Prahran
Eltham
Sth Melb
Monash
Therry
ESL
SMS
Latrobe

Kidding yourself rocket the team only won a single match last year and La Trobe a quality unit don't try put them under the radar.

Parade (Boundy to rip it apart)
Prahran (Solid team)
Eltham (new players to make a difference)
Therry (Strong club good depth)
BT (Keep hearing young but should do ok a div lower)
La Trobe (Everyone losers players not buying in to the under sell)
Sth M (didnt like there draw could surprise a few)
Monash (last 3 any order, find it hard to see them winning effort games for finals)
SMS
ESL

Kidding yourself rocket the team only won a single match last year and La Trobe a quality unit don't try put them under the radar.

Parade (Boundy to rip it apart)
Prahran (Solid team)
Eltham (new players to make a difference)
Therry (Strong club good depth)
BT (Keep hearing young but should do ok a div lower)
La Trobe (Everyone losers players not buying in to the under sell)
Sth M (didnt like there draw could surprise a few)
Monash (last 3 any order, find it hard to see them winning effort games for finals)
SMS
ESL
Mate like I keep telling people, they are flying, 3 from 3 thus far, all relatively comfortable:
Pumped Therry
Beat Banyule who will be in C grade this year (didn't have proper side in, but still, fair effort)
They will be very competitive and I belive they will take out Div 2.

Jos Opt' Hoog is one to watch this year for the saints. Has had a big pre-season and looking fit and raring to go! Nick Jane looking lean and quick as well. Looks like nobody is giving the saints much hope this year...we are quietly confident! A lot better than the bottom 2 everyone is predicting.

Guru ur a flog

Too early for rnd 1 predictions? Probably but I'm doing them anyway.

Monash Gryphons 12 Points
vs
South Melbourne Districts

Old Paradians 24 points
vs
St Mary's Salesian

Therry Penola 19 points
vs
Emmaus St Leos OC

La Trobe University
vs
Eltham Collegians 36 points

Prahran Assumption 2 points
vs
Bulleen Templestowe

Hi Poet, this name calling is just plain hurtful (sad face). Janeo moves at the pace of a glacier thats moving particularly slow even for a glacier! Good to see that the boys are confident and i hope they tear it apart. I think they will have more depth this year but could be a little lean at the top. Happy to be proven wrong.

Guru out!

Don't really understand why your so pessimistic Guru. Really exciting times ahead down at ferndale. The influx of talented juniors will outweigh the influence of any obese CHF 'guns' we've picked up in the past. This along with a coach that actually has a game plan and structures will see massive improvement this season. Can't be any worse than the last couple of seasons anyway...

Seem to recall a game against eventually premiers st johns last season. Half the team were u19s. Don't have to be a seasoned footballer to apply pressure and follow structures. We'll go alright this year.

'poet out'

Too early for rnd 1 predictions? Probably but I'm doing them anyway.

Monash Gryphons 12 Points
vs
South Melbourne Districts

Old Paradians 24 points
vs
St Mary's Salesian

Therry Penola 19 points
vs
Emmaus St Leos OC

La Trobe University
vs
Eltham Collegians 36 points

Prahran Assumption 2 points
vs
Bulleen Templestowe

Is this guy taking the piss??

Why would he be taking the piss? Because he didn't pick your beloved BT? Least he had a crack.
For what it's worth here are my tips and no I'm not taking the yellow stuff

Eltham v Latrobe - Eltham
Prahran v Bulleen Temp - prahran by 3 goals
Monash v Sth Melb - Sth Melb by 4 goals
Therry v Emmaus - Therry by 6 goals
Parade v St Mary's - Parade by 10 goals

Some very good games first up

i am a little bit of a lower grade VAFA fancier, watching lots of D2 and D3 football.

I do believe that PA will go through the season undefeated (injuries permitting).

I did wonder down to Binnak Park to see the boys from PA tackle a stronger looking Paradians unit.

Paradians got the chocolates on this occasstion, but PA fielded a less than satisfactory side. This is due to them not caring about the preamble to what is looking to be a brutal season....

My prediction is as follows gents:
PA
Penola
Paradians
Monash
BT
La Trobe
Salesian
South Melb
Leos
Eltham

Additionally, I need to justify monash's 4th position finish. They look to be an over weight stumpy looking unit, but i did watch there finals series last year coming from the lower half of the 5 and making it to the GF, beating the boys from the Yarra Valley. If they can consistently perform to a level near their finals performance, look out D2, as they are a confidence side.
Players such as Cherian, Wills, McCormack, Savas and Munro all have what it takes to take the game away from opposition sides.

I would appreciate some feedback as I like general chit chat regarding lower level footy, as I enjoy observing this level...

Cheers Big Footy sledgers...

whoami that is a big call re Eltham finishing bottom they had a good side last year playing n the finals and they have picked quite a few handy players from the NFL this year i think they will be a challanger again this year my ladder
PA
Eltham
Paradians
BT
Penola
not sure about the rest anyone of them could drop depending on injuries and luck good or bad
South Melb
Monash
La Trobe
Salesian
Leos

whoami that is a big call re Eltham finishing bottom they had a good side last year playing n the finals and they have picked quite a few handy players from the NFL this year i think they will be a challanger again this year my ladder
PA
Eltham
Paradians
BT
Penola
not sure about the rest anyone of them could drop depending on injuries and luck good or bad
South Melb
Monash
La Trobe
Salesian
Leos

Sorry "majicjman" i know very little about eltham as where i reside is no where near that part of town...

Have not watched them at all.

Therefore, your point is valid. They will finish 2nd last as opposed to last after your evidence...

Sorry "majicjman" i know very little about eltham as where i reside is no where near that part of town...

Have not watched them at all.

Therefore, your point is valid. They will finish 2nd last as opposed to last after your evidence...

if your ladder is based on geography then it's all over the shop

With the exception of "who am I" ,whose ladder is based on longitude and latitude, Eltham are getting a little bit of press. All be it from bigfooty experts but thats all we have to go on in the lower depths of the VAFA. Nice home ground advantage out there as most teams have a stitch after running around the square in the warm up. I still think Prahran though.

And Poet, im not pessemistic just realistic. There are some good kids coming through at SMS and if you can keep that group together next year they will be a force but i feel they will be bullyed around at times but will suprise at times this year. Playing a practice game this week i may wander down and take notes. There is one new bloke who will take some stopping this year, you'll know who he is after round one when he has kicked 5.

Guru Out!!

Why would he be taking the piss? Because he didn't pick your beloved BT? Least he had a crack.
For what it's worth here are my tips and no I'm not taking the yellow stuff

Eltham v Latrobe - Eltham
Prahran v Bulleen Temp - prahran by 3 goals
Monash v Sth Melb - Sth Melb by 4 goals
Therry v Emmaus - Therry by 6 goals
Parade v St Mary's - Parade by 10 goals

Some very good games first up
Hahaha mate, please!! I just think predictions are useless at this time of year considering there is no evidence to go off except practise matches and its hard to really get a grasp on things from practice matches. Just looking forward to seeing round 1 roll around.
Game of the round:
Prahran vs BT- Toorak park...sure to be a cracker!
OUT!

Just a quick observation in regards to the opinions on this forum. Prahan are seen to be one of the flag favs yet their follow D3 side Monash are set to be in the bottom couple (in most eyes here). Last year Monash played Prahan 3 times first being level at half time and getting over run (rd2 would say lack of fitness), lost by a kick 2nd time round and were still in the GF at 3 qtr time until the fresh legs of the Prahan run away with it as monash played 3 extra finals.

Now i think this forum has either underrated Monash or have massivly overrated PA.

Hahaha mate, please!! I just think predictions are useless at this time of year considering there is no evidence to go off except practise matches and its hard to really get a grasp on things from practice matches. Just looking forward to seeing round 1 roll around.
Game of the round:
OUT!

Mate I totally agree it is very hard to know how sides are going to go after only playing practice matches. Doesn't mean people can't have an opinion on who they think will win, that's what the forum is for.

I agree with you also think that will be match of the round, some other games will be close too I reckon

Game of the round:
OUT!

If I read your post correctly it went as follows

1. It is useless making predictions at this time of year
2. You then predicted game of the round

If I read your post correctly it went as follows

1. It is useless making predictions at this time of year
2. You then predicted game of the round

I'm not trying to predict results buddy! I'm just stating that based on what this forum has told me and results i've seen and heard I believe that it will be a cracking game. Also agree with you Arthur, forums are for people's opinions, sorry champ.
OUT!

Just a quick observation in regards to the opinions on this forum. Prahan are seen to be one of the flag favs yet their follow D3 side Monash are set to be in the bottom couple (in most eyes here). Last year Monash played Prahan 3 times first being level at half time and getting over run (rd2 would say lack of fitness), lost by a kick 2nd time round and were still in the GF at 3 qtr time until the fresh legs of the Prahan run away with it as monash played 3 extra finals.

Now i think this forum has either underrated Monash or have massivly overrated PA.

Top4: Just to clarify things. The three times PA played Monash last year they had come off tough games against Yarra and/or they had injuries. Both Parsons and mussaster were out in the close one at monash's home deck, but please, dont put the two in the same bracket...

I do think that Monash has what it takes at times to mix it with the best, but due to their stumpy, slow midfield, they cannot sustain it through and entire season.

PA boys to go through undefeated. Been smashing the gym all summer, running day and night, whereas I bet the monash boys spent most of their preseason at the local sinking pots!

WhoAmI? :confused:

Jos Opt' Hoog is one to watch this year for the saints. Has had a big pre-season and looking fit and raring to go! Nick Jane looking lean and quick as well. Looks like nobody is giving the saints much hope this year...we are quietly confident! A lot better than the bottom 2 everyone is predicting.

Guru ur a flog

Wouldn't be pumping your own tyres up her Nick would you....????