Autopsy Dogs šŸ• pantsed by injury depleted Cats šŸ± 97-75

He's a VFL level backman, that's it and would be among the first to go if we got a new coach. Not up to it. Simple as that.
But maybe with better coaching he could improve. I'm not blaming individuals for the game it comes back to our strategy, structure and implementation and that is up to the coaches.

The sooner we have a good ball user like Busslinger instead of O'brien/Gardiner the better.

Some of the turnovers from back 50 was atrocious. Dont really care how well you can intercept, we can't have ball butchers in the back half.

Can we extrapolate that out to the forwards?

Donā€™t really care how well you can mark, we canā€™t have you missing simple gettable shots

No play summed up the night better than in Q4 when we were running the ball out of defensive 50 and the ball landed in O'Brien's hands at CHB with plenty of options downfield. Rather than spin around and move it quickly, he took an eternity, finally spotted English on the wing then completely shanked the kick to a patch of grass behind where Timmy was running, leading to a throw in. Head in hands type stuff.

The sooner we have a good ball user like Busslinger instead of O'brien/Gardiner the better.

Some of the turnovers from back 50 was atrocious. Dont really care how well you can intercept, we can't have ball butchers in the back half.
Thatā€™s the thing though, neither Gardner or Oā€™Brien can intercept. Or at least not to a level that sees it outweighs their clear deficiencies.

We have the 3rd easiest draw on the run home and barely leave the state. If we donā€™t make the finals it would be almost beyond belief.

Your draw is easy when you have cohesion, structure and can execute amongst other things

Take no team for granted.

We had our best chance to beat Cats in sometime and we invented ways to lose it.

No play summed up the night better than in Q4 when we were running the ball out of defensive 50 and the ball landed in O'Brien's hands at CHB with plenty of options downfield. Rather than spin around and move it quickly, he took an eternity, finally spotted English on the wing then completely shanked the kick to a patch of grass behind where Timmy was running, leading to a throw in. Head in hands type stuff.
How easy would it be to coach against us? Just isolate these campaigners deep and see rewards. We all complain about how many goals we see over the back, itā€™s by design, itā€™s flipping piss easy.

I stopped watching us play against Geelong a while ago. It's just so utterly boring and predictable how it always plays out. Instead of watching the game we rented The Whale on Amazon Prime. What a fantastic film. I don't remember the last time a film really shook me to my emotional core like that. I think it might now be my favourite Aronofsky film, which is a big call because he's a brilliant director.

Surely even the biggest Bevo lovers can see that weā€™re a poorly drilled team? Look at the 22 they put out last night, I genuinely could name maybe 10 of them. Maybe our list is overrated but itā€™s sure as shit better than this, we are a terrible football team

How easy would it be to coach against us? Just isolate these campaigners deep and see rewards. We all complain about how many goals we see over the back, itā€™s by design, itā€™s *ing piss easy.

Yes agree but that is one part of many.

The best pressure you can put on an opposition is scoreboard pressure. Our inability to kick the goals we should is just as bad as what you note BUT should be easier to resolve.

Naughton back to backline not just for his confidence, but we now need a hand down there with Ed and JJ out and drop either Gardiner or Oā€™Brian or both. We have enough talent up forward even get Bruce in there and Darcy soon.
Have been in the Naughton forward camp. He is too easily isolated from the game, get some body contact and he is done. Naughts back and Bruce back to the forward line can back Bruce to kick more than he misses and has some forward craft

I have never been so confident of beating the cats with their depleted midfield. I guess we are pretty average team our midfield is overrated and stale, we use the ball terribly and forward line does not function properly. If it was not for English we would have got smashed. Our life in recent seasons it seems except for 2021 is to fall into the 8 and lose the first final looks like the same this season.

PS Can somebody tell Gardiner that he does not need to make it 3 up to spoil when we already have 2 spoiling the ball he did it so many times against the cats.

Naughton Should be in defence as An interceptor to Generate rebound and ball movement. Free up space and provide more opportunity and empower JUH. Naughton canā€™t kick at goal.

I reckon you guys arenā€™t far away, and will improve in second half of year

Yes agree but that is one part of many.

The best pressure you can put on an opposition is scoreboard pressure. Our inability to kick the goals we should is just as bad as what you note BUT should be easier to resolve.
Yeah itā€™s painful, look every club sucks at kicking these days I donā€™t think weā€™re thaaat far off the norm. But it really ****s us when our two key forwards are genuinely hopeless, Bont is a shell of himself, and ****ing McNeil should never play again after that effort 10m out, how does a professional footballer miss that ffs, I havenā€™t kicked a footy in about 5 years and I would kick that on my left 9 times outta 10. Just pathetic

You knew those misses would cost us straight away too

Surely even the biggest Bevo lovers can see that weā€™re a poorly drilled team? Look at the 22 they put out last night, I genuinely could name maybe 10 of them. Maybe our list is overrated but itā€™s sure as s**t better than this, we are a terrible football team
Na mate. Bevo walks on water. We have a VFL list and if it wasn't for him and his brilliance we would have lost by 20 goals.

Do we have any more information on Bontā€™s knee injury? I havenā€™t noticed the strapping before tonight.

He was clearly hampered in the second half. He couldnā€™t get out of first gear and cover any ground at all.

I'll add to that.

If you're in the back half and you're an average to below average kick, under no circumstances do you attempt a switch. The amount of complete stuff ups we have attempting a switch or something dinky down back is off the charts.

I'll add to that.

If you're in the back half and you're an average to below average kick, under no circumstances do you attempt a switch. The amount of complete stuff ups we have attempting a switch or something dinky down back is off the charts.
What was funny though is after half time when we genuinely had the switch on, we had zero confidence in Gards/TOB so weā€™d prefer to kick down the line to a contest. This cost us so often, Caleb or Dale with a great switch option and an open fat side but canā€™t take it because cannot trust those blokes to execute a simple kick.

Gardner has the best job in the world, heā€™s probably the worst ball handler in the league, zero offensive ability - yet heā€™s not even good defensively? What is this crab offering, ā€œoh he vomits before games heā€™ll get betterā€ ****in honestly, go play for Yarrawonga or some shit, disgustingly bad footballer

I come in piece to ask a question Iā€™m not sure about.

Has Caleb Daniel ever played a game as a high half forward?

This bloke is impossible to tackle and elite by foot, not sure why heā€™s not tried there.
If people think Miers is a good inside kick Iā€™d hate to see what Daniel is capable of.

3 reasons we lost that match last night. We should have been 4 goals up at 3/4 time and winning. Last quarter would have been covered by lead.

1 Horrendous goalkicking again. Bont, Williams McNeil easy misses...dead easy. Continued poor goalkicking by JUH and Naughton and rushed decisions by Jones Smith on the run. Artie could have run in to the top of the goal square.

2 Horrendous kicking from defence, turnovers consistently. Overusing the pill Multiple players turned it over. Bombing the ball to wherever Stewart was.

3 Selection again. James O'Donnell a liability. Fancy putting him on Stewart to negate him. talk about a mismatch. Then Gardy a complete plodder against Jezza for the whole game. Come on. It's time for some integrity in match selection and tactical match-ups. After realising we were in deep trouble, I was laughing to myself and the missus at the space Jezza was getting in traffic off Gardner.

The other thing I noticed in the game was that at stoppage Ceglar was in ruck but Blicavs was on Bont, as soon as the ball left clearance Blicavs drifted off and another Geelong mid covered Bont. Smart marking. Early on Atkins blanketed Libba and Bruhn covered Baz. All very disciplined in defensive work. Libba broke the chain in the second half but overall it showed defence that we just do not commit to ourselves.

Autopsy Dogs šŸ• pantsed by injury depleted Cats šŸ± 97-75