Dream Team and Supercoach questions

Thank you actual Port supporter, didn't realise he was injured.
Yep!

Back strain, but probably needs to spend a year in the gym to get ready for next year :).

Yep!

Back strain, but probably needs to spend a year in the gym to get ready for next year :).

Double thanks. I just recall watching the WBD vs. Port game last week and noticing one of your younger kids playing really well and for some reason the name Butcher was in the back of my mind. Guess I'm just mildly ******ed.

dude their are better rookie players out there, if you knew ANYTHING about SC/DT you would know never to pick a skinny first year KPF! have fun with ur crap team dude

Thanks dude, enjoy watching Melbourne lose 22 games of real football, dude.

Thank you actual Port supporter, didn't realise he was injured.

It's not just that, even if he wasn't on the LTI he'd have roughly 2% chance of getting a game this year anyway. Tredrea, Schulz, J. Westhoff, Salter and D. Stewart would all have to go down - even M. Westhoff would be ahead of him until at least 2011.

BigSexc in on the money. First year KPFs are DT/SC poison.

Double thanks. I just recall watching the WBD vs. Port game last week and noticing one of your younger kids playing really well and for some reason the name Butcher was in the back of my mind. Guess I'm just mildly ******ed.
Out of the young guys who have impressed it would have been probably:

Stewart - A Future KPF, Tall with a great contested mark. Good kick, though been a bit inacurate so far this year. Needs a bit more bulk.

Hitchcock - Small Forward, good pace, footy brain and talent. Great eye for the goals aswell.

Banner - More of a Midfielder though has a good goal sense. Fast and great skills.

All three would be possible DT'ers this year, though not all will play the whole season. Flip a coin I reckon.

Out of the young guys who have impressed it would have been probably:

Stewart - A Future KPF, Tall with a great contested mark. Good kick, though been a bit inacurate so far this year. Needs a bit more bulk.

Hitchcock - Small Forward, good pace, footy brain and talent. Great eye for the goals aswell.

Banner - More of a Midfielder though has a good goal sense. Fast and great skills.

All three would be possible DT'ers this year, though not all will play the whole season. Flip a coin I reckon.
A follow up question to two players mentioned in that post... Who would you expect out of Hitchcock and Stewart to play more reguraly early in the season?

Hmm,

At this stage I would personally say Hitchcock.

He is set to be elevated in the next two weeks, and we wouldnt be doing that unless we wanted him to play. Hitchcocks competition currently is probably Ebert and Motlop, both who have struggled so far this year. Stewart is against Tredrea, Westhoff, Schulz who I would expect would all get a game.

Though I think both will probably play, I would put more money on Hitchcock currently (especially if you mean more earlier in the season.)

I would also like the Robbie Gray Rumours squashed please.

I think he will be your Best Supercoach player this year.....If he can stay on the park.

Also, Am I wise to stay away from Chad??

I would also like the Robbie Gray Rumours squashed please.

I think he will be your Best Supercoach player this year.....If he can stay on the park.

Also, Am I wise to stay away from Chad??

Chad may play more lock down roles this year which could lead to less points, but who knows!

Anyone got any advice on rookie defenders I can pick up as I am struggling to get bargains there, I took Kennely and Malcheski, but i thought a could get a couple of draft picks which may be a goer but can't see anyone of note.

Chad may play more lock down roles this year which could lead to less points, but who knows!

Anyone got any advice on rookie defenders I can pick up as I am struggling to get bargains there, I took Kennely and Malcheski, but i thought a could get a couple of draft picks which may be a goer but can't see anyone of note.

Drop Malcheski and grab Josh Hunt, will average around 75 and will go up in price heaps! Malcheski is now slightly iffy because Mattner, Shaw, and Kenelly as rebounding Defenders will keep the ball from him. Grundy, Richards and Bolton to partner Mattner, Shaw and Kenelly, No room for Malcheski. Kirk, Bolton, McVeigh, Goodes, Bird, Jack, Hannebry, Merridith, not alot of room for Malcheski.

Ben Nason, in the best players for Richmond vs. Essendon and aparently Hardwick is a fan, Luccas Markovic was drafted as a mature age player they aren't picked up for two or three years development, Marcus Davies from Carlton could slot into there back six as a rebounding Half Back but I am unsure of Carltons Defensive depth, Rhyce O'Keefe was good for SA two years ago in the state champs and played some good games for North Adelaide a year in the system he could emmerge, Jordan Lisle from the Hawks has been impressive in the NAB cup, Matt Maguire from Brisbane could be a good pick at $101,000. Personaly I'ld go Nason and Trengove, Lisle next and Markovic after, with a close eye on Davies!

As for the Chad, Stay away for the first five rounds while he drops in price, he will probably drop $50,000 and then pick him up just before the showdown, the Crows always bring out the best within him, hold on to for three weeks and then sell as he will/should increase in price but I doubt he will sustain his good form for most of the year! This is my plane and hopefuly I can Sell Chad and get a rookie back, someone like Broughton last year, and sell McVeigh/Kerr and get Ablett/Montagna/Swan for them... Profit and Investment!

Drop Malcheski and grab Josh Hunt, will average around 75 and will go up in price heaps! Malcheski is now slightly iffy because Mattner, Shaw, and Kenelly as rebounding Defenders will keep the ball from him. Grundy, Richards and Bolton to partner Mattner, Shaw and Kenelly, No room for Malcheski. Kirk, Bolton, McVeigh, Goodes, Bird, Jack, Hannebry, Merridith, not alot of room for Malcheski.

Ben Nason, in the best players for Richmond vs. Essendon and aparently Hardwick is a fan, Luccas Markovic was drafted as a mature age player they aren't picked up for two or three years development, Marcus Davies from Carlton could slot into there back six as a rebounding Half Back but I am unsure of Carltons Defensive depth, Rhyce O'Keefe was good for SA two years ago in the state champs and played some good games for North Adelaide a year in the system he could emmerge, Jordan Lisle from the Hawks has been impressive in the NAB cup, Matt Maguire from Brisbane could be a good pick at $101,000. Personaly I'ld go Nason and Trengove, Lisle next and Markovic after, with a close eye on Davies!

Cheers for the detailed answer, appreciate it, didn't Nason go down for 8 weeks with a knee?

I have gone Goddard, Gram, Hodge, H Shaw, Houli, Hunt, Kennelly, Maguire and trengove. Probably not a bad defensive unit.

I am light on in the mids other than Ablett and Swan, but I am banking on these juniors going up in value quickly so I can trade em on. I do have too many though, Trengove, Martin, Barlow, Banner and Shuey. lol

Cheers for the detailed answer, appreciate it, didn't Nason go down for 8 weeks with a knee?

I have gone Goddard, Gram, Hodge, H Shaw, Houli, Hunt, Kennelly, Maguire and trengove. Probably not a bad defensive unit.

I am light on in the mids other than Ablett and Swan, but I am banking on these juniors going up in value quickly so I can trade em on. I do have too many though, Trengove, Martin, Barlow, Banner and Shuey. lol

Nason went down, however is back up and about and with out hesitation Hardwick put him back into the starting 18. He is a better selection than our Trengove as he will get games and is an attacking player so will get kicks rather than a shut down defender.

My back seven, Goddard, Hodge, Birchall, Hurn, MacDonald (thinking of changing him though, probably wont score as freely as he did at Brisbane) Paul Stewart and Josh Hunt.
Midfield of Bartel, Selwood, Cooney, Swallow, Kerr and Mark McVeigh.
Riewoldt, O'Keefe and Franklin as my premium Forwards.

I am really confident with my side, only question marks are Paul Stewart and his ability to score like he would in the SANFL, Joel MacDonald and how free he will be at Melbourne, Daniel Kerr and can he emulate 2005-2007 form and Barry Hall, can he sustain this form for 22 rounds??

Nason went down, however is back up and about and with out hesitation Hardwick put him back into the starting 18. He is a better selection than our Trengove as he will get games and is an attacking player so will get kicks rather than a shut down defender.

My back seven, Goddard, Hodge, Birchall, Hurn, MacDonald (thinking of changing him though, probably wont score as freely as he did at Brisbane) Paul Stewart and Josh Hunt.
Midfield of Bartel, Selwood, Cooney, Swallow, Kerr and Mark McVeigh.
Riewoldt, O'Keefe and Franklin as my premium Forwards.

I am really confident with my side, only question marks are Paul Stewart and his ability to score like he would in the SANFL, Joel MacDonald and how free he will be at Melbourne, Daniel Kerr and can he emulate 2005-2007 form and Barry Hall, can he sustain this form for 22 rounds??

If Hall rides a wave for the first 10 weeks that will be good enough, his value will sky rocket. I reckon he will hang tight. My forward line I have confidence in with Roo, Franklin, Gray, Didak, Hall, Higgins and Dangerfield. Rohan and Hitchcock are my subs.

Not sure on Stewart. Will help if i know he's gonan play, but Trengove is a risky one. I know I have a weakness in the midfield with these junior draft picks, but I have taken alot of mids in the other areas to compensate, so I am happy this strategy will work :) And the midfield juniors are more chance to play I reckon

If Hall rides a wave for the first 10 weeks that will be good enough, his value will sky rocket. I reckon he will hang tight. My forward line I have confidence in with Roo, Franklin, Gray, Didak, Hall, Higgins and Dangerfield. Rohan and Hitchcock are my subs.

Not sure on Stewart. Will help if i know he's gonan play, but Trengove is a risky one. I know I have a weakness in the midfield with these junior draft picks, but I have taken alot of mids in the other areas to compensate, so I am happy this strategy will work :) And the midfield juniors are more chance to play I reckon

Yep! Shuey will dominate, and Banner has shown good form, I think these two will produce more than Trengove/Scully/Luccas/Morabitto this year!

Keep an eye out for Barlow (just promoted from Freeo) and Dustin Martin too, I think they will tear it up.

I dont see Barlow getting any better though, I also think he is a one trick pony and when opposisition sides wake up to his deficencies he will will slide in a major way!

Mitch Banner has been excellent this pre-season & probably will start round 1 (?), but how long can he hold his posi with guys like Rodan & Hartlett to come into the midfield?

As long as he keeps performing. Highly unlikely Rodan will jump st8 back in wouldn't it? He would have to play SANFL. Hartlett Choco would want in quickly, I can see the likes of Brett, maybe Kane under real pressure. Which is good.