Coach Do you still have any faith in Bevo? [POLL]

Do you still believe he should coach this side?

Not directed at you lachy, but it's no different from anyone who expresses even mild criticism of Beveridge (and many who are not explicitly in the "no more Beveridge" camp but more aligned with some of the groups you've listed) being referred to repeatedly as "extremists" by the chief apologist on here.

Any whiff of criticism, and he swoops in to throw labels and generalisations about like confetti.

Lol

You wrote all that without answering my question :

- IF you still have any faith in Bev (qualified or not, and dependant on circumstances )

- AND you accept that this list isn’t good enough

- THEN do you entrust him with a rebuild

YES / NO
Actually did answer it indirectly so will answer directly.

It will not be one person in any rebuild if required which I don't believe is required anyway. It will be a team of recruiters, list managers, football operations and coaches, hence why whether or not it is him is irrelevant if the full support is not there right throughout so it is not as simple as a Yes or No question

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Had the strangest dream last night, we won the grand final against Melbourne & Bont got his norm smith. Then we came back to this thread to eat humble pie

Sack Bevo and promote Spangher to head coach. To be honest I'd like to see us go back to being rubbish. I actually enjoyed footy more when there was no expectations of top 4 or even finals. You're just playing for wins and hoping to pinch the occasional game from a better side. You take it week by week and don't bother looking at the ladder. If you win as an underdog you ride the high all week and when you lose it's expected so you don't care. That's when I enjoy footy the most.

Dunno about the next few years. Good chance we'll hover in mid-table limbo.
You might get your wish in 2028 though. ;)

Maybe get JJ's partner to do the after game presser?
She makes more sense than Bevo.

View attachment 1715399
This list of 9 young guns in the AFL who could be the next million dollar players? We have 3 on here! Who wouldn’t want to coach this list? We need/deserve the coach who will get the best out of our talent.
Darcy could be the best of the lot too IMO.

Absolute myth that we don’t have young talent coming through, just it’s not in the middle of the ground for once. I’d much much rather what we have in our spine though, you can rebuild a midfield quickly without high picks too.

Coaches would fall over themselves to get a crack at this list right now, especially when you consider what else will possibly be on offer, ie WCE? Etc

View attachment 1715399
This list of 9 young guns in the AFL who could be the next million dollar players? We have 3 on here! Who wouldn’t want to coach this list? We need/deserve the coach who will get the best out of our talent.

Its an opinion piece. Means nothing. No chance in hell Bailey Smith will ever be close to a million a season. Naughton and JUH maybe but its only on potential. Neither currently come close to demanding that kind of salary. I'd take Max King and Mitch Owens over Naughton and JUH.

Of course it’s an opinion piece but still shows what talent we do have and as ftw mentioned Sam Darcy may be the best of the lot? There heaps to work with anyhow.

No way in the world do we have over a quarter of the best young $1m talent coming through in the AFL. I'm probably just paranoid (it helps) but it sounds like another journo hoping to stitch us up - this time on salary cap by applying media pressure. You know, like focussing on how we throw the ball and nobody else does, and how we dive for free kicks but nobody else does.
  • Naughton was heading that way but hasn't improved since last year (some here are even arguing he has gone backwards and that he should go backwards positionally as a result). Whether as a back or a forward he's a valuable player but not yet worth a million in my book.
  • Marra is a talent but has been inconsistent over the journey and has only ever been a dominant player in two of his career games. Three at most. To call him a million dollar player is laughable at this stage of his career. He might get there eventually of course and is tracking well ... as you'd expect from a #1 pick. When he starts tearing games apart and kicking bags of 5 or more on a regular basis we can start talking 7 figure sums.
  • Bailey Smith for a million bucks? Hahahaha. He's barely an A-grader. Great pace, gets a lot of possessions but is a terrible user of the ball and has no sense of defending. I doubt that oppo analysts put much work into countering Bailey. They would probably prefer he gets the i50s to any of Bont, Daniel, Libba, Treloar, Macrae, Dale, Williams or Richards. He has great value in marketing but in a few years the teeny-boppers will be idolising somebody younger and sexier so that asset has very limited shelf-life. If Baz is worth a million then Libba is worth $1.5m and Bont $2m.
Of course we have some talent coming through but there are many pieces missing still, especially if we map our top-end talent forward over a 3 year period. So if the article is about who will be worth a million in the next 24 months I guess you could put Naughton and Marra as candidates but if you're going to do that you'd want to put another 20 or more on the same list. Plus the likes of Harley Reid etc coming through. I still like Bailey Smith but if we had to pay him a million I'd be seeing what his trade value is worth.

No way in the world do we have over a quarter of the best young $1m talent coming through in the AFL. I'm probably just paranoid (it helps) but it sounds like another journo hoping to stitch us up - this time on salary cap by applying media pressure. You know, like focussing on how we throw the ball and nobody else does, and how we dive for free kicks but nobody else does.
  • Naughton was heading that way but hasn't improved since last year (some here are even arguing he has gone backwards and that he should go backwards positionally as a result). Whether as a back or a forward he's a valuable player but not yet worth a million in my book.
  • Marra is a talent but has been inconsistent over the journey and has only ever been a dominant player in two of his career games. Three at most. To call him a million dollar player is laughable at this stage of his career. He might get there eventually of course and is tracking well ... as you'd expect from a #1 pick. When he starts tearing games apart and kicking bags of 5 or more on a regular basis we can start talking 7 figure sums.
  • Bailey Smith for a million bucks? Hahahaha. He's barely an A-grader. Great pace, gets a lot of possessions but is a terrible user of the ball and has no sense of defending. I doubt that oppo analysts put much work into countering Bailey. They would probably prefer he gets the i50s to any of Bont, Daniel, Libba, Treloar, Macrae, Dale, Williams or Richards. He has great value in marketing but in a few years the teeny-boppers will be idolising somebody younger and sexier so that asset has very limited shelf-life. If Baz is worth a million then Libba is worth $1.5m and Bont $2m.
Of course we have some talent coming through but there are many pieces missing still, especially if we map our top-end talent forward over a 3 year period. So if the article is about who will be worth a million in the next 24 months I guess you could put Naughton and Marra as candidates but if you're going to do that you'd want to put another 20 or more on the same list. Plus the likes of Harley Reid etc coming through. I still like Bailey Smith but if we had to pay him a million I'd be seeing what his trade value is worth.
It’s clearly a very “maybe, possibly down the track if things go well” piece - I’m not sure anyone’s saying those guys will definitely be worth that much.

Out of interest who deserves to be on that list over those 3? You’ve listed a bloke whose literally not on an afl list yet

It’s clearly a very “maybe, possibly down the track if things go well” piece - I’m not sure anyone’s saying those guys will definitely be worth that much.

Out of interest who deserves to be on that list over those 3? You’ve listed a bloke whose literally not on an afl list yet
I'd have to cast an eye over all the lists but Matt Rowell comes to mind immediately. Tom Green perhaps. I dunno, I'm not an avid watcher of other clubs. It just seemed like a space filler with very little serious research to me. Well two can play at that!

Yeah nah no thanks,

It’s not even the basic skill errors, lack of defensive effort and just all around deplorable goal kicking for mine. It’s the fact that we roll up week to week and we have the exact same weaknesses? I don’t give a shit who
The **** is in charge but when you’re not improving something needs to change.

Do we even train through the week? Or do we just rock up on game day and play the exact same ****ing way we played the week before.

Once again whether it’s Bevs fault or not I don’t know or give a ****kkkk, the team is cooked so the head coach goes it’s as simple as that. This is just unacceptable.

We haven’t improved a single weakness or problem area in 8 years, what do these coaches get ****ing paid to do campaigner?

Enoughs enough

To the (keep Naughton forward) mob, did you all see that forward play between Jamarra and Lobb? Yes, keep Naughton back please staff

Bev h8ers will be quiet tonight
Lmfao never understand the vitriolic posting of some.

Still don't think he should be there next season unless we either significantly boost his support or he changes what is not working quickly enough.

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Bev h8ers will be quiet tonight 🤫

Why? We only got across the line because we played a poor team still rebuilding, any decent club would have punished us tonight.

All of our problems were evident again tonight, which shows that nothing was looking to be changed to rectify it. Stupidly high defensive press, poor structure in transition, players continuing to be played out of position (hand in hand maybe?), diabolic set shot kicking and not acting on poor match-ups quick enough, such as putting Naughton on Larkey when you could see he would be a problem.

Bev h8ers will be quiet tonight 🤫

You’ve awoken the beast.

Like clockwork.

Why? We only got across the line because we played a poor team still rebuilding, any decent club would have punished us tonight.

All of our problems were evident again tonight, which shows that nothing was looking to be changed to rectify it. Stupidly high defensive press, poor structure in transition, players continuing to be played out of position (hand in hand maybe?), diabolic set shot kicking and not acting on poor match-ups quick enough, such as putting Naughton on Larkey when you could see he would be a problem.

You're right. Bevo’s tactical and coaching genius got us over the line against a star studded North team.
And lucky Lobb was there to bring the ball to ground so Flea could kick all those goals.

Coach Do you still have any faith in Bevo? [POLL]