Draft discusson thread

While i like polec i dont think early first round picks are for questionable personalities. Whether perceived or not i hope the club doesn't pick him if this is the case. If we go small heppell only just over gaff for mine now.

Heppell ran a 2.99 20, which is ~.05s slower than Daniel Rich. That's about 1-2 steps behind. If we were looking for HBF I'd be all over it, but we have an abundance and more (hello Monkey Jr!) of those. I want to see Polec playing for us at Subi - I believe he'd be similar to Stephen Hill on the big ground.

Gaff just seems to tick a lot of boxes and sounds like he bleeds footy from his veins. At the moment I'd rate them:

Polec, Gaff, Heppell, Smith.

While i like polec i dont think early first round picks are for questionable personalities. Whether perceived or not i hope the club doesn't pick him if this is the case. If we go small heppell only just over gaff for mine now.

I would hope that footballing ability was the first thing considered when choosing a player. Plenty of ********s have been good-great players.

The problem/query I have with Polec is if his kicking doesn't improve it could pose a big problem for him reaching quality status, that is why Gaff and Heppell are much safer bets, because they have quality disposal and no real deficiencies.

Polec is a riskier option and we can't afford to stuff this pick up.

I reckon he will go between 10-15.

4. Gaff/Heppel

26. Luke Mitchell

28. Anton Hamp

Pick 4 - Best Available who ever that may be.

26/28 = Go for two talls here.

Would be pretty stocked if it turns out this way.

The problem/query I have with Polec is if his kicking doesn't improve it could pose a big problem for him reaching quality status, that is why Gaff and Heppell are much safer bets, because they have quality disposal and no real deficiencies.

Polec is a riskier option and we can't afford to stuff this pick up.

I reckon he will go between 10-15.

Polec's YouTube clip shows ordinary kicking, but his kicking hasn't been a noted weakness throughout the SANFL season from what I've read from those who've watched him and commented on BF.

ive watched polec a few times in the sanfl and a video on youtube, imo his kicking isnt bad but it isnt above average. would defo need to work on it.
his run and carry, breaking away from packs and penetrating kick makes him a top 10 pick.

Polec's YouTube clip shows ordinary kicking, but his kicking hasn't been a noted weakness throughout the SANFL season from what I've read from those who've watched him and commented on BF.

I've watched him play twice and his kicking looked good in both games. However his kicking action seemed to be a little bit unorthodox. Whether that becomes an issue in the afl with less disposal time and more pressure is up for debate. Currently he seems to be the best line breaker as far as run and carry available at our pick.

There have been a couple of question marks over his attitude and how much he loves himself. I'm not certain as i havent met him and won't pass judgement based on that and we should leave that to the recruiters.

From what i have seen and all the information i have to hand its a really tight call with heppell maybe a beesdick ahead of gaff for mine.

Just saw on the AFL site the updated draft order after the GC compensation picks are taken into account.

Thankfully pick 26 is not affected but 28 could be.:eek:

28 could end up sliding to 34 if teams chose to use their picks this year.

How many will is anyones guess.:confused:

Also noticed that Green from Tassie wasn't mentioned / listed in the top 25. Would be a good pickup at 26 or our next pick whatever it ends up being.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/103717/default.aspx

Does anybody hope this turns out exactly the way it is like me? Not necessarily because we would take Gaff (heppell, polec also good) but because we could take Pitt at 26 (best kick in the draft)
We would then be guaranteed Mitchell or andreoli at 28.

Lets hope Daffey is smarter than we give him credit for.

Does anybody hope this turns out exactly the way it is like me? Not necessarily because we would take Gaff (heppell, polec also good) but because we could take Pitt at 26 (best kick in the draft)

If it was to go down exactly as daffey predicts i would be hoping for cook at 26 and watson at 28. With whatever pick we acquire for spangher/mckinley going on andreoli.

Also watched his highlight package from his two SANFL finals and I think I have seen enough of him to draw that conclusion.

He is a great mover but if his kicking isn't good enough he may not be anything more than an impact run and carry winger who lacks polish which is something we certainly don't need so I question his ability to become a champion, whereas Gaff and Heppell could both be IMO.

I still believe elite foot skills are paramount to our recruiting this year.

Just my gut feeling on the three of them, very early to make such calls but they need to be made and the consequences are massive with such a high pick and will decide whether we build a premiership team or not.

It's not a phantom draft though technically, he's not factoring in needs at all.

Operation get Polec at pick 4, I thought GC were picking him before us. Reminds me of a quicker version of trengove tbh.

Kerr, Shuey, Polec... very nice!

Going by Daffey's Top 25 prospects:

Pick 4: Heppell, would also be happy with Gaff or Polec
Pick 26: Pitt, would be stoked to get him here!
Pick 28: Mitchell, would also be happy with any of Green, Wilson, Cook, Cripps*, Andreoli.

After seeing this top 25 it makes me feel very happy going into the draft with 26 and 28, heaps of great talent still available there, particurly Pitt if he indeed does slide to our PP.

Would be cool to grab Lamb, although it's not gonna happen as it looks like he's gonna go around pick 20 or earlier now. Watching some of his highlights it's strange that he did so well in the kicking test when he doesn't look so flash on the field.