Dream Team Squads Part 2

1. Houlihan is in Carlton's best 22
2. Before last season he only missed 1 game in the previous two years.
3. Priced at an average of 55 with the two previous years before last having averages of 75 and 82.
4. Carlton should be an improving side, hence should be a higher scoring team.

If you can come up with some reasons why, someone is stupid for selecting Houlihan, I would love to hear them.

It's debatable whether Houlihan is a best 22 player. If he is, he'd be in the last few players selected, this means a couple of bad games and he's playing for the Bullants. I don't know about you, but I tend not to think about picking a player who is no certainty to hold his place in his club's best 22 (excluding bench rookies).

I also can't see him averaging 70-80 again. I know he had similar numbers in '06 and '07, but he was getting a consistent run in the midfield back then. Obviously with Carlton's strong midfield he won't be getting a look in this year (pretty sure he'll be played as a forward). I'm thinking he'll average in the 60's. No point wasting 250k on 60, Hill will probably average the same and he's 100k cheaper.

Key position backmen rarely make good DT players, as they tend not to rack up stats. There's really only a handful of key position backmen worth considering IMO.

Thanks for the tip;

Changed to;

G.Birchall, S.Hill, M.Egan, R.Hayden? Gone a little smaller but also 2 expensive and 2 cheap.

? Better? 15,300 now spare.

Just one question for you Beatle, how is Mitch Brown travelling? By the sounds of your reports he has been ripping up the pre-season but he was then left out of the NAB Cup. Is he a likely starter for RD 1?

Ahem. BeatleDawg, a reply would be much appreciated.

Uh, why do I see people putting Ryan Houlihan in their team?

I can guarantee a couple of things if you have that man in your team:

A). You are stupid.
B). The chances of you finishing top 1000 are equal with the chances of the sun imploding in the next 10 minutes.

Actually, no. Disregard this post. The man is a superstar that will tear it up in '09 :thumbsu:

For the sake of preventing more people from having the same team, i say great, take your advice and don't include him in your team.

But for someone of his price who has averaged 70-80 in the past, his value for money is simply too hard to resist. Your loss. :thumbsu:

beatlesmith, i reckon you need bigger guns than Judd & Kerr. those guys would have to have a Brownlow year just to ave 90+
my advice, downgrade Ablett -> Swan/Thompson/Kornes. upgrade Judd and Kerr.
Kerr at 330k is just too good to pass up IMO. He will improve, and last year he had an average of 76 whilst in poor form and with an interrupted season. Should get at least 80-85 this season, with improved support in the midfield.
I've taken out ellis and replaced him with hayden, then replaced judd with swan and rich with sidebottom. Is that better?

I don't usually give team advice but I love your training reports so I'll make an exception. Even though I don't have any of them, I won't advise against your eagles players in Nicoski, Kerr, Masten, Butler and Staker because you would know more about them than me. A couple of things that stand out to me about your team are:
Why thankyou, it is always nice to hear some appreciation. I do realise there are a lot of eagles in there; my theory is that we are a team in particular that has a lot of players that need to prove something after poor seasons(and therefore are cheap), and those who are (hopefully) emerging (like masten, butler and staker)

2) I'm not sure if you are aware of this or not but both Hodge and Ellis have had surgery during the off-season and will miss the NAB Cup. Ellis is even in a fair bit of doubt for RD 1.
Yeah, i've traded ellis out for drummond and hodge out for goddard. Expecting and predicting a huge year from goddard, and hodge usually takes a while to get going.

Just one question for you Beatle, how is Mitch Brown travelling? By the sounds of your reports he has been ripping up the pre-season but he was then left out of the NAB Cup. Is he a likely starter for RD 1? My other worry with him is that Lynch has said he will play as a permanent forward which means a forward line of Hansen, Lynch and Kennedy. Could it be a struggle for him to get a game? Cheers
He has been ripping it up. Recorded a 15-6 beep test a little while back and is showing no signs of restricted movement from what i've seen. Picked up a niggle a while back and the club obviously decided to play it safe. Will be fit to play on friday against Adelaide in Alice Springs ( http://www.thewest.com.au/default.as...ntentID=125856 ). Heard murmors of the club deciding to not play for the whole pre-season out of precaution because of last year, but that sounds like a load of crap to me, theres no way the club would get so idioticly supersticious.
I think Brown will play round 1. Mackenzie's injury and wilkes exposure as being average indicates to me he will play round 1 as a utility third tall at either end. Kennedy disappointed vs collingwood, and hansen has hamstrings of dental floss. Lynch's role is tough. We usually start off fairly conservatively so Lynch will probably start at FF. If brown shows superior form/fitness/lack of injury than hansen and kennedy, he will play a lead up role, much like in his first game (14D, 7M). If he plays a lead up role he should get some pretty good stats.
By round one we should know which of gumbleton, brown, grant, ballantyne, hentschel, walker etc will most likely get games, so keep your eyes peeled, and i'll try and keep you as updated as possible about brown using my/his sponsorship thead; http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=527411

I've taken out ellis and replaced him with hayden, then replaced judd with swan and rich with sidebottom. Is that better?

keep ellis and rich. that's a good combo.
i can see you really like Kerr. yes, i think he'll improve his average but i would still regard him as an inevitable upgrade (waste of a future trade). swan is a great selection. ablett's price is sky high though. why not wait until he drops 100k - get him midseason [(eg) rich -> ablett]

UPDATED TEAM:

Backs: Goddard, C.Cornes, Malceski, Adcock, Ellis, Nicoski, Hill (Petrenko,Suban)
Mids: Ablett(c), Swan, Kerr, Masten, T.Tuck, Rich (Swift, Robinson)
Rucks: Cox(vc), Mcintosh (Currie, Trengove)
Forwards: Pavlich, Deledio, Giansiracusa, Staker, Higgins, Lucas, Ziebell (Ballantyne, Gumbleton)

Is that any better?

Thanks for the tip;

Changed to;

G.Birchall, S.Hill, M.Egan, R.Hayden? Gone a little smaller but also 2 expensive and 2 cheap.

? Better? 15,300 now spare.

Egan may never play again, he certainly won't be playing any time soon.

Birchall and Hill are both pretty popular choices on this board, though we obviously don't know how many games Hill will play.

Hayden is the kind of player who will be consistent for your team, but will never really get you anywhere. He isn't the worst pick, but there's probably better value available.

I'd also suggest removing Slattery and Nahas (Nahas in particular, as the 86k forwards look like they'll have a lot of value this year), unless you are confident they will get the opportunity to play, as rookie priced players (the very cheapest ones) are generally ineligible for a game until someone is put on the LTI list and they can then take that players place. You might have to sacrifice a player or two from the field to make that work though.

BACKS - Hodge, Goddard, C.Cornes, Gilbee, Adcock, Hurn, Grimes, (HILL, RANCE)

MIDS - Corey, Gibbs, Griffen, Rosa, Grigg, Rich (DANGERFIELD, ROBINSON)

RUCK - Sandilands, Kruzer (BAILEY, CURRIE)

FORWARDS - Franklin, Harvey, R.Murphy, Fevola, Higgins, Watts, Yarran (ZIEBELL, NAHAS)

This is what my team is looking like now. Should probably keep this hush-hush, but its a whiles to go till the season proper, so will undoubtedly change.. :p

Backs: Goddard, Cornes, Newman, Adcock, Malceski, Houlihan, Raines, Hill, Petrenko

Mids: Thompson, Selwood, Gibbs, Hasleby, Rich, Ziebell, Davenport, Robinson

Rucks: Cox, Simmonds, Currie, Spencer

Forwards: Deledio, Didak, Giansiracusa, S Johnson, Lucas, Higgins, Walker, Ballantyne, Gumbleton

Stuff all cash left in the bank, but its shaping up. Im happy with the structure - have 12 definite keepers plus Adcock and Malceski. Hoping one of those is 7th back material.

Just redid my team. Abit risky in spots, but it's got huge potential pay off I think.

BACKS - Goddard, C.Cornes, H. Shaw, Lockyer, Gram, Grimes, Hill (Suban, Rance)

MIDS - Ablett, Swan, Gibbs, Masten, Hasleby, Rich (Beams, Robinson)

RUCK - Cox, Hille (Currie, Spencer)

FORWARDS - Pavlich, Deledio, N. Brown, Lucas, Higgens, Ziebell, Ballantyne (Sidebottom, Gumbleton)

This is what my team is looking like now. Should probably keep this hush-hush, but its a whiles to go till the season proper, so will undoubtedly change.. :p

Backs: Goddard, Cornes, Newman, Adcock, Malceski, Raines, Hill, Petrenko

Mids: Thompson, Selwood, Gibbs, Hasleby, Rich, Ziebell, Davenport, Robinson

Rucks: Cox, Simmonds, Currie, Spencer

Forwards: Deledio, Didak, Giansiracusa, S Johnson, Lucas, Higgins, Walker, Ballantyne, Gumbleton

Stuff all cash left in the bank, but its shaping up. Im happy with the structure - have 12 definite keepers plus Adcock and Malceski. Hoping one of those is 7th back material.
Missing a back mate.

Backs
C.Enright, B.Goddard, C.Newman, R.Houlihan, JWS, T.Lockyer S.Hill (N.Suban, A.Rance)

Mids
G.Ablett, S. Mitchell, D.Kerr, B.McLean C.Judd, D.Rich (J.Zibell, P.Dangerfelid)

Rucks
D.Cox, H.McIntosh (D.Currie, J,Spencer)

Fowards
B.Harvey, J.Roughead, S.Lucas, S.Higgins, N.Brown, J.Grant, AL.Davey, (S.Sidebottom, S.Gumbleton)

Is that a better side than my previous one??? Any suggestions???

went with a more individual team, just want to win my league and have a bit of fun going for guys that not all my mates have. any thoughts would be good as i still think my team can do alright over all as well

Backs: HOULI(han), Birchall, Sam Fish, Goddard, Lockyer, J McMahon, Steve Hill
(Suban, Rance)

Mids: Gibbs, Boak, Ward, Masten, Haselby, Rich
(Robinson, Cockie)

Rucks: Cox, Simmonds (Currie, Spencer)

Fwds: Lids, Gia, Lucas, Pav, Bate , Higgins, Ziebs
(Ballantyne, Gumby)

YEAH NAH THOUGHTS? cheers

Could Someone Rate My Squad Please, And Say How I Could Improve It

Backs
Luke Hodge (HAW)
Chad Cornes (PTA)
Tarkyn Lockyer (COLL) (VC)
Tim Callan (WB)
Shannon Hurn (WCE)
Jarryn Geary (STK)
James Frawley (MELB)
Stephen Hill (FREO) (EMERG)
Matthew Suckling (HAW) (EMERG)

Midfield
Gary Ablett (GEEL)
Joel Corey (GEEL) (C)
Sam Mitchell (HAW)
Chris Judd (CARL)
Ben Cousins (RICH)
Daniel Kerr (WCE)
Jason Davenport (PTA) (EMERG)
Nathan Djerrkura (GEEL) (EMERG

Ruck
Ivan Maric (ADEL)
Matthew Leuenbeger (BRIS)
Joel Tippet (BRIS) (EMERG)
CHRISTIAN BOCK (ESS) (EMERG)

Fowards
Alan Didak (COLL)
Brendan Fevola (CARL)
Stuart Dew (HAW)
Mitch Morton (RICH)
Hayden Skipworth (ESS)
Shaun Higgins (WB)
Scott Lucas (ESS)
James Sellar (ADEL) (EMERG)
Jack Ziebell (NTH) (EMERG)

Just on the Kerr point, the reason that players in his price range are tricky is trade flexibility.

Imagine you have three players, Gibbs, Kerr & Higgins let us say, each of whom you expect to improve upon his 08 average.

You can pick Gibbs because if he improves on his average he's a keeper and that's that. You're getting money's worth and also saving a trade.

You can pick Higgins because he's going to be a cash cow, and is priced very well so that a rise from Higgins, a temporary dip from a midfield elite, and a little spare cash will translate into an easy trade.

You can pick Kerr, but he's unlikely to rise as much as a Higgins type, and he's unlikely to be a keeper (unlike a Gibbs type). Therefore, even though you're going to make money off Kerr, you're likely going to have to use up a trade upgrading him to an elite. And unlike Higgins' situation where at least the trade is a bona fide upgrade (and you can't play DT without pulling those type of trades), you're instead looking at a half-sideways trade (eg Kerr at 380k for Ablett at say 450k). In this situation you're still getting the most out of your money (Kerr wise) but you're losing out on trades - my view is that if you're going to be trading, you should be maximising each trade so that it's a full upgrade.

The flip side of this is that having midfield mid-priced guys like Kerr instead of Gibbs will free up some money to not have to start a rookie like Rich in your midfield. This should give you some peace of mind. But imo having Gibbs in there, outscoring Kerr from the getgo, and then having an extra half trade to use later in the season is a better strategy.

Good points KID A. But for me, that middle ground price range (between gibbs and higgins) is where you can find DT gold - players who have a breakout and can become keepers, saving you money and trades. While i dont think kerr rates in this category, and you can often be left with a player like gibbs in 2008 who was probably 5ppg from being a keeper, this is where alot of value lies IMO, and therefore shouldnt be disaregarded.

For your mid pricers, simply pick the players who are definately in their teams best 22, and have the highest ratio of Reward:Risk.

Backs: Goddard, Cornes, Houli, Ellis, Malceski, Houlihan, Raines (Hill, Suban)
Mids: Ablett, Swan, Gibbs, Masten, Grigg, Rich (Davenport, Robinson)
Rucks: Cox, Sandilands (Currie, Sellar)
Forwards: Deledio, Franklin, Didak, Davey, Higgins, Ziebell, Thompson (Grant, Gumbleton)