dont give dees $2m. give them to Tassie!

Covertackle

Jan 26, 2012
Ipswich
Brisbane Lions
Melbourne Dees
its not a victorian comp any more. melbourne is a dinosaur of years past. Darwin is part of the expanded future of AFL.

we dont need more teams, we need strategically placed teams. move the failing dees from melbourne to darwin. watch them succeed.

its not a victorian comp any more. melbourne is a dinosaur of years past.

I am not going to talk about relocating a club, because I dont think its worth bringing up yet or debating

Darwin is part of the expanded future of AFL. we dont need more teams, we need strategically placed teams.

BUT Tasmania deserves a team before Darwin.

Tassie x 10 over Darwin, but honestly only way it will happen is if North relocate. I'm pretty sure the Demons would rather fold before they relocated. Their supporters aren't even prepared to go a few miles down the road to see a game at Etihad, never mind Tassie.

• Banned
i agree, tassie, no worries. but darwin also deserve a team. its time to cut the sick clubs and replace them with ones that we know would have great vitality.

there could be some sort of relegation system something like the english premier league. the dees would just have to improve to get back in the comp?

I don't think the AFL just pumped all those millions into GWS just to see them relegated :)

No need to move a team out of Melbourne, especially to Darwin. There is an average of 460,000 people per afl team in Melbourne and 560,000 in Victoria. Tasmania like the Gold Coast has that population. Give them the team first. No one here in Darwin appreciates live afl anymore. Got a piss poor crowd last year of about 5000.

• Banned
due to popular demand, the dees now should move to tassie.....:p

900,000 per team in Perth.

That's why nearly every Melbourne high school kid has been to the footy and why the vast majority of Perth High School kids have never been and will never go.

900,000 per team in Perth.

That's why nearly every Melbourne high school kid has been to the footy and why the vast majority of Perth High School kids have never been and will never go.

It's an issue that needs urgent addressing.

its not a victorian comp any more. melbourne is a dinosaur of years past. Darwin is part of the expanded future of AFL.

we dont need more teams, we need strategically placed teams. move the failing dees from melbourne to darwin. watch them succeed.

What we don't need is the same tired old threads continually dealing with redundant fantasy.

You cant relocate teams because no one will follow them.
If you moved North to the GC as previously planned. No Collingwood or Esserdon fan living up there would follow them. Now we have the Suns I am sure supporters of other clubs living up there follow them a little.

A better option for tassie would be to have TWO teams enter the VFL. They could play some of their games as curtain-raisers to the AFL games played by Hawthorn and North, which would be a huge day of footy for the locals, aswell has having a big North-South derby twice a year. It'd be a huge hit I reckon and wouldn't require anywhere near the financial backing of an AFL team.