every club has idiot supporters, some more than others.

Sitting in M11 last night.

-Beer Thrown all over us
-70 y.o woman spat in the face after telling people to "Bugger off" when a brawl erupted.
-When the match finished having the aisles lined up both sides by these bunch of **** WITS getting slurred all the way and again getting spat at.
-Having them all abuse harvey when we cheered the great man during the match.
-Having full water bottles, beer thrown towards the bay at a consistent rate for the whole night whenever St. Kilda goaled and we cheered.

Apparently the Standing room behind the goals was similar with beer been thrown over the cheersquad.

The cockiness was unbelievable.

Definitelythe worst bunch of fans i have ever encounted and i sat in the Ponsford Stand against Collingwood.

Disgraceful.

Go Cats next week.

crying-baby.jpg

your thread got locked on saintsational now you post it here !

there are ferals in all teams i don't condone any of it but you or your fellows did not even like it when they supported their own team with songs all supporters make noise etc etc etc not a bad thing at all , yes if and that is if they were bagging Harvs that is not nice as he IS a legend . spitting on some one that is also disgusting too i don't condone that at one stage in your saintsational thread you or someone else said it was the hawks cs i can asure you it was not ! other then that get over it now you have had to getting it off your chest [ i have done the same on the pie board over something i did it nicely as i was in their territory actually it was twice there for 2 different things oh well i got over it with what i was doing there so now you get over it !

your thread got locked on saintsational now you post it here !

there are ferals in all teams i don't condone any of it but you or your fellows did not even like it when they supported their own team with songs all supporters make noise etc etc etc not a bad thing at all , yes if and that is if they were bagging Harvs that is not nice as he IS a legend . spitting on some one that is also disgusting too i don't condone that at one stage in your saintsational thread you or someone else said it was the hawks cs i can asure you it was not ! other then that get over it now you have had to getting it off your chest [ i have done the same on the pie board over something i did it nicely as i was in their territory actually it was twice there for 2 different things oh well i got over it with what i was doing there so now you get over it !
Fair to say it was not my thread and i do not what thread you are talking about.

But your more than welcome to use that line.

Were any reports made to security on the night? Was further action taken then? If not, why not and start threads up like this? Again has anyone got video?

Please, if you see someone acting like a total tool at the footy get security to deal with it but don't run up confront them and try and start a fight.

If you can't handle a bit of friendly banter then get yourself an MCC membership and in the meantime a comfy couch to watch from home and pay tv.

If you can't handle a bit of grog without getting agressive, physical or dropping f bombs every 2nd word then do us a favour and watch from your garage necking tinnies with your brave mates.

So endeth the rant, barmen.

Sitting in M11 last night.

-Beer Thrown all over us
-70 y.o woman spat in the face after telling people to "Bugger off" when a brawl erupted.
-When the match finished having the aisles lined up both sides by these bunch of **** WITS getting slurred all the way and again getting spat at.
-Having them all abuse harvey when we cheered the great man during the match.
-Having full water bottles, beer thrown towards the bay at a consistent rate for the whole night whenever St. Kilda goaled and we cheered.

Apparently the Standing room behind the goals was similar with beer been thrown over the cheersquad.

The cockiness was unbelievable.

Definitelythe worst bunch of fans i have ever encounted and i sat in the Ponsford Stand against Collingwood.

Disgraceful.

Go Cats next week.

You obviously have never been to a Heidleburg United Alexander v Preston Macedonia Soccer match in the old days. :eek:

Sometimes it got pretty ugly, the likes of which I've never seen at a footy match..:mad:

I suggest you start going to netball games champ.:thumbsu:

The crowd atmosphere there is probably what your looking for.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

I do have a problem with something moistie said, though.

What can you do? Don't tell me you don't know who the "larger group" consists of. You can tell whoever's scaly mates are the ones causing the trouble to piss off, that's what you can do. It's only going to escalate to Plod getting involved if you don't knock that sort of thing on the head early within your little community. Do you want policemen surrounding your mob at every game, watching for the first sign of trouble? Do you want to be segregated like unruly fans are at the EPL? Clean out your own house. Don't tell me there's nothing you can do.

I don't stand there myself, but I do know plenty that do, and my season reserved seat is only a bay away so I see and hear what happens each week (although my seats last night were on the other side of the ground so i can't comment on last night's action). Couple of points to make here:
1. The group that stand there every week cheer, and sing. Banter-wise they give and get. Violence is very rare and on the few occasions I've seen it, usually instigated by opposition supporters taking offence at the banter.
2.They've been standing there for several years now (and by the way they're NOT the same entity as the old "Rebel Cheer Squad" - although I make the disclaimer that for all I know some individuals may have been in both. The current group isn't organised as an entity at all, it's just a bunch of Hawk fans that enjoy the atmosphere of standing and cheering together.
2. As a highly visible and audible group, they often attract hangers-on that DON'T stand there every week. Especially at big games - like a prelim final. They're generally not people's 'scaly mates', they just see a big group of Hawks enjoying themselves and think it looks like fun. Most of these don't cause any more trouble than the regulars. A few sometimes do. I have seen and heard of such people being told by the regulars to settle down, or find somewhere else to watch the footy from, but generally as Moistie said, what can they do - bearing in mind that we are talking here about a collection of individuals, not an organised entity.
3. As I said, they've stood in that same place, acting pretty much the same way, for several years now. They don't find themselves "surrounded by policemen watching for the smallest sign of trouble", so that ought to tell you something about how much of an over-reaction and exaggeration most of the claims about them in this thread are.

Nothing to see here but sour grapes and isolated anecdotes and generalisations. Move on.

Its funny, we see so many threads about Hawthorn fans nasty, cocky behaviour and they always say - oh, every team has them - and that's true, but it appears you just have so many, many, many more of them. To the point where it would be accurate to say some hawthorn fans aren't arseholes.

My parents have been going to the footy since the year dot, and have done pretty much every feral experience you can imagine - Victoria Park when the Krakeours were playing, Footy Park, the lot - and they said that the Hawthorn fans in Round 3 this year were the nastiest, most immature, up themselves for no reason, aggresively crap bunch they'd ever had the misfortune to encounter.

Disgusting, Arrogant, Cocky Hawthorn Fans **MB Thread **