Dream Team Squads Part 2

Gilbee IMO is too inconsistant, gets scored of 40, 50 and 60 too often to justify sending that much. Cotchin is injured so a big risk, although still a risk, i would swap him for Ward, get about 120 000 extra and invest in Hodge with around 20000 to burn.

Gilbee has had a very good pre-season and looks much bigger/fitter than he did last year. Also in the nab cup game it appeared that Gilbee spent more of his time up the ground around the midfield/forward area. This could be a possilbe role change, allowing him to get more of the ball and use his deadly kicking to great effect. If this change is perminent then it could see Gilbee's ppg rise quite abit compared to last year.

IMO he is a good/unique pick!

Gilbee has had a very good pre-season and looks much bigger/fitter than he did last year. Also in the nab cup game it appeared that Gilbee spent more of his time up the ground around the midfield/forward area. This could be a possilbe role change, allowing him to get more of the ball and use his deadly kicking to great effect. If this change is perminent then it could see Gilbee's ppg rise quite abit compared to last year.

IMO he is a good/unique pick!

Remembering that it doesn't matter how good the kicks are in DT as long as you get them (and marks). You sure it is the bulldogs fan in you? I often ponder if i am only picking Port players because i see them every week (at this stage i only have Cornes and Kornes).

Hey I was wondering if anyone could help me with my forwards stocks:

OPTION A:
Pavlich, Deledio, Giansiracusa, Houlihan, Higgans, Yarran, Sidebottom, Ballantyne, then either (Gumbleton, Hogan, T. Walker)

OPTION B:
Pavlich, Deledio, J. Brown, Houlihan, Higgans, Yarran, Sidebottom, Ballantyne, then either (Phil Davis, Gumbleton, Hogan, T. Walker)

OPTION C:
Pavlich, Giansiracusa, J. Brown, Houlihan, Higgans, Yarran, Sidebottom, Ballantyne, then either (T. Hentschel, T. Vickery, Phil Davis, Gumbleton, Hogan, T. Walker)

OPTION D:
Pavlich, B. Harvey, J. Brown, Houlihan, Higgans, Yarran, Sidebottom, Ballantyne, then either (T. Hentschel, T. Vickery, Phil Davis, Gumbleton, Hogan, T. Walker)

I'm leaning on Simon Hogan because some of his VFL performances aswell as the NAB Cup games I've seen him play have been very good my only doubt is if he will play enough games this year at the mighty cattas.

The other cheaper players are good and I am really thinking about this area this year.

Hey I was wondering if anyone could help me with my forwards stocks:

OPTION A:
Pavlich, Deledio, Giansiracusa, Houlihan, Higgans, Yarran, Sidebottom, Ballantyne, then either (Gumbleton, Hogan, T. Walker)

OPTION B:
Pavlich, Deledio, J. Brown, Houlihan, Higgans, Yarran, Sidebottom, Ballantyne, then either (Phil Davis, Gumbleton, Hogan, T. Walker)

OPTION C:
Pavlich, Giansiracusa, J. Brown, Houlihan, Higgans, Yarran, Sidebottom, Ballantyne, then either (T. Hentschel, T. Vickery, Phil Davis, Gumbleton, Hogan, T. Walker)

OPTION D:
Pavlich, B. Harvey, J. Brown, Houlihan, Higgans, Yarran, Sidebottom, Ballantyne, then either (T. Hentschel, T. Vickery, Phil Davis, Gumbleton, Hogan, T. Walker)

I'm leaning on Simon Hogan because some of his VFL performances aswell as the NAB Cup games I've seen him play have been very good my only doubt is if he will play enough games this year at the mighty cattas.

The other cheaper players are good and I am really thinking about this area this year.
Sidebottom is very unlikely to play round 1, unlikely to even get a NAB game so take him out. I'd go option A but take out Sidebottom.

Alright i dont usually post my team but I came pathetic 4000+ last year so I can do with opinions.

Backs: Goddard, Scotland, Cornes, Lockyer, Drummond, Raines, Hill (Rance, Broughton)

Centre: Gibbs, Young, Foley, Jackson, Masten, Ziebell (Swift, Cockie)

Rucks: Cox, Hille (Trengrove, Orreal)

Forwards: Harvey, Goodwin, Stokes, Roughead, Cloke, Skipworth, Ballyntine (Brown, Gumbleton).

Ive gone for 3 rookies starting (Ziebell, Hill and Ballytine). Skipworth, Raines and Jackson are my dodgies that i feel uneasy about. However they would be upgraded once the 3 rookies have been.

Thoughts?

B: Hodge, C.Cornes, Drummond, Dempsey, Frawley, Raines, Hill - Shoenmakers, Cheney

C: Bartel, Ablett(c), Swan, Judd, Hasleby, Rich - Hartlett, Dangerfield

R: Cox, Kreuzer, Naitanui, Vickery.

F: Franklin, Didak, Lovett, Gamble, J. Riewoldt, Skipworth, Ziebell - Sidebottom, Walker

What you guys think? not sure on some of the young guys..

Alright i dont usually post my team but I came pathetic 4000+ last year so I can do with opinions.

Backs: Goddard, Scotland, Cornes, Lockyer, Drummond, Raines, Hill (Rance, Broughton)

Centre: Gibbs, Young, Foley, Jackson, Masten, Ziebell (Swift, Cockie)

Rucks: Cox, Hille (Trengrove, Orreal)

Forwards: Harvey, Goodwin, Stokes, Roughead, Cloke, Skipworth, Ballyntine (Brown, Gumbleton).

Ive gone for 3 rookies starting (Ziebell, Hill and Ballytine). Skipworth, Raines and Jackson are my dodgies that i feel uneasy about. However they would be upgraded once the 3 rookies have been.

Thoughts?

What happens if Drummond and Cornes get injured and Raines or Hill are dropped. All of that sounds unlikely but is one of the reasons why i steered away from having hill on the field to avoid possible zeros later on in the year.

Quite a unique team so I wont tell you to get rid of this player for another player etc. Apart from that the players i would be uneasy about would be cloke, ballantyne and goodwin (although my mate assures me he is in for a huge year, although he wont pick him lol).

Hope that helps

What happens if Drummond and Cornes get injured and Raines or Hill are dropped. All of that sounds unlikely but is one of the reasons why i steered away from having hill on the field to avoid possible zeros later on in the year.

Quite a unique team so I wont tell you to get rid of this player for another player etc. Apart from that the players i would be uneasy about would be cloke, ballantyne and goodwin (although my mate assures me he is in for a huge year, although he wont pick him lol).

Hope that helps
Thanks, just as you were saying that i replaced goodwin for someone else. :)
Was having a look at The Chad and apart from last year he has consistently played entire seasons. Drummond definitely makes me nervous because I have crap backup bench players. Last year my biggest downfall was copping 0's in the backline so i might have to attend to that.

Backs: Goddard, Mattner, Drummond, Malceski, Houlihan, Raines, Grimes (Hill, Petrenko)

Mids: Cross, Tuck, Gibbs, Knights, Masten, Robinson (Anthony, Beams)

Rucks: Cox, Hille (Jacobs, Pyke)

Forwards: Deledio, Didak, Giansiracusa, Brennan, Higgins, Skipworth, Ziebell (Hogan, Thorp)

Thanks, just as you were saying that i replaced goodwin for someone else. :)
Was having a look at The Chad and apart from last year he has consistently played entire seasons. Drummond definitely makes me nervous because I have crap backup bench players. Last year my biggest downfall was copping 0's in the backline so i might have to attend to that.

Same problem I had. Saw me drop from the top 200 to 10 000 odd. Was disgraceful

What about starting ziebell in the mids and finding a suitable replacement for butler in the forwards?? saves you starting two rookies in the one position. ie you then have 6 options for your two positions on the ground rather than 4.

In theory it works but I rate Butler pretty highly and think Lucas is past it so it doesn't really fit for me. My philosophy is pick my players first and base my strategy around that, not the other way around.

Goddard, Cornes, Lockyer, Drummond, Houlihan, Raines, Grimes

Ablett, Cooney, Gibbs, Masten, Tuck, Polkinghorne/Rich/Ottens

Cox Fraser

Deledio, Didak, Stokes, Roughead, Higgins, Skipworth, Zeibell

Too many risks?

I think there is alot of value in the mid range midfielders, i know i have a few upgrades to occur but I reckon both Masten and Tuck will rise sharply, same with Higgins and Skipworth (without Welsh/McVeigh). Drummond is a risk but the bloke looks fit, brisbane love him so will push 100 every week therefore if he does happen to go down he should be around 380ish and therefore a straight trade should be able to occur.

Is it just me or are the mid value forwards shocking this year! Where are the Murphys Didaks Burtons Porps of last year?

BACKS
Goddard. Cornes. Fletcher. Nicoski. Grimes. Houlihan. Malceski.
(Hill. Rance.)

MIDDLE
Corey. Kerr. Gybbs. Foley. Tuck. Hasleby.
(Rich. Beams.)

RUCKS
Cox. Kruezer.
(Cordy. Graham.)

FORWARDS
Delidio. Didak. Roughead. Skipworth. Higgins. Gamble. Ziebell.
(Ballantyne. Walker.)

Thoughts appriciated.
Cheers.

Backline i feel pretty good about, i had a look at a few other potential players other than raines but didnt feel they belonged on my team, J.Smith was the obvious replacement in my books but ive had him before and didnt want to risk it again

Went the extra 10k and grabbed ablett rather than corey, i suppose if i was going to spend that amount i could justify it. Corey had been a proven scorer for me, and i could have used the 10k elsewhere. Traded foley out for D.Jackson, (After downtrading, B.Harvey for Davis then later to R.Murphey) I didnt like any other player in the +-30k price range bearing in mind i had up to 355k. Added rich lthough i havent liked his form to date, if polkinghorne continues to play for 10k more i will consider upgrading to him.

Sorry i typed it wrong, i actually have hogan rather than simpson, changed thompson to ziebell, and kept gumbleton.

Team now looks as follows

Backs
S. Fisher, Goddard, Lockyer, Drummond, Houlihan, Raines, Hill E. Suban, Rance

Midfield:
Ablett, Pentlebury, Gibbs, K. Simpons, D.Jackson, Rich (Polkinghorne) E. Beams, Swift

Rucks:
Hille, Fraser E. Currie, Spencer

Forwards:
Richardson, Didak, Gia, Murphey, Higgins, Skipworth, Ziebell E. Hogan, Gumbleton

jackson isnt in richmonds best 22 IMO, people say he is because hes had a big pre season but that fact is hes a replica of kane johnson in that he lumbers along, is slow, kicks backwards and sideways and is horrible to watch. if he was guaranteed 22 games id get him 4 sure tho as like johnson he will get a lot of it. the only good thing about him is he never gives up and tackles well but yeh dont like him. i also think foley wont get tagged as much this year as players like cotchin deledio and cous may draw sum attention away from him. also if these defensive zones dominate this year so will inside midfields as they will tackle a lot more and get a lot more footy as the ball is basically hovering around the half back line and midfiled for most of the game.

BACKS
Goddard. Cornes. Fletcher. Nicoski. Grimes. Houlihan. Malceski.
(Hill. Rance.)

MIDDLE
(Rich. Beams.)

RUCKS
Cox. Kruezer.
(Cordy. Graham.)

FORWARDS
(Ballantyne. Walker.)

Thoughts appriciated.
Cheers.

dont fall into the nicoski trap, i was victim of this last year. he had a big pre season and scored 90 odd in the first game of the year. then fell apart with injuries and low scoring games. stay away.

Ok fixed t up, team now looks like this:

BACKS
Goddard. Cornes. Adcock. Raines. Grimes. Houlihan. Malceski.
(Hill. Rance.)

MIDDLE
(Rich. Beams.)

RUCKS
Cox. Kruezer.
(Cordy. Graham.)

FORWARDS
(Ballantyne. Walker.)

Thoughts appriciated.
Cheers.

jackson isnt in richmonds best 22 IMO, people say he is because hes had a big pre season but that fact is hes a replica of kane johnson in that he lumbers along, is slow, kicks backwards and sideways and is horrible to watch. if he was guaranteed 22 games id get him 4 sure tho as like johnson he will get a lot of it. the only good thing about him is he never gives up and tackles well but yeh dont like him. i also think foley wont get tagged as much this year as players like cotchin deledio and cous may draw sum attention away from him. also if these defensive zones dominate this year so will inside midfields as they will tackle a lot more and get a lot more footy as the ball is basically hovering around the half back line and midfiled for most of the game.

Isn't Jackson supposed to be just about the fittest guy at your club? I heard he is going to be used as more of a tagger and that he has the tank and skills to do that and get his own ball. I would have thought he is pretty much guaranteed 22 games. I wouldn't get him only because he may not get that much of it if he is tagging alot.

Thoughts on my team would be appreciated :))

Backs: S.Fisher, Cornes, Bock, H.Shaw, Houlihan, Raines, S.Hill (Suban, Petrenko)

Centres: Swan, Kirk, Gibbs, Foley, T.Tuck, Hasleby (Rich, M.Robinson)

Rucks: Hille, Sandi (Currie, Sullivan)

Forwards: Delidio, Franklin, Gia, Lucas, Higgins, Skippy, Ziebell (Gumby, Ballantyne)

Goddard, Cornes, Lockyer, Drummond, Houlihan, Raines, Grimes

Ablett, Cooney, Gibbs, Masten, Tuck, Polkinghorne/Rich/Ottens

Cox Fraser

Deledio, Didak, Stokes, Roughead, Higgins, Skipworth, Zeibell

Too many risks?

I think there is alot of value in the mid range midfielders, i know i have a few upgrades to occur but I reckon both Masten and Tuck will rise sharply, same with Higgins and Skipworth (without Welsh/McVeigh). Drummond is a risk but the bloke looks fit, brisbane love him so will push 100 every week therefore if he does happen to go down he should be around 380ish and therefore a straight trade should be able to occur.

Is it just me or are the mid value forwards shocking this year! Where are the Murphys Didaks Burtons Porps of last year?

From what I've heard from Essendon McVeigh will be right to play round one (his injury is two-four weeks, so a Round 1 return is worst case scenario).

Personally, I really like the value in the forward line this year, but last year it was all around the 300k mark, this year I think the value is between 2-300k.

Anyway, I think your team looks pretty solid, provided Grimes and Raines get a game every week.

Thoughts on my team would be appreciated :))

Backs: S.Fisher, Cornes, Bock, H.Shaw, Houlihan, Raines, S.Hill (Suban, Petrenko)

Centres: Swan, Kirk, Gibbs, Foley, T.Tuck, Hasleby (Rich, M.Robinson)

Rucks: Hille, Sandi (Currie, Sullivan)

Forwards: Delidio, Franklin, Gia, Lucas, Higgins, Skippy, Ziebell (Gumby, Ballantyne)

Main concern would be the back half of your backline. Suban and Petrenko are still only an outside chance to get games (and I still think they're the best options, which really doesn't say much for the backline rookies), so if Hill doesn't play all that often, or if Raines gets dropped, then you're in strife.

Other than that, I like it.

dont fall into the nicoski trap

While I am giving advice, don't fall into the trap of believing anyone that posts their thoughts on BF.

If you've pick Nicoski for a reason, then stick to your guns. If you go back and research Nicoski and then believe what the person wrote as being correct, then by all means don't select Nicoski.

BACKS
(Hill. Rance.)

MIDDLE
(Rich. Beams.)

RUCKS
Cox. Kruezer.
(Cordy. Graham.)

FORWARDS
(Ballantyne. Walker.)

Thoughts appriciated.
Cheers.

yer that backline looks a lot better now

forward line a litltle weak.

maybe downgrade one of didak or lids to a mid pricer and then upgrade a higgins or a skipworth to another mid pricer. im not sure just looks a bit too weak.

BACKS
(Hill. Rance.)

MIDDLE
(Rich. Beams.)

RUCKS
Cox. Kruezer.
(Cordy. Graham.)

FORWARDS
(Ballantyne. Walker.)

Thoughts appriciated.
Cheers.
I really find it fustrating to see everyone get on somebodys board when they have 1 good game.
I have always been a fan of Roughead, and now that he looks in great form and shape (still dont forget that Buddy wasnt there) I am reconsidering him.

So for Grimes, I think he is a bit too expensive but he could be alright for a bencher as I rekon he will play more games then Hill. Remember that 40k is alot though.

I would consider downgrading Hasleby/Tuck to a cheap rookie who looks to play alot eg. Polkinghorne. This will alow you to upgrade Kruezer to atleast McIntosh.

As for that, I think your team is good. Your forward line isnt weak at all, as your only starting 1 rookie.