Autopsy Dogs beaten by Port 107-85

People seem to think Naughton will just take 15 marks a match down back and everything will be solved. It’s not that simple and it’s wishful thinking
No he can actually use his attributes including intercept marking, speed to close down, good ground ball skills and reasonable around ground disposal skills

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

either we play Buss in defence who can actually kick a football or we play Jones + Keath and play a smaller defence.

Our other tall defenders dont intercept and when they do they give it straight back.
If Busslinger plays well tomorrow, I would bring him in as the third tall. Drop Bruce and JOD (who has been unfairly effed about by getting thrown in a different position each week) Same for Cleary.

His field kicking is a lot better than his goal kicking. Pretty simple really

He is a clunky kick that is slow to get ball from hand to foot. He's also a loopy kick.

Plus Jamarra continues to get better and better as the number 2 forward. We can't just throw his main support away and leave him as the number 1. Lobb does nothing to help out on that front.

It wasn't Arty Jones who didn't touch the ball.
It wasn't the butcher called Bruce
It wasn't Tim English who was rag-dolled like a rookie

IT WAS OUR PATHETIC SUPPORTERS WHO FAILED TO TURN UP ON A BLOODY FRIDAY NIGHT!!!!

23K. ABSOLUTELY DISGRACEFUL.

Yeah. I lost 'em the game.

You have a decent forwardline …would be better if Lobbe was more aggressive and do more.

Midfield has 6 or 7 jets who can play.

It’s your backline that kills you.

Jones is next to useless ..Bruce too. 3 tackles and 9 kicks and 9 marks between them both just doesn’t cut the mustard.
Liam Jones has been one of our best players this year

No he can actually use his attributes including intercept marking, speed to close down, good ground ball skills and reasonable around ground disposal skills

He can use all his skills forward and be an asset if we just actually played him as the highest forward and allowed him to work towards goal.

He had one year in the backline supported by competent defenders playing the third tall role. He hasn’t bee the number one defender.

He won’t solve the dysfunction we have down there of everyone flying and leaving the opposition down for east goals.

Strange game by Jones. Didn't get a single disposal, despite getting his hands on it a couple of times (tackled each time, though he had heaps of time to dish one up to Weightman during the second quarter when he was tackled on the 50m arc)

But still ended up with 6 tackles, second most for the team. Vandermeer led with 7 tackles.

The tale of the game tonight was a forward line that couldn't retain the ball inside forward 50 for all but the first 15 minutes of the last. This resulted in Port kicking 8 goals directly from turning the ball over in our forward half. The get nothing at all from our small forwards defensively. The time has definitely come for the Arthur Jones experiment to put aside. We just cannot carry a player who doesn't get a single possession for the entire game. Enthusiasm can only carry you so far and it's carried Arthur as far as it going to until he can find the ball. Something he hasn't shown he can do at this level just yet. It speaks volumes about the state of our small forwards that he's was still in the side. Much the same can be said about West and Weightman, they just cannot apply any forward pressure and retain the ball. It was flying out of their way too quickly and Port were off to the races.

What can be said about our diabolical transition out of defence? If it wasn't the usually reliable Dale turning it over coming out of defence. It was JO'D who I at least give a modicum of credit for trying to come back inside and put the ball into a position where we could attack through the middle of the ground. Most of his more seasoned teammates went with the incredibly predictable of Kick ball from full back to 35 out. Wait for Dale to come around the back and receive the ball. Dale kicks the ball to the wing (or turn it over as he did numerous times tonight) Scrap for for the ball all the while continuing to go wider and wider. Kick the ball to 50 in the tape that we get a contested mark. If we do it's usually wide and at a difficult angle. If we dont we kick it to a congested area 35 out where all sorts of defensive shenanigans stopping our forwards getting a clean run at it occur.

The way we play stands in stark contrast to that of Port. However they are far better equiped to play this type of attacking game the we are. It's why we play such a crab like game. Knowing full well that we are one turnover from our opponents being off to the races. and into a scoring position.

Until the last few weeks, we'd done a good job of papering over the cracks in our much vaunted midfield. The one of pace and the ability to carry the ball. They are a fantastic group in close and fighting for the ball. However, it's a team that gets badly exposed when the ball is out wide and in space. Teams with pace like Port know they have us covered for speed and that they can freewheel and run forward of the ball. Safe in the knowledge that they will burn off their opponent run into open space unmolested.

We are what we are. A team with depth as shallow as a piss in the gutter and a team that should be ranked from 8th -10th on the ladder come the end of the season.

Oh, one more thing. The umpires can get ****ed.

Bring back Gardener... Atleast he only gives away a couple of goals a game doing dumb sh!t. As oppossed to Bruce.

Was hilarious watching Bevo sit there looking perplexed at some of the efforts of JOD, Bruce and co. Your fault mate.

The same half a dozen performing well and keeping us in it.

First quarter was the killer. Gifted Port basically all there goals, meanwhile we missed a couple of sitters.

Lobb provides zero competitiveness. Going to be fun watching that for 3 years.

Naughton is so bad currently its actually perplexing.

Bruce, VDM and O’Donnell all in the back line was an epic fail from the match committee.
Lobb was going fine until we stuffed around with him on the wing to accomodate O’Donnell’s place, who then did nothing at either end.

fwd/2nd ruck…just leave him in that role.

Swapping Naughton & Bruce around couldn’t make us any worse.

If you put Naugton down back who are you putting forward. JUH and Lobb as your two key forwards aren’t getting you anywhere. At least Naughton will always draw attention

He is a clunky kick that is slow to get ball from hand to foot. He's also a loopy kick.

Plus Jamarra continues to get better and better as the number 2 forward. We can't just throw his main support away and leave him as the number 1. Lobb does nothing to help out on that front.
You reckon Bruce would not be able to do that as he did 2021? He is certainly no back

English is not a good ruck. He is a good player but I have zero confidence in him helping win us the ball in the middle.

Not much to say, I’d still drop Cody who was invisible after his first quarter cameo.

People seem to think Naughton will just take 15 marks a match down back and everything will be solved. It’s not that simple and it’s wishful thinking
Don't think so, more so that he could do better there than he is as a forward so it's worth a go

He can use all his skills forward and be an asset if we just actually played him as the highest forward and allowed him to work towards goal.

He had one year in the backline supported by competent defenders playing the third tall role. He hasn’t bee the number one defender.

He won’t solve the dysfunction we have down there of everyone flying and leaving the opposition down for east goals.
Whilst we have Jones would not be the number 1 defender

You reckon Bruce would not be able to do that as he did 2021? He is certainly no back

Bruce didnt look fantastic up forward last year either. In fact he was horrendous and then dropped for finals.

Key defenders are easy to find. Liam Jones was a freebie and he's in AA Contention.

If you put Naugton down back who are you putting forward. JUH and Lobb as your two key forwards aren’t getting you anywhere. At least Naughton will always draw attention
Do we forget Bruce's forward output

I chickened out and decided not to make the 2+ hour drive each way. You're a better man than me GJ. Last week was enough to make me realise that I can spend 5 hours driving and three hours at the ground much more productively and happily than I can be watching schoolyard footy.
I don't begrudge anyone not going to games these days. Especially in regional cities. Too expensive and takes too long to get there. For what is a decent chance to just make you sad anyway.
I certainly don't regret my decision to stay home. Now I just get to be sad in a comfortable place instead of on a train for an hour then driving another half an hour to get home.

Autopsy Dogs beaten by Port 107-85