D2 Division 2 - 2012

tips for this week
Eltham v BT the turtles just on their home deck 14 points
SMS V Monash home ground advantage here SMS 5 points
Therry V PA clash of the round Therry at home 18 points
Latrobe V St leos battle of the seller dewllers the 4 points for this game will be very important for both teams the uni boys at home 12 points
SMD V OP OP in a romp here 50 points

surely 1 vs 2 is "clash of the round"

I agree Smudger. Its just another example of how much PA get talked about on here. I also got sucked into this based on last year however am not convinced they are really that good or even Therry for that matter. BT versus Eltham is deserving of match of the round status.

No review, flat out with work for a change.

Progressive 8/10

Emmaus v Parade - 44 points.
Monash vs Bulleen - 24 points.
Therry vs Souths - 10 points.
Latrobe vs St Mary's - 36 points.
Prahran vs Eltham - 35 points.

Good luck to everyone on the weekend.

Wasn't a good week for tipsters with a couple of upsets. Looks like PA have regrouped and are on the rebound. What is happening out at Ferndale Park? Started off with a bang but have been in steady decline since.

Progressive 11/15

Eltham vs Bulleen - 56 points. Even those these two teams are 1 and 2, I don't think merits match of the round as it will be a very one sided affair. The Bullant juggernaut has rolled in to town and it's going to take some great improvement to stop them. Eltham just don't have the run to keep up with them on the big ground. Pace is on fire and will be hard to stop.

St Mary's vs Monash - 26 points. Big game for both teams. Whoever loses this will lose touch with the body of the competition and will be playing out the rest of the season in no mans land. Gryphons lacking direction towards goal but having played the top two already are better than they appear on paper. As already stated the return of McConville will be the difference.

Therry vs Prahran - 8 points. I do think this will be match of the round as it will be a hard fought contest with the winner probably slipping in to second spot. I expect a bit of a shootout as both teams move the ball well forward. With Killer Kowalski up one end and Sleight up the other I expect this to be a top game.

Latrobe vs Emmaus - 15 points. Battle of the cellar dwellers. I have to give this to home ground advantage. Also Latrobe will want to be out of the relegation zone, so it's a more important game for them. No standout players to speak of and expect both teams to be more looking forward to a beer at the end.

Souths vs Parade - 32 points.Like Monash, Parade are missing a dominant goal scorer teams at our level seem to need. They do share their the goals around, but have struggled to kick a big score. Weather permitting, I think this could be the week they crack the tonne. With Spitty the only one to consistently kick goals, I expect a couple but don't think he will kick a bag and will be a team effort.

Good luck to all this weekend.

I agree Smudger. Its just another example of how much PA get talked about on here. I also got sucked into this based on last year however am not convinced they are really that good or even Therry for that matter. BT versus Eltham is deserving of match of the round status.

Didn't Prahran almost double Eltham's score last round? After this round they will be in second spot.

I'm not convinced watching Bulleen flog teams is worthy of match of the round... but I am happy to eat humble pie come Saturday if this isn't the case.

Round 3 Preview

Paradians over Emmaus by 21 Pts (The Wattle Park boys are yet to raise the bat for three figures cumulatively in eight quarters of football, so I do not expect a sudden turn of events here. Parade was much better last week with David Boundy leading from the front and should be a little too strong).
Bulleen over the Gryphs by 56 Pts (I have already stated that the Bullants look far better than anyone else and I don’t expect the Gryphons to be able to quell their midfield dominance. Add to the mix an attacking backline and a plethora of goal scoring options and you have a very well-oiled machine indeed. Monash will try and rough up the Bulleen boys early on, but it will have little or no effect).
Therry over South by 38 Pts (Whilst Districts would have a spring in their step after last week’s result, it will be short lived due to Therry’s superior firepower. Luke Kowalski to continue his fine start to the season).
SMS over Latrobe by 26 Pts (A real ‘8 pointer’ for the Combine even this early on and one which can help their cause no end. The Trobers have even been less successful in front of goal than Emmaus so I simply cannot see them kicking a competitive score. I suspect the home side will try and shut down the game – even on their giant ground – and mitigate the damage. St Mary’s comfortably).
Prahran over Eltham by 9 Pts (Clear match of the day for mine and the jury is still out regarding the Turtles so looking forward immensely to this result. I feel that the Four Blues will run and carry the footy a little too efficiently for their visitors; however, I would not be surprised if Eltham made them earn it every step of the way as they have been ultra-impressive so far against weaker opposition. Close call).

Round 3 Review

4/5 (for a cumulative total of 10/15) was pleasing enough, but didn’t nearly everyone have the same tips last weekend? The only upset in my view was the spirited performance at Bundoora by the Trobers in the wet. Bigger bodies clearly suited by the ‘in and under’ conditions. Jack McMeel was the difference in the second half as the home side posted their first victory of the season.
The best contest of the round was at Bennettswood where despite leading all day, Emmaus gave up the points to a plucky Parade in the final term. Warren Jeffery and Wayne Connelly (sounds like names from a bygone era…) wanted it more than the home side when it ultimately mattered. St Leo’s were far better and a win is around the corner. I see no reason to state there is an obvious ‘cellar dweller’ based on evidence from the opening three rounds; however, it is clear to me that Bulleen-Templestowe are the yardstick of D2. The Ants never got out of first gear, yet demolished the Gryphons to the tune of 12 goals. It is that air of invincibility that surrounds them at present that has me comparing them to Prahran of 2011 or St Bede’s in C Section a few of years back. Therry defeated South, but perhaps not as easily as many envisaged with Districts looking better with each week. The final margin at Toorak Park belies the evenness of this contest for the bulk of the day. No doubt the Turtles are a quality unit but so are the Four Blues who thanks to Jimmy Musster took the chocolates in the final term.

Round 4 Preview

A most defining round from a tipping perspective with cases for almost every team to win…

Bullants over Turtles by 38 Pts (Top of the table clash that should ensure plenty of interest from fans and pundits alike but can only see this going one way despite the confidence the Turtles hold in protecting their home patch. Expect a big game from Justin Khouri as Bulleen shorten into the red for the flag).
SMS over the Gryphs by 3 Pts (Even though I do not expect either of these teams to feature at the business end of the season, I feel this may be the match of the round. The leg speed and skills of the combine against the no holes barred aggression of the feisty Gryphons is a mouth-watering proposal. Sid Jones to be best afield).
Prahran over Therry by 21 Pts (Even though both sides sit 2 and 1 and the Lions are at home I rate the Four Blues a much better side and feel they will show their credentials with a hard fought but decisive win. It will be close in the first half, but I suspect Adam Sleight will kick a ‘Michelle’ at least and keep the lads from Fawkner at bay).
Trobers over Emmaus by 11 Pts (It seems that Latrobe is the team I cannot select correctly and if this continues Emmaus should notch up their first win. However, if they play with the passion of last week and the fact that it may be under similar conditions has me selecting the students. I will take either Barenello Brother for best on ground).
Districts by 10 Pts over Paradians (Another game that could clearly go either way, but the home ground advantage of the animal enclosure at Lindsay Hassett may be enough to see the Bloods over the line. Josh Lambert to continue his good form).

Good luck to all

Quasi

Round 3 Preview

Paradians over Emmaus by 21 Pts (The Wattle Park boys are yet to raise the bat for three figures cumulatively in eight quarters of football, so I do not expect a sudden turn of events here. Parade was much better last week with David Boundy leading from the front and should be a little too strong).
Bulleen over the Gryphs by 56 Pts (I have already stated that the Bullants look far better than anyone else and I don’t expect the Gryphons to be able to quell their midfield dominance. Add to the mix an attacking backline and a plethora of goal scoring options and you have a very well-oiled machine indeed. Monash will try and rough up the Bulleen boys early on, but it will have little or no effect).
Therry over South by 38 Pts (Whilst Districts would have a spring in their step after last week’s result, it will be short lived due to Therry’s superior firepower. Luke Kowalski to continue his fine start to the season).
SMS over Latrobe by 26 Pts (A real ‘8 pointer’ for the Combine even this early on and one which can help their cause no end. The Trobers have even been less successful in front of goal than Emmaus so I simply cannot see them kicking a competitive score. I suspect the home side will try and shut down the game – even on their giant ground – and mitigate the damage. St Mary’s comfortably).
Prahran over Eltham by 9 Pts (Clear match of the day for mine and the jury is still out regarding the Turtles so looking forward immensely to this result. I feel that the Four Blues will run and carry the footy a little too efficiently for their visitors; however, I would not be surprised if Eltham made them earn it every step of the way as they have been ultra-impressive so far against weaker opposition. Close call).

Round 3 Review

4/5 (for a cumulative total of 10/15) was pleasing enough, but didn’t nearly everyone have the same tips last weekend? The only upset in my view was the spirited performance at Bundoora by the Trobers in the wet. Bigger bodies clearly suited by the ‘in and under’ conditions. Jack McMeel was the difference in the second half as the home side posted their first victory of the season.
The best contest of the round was at Bennettswood where despite leading all day, Emmaus gave up the points to a plucky Parade in the final term. Warren Jeffery and Wayne Connelly (sounds like names from a bygone era…) wanted it more than the home side when it ultimately mattered. St Leo’s were far better and a win is around the corner. I see no reason to state there is an obvious ‘cellar dweller’ based on evidence from the opening three rounds; however, it is clear to me that Bulleen-Templestowe are the yardstick of D2. The Ants never got out of first gear, yet demolished the Gryphons to the tune of 12 goals. It is that air of invincibility that surrounds them at present that has me comparing them to Prahran of 2011 or St Bede’s in C Section a few of years back. Therry defeated South, but perhaps not as easily as many envisaged with Districts looking better with each week. The final margin at Toorak Park belies the evenness of this contest for the bulk of the day. No doubt the Turtles are a quality unit but so are the Four Blues who thanks to Jimmy Musster took the chocolates in the final term.

Round 4 Preview

A most defining round from a tipping perspective with cases for almost every team to win…

Bullants over Turtles by 38 Pts (Top of the table clash that should ensure plenty of interest from fans and pundits alike but can only see this going one way despite the confidence the Turtles hold in protecting their home patch. Expect a big game from Justin Khouri as Bulleen shorten into the red for the flag).
SMS over the Gryphs by 3 Pts (Even though I do not expect either of these teams to feature at the business end of the season, I feel this may be the match of the round. The leg speed and skills of the combine against the no holes barred aggression of the feisty Gryphons is a mouth-watering proposal. Sid Jones to be best afield).
Prahran over Therry by 21 Pts (Even though both sides sit 2 and 1 and the Lions are at home I rate the Four Blues a much better side and feel they will show their credentials with a hard fought but decisive win. It will be close in the first half, but I suspect Adam Sleight will kick a ‘Michelle’ at least and keep the lads from Fawkner at bay).
Trobers over Emmaus by 11 Pts (It seems that Latrobe is the team I cannot select correctly and if this continues Emmaus should notch up their first win. However, if they play with the passion of last week and the fact that it may be under similar conditions has me selecting the students. I will take either Barenello Brother for best on ground).
Districts by 10 Pts over Paradians (Another game that could clearly go either way, but the home ground advantage of the animal enclosure at Lindsay Hassett may be enough to see the Bloods over the line. Josh Lambert to continue his good form).

Good luck to all

Quasi

Hey Quasi.....We are not from Fawkner Pal....!!!

A couple of very interesting games this round that are likely to sort the contenders from the pretenders:

Old Eltham vs Bulleen Templestowe >> First vs Second has to be the Match of the Day and a big test for both teams to see where they are this early in the season. Despite last week's loss still rate the Turtles highly and reckon they get the goods here.
St Marys Salesian vs Monash Gryphons >> Both teams looking for another win and don't know why but think it'll be the Grypo's.
Therry Penola vs Prahran >> Would be MotD except for the one out at Research. A big test for both teams as it tightens up at the top. Fancy the Two Blues can get the points from the Oak Park boys.
La Trobe University vs Emmaus St Leos >> The Students got on the winning list last week and should make it two on the trot on their paddock.
South Melbourne vs Old Paradians >> The Raiders are on a roll and should be able to account for the Swans in this one

Heading out to eltham today with invested interest in the young Bullants. Will be first time seeing them this year. With no disrespect whatsoever to the teams they've played to date, I've been a little bit surprised by the nature of their wins. Taking nothing away from the boys either,as they're on a roll,but i do wonder how much of a drop it is from D1. I know they've improved a heap, but to this magnitude, I'll find out today i guess. Good luck all.

Well Rusty08, what did you see? Time to pull on the boots again old chap!

Ha! Very impressed mate. The coach has them up and about.they were tested by the more seasoned bodies of eltham but i think fitness and a bit more polish saw them come home with the 4 points.witnessed one of the best individual efforts by the skip in the last q when game was up grabs. Elthams ground was in amazing nick. Big wide ground easy to get a bit lost out on the wings. Think there's a definite drop in standard as you might expect,but overall an enjoyable game to watch.

I'm guessing the way the scores went, there was a fair breeze? Eltham struggled more in to the wind?

Probably 3 to 4 goal max . Bit swirly, but definitely favoured one end. Bt looked alot more dangerous going forward, with alot more options it seemed. Did eltham struggle more into the breeze? You could say so. My guess would be that they'd be disappointed not making the most of the breeze in the first q . That put them behind the 8 ball in my opinion.

Attended my 1st game this year out at Oak Park on a blustery & cold arvo- wasn't disappointed by the standard & intensity of the game and both sides had a fair crack.PA appeared to have the game in hand most of the day until an umpire interfered in the 3rd quarter and gifted Therry 3 goals which added scoreboard interest - these decisions appeared to confound both teams. I noticed PA had around 7-8 new players from last year. Therry had some good talls and Egglestone down back seems a player most teams will have to deal with. Pell was good for PA. From what I've read on the forum both teams are expected to play finals and from what I saw will go close after looking at other results so far. An entertaining game in trying conditions.

Wasn't a good week for tipsters with a couple of upsets. Looks like PA have regrouped and are on the rebound. What is happening out at Ferndale Park? Started off with a bang but have been in steady decline since.

Progressive 11/15

Eltham vs Bulleen - 56 points. Even those these two teams are 1 and 2, I don't think merits match of the round as it will be a very one sided affair. The Bullant juggernaut has rolled in to town and it's going to take some great improvement to stop them. Eltham just don't have the run to keep up with them on the big ground. Pace is on fire and will be hard to stop.

St Mary's vs Monash - 26 points. Big game for both teams. Whoever loses this will lose touch with the body of the competition and will be playing out the rest of the season in no mans land. Gryphons lacking direction towards goal but having played the top two already are better than they appear on paper. As already stated the return of McConville will be the difference.

Therry vs Prahran - 8 points. I do think this will be match of the round as it will be a hard fought contest with the winner probably slipping in to second spot. I expect a bit of a shootout as both teams move the ball well forward. With Killer Kowalski up one end and Sleight up the other I expect this to be a top game.

Latrobe vs Emmaus - 15 points. Battle of the cellar dwellers. I have to give this to home ground advantage. Also Latrobe will want to be out of the relegation zone, so it's a more important game for them. No standout players to speak of and expect both teams to be more looking forward to a beer at the end.

Souths vs Parade - 32 points.Like Monash, Parade are missing a dominant goal scorer teams at our level seem to need. They do share their the goals around, but have struggled to kick a big score. Weather permitting, I think this could be the week they crack the tonne. With Spitty the only one to consistently kick goals, I expect a couple but don't think he will kick a bag and will be a team effort.

Good luck to all this weekend.

All went according to plan last weekend except the thumping Latrobe received as Emmaus lifted themselves out of relegation zone. Only four rounds played and already it is down to a six horse race for finals.

Progressive 15/20

Emmaus vs South Melbourne - 6 points. Tough game to pick here and I'll call this match of the round. Important game for both clubs to put a gap between them and relegation. Normally I would have gone for Souths but the win last week from Emmaus has got me thinking. They also took it right up to Parade the week before. Close contest and will pick the home team with the Baranello boys to continue their stellar form.

Bulleen vs Therry - 45 points. I rate Therry to be very strong contenders for that fourth spot on the ladder but they are no match for the top 3(Ants, 4Blues and Turtles). The Bulleen midfield sets up the forwards so well with run and spread. This has resulted in Bulleen having 4 of the top 8 goal kickers in the comp. Since going forward Khouri has been building up to kicking a bag and think this weekend might be it.

Monash vs Latrobe - 56 points. Devastating loss for Latrobe last week and think things will only get worse from here. Will be a long season and hard to keep the lads motivated. Gryphons are playing well but have failed to really smash these lowly teams as their percentage shows. With showers clearing I expect the Gryphons bigs to come in to play, so expect Heppell to shine.

Eltham vs St Marys - 72 points. SMS have some real problems at the moment. Really struggle up forward and the only players who seem to want to go get the ball are the young smalls. It wont be an enjoyable trip out to Eltham as Ciavola will want to hit back after being well contained last week.

Parade vs Prahran - 51 points. Parade have probably had the easiest draw of anyone thus far, but their hold on third spot will be short lived having to face 4Blues, Ants and Turtles in the next 3 weeks. I would expect them to be 6th at that stage and will probably finish up there at the end of the season. They won't have anyone to handle the class of the likes of Musster and Pell delivering the ball to Sleight up forward. Should be an easy game for the Four Blues running out comfortable winners.

Good luck for the weekend all!

tips for the week
Emmaus vs South Melbourne 5 points
Bulleen vs Therry 18 points
Monash vs Latrobe 30 points
Eltham vs St Marys 24 points
Parade vs Prahran 25 points

Round 4 Preview

Round 4 Review

2/5 (12/20 cumulative) was back to earth with a thud from a tipping perspective, but I did predict a tough round with every match a chance of going either way.

Bulleen franked their superb early form with a tough win at Eltham. The Bullants set up the win with an excellent first quarter into the breeze and hence held a winning break at the half. The Turtles tried their best but the visitors had too many guns such as Kris Cherbakov and Paul Florance.

The Four Blues kept Therry goalless in the second term and went upon their merry way with a strong win on the road. The Oak Park boys no match for the likes of Cardinal Pell and Jimmy Musster.

The Trobers were bitterly disappointing on their home patch in a match that was never really a contest after half time. Full credit to Emmaus in notching their first win and doing it so impressively, pushing Latrobe into a perilous position at the foot of the table.

Take note of the name Bryce Griesheimer, who is likely to cause opposition backlines trouble all year and has earned the tag ‘Recruit of the Year’, in some circles. The sort of extra strong forward the Gryphs have needed for ages and he is taking the heat off Harry Madden and Kye Cherian. It seems I have under-rated the Gryphs somewhat who dismantled the Saints with ease on their home ground and who may be able to match it with most in this grade.

Finally, South will rue a second half where they could only manage one goal to Parade’s 8 and subsequently blew a six goal lead at the half to fall short by three points. Could be a very costly loss for the Bloods who were arguably left wanting when it counted by the likes of Dan Giddings and Sean Miller. Full credit to the Paradians perseverance who now have their season well back on track.

Round 5 Preview

Emmaus over Bloods by 8 Pts (Certainly could go either way and South will no doubt want to atone for last week’s capitulation, but I reckon I’ll select the home team in a flip of the coin. Nic ‘Rockin’ Robin to star for the home side).
Bullants over Therry by 67 Pts (If Bulleen hit top gear, this margin may be conservative to say the least, but I feel Therry may make a game of this for a time before the Ants pull well clear. Mick Pace to be best afield).
Gryphs over Trobers by 51 Pts (Surely complacency is the only thing that could stop this being a rout. Monash midfield led by Matt Fletcher to crush Latrobe and send them further into the relegation mire).
Eltham over SMS by 73 Pts (The Turtles are a pretty handy outfit and should crush the hapless Saints by a big margin. Ben O’Malley to be amongst the best for the home side).
Prahran over Paradians by 15 Pts (Clear match of the day for mine and I feel the Blues will be made to work very hard to secure the win. Parade showed fighting qualities seldom displayed in this grade last week and if they can play with that spirit they will go close. Of course there is an argument that they will be crushed due to the fact of letting themselves fall six goals behind South…Jimmy Musster to be a class above).

Good luck to all

Quasi

Emmaus St Leos vs South Melbourne - A critical game for both teams as they strive to keep above the relegation zone. Both have been competative in the past fortnight with the nod going to the home team.
Bulleen Templestowe vs Therry Penola - The Bullants first home game and they have handled all-comers so far to be strong premiership favourites.
Monash Gryphons vs La Trobe University - The Grypho's meet another struggling club and have handled these well so far and therefore should register a solid win against an injury-depleted Students team.
Old Eltham vs St Marys Salesian - After a good start two heavy losses have hurt the Turtles but they should be able to get above 50% with a win here over the Saints who haven't fired since their surprise round one win.
Old Paradians vs Prahran - Match of the Round and a critical test for the Raiders who have just snuck home in recent weeks, while the two Blues have recovered from their first week stumble. Giving the home team a slight edge here.

Has anyone else noted a trend in games being really close until the three quarter time and then sides are kicking away? Maybe fitness will be a key component to success this season in D2 footy.