Rumour Draft Rumours 2024 - No rumours allowed

That's deliberately misrepresenting the situation. North got 5 picks outside the top 20 that they, basically, were forced to trade. If you're on the bottom of the ladder then those picks get you fringe players.

Other sides have been given top 3 picks as priority picks. North's entire PP collection is worth less than one number 1 pick. It's worth less than the premiers getting gifted Ashcroft this year.
You remind of the guy that gets a winning lotto free, then whinges that he has to share first prize.

You do know that since 2012, only 10 PPs have been handed out, only 1 has been before Pick 15, and of the 10, NM has received 5, 50% of all of them.
And have a look at what you turned those picks, and the way overs comp pick for McKay, into!

Looks like GWS sole role in the draft is to accept whatever crap offers are made for their picks.

Caruso will sit there and see who is still on the board after Saints first pick.

He may or may not do a deal. I hope he doesn't. But the arrogance of the Saints supporters who think he 'must' accept their offer is amazing but not surprising from those who call non-Victorian clubs 'interstate clubs' and hark back to the good old days of the VFL.

Fair enough. I’ve also seen it said that North knocked back 7 and F1 from St Kilda, because they didn’t want to slide back that far, which suggests to me that they think there’s a serious threat that Tauru (if he is indeed the one they ideally want) won’t make it that far.

If this is the case, and they think he could legitimately go top 5 or 6 (if they don’t grab him at 2), is he really that much of a “reach”, at 2?

I could understand it being considered that if he was likely to be still be on the board at 9 or 10 if they don’t grab him at 2, but if he’s a serious chance of going high, even if they don’t, it’s not much of a “reach”.

GWS picked Cadman at 1 of all picks when the consensus view was that he should have been going 2 or more spots back and that no-one else was picking him there.

I don’t think this would be much different.

Looking through the tealeaves I would have said (and did say, in a few places) that there is no chance we take Tauru at 2 two weeks ago but I'm only 95% sure now. Still reckon there's more love for a couple of mids high on our board than Tauru who we clearly like but this is a draft filled with plenty of mystery.

At that, 4 is a sweet spot trade whichever way we look at it and those picks weren't enough to do it, if we were gung ho on Tauru I kind of suspect there would have been more negotiation or acceptance there. More likely in that case we could see a FOS/Draper/Lalor slide to 4 but F3's aren't enough to turn our heads to not have the choice of who Richmond don't take at 1.

For those that haven’t read it, here is a fascinating article from after the draft last year, where they discuss loads of the offers that were made for pick swaps that didn’t eventuate, as well as the ones that did.

It’s pretty amazing some of the value offers that some of the clubs knocked back, for some of those early picks.

Eg. Melbourne offering WCE picks 6, 11, 42 and their future first (which turned out to be pick 5!) for pick 1 (Harley Reid).

https://www.afl.com.au/news/1068516

You remind of the guy that gets a winning lotto free, then whinges that he has to share first prize.

You do know that since 2012, only 10 PPs have been handed out, only 1 has been before Pick 15, and of the 10, NM has received 5, 50% of all of them.
And have a look at what you turned those picks, and the way overs comp pick for McKay, into!
Would trade all of them for a pick 3 priority pick though.

I’d be shocked if at least 3 haven’t been taken by then (any or all of Tauru, Armstrong, Shanahan, Whitlock x 2, Trainor).

If we split 8 and change for 15 and 16 you can pretty much bet your bottom dollar that we’ll be going tall with at least one of them.

This offseason we’ve lost 6 “talls” from our list and so far haven’t added any. It’s a big need for us.

Saints would have to be beyond insane to trade out of their two selections makes zero sense you need quality not quantity

Fair enough. I’ve also seen it said that North knocked back 7 and F1 from St Kilda, because they didn’t want to slide back that far, which suggests to me that they think there’s a serious threat that Tauru (if he is indeed the one they ideally want) won’t make it that far.

If this is the case, and they think he could legitimately go top 5 or 6 (if they don’t grab him at 2), is he really that much of a “reach”, at 2?

I could understand it being considered that if he was likely to be still be on the board at 9 or 10 if they don’t grab him at 2, but if he’s a serious chance of going high, even if they don’t, it’s not much of a “reach”.

GWS picked Cadman at 1 of all picks when the consensus view was that he should have been going 2 or more spots back and that no-one else was picking him there.

I don’t think this would be much different.
Personally I think if North went and picked Tauru at pick 2 it would be a bit of a bizarre decision. Not necessarily taking him, the issue would more so be that they could have moved back to pick 4 and grabbed some free assets for next year, whether that's a couple of third round picks or a future second if the Crows could manufacture it.

If they end up deciding to pick a midfielder instead then that makes more sense in terms of not moving their pick. But if they are 100% going for Tauru then they would surely know that neither Carlton or Adelaide would have any interest so they may as well grab him and get something else for it.

Getting a future second might also give them some more flexibility to be able to then trade theirs into this year and get another pick potentially.

Will be very interesting to see what happens.

Yeah, and it will be viewed as one of the all time draft mistakes in 10 years.

It's the example we would be trying to prevent happening and perfect example of why you always take best available.
Maybe, but I don’t think they would have even done the deal had it not resulted in them getting Cadman. Getting 1 was the only way there were able to move up high enough to be able to be certain they would get him.

The AFL deleted the system because the likes of Carlton, Melbourne, Hawthorn, Richmond, Collingwood and West Coast regularly abused the system and tanked like crazy to try and "automatically" get awarded them.

I guess it was alright, because they were automatic though....

The only wooden spoon WC has got before 23 (where we clearly did what we could to not come last, not our fault North stuffed it up) was 2010 which was the first compromised draft for GC and our first pick was pick 4

Not sure that's a history of a club that "regularly abuses the system". If we were tankers we're bloody awful at it

Saints would have to be beyond insane to trade out of their two selections makes zero sense you need quality not quantity
The quality runs deep this year though, and we’re not in the area where the guys we’d most ideally like are likely to fall, so that’s why we could very easily prefer to have two chances at getting someone high quality, rather than 1.

And we have more quality than we’re given credit for.

If our list is as lacking as everyone says, how were we top 6 for every week of the H&A season bar 1 last year, despite being hit very hard by injuries, and then this year, after a brutal start to the year- when we were again hit hard by injuries, while also battling an extremely challenging draw- did we win 8 of our last 12 games, and 5 of our last 6?

Either “talent” is overrated, we have more of it than we’re given credit for, or Ross Lyon is some sort of coaching magician.

No sooking at all, it seems you fail to understand that Pre-2012 assistance picks were automatic, based on games won over a 2 year period. Since 2012 clubs have had to request (beg for) assistance.
Since 2012, just 10 assistance picks have been granted and half (5) of those were gifted in the 2022 - 2024 drafts to the NM Beggaroos.
I would be highly embarrassed if WCE went begging for assistance.

Simple facts are that the AFL for years have propped up NM financially, now they're propping them up on field too 🤣
Here we go.

The quality runs deep this year though, and we’re not in the area where the guys we’d most ideally like are likely to fall, so that’s why we could very easily prefer to have two chances at getting someone high quality, rather than 1.

And we have more quality than we’re given credit for.

If our list is as lacking as everyone says, how were we top 6 for every week of the H&A season bar 1 last year, despite being hit very hard by injuries, and then this year, after a brutal start to the year- when we were again hit hard by injuries, while also battling an extremely challenging draw- did we win 8 of our last 12 games, and 5 of our last 6?

Either “talent” is overrated, we have more of it than we’re given credit for, or Ross Lyon is some sort of coaching magician.

Pure quality wins flags you continually pick B grade talent on the board it won’t help this, surely the plan is trading UP not back. I like what the Saints are building but surely you need some premium prime talent. That’s the only way to get from a middling side to a contending one OR trade them in and the latter is hard for most clubs bar the big 4.

That's deliberately misrepresenting the situation. North got 5 picks outside the top 20 that they, basically, were forced to trade.
Rubbish, you got 1 extra 1st (pick 19) in 2023, and 2 extra 1sts (19 & 20) in 2024. The 2024 picks were subject to review but could be traded last draft which is exactly what you did and you ended up with 5 picks in the 1st round in 2023 before we were able to use our 2nd round, normally pick 19, at pick 30.
So don't bleat about those PPs being worth nothing!
And don't forget, every PP you got disadvantaged 17 other clubs
Other sides have been given top 3 picks as priority picks. North's entire PP collection is worth less than one number 1 pick. It's worth less than the premiers getting gifted Ashcroft this year.
Only 1 team has received a PP lower than 15 since the current system of begging was introduced in 2012 and that was GC in 2019 when they got Pick 1 and took Rowell.
I agree the FS (and academy) bidding system has been a rort but with 10,000 points being taken out of the DVI from next season, clubs will have to cough up closer to the draft value using higher picks which will hopefully lead to a less compromised draft

****ing hell. I asked a simple question and I'm the precious one?

It's not the Richmond board, we are allowed to comment on one of your posts....

This guy?

View attachment 2164951

Xerri, Logue, Will Dawson, Goad and now Darling?

What should North ideally have in your view? A Bulldogs spread of elite young talls?

Why do we HAVE to take this player and ignore best available?

Why couldn't the side develop and we recruit someone in that role by other means like anyone else?

All of Cameron, Danniher and Hogan were traded for by their current clubs.
Because no player in their prime wants to go to NM.

Personally I think if North went and picked Tauru at pick 2 it would be a bit of a bizarre decision. Not necessarily taking him, the issue would more so be that they could have moved back to pick 4 and grabbed some free assets for next year, whether that's a couple of third round picks or a future second if the Crows could manufacture it.

If they end up deciding to pick a midfielder instead then that makes more sense in terms of not moving their pick. But if they are 100% going for Tauru then they would surely know that neither Carlton or Adelaide would have any interest so they may as well grab him and get something else for it.

Getting a future second might also give them some more flexibility to be able to then trade theirs into this year and get another pick potentially.

Will be very interesting to see what happens.
Don’t you think we would’ve run all scenarios already? It’d be all they are all doing.
We might be prepared to move 2 if player X is taken at 1, but not if he isn’t. Think this would play a part in why nothing has happened
It’s what makes this draft intriguing, no clear number 1…..it’s out of 4 guys clearly.

I don’t need to do jack sh!t when you post dribble like this. :rolleyes:

He lives in the most isolated city on the planet. Literally 4 hours by plane from nowhere. He has his little football team, the beach, chicken treat and not much else. Even if his rich, he lives in Perth aka as 4 hours from nowhere. Melbourne is a backward place, Perth is literally a beach full of sharks. but it's closish to wave rock and margaret river so not all is lost.

Rumour Draft Rumours 2024 - No rumours allowed