Rumour Draft Rumours 2024 - No rumours allowed

So only one of your best defenders ever?

Remind me, how did you attain his replacement again? The other young premiership defender? How did you get that Richmond Captain and 200+ gamer in the first place? Oh...

The Richmond priority pick remnants still lives on the Richmond list, he just signed a 7 year deal.
Nailed pick 18, we are not the same

That's an interesting take and one I haven't seen before: trade pick 2 for two F1s? And two R2 picks this year? I think you're getting a little greedy! The first part is eminently doable, I imagine. But not with the R2 picks added, that's la-la-land.
Na. Completely achievable. Say 2 < 7, F1 with St Kilda then 7, 62 < F1, 28, 31 as a live trade with Essendon. Maybe throw in an F2 or F3 if we need to. I think next years draft is likely to have better talent for us at the top so I'd rather collect a couple of extra F1s whilst they are going cheap. However, I fully expect us to use pick 2 on a mid we don't really need then trade our F1 for a tall.

Remind me, how did you attain his replacement again? The other young premiership defender? How did you get that Richmond Captain and 200+ gamer in the first place? Oh...

The Richmond priority pick remnants still lives on the Richmond list, he just signed a 7 year deal.
Mate you conveniently haven't responded to my question, how else did Richmond benefit from priority picks outside Rance?

Are you referring to the 2004 draft?

Who are you referring to?

What are you talking about? Balta was pick 25 in the 2017 draft.

One player in three flags was a priority pick. Alex Rance. That is all.

Just my take on it, but I think those who barrack for North in here are largely if not all in denial.

It seems extremely likely (from all that’s been reported), that North and Adelaide are discussing a potential pick swap, and given Adelaide’s dearth of other picks to swap, that likely means that that swap would only involve a couple of F3’s, or an F2.

There’s surely no way they’re discussing trading their F1 to North, just to move up two spots, when they’re going to get a serious gun at 4 anyway.

And the only way North would consider trading down for just one or two later future picks is if they know the guy they want at 2 will definitely be there at 4.

And the guy who fits that bill the most by far is of course Tauru.

Just my take on it, but I think those who barrack for North in here are largely if not all in denial.

It seems extremely likely (from all that’s been reported), that North and Adelaide are discussing a potential pick swap, and given Adelaide’s dearth of other picks to swap, that likely means that that swap would only involve a couple of F3’s, or an F2.

There’s surely no way they’re discussing trading their F1 to North, just to move up two spots, when they’re going to get a serious gun at 4 anyway.

And the only way North would consider trading down for just one or two later future picks is if they know the guy they want at 2 will definitely be there at 4.

Who is posting the Crows future 1st & 4 for our pick 2? That is crazy and zero chance of happening. Are you sure you're reading the posts correctly?

I have some good oil that says we turned down the Crows last week with the 2 x F3 coming with 4 for 2. They might be able to fashion it into something else but for me it feels like we're happy to head in with 2 and take one of the top mids.

Richmonds flags were built off of priority picks and we are the ones 'used' to them?
I'm not a Tigers supporter but I reckon this comment might be the most inane in this thread. Richmond back in the day of automatic assistance picks got 1 in 2007, and took Rance with it at Pick 18. He was the only member of their 2017 GF drafted with an assistance pick.

By contrast, since 2012, when the system changed and clubs had to apply for assistance picks, NM Beggaroos have been handed 5 picks in the last 3 drafts (incl 2024), exactly half of the total of 10 handed out since the 2013 season.
And I'd love to know how we have mismanaged our draft hand?
A shit list is the product of poor list management and clubs shouldn't be bailed out by the AFL.

Some notable instances of 💩 high profile list decisions by NM were:
2015 Pick 15 for Jed Anderson
2020 P26 & 33 for Stevenson & Bosenavulagi + P39 and then we have the absolute doozie, Pittard and Polec for Pick 11.

Who is posting the Crows future 1st & 4 for our pick 2? That is crazy and zero chance of happening. Are you sure you're reading the posts correctly?
No one is, but if the two clubs are discussing a potential deal then you have to look at what picks the clubs have to play with, and in Adelaide’s case, it’s pretty much just their F1 and their three F3’s, so I’m just looking at the potential possibilities, and ruling out the likelihood that Adelaide’s F1 would be involved.

And I imagine the only way North would consider doing the deal for what Adelaide has left is if they’re going to get the same guy at 4 that they would have gotten at 2, and that whatever they get from Adelaide is therefore a bonus/freebee.

I'm not a Tigers supporter but I reckon this comment might be the most inane in this thread. Richmond back in the day of automatic assistance picks got 1 in 2007, and took Rance with it at Pick 18. He was the only member of their 2017 GF drafted with an assistance pick.

By contrast, since 2012, when the system changed and clubs had to apply for assistance picks, NM Beggaroos have been handed 5 picks in the last 3 drafts (incl 2024), exactly half of the total of 10 handed out since the 2013 season.

A shit list is the product of poor list management and clubs shouldn't be bailed out by the AFL.

2020 P26 & 33 for Stevenson & Bosenavulagi + P39 and then we have the absolute doozie, Pittard and Polec for Pick 11.
lol every club has shocking trades - we aren't alone this this area.

Anderson & 38, 40 you mean?

Easy in hindsight, but both Anderson and Stephenson were viewed as solid pickups of talented young players at the time.

No arguments regarding the Pittard and Polec trade, I thought it was stupid at the time, however the list management team was caught out right at the very first instance of the NGA and F/S bidding systems. Rather than jumping ahead of our natural pick and doubling up like most clubs would tend to do after some experience, they opted to trade it because Tarryn Thomas was still attainable in the top 10.

As bad as the Pittard and Polec deal was, at least it's still yet to usurp 14, 18, 24 and 37 for Tim Kelly....

lol - give it it time - its coming.....

Did you complain with the Judd, Shuey and Darling assistance picks?? Or is your sooking only limited to other teams?
No sooking at all, it seems you fail to understand that Pre-2012 assistance picks were automatic, based on games won over a 2 year period. Since 2012 clubs have had to request (beg for) assistance.
Since 2012, just 10 assistance picks have been granted and half (5) of those were gifted in the 2022 - 2024 drafts to the NM Beggaroos.
I would be highly embarrassed if WCE went begging for assistance.

Simple facts are that the AFL for years have propped up NM financially, now they're propping them up on field too 🤣

I have some good oil that says we turned down the Crows last week with the 2 x F3 coming with 4 for 2. They might be able to fashion it into something else but for me it feels like we're happy to head in with 2 and take one of the top mids.
Fair enough. I’ve also seen it said that North knocked back 7 and F1 from St Kilda, because they didn’t want to slide back that far, which suggests to me that they think there’s a serious threat that Tauru (if he is indeed the one they ideally want) won’t make it that far.

If this is the case, and they think he could legitimately go top 5 or 6 (if they don’t grab him at 2), is he really that much of a “reach”, at 2?

I could understand it being considered that if he was likely to be still be on the board at 9 or 10 if they don’t grab him at 2, but if he’s a serious chance of going high, even if they don’t, it’s not much of a “reach”.

GWS picked Cadman at 1 of all picks when the consensus view was that he should have been going 2 or more spots back and that no-one else was picking him there.

I don’t think this would be much different.

No sooking at all, it seems you fail to understand that Pre-2012 assistance picks were automatic, based on games won over a 2 year period. Since 2012 clubs have had to request (beg for) assistance.
Since 2012, just 10 assistance picks have been granted and half (5) of those were gifted in the 2022 - 2024 drafts to the NM Beggaroos.
I would be highly embarrassed if WCE went begging for assistance.

Simple facts are that the AFL for years have propped up NM financially, now they're propping them up on field too 🤣

The AFL deleted the system because the likes of Carlton, Melbourne, Hawthorn, Richmond, Collingwood and West Coast regularly abused the system and tanked like crazy to try and "automatically" get awarded them.

I guess it was alright, because they were automatic though....

That's deliberately misrepresenting the situation. North got 5 picks outside the top 20 that they, basically, were forced to trade. If you're on the bottom of the ladder then those picks get you fringe players.

Other sides have been given top 3 picks as priority picks. North's entire PP collection is worth less than one number 1 pick. It's worth less than the premiers getting gifted Ashcroft this year.

Fair enough. I’ve also seen it said that North knocked back 7 and F1 from St Kilda, because they didn’t want to slide back that far, which suggests to me that they think there’s a serious threat that Tauru (if he is indeed the one they ideally want) won’t make it that far.

If this is the case, and they think he could legitimately go top 5 or 6 (if they don’t grab him at 2), is he really that much of a “reach”, at 2?

I could understand it being considered that if he was likely to be still be on the board at 9 or 10 if they don’t grab him at 2, but if he’s a serious chance of going high, even if they don’t, it’s not much of a “reach”.

GWS picked Cadman at 1 of all picks when the consensus view was that he should have been going 2 or more spots back and that no-one else was picking him there.

I don’t think this would be much different.

Yeah, and it will be viewed as one of the all time draft mistakes in 10 years.

It's the example we would be trying to prevent happening and perfect example of why you always take best available.

Anderson & 38, 40 you mean?

Easy in hindsight, but both Anderson and Stephenson were viewed as solid pickups of talented young players at the time.

No arguments regarding the Pittard and Polec trade, I thought it was stupid at the time, however the list management team was caught out right at the very first instance of the NGA and F/S bidding systems. Rather than jumping ahead of our natural pick and doubling up like most clubs would tend to do after some experience, they opted to trade it because Tarryn Thomas was still attainable in the top 10.

As bad as the Pittard and Polec deal was, at least it's still yet to usurp 14, 18, 24 and 37 for Tim Kelly....
Definitely overs by a long way, but the significant difference is that Kelly has lived up to his end of the deal and has been our most consistent mid.
The other difference is, we haven't gone begging for assistance when we could well have 🤷‍♂️

Context is quality vs quantity though.
Okay, let's talk quality of priority picks.

North have been given three end of first round picks in 2023/2024 alone.

Richmond was given one end of first round pick in 2017, who was a good selection, but in quality of assistance, it's not comparable.

Ignoring the fact he only played in one of three flags.

That's deliberately misrepresenting the situation. North got 5 picks outside the top 20 that they, basically, were forced to trade. If you're on the bottom of the ladder then those picks get you fringe players.

Other sides have been given top 3 picks as priority picks. North's entire PP collection is worth less than one number 1 pick. It's worth less than the premiers getting gifted Ashcroft this year.
Agree at Ashcroft being a rort

The AFL deleted the system because the likes of Carlton, Melbourne, Hawthorn, Richmond, Collingwood and West Coast regularly abused the system and tanked like crazy to try and "automatically" get awarded them.

I guess it was alright, because they were automatic though....
Carlton and Melbourne sure, but how have Richmond, Collingwood, Hawthorn and West Coast abused the system?

Rumour Draft Rumours 2024 - No rumours allowed