Autopsy Dogs beaten by Port 107-85

O’Donnell’s continued selection is truly one of the strangest things to occur in V/AFL history that even Columbo wouldn’t be able to work it out.

Anyone could see he was miles off the pace of the game after his first match. He definitely has talent and I can why we picked him up as a Cat B but how is he going to learn and get confidence by being thrown on the likes of Stewart and co week after week?
Actually agree with this.

But if we don't put Naughton back we have no one capable other than L Jones

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

O’Donnell’s continued selection is truly one of the strangest things to occur in V/AFL history that even Columbo wouldn’t be able to work it out.

Anyone could see he was miles off the pace of the game after his first match. He definitely has talent and I can why we picked him up as a Cat B but how is he going to learn and get confidence by being thrown on the likes of Stewart and co week after week?
Young's continued selection in 2017 was just as strange, meaning Bevo holds the top two strangest things of all time, thats some feat

Actually agree with this.

But if we don't put Naughton back we have no one capable other than L Jones

Someone sell me Naughton playing back? With the way our defenders use the ball how can Naughton back be justified? Teams will just allow him to rack up disposals and turn the ball over. Or just allow him slow chip kicks and completely hault and rebound off defensive 50.

Josh Bruce had one of the worst quarters of football I’ve ever seen in the first. If he’s your answer to your defensive woes you’ve got some serious list problems

Why the * are we playing 3 KPD if 2 of them are going to play like they're half flankers trying to run off when we have position?

May as well sit 2 of our defenders on the bench with that ******* game plan.

At one point, Libba was the last line of defence with a 2 on 1. Wtaf.

Yep , due to a shocking turnover. When turnovers like that happen, 2 on 1 is common

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Vandermeer looked solid down back. Will be better for the run, looking forward to him building on tonight.

He was poor in the first quarter, at times out of position, or his opponent outworked him. But to his credit he got himself into the game, got exposed less and gave us some run. Can hold his head up high.

You have a decent forwardline …would be better if Lobbe was more aggressive and do more.

Midfield has 6 or 7 jets who can play.

It’s your backline that kills you.

Jones is next to useless ..Bruce too. 3 tackles and 9 kicks and 9 marks between them both just doesn’t cut the mustard.
How many games you watched?

The 2021 GF was the prime example of his refusal to adapt and tag.

Yep, it’s the arrogance to not accept he was wrong that is the most disappointing. Ever since the 21 GF our biggest issue has been defending the corridor, that’s two full pre-seasons and nothing has changed.

A few comments:
  • We didn't lose it because of the umpiring but that was a shocking display. It seems to have got worse rather than better since they went with 4 umpires.
  • English is overrated as a ruckman. I reckon just play him as a libero midfielder where he could be a useful player. If we really think taps are worth winning get someone like Sweet in to at least neutralise them. Otherwise put Baker in the ruck. Keep English away from the hitouts. (Note: I think he got quite a few taps in the last qtr as his opponent tired so that'll make his stats look not quite as bad as his ruckwork was.)
  • Bailey Smith couldn't win a one-on-one against any decent hard-nosed midfielder or half back in the AFL. Like English he is overrated. I wouldn't get rid of him because we need his pace but the combination of poor disposal and lack of hard-arsed grunt means he's unlikely to ever reach elite level as a player. Just a good B-grader. Just underlines how much we're going to need to hit the draft for midfielders, because Baz was our great hope.
  • Arthur Jones ... sorry time for a break mate. I'm sure he'll come back as he has ability and heart but his confidence must be shot.
  • Libba is an inspiration. Intelligent footballer, determined and strong. Wish we could clone him.
  • Williams is one of our success stories in a disappointing year.
  • Marra is quietly moving from potential star to actual star. These days I have a lot of confidence that he'll mark or emerge with the ground ball. That wasn't the case last year or even in the first few games this year.
  • Treloar has some real ticker. At his third club against his wishes he could be excused for just collecting his cheque (sorry, his direct deposit) every week but he really tries his guts out. I love that. He was one of our best again.
  • Bont was much better this week. Daniel was again in the top 3.
  • I take back some of what I said about VDM. He did OK and has earned another shot at it next week.

The 2021 GF was the prime example of his refusal to adapt and tag.

I’ve been over Beveridge for ages.

His stubbornness and pig-headedness drives me absolutely mental.

Refusal to tag, selection debacles, no need for goal kicking practice.

The skill errors we coughed up goals from tonight aren’t his fault but his refusal to adapt and work on issues that are obvious problems just shits me to no end.

Someone sell me Naughton playing back? With the way our defenders use the ball how can Naughton back be justified? Teams will just allow him to rack up disposals and turn the ball over. Or just allow him slow chip kicks and completely hault and rebound off defensive 50.
His field kicking is a lot better than his goal kicking. Pretty simple really

Is it just me or do the players only know how to play one style - fast and at all costs. looks great when it works, but sure is ugly when it doesn't , surely that's both bad coaching and a mentality issue going on, constant Panic panic panic. like a horse bolting at the start of the Melbourne Cup, yeah it might lead by 200 meters halfway around the track, but it ends up losing by 400-500 at the end of the race. the better sides don't seem to suffer from this as much, they take the game on when it needs to be, but then take their time and assess the situation when its needed. am I missing something ?

This emotional disconnect some of us are feeling for our players is strange.

Who would make you sad if they weren't on the list next year?

Bont obvs. Libba of course. Richards. After that, can't say I really get fired up or inspired by many others.

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Naughton is going through a really bad patch but he should be included in this group.

I am so glad I made the effort to drive for 2 hours to watch this. Now a fun 2 hour drive home.
Thanks to everyone at the club for putting on that display tonight. The rare moments of good - surrounded by endless repeats of being carved up by a young, fast, relentless midfield.

Do we match a bid for Croft - or do we just use both first rounders as sit atm on quick, skilled mids?

Regardless of how soft we all think our run home is, we are going to get smashed if we actually make the 8.

Ah well, at least now there's a 3 day weekend to ignore footy, get out and smell the roses.
I chickened out and decided not to make the 2+ hour drive each way. You're a better man than me GJ. Last week was enough to make me realise that I can spend 5 hours driving and three hours at the ground much more productively and happily than I can be watching schoolyard footy.

Autopsy Dogs beaten by Port 107-85