Do supporters of "poor clubs" get sick of their club's plight?

Focus on realty mate, your club does not draw a crowd or a TV audience so why would the AFL give you the slot when The Blues, Pies, Dons, Tigers, Hawkes, Cats, will get them numbers to make money. your club costs not make and thems the facts.

Facts are they? Do you honestly think without the 3 lowest drawing Vic clubs who receive a what a whopping $5m between them(as compensation for a poor draw ect) that the TV rights deal would be more or less? Id be betting on significantly less than $5m a year, much much less in fact.

And this rot of not drawing a crowd, so we get no1 that turns up, no1 at all? So far we've averaged 28k per home game at ES which apparently away team supporters hate going to, while losing most weeks, plus having one of the crappest draw ever, which widely accepted by non North people. Yet regardless of that half the comp averages less than 35k and yet 28k with some 28,000 members is totally unacceptable.

Me thinks some people just arent happy unless sinking the boots.

Facts are they? Do you honestly think without the 3 lowest drawing Vic clubs who receive a what a whopping $5m between them(as compensation for a poor draw ect) that the TV rights deal would be more or less? Id be betting on significantly less than $5m a year, much much less in fact.

And this rot of not drawing a crowd, so we get no1 that turns up, no1 at all? So far we've averaged 28k per home game at ES which apparently away team supporters hate going to, while losing most weeks, plus having one of the crappest draw ever, which widely accepted by non North people. Yet regardless of that half the comp averages less than 35k and yet 28k with some 28,000 members is totally unacceptable.

Me thinks some people just arent happy unless sinking the boots.

Let me get this straight you think North draw a crowd ?

Edit, I went along to the Carlton V North game last year with my family and a Family on North supporters the little girl from the Noth family said to her dad "daddy why is everyone in Carlton jumpers" So i looked around the crowd and other than the one section you could hardly see an area that did not have more Carlton jumpers than North jumpers.

Collingwood Magpies 9 539,084 59,898 Essendon Bombers 9 461,977 51,331 Carlton Blues 9 457,971 50,886 Richmond Tigers 10 448,737 44,874 Geelong Cats 9 381,446 42,383 Hawthorn Hawks 9 360,607 40,067 St Kilda Saints 9 336,868 37,430 West Coast Eagles 9 311,784 34,643 Adelaide Crows 9 310,029 34,448 Western Bulldogs 9 295,028 32,781 Fremantle Dockers 9 292,535 32,504 Melbourne Demons 9 276,495 30,722 North Melbourne Kangaroos 9 253,563 28,174 Sydney Swans 9 241,008 26,779 Brisbane Lions 9 233,474 25,942 Port Adelaide Power 10 222,169 22,217 Gold Coast Suns 8 199,437 24,930

North fans like to "whinge" about inventing/pioneering the Friday night timeslot. I just had a look at a few sample years in the late 80's & early 90's & WC at the WACA & Sydney at the SCG played more Friday night games than North Melbourne. Claiming you are entitled to this right is rather selfish given other clubs did more for it & do not complain about not getting any Friday night games now.

Collingwood Magpies 9 539,084 59,898 Essendon Bombers 9 461,977 51,331 Carlton Blues 9 457,971 50,886 Richmond Tigers 10 448,737 44,874 Geelong Cats 9 381,446 42,383 Hawthorn Hawks 9 360,607 40,067 St Kilda Saints 9 336,868 37,430 West Coast Eagles 9 311,784 34,643 Adelaide Crows 9 310,029 34,448 Western Bulldogs 9 295,028 32,781 Fremantle Dockers 9 292,535 32,504 Melbourne Demons 9 276,495 30,722 North Melbourne Kangaroos 9 253,563 28,174 Sydney Swans 9 241,008 26,779 Brisbane Lions 9 233,474 25,942 Port Adelaide Power 10 222,169 22,217 Gold Coast Suns 8 199,437 24,930

I see, 30k, 32k, 34k they are crowds. 28k isnt a crowd, technically its classed a few people standing around......or perhaps lost? Thanks for the clearing up the definition.

It wonderful having fair minding people like yourself looking out for my clubs best interests. Perhaps you could go for Demetriou's job since he has NFI.

Posters say I'm harsh on culture cancers at the club and certain assistants without the ability, but
the fact is North can't afford to take the attitude that Scott will follow a Malthouse type progression and all the bad times will come to fruition some day. There's not a heap to suggest North will climb the mountain the way they are going about things. There's also the thought that other sides decent players were averaging similar stats at a similar age, but with a player without a football brain, all this means nothing.

Fed up with the plight isn't exactly the case, as being a North supporter is and should be more rewarding than following a mob, one team town or a club with an open platter from the AFL.

The frustration comes from losing members, momentum and games from simple stupidity and selections the club can't afford. Last time I checked the club was not in a position to carry liabilities that butcher the ball and infect the whole side, week in week out.

They are going nowhere and is something the club can't afford. The money problems and crowds are directly linked to selections and lack of flow on the ground.

The club needs some hard decisions that will put the club on course for success and not just go through the motions eroding the culture and membership by the day.

Expectations are higher for a team that cannot afford to be in the under performing, predictable position they are in. It's simply not acceptable for a coach to come in and take North backwards. The list is good and largely injury free, they are shooting themselves in the foot and the sooner they remove Thomas and Hansen from the forward line, the sooner the club can gain momentum and get rid of the building to fail that has cursed the club over the last decade.

The plight is tough at times, but unless the club plays tough they will end up screwed.

This is where they are at and whether they can turn it around with the current selection policy and ignorance towards scoring or flow is anybodies guess.

I don't like this notion that North supporters "don't show up."
Go around your office/school/creche and do a survey of support of Victorian clubs. Can guarantee you that the level of North supporters will be the lowest by a fair margin. Yet if you compare our membership numbers with a team such as the Dogs, we're fairly comparable (yet the Dogs would comfortably have more supporters) and this is reflected in plenty of games.

The issue at hand is not North supporters "not turning up" moreso, that we have very few supporters - and that's something we need to rectify i.e. why we keep ****ting ourselves to different markets, giving unprecedented access to the media and various other initiatives - but the fact of the matter is, at this stage we have very little going for us in terms of on-field success, and are continually hounded by the media.

In regards to the topic at hand; I don't get sick of my club being poor. I can't tell the difference. I go watch training and take a tour through some of the best facilities in the country. We play at the Dome, and I sit amongst other North reserved seat members, which are always full and where there's a great atmosphere. I don't waste time queuing for food or to take a piss.
What I get sick of, is the constant scare mongering in the media telling me North are going to collapse any day. North supporters and the club are very well aware of the predicament the club is in, but it doesn't need to be rammed down our throats. If anything, this media attention only serves to cast a negative light over the club and diminish potential future support.

North fans like to "whinge" about inventing/pioneering the Friday night timeslot. I just had a look at a few sample years in the late 80's & early 90's & WC at the WACA & Sydney at the SCG played more Friday night games than North Melbourne. Claiming you are entitled to this right is rather selfish given other clubs did more for it & do not complain about not getting any Friday night games now.

And in Melbourne?

In 91 when Essendon moved to the G they specifically only played say arvo games because they said that Friday nights would never work.

The frustration comes from losing members ...

You do know we're on track for our second highest membership total ever?

The list is good and largely injury free ...

Yeah, what a great run we've had with injuries this year.

BTW - as I pointed out earlier, real North supporters say "we", not "they" when describing the club.

Yeah, what a great run we've had with injuries this year.

BTW - as I pointed out earlier, real North supporters say "we", not "they" when describing the club.

'The' club, haven't you heard it's 'My' club apparently.

Prefer it when you post like a greeny rather than an idealistic, social child.

And in Melbourne?

In 91 when Essendon moved to the G they specifically only played say arvo games because they said that Friday nights would never work.

Last time I checked, the AFL is a national based game, not a Melbourne based game. This is just a selected sample size of the late 80's, early 90's.

88' - WC - 4, North - 2, Sydney - 4
89' - WC - 4, North - 4, Sydney - 4
90' - WC - 7, North - 3, Sydney - 3
91' - WC - 4, North - 4, Sydney - 2

Overall - WC - 19, North - 13, Sydney - 13.

Friday night was always about television & it's ratings thus the Melbourne point is irrelevant. Why are North entitled to Friday night & seen to be the pioneer of this concept when they attracted low attendances & other clubs had more of the slot when it was taking off?

I love how no one accepts the blame for their own dire situation.... :eek:

Yes, all North supporters and staff are lazy, awful people. You are right.

FFS, North runs on the smell of an oily rag with minimal staff and a loyal group of volunteers. I would bet that they work a damn side harder than the staff at Collingwood, Essendon or West Coast for example.

For all these supporters of "big" clubs who ridicule our operation, what should we do better?

Dismissing the opportunity to jump in a time machine and go back 110 years and change some historical and geographical factors, what in 2011 could/should we do better? How can we (or Footscray, Melbourne, Port) better compete off-field, utilising the resources we have available?

NB: getting people to turn up to games isn't an acceptable answer.

Last time I checked, the AFL is a national based game, not a Melbourne based game. This is just a selected sample size of the late 80's, early 90's.

88' - WC - 4, North - 2, Sydney - 4
89' - WC - 4, North - 4, Sydney - 4
90' - WC - 7, North - 3, Sydney - 3
91' - WC - 4, North - 4, Sydney - 2

Overall - WC - 19, North - 13, Sydney - 13.

Friday night was always about television & it's ratings thus the Melbourne point is irrelevant. Why are North entitled to Friday night & seen to be the pioneer of this concept when they attracted low attendances & other clubs had more of the slot when it was taking off?

The first Australian rules matches on Friday nights were introduced in 1985 when the North Melbourne Football Club pioneered the world first initiative. At this time, these games were irregularly scheduled, and they only involved North Melbourne

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Friday_Night_Football_(Australia)#Australian_Football_League

I also liked you selective years quoting. Here's some more.

1993: 18 (11 MCG, 3 WACA, 2 SCG, 2 Football Park)

1994: 15 (10 MCG, 3 WACA, 1 SCG, 1 Football Park)

1995: 21 (15 MCG, 2 WACA, 2 Football Park, 1 SCG, 1 Gabba; 1 Final @ MCG included)

1996: 23 (15 MCG, 3 WACA, 3 Gabba, 1 SCG, 1 Football Park; 1 Final @ Gabba included; Multiple FNF games twice during season)

1997: 22 (11 MCG, 3 WACA, 3 Football Park, 2 Subiaco, 2 SCG, 1 Gabba; 1 Final @ MCG included)

1998: 23 (15 MCG, 3 WACA, 2 Gabba, 2 Subiaco, 1 Football Park; 2 Finals @ MCG included)

1999: 24 (23 MCG, 1 Football Park; 2 Finals @ MCG included, 1 cast of multiple

In 1993 we played 6 (home and away) Friday night games.

In 1994 we played 8.

In 1995 we played 7.

So yeah, apart from being the team to push for it, play in the first one, then stick with it Collingwood quickly abandoned it, play the most games when it was developing and be widely known by everyone - apart from you - as being the team that broke it, nah, no other real association.

I will always respect in highest regard those that fight and give their all that their club will survive rather than some poncy ****ters who think the world owes them a living because there is a commensurate number of similarly brain dead ****wits amongst their number.

Bravo!!:thumbsu:

The plight looks to be a lost cause.

Backs S.McMahon 42 L.Delaney 45 S.Thompson 16
Half Backs B.Cunnington 10 J.MacMillan 34 B.Rawlings 3
Centreline D.Wells 8 L.Greenwood 24 S.Atley 18
Half Forwards L.Thomas 12 A.Edwards 27 B.Harvey 29
Forwards L.Hansen 6 D.Petrie 20 J.Ziebell 7
Followers T.Goldstein 22 A.Swallow 9 L.Adams 13

Chris Scott has the brain matter to drop Hawkins the same week Mooney goes out with injury but Brad double loads and blows after successive pea hearted losses. There's 6 or 7 players that should feel damn pissed with the rot that comes out of match committee meetings at Arden St.

Becoming a lost cause.

after watching brayshaw on the footy show tonight its hard to take north serious..........he looked pathetic in that dumb costume

so my question to the main board - is james brayshaw the man to turn things around for this struggling club????????

THE FISH ROTS FROM THE HEAD

Brayshaw has been great for the club. When it comes to putting pressure on a coach to correctly make basic decisions, he struggles.

Do Freo have a President?

Brayshaw has been great for the club. When it comes to putting pressure on a coach to correctly make basic decisions, he struggles.

Do Freo have a President?
BUT DO YOU THINK ITS APPROPRIATE HE IS PRANCING AROUND IN SOME SILLY SUIT CONSIDERING HIS POSITION DOWN AT NORTH MELBOURNE FOOTBALL CLUB ?

not a good look if you ask me

BUT DO YOU THINK ITS APPROPRIATE HE IS PRANCING AROUND IN SOME SILLY SUIT CONSIDERING HIS POSITION DOWN AT NORTH MELBOURNE FOOTBALL CLUB ?

not a good look if you ask me
Not sure what it has to do with you.

Other than players at Freo.......Harvey................??? Chris Scott...?????

It's probably a good thing you know so much about North's management.

Anyway, start a thread on it if you care so much. Stop replying.

Not sure what it has to do with you.

Other than players at Freo.......Harvey................??? Chris Scott...?????

It's probably a good thing you know so much about North's management.

Anyway, start a thread on it if you care so much. Stop replying.
i actually have purchased a north membership the last 2 years so i think i deserve to have my opinion on whats going on......

and im not happy with the way brayshaw represents the club...:mad:

NBA have relocations all the time.

For years in the UK talk of relocations was common place until the Wimbledon-Milton Keys relocation

I don't think relocation talk is common in England Hawkk though you may well be right about NBA...a corporate TV product TV rather like RL here.

The Wimbledon thing stands out as a novelty and they were a relatively young league club. the old established clubs would never even contemplate moving. Aston Villa in London? Everton in Hampshire? not in a million years.

Yes, and no, I am glad that my club's situation has improved. Hoping to wipe out our debt in the next year or two, and then more money being spent on the footy department.

I like it that there is little or no violence at our games and not the 'mob' mentality of some of the bigger clubs, that seem to attract a lot more people who have nothing else going for them in their lives, except comfort in a big crowd and 'their' teams success.

I like being able to get a car park.
I like getting up close and personal with our players, at functions and family days.

I like putting my money in to a club that appreciates me as a member, and know that I make a difference to that club, and I am not just another credit card number.

I don't like the injustice of AFL - that a club can get 14 games at the same ground where the finals are played, and interstate clubs get one.

I don't like the fixed fixture, that gives 'certain' clubs the advantage of always playing at home, and always have a day more rest, or if it is equal days, the other team has been interstate - the competition is so close these days, that this can give a unfair advantage.

I don't like supporters who's team are on top, putting the boots in to others - it's gutless, but not unexpected (see point 2):rolleyes:

I don't think relocation talk is common in England Hawkk though you may well be right about NBA...a corporate TV product TV rather like RL here.

The Wimbledon thing stands out as a novelty and they were a relatively young league club. the old established clubs would never even contemplate moving. Aston Villa in London? Everton in Hampshire? not in a million years.

Not necessarily

Relocation to Milton Keyes was on the cards for struggling clubs for years (in fact it was very similar to the Gold Coast/Tasmania option discussed about on here)

With regards to relocation, English Football is littered with stories of relocation, name changes and stronger clubs swallowing smaller clubs (very similar to our Victorian clubs)

Heck the club I support moved from Maine Road to Eastlands just 7 years ago, there is talk that Everton may move to Kirkby (outside of Liverpool)

Probably the most famous examples of relocation was Arsenal to Highbury and Manchester United to Old Trafford (which isn't even located in the Manchester)

Obviously these are small moves but nonetheless the club has relocated.

I am not one that believes relocation is the death of the football club because in most instances the football clubs that we support today are not the ones that were plying their trade in the 1880's, 1890's and 1900's despite all the fans claiming that time as history of the football clubs in the current guise.

I'm not a fan of American sports at all but the most famous relocated franchises (I hate that term) the Dodgers and Giants both still claim their Brooklyn and New York histories as part of their storied histories.

Like in the case of AFL, the brand (inclusive of its history) transcends the location of the football club

Do supporters of "poor clubs" get sick of their club's plight?