DT Midfielders 2010

Unless there is a strong indication of the same thing happenning for Butler I wouldn't go near him.

I have heard the word around the club will be that he will be given the chance to move hrom the HBF to the midfield this season. With kerr being told that he will be used more and more up forward this season the Eagles need a mature player to protect their guns in Swift, Masten and co. This is where Butler comes in. As the above posts suggest, yes he will be played a bit in the backline, but not as a lock-down defender. As I have previously said the word is that he will used to help out Hurn when rebounding the ball as Hurn will start to get the forward tag. At under $300,000 he is a lock for me and many others.

I'd only consider Butler if there significant evidence of a midfield role next year. Unfortunatly I can't see that happening. West Coast have a truckload of promising young mids (Swift, Ebert, Priddis, Dalziell, Kerr, Shuey and co.) that would come before Butler. But still one to watch in the PS no doubt:)

His decision making in traffic last year was pretty woeful, which is why he was moved to the backline in the first place. There's just no reason he'd be moved back in the midfield. He's not a big bodied guy and he's injury prone as all hell, so using him as a "mature body" to take the pressure off the other mids isn't viable. He's consistently listed in either the back pocket or on the HBF in the 22s on the West Coast board. My many concern would be that many these teams have him fighting for a back six spot "Butler/Spangher/Brown/Selwood".

While I think he'll be in the team each week, I don't think he's ever going to get back to the numbers he was producing in our premiership years.

Just back to what was being discussed before about choosing 2 of Gibbs, Vince, Selwood, Pendles, Cooney or Boyd.

Gibbs - Averaged 107 last year and was 3rd overall on points to Swan and Montagna. Carlton will probably lose more than they win, but with McLean coming into the midfield, Gibbs should get less attention and win heaps of cheap footy.

Vince - Averaged 100 last year, but stepped it up late in the year. Adelaide will push for the top 4 next year, and he usually skips the tag because of Scott Thompson.

Selwood - Averaged 103 last year, 6th overall and he looks huge atm. He sucks when tagged however, so there can be a one off 60, but he will probably fix that in the PS. Scored 185 last year which shows he's a freak.

Pendlebury - Slight injury concern, but he can score massive and averaged 103 last year. Jolly and Ball will definately help him.

Cooney - Averaged 90 last year but over 100 in the last 5 rounds. Hows his PS going?

Boyd - 5th overall on points last year with a 104 average. So durable, never tagged and in a gun team.

Anyone wanna add on?

Which leading midfielder to pick out of Montagna, Swan, Ablett and Bartel is hard too!

I doubt Gibbs will get less attention this year, particularly if he keeps tracking upwards like he has over the last two years. He is a very good user of the ball, but he has been used more back of the centre than forward to date, which is probably why he hasn't had the attention of Murphy or Judd.

I see Vince attracting the No.1 tag at the Crows this year, but he is probably good enough to work through it. Plus, the Crow's game plan towards the end of the year was very high possession.

What are people's thoughts on Stanton? I think he is one who has the potential to become a super premium. At this stage, I have him pencilled in along with Pendles and Gibbs.

I doubt Gibbs will get less attention this year, particularly if he keeps tracking upwards like he has over the last two years. He is a very good user of the ball, but he has been used more back of the centre than forward to date, which is probably why he hasn't had the attention of Murphy or Judd.

I see Vince attracting the No.1 tag at the Crows this year, but he is probably good enough to work through it. Plus, the Crow's game plan towards the end of the year was very high possession.

What are people's thoughts on Stanton? I think he is one who has the potential to become a super premium. At this stage, I have him pencilled in along with Pendles and Gibbs.

Stanton is a good pick. I didnt have him at all last year.

my midfield was.

abblet, bartel, murphy, gibbs, cross, swan

and the guy i played against in the gf had stanton and stanton destroyed me.

If Essendon can improve on last year, and they should with Hille and Gumbleton coming in, then he should get even stronger.

My midfield locks for the year are Abblet, Gibbs and Swan.

I will build the rest of my side around these three

Cooney has been talked up as a potential premium, with 2010 being hyped up as his break-out year.

My question is, if this is the case, and he averages 100+, will this affect Boyd's scoring? And is having both of them risky? I pencilled in Boyd early on and I was wondering if having Boyd and Cooney is too risky?

Winning a Brownlow can generally be considered a break out. I mean, he's broke.

Cooney has been talked up as a potential premium, with 2010 being hyped up as his break-out year.

My question is, if this is the case, and he averages 100+, will this affect Boyd's scoring? And is having both of them risky? I pencilled in Boyd early on and I was wondering if having Boyd and Cooney is too risky?

It's an interesting question, and one of which i have actually looked at in a little detail. I did a correlation graph the other week with the pair’s scores from the 2009 season. Obviously i didn't take too much notice about the first few rounds due to Cooneys injuries coming into the season and thus a lack of a pre season for him.

2eydxmb.jpg

The graph doesn’t show to much correlation in terms of stealing points from each other, there are cases when one of them cracks the ton, the other may not score quit as well but it’s only a matter of a few points, not a big correlation.

Based on this and personal opinion, I don’t believe that it will effects Boyds scoring potential if Cooney was to average 100+. Likewise do i not believe that having both players in your team is a bad thing. The Western Bulldogs are a strong team and in the past few seasons have rarely been blown out of the water, so i don’t think you will see both players scoring low for many games unless due to form or injury.

Stanton is a good pick. I didnt have him at all last year.

my midfield was.

abblet, bartel, murphy, gibbs, cross, swan

and the guy i played against in the gf had stanton and stanton destroyed me.

If Essendon can improve on last year, and they should with Hille and Gumbleton coming in, then he should get even stronger.

My midfield locks for the year are Abblet, Gibbs and Swan.

I will build the rest of my side around these three

Essendon lost 4 very important players. Lloyd their full forward and Scott Lucas their CHF. Lovett one of the best eesendon players last year and Mcphee our swingman that filled important holes in our side.

Lucas and Lloyd didnt have great years but for inexperience players such as Neagle and Gumby to hold down these positions and perform well is unlikely. Gumby also has a massive IF around him whether he can get onto the field and once their can he stay on the park. Unlikely.

I also dont see much improvment in 2 of those players. Ablett and Swan surely cant get to 125 avg with the attention they recieve. I also think youll be missing out on alot of other value in the mids and also its alot of money going into one area. I finished last year with the impression of selecting Ablett and Swan from the start because they score so many points, but its about selecting value players, players that will increase their avg the most without having high amounts of risk. I think its okay to have one of Ablett,Swan in your starting side, as their hard to get into your side during the year and obviousily only one player gets double points each week in your side (captain) so why not select the highest scoring player for this position.

Essendon lost 4 very important players. Lloyd their full forward and Scott Lucas their CHF. Lovett one of the best eesendon players last year and Mcphee our swingman that filled important holes in our side.

Lucas and Lloyd didnt have great years but for inexperience players such as Neagle and Gumby to hold down these positions and perform well is unlikely. Gumby also has a massive IF around him whether he can get onto the field and once their can he stay on the park. Unlikely.

You highlighted the Ablett Gibbs and Swan portion DWD ---were you intending to comment on that? For my part I will certainly aim to get them all in if they perform as they did last year but there will surely be better opportunitiesa present themselves rather than pay their opening price. Trick is to position yourself to get them in as early as possible. I will be selecting a couple of mid pricers in the mids so the jump to these 3 guns isn't too great.

It's an interesting question, and one of which i have actually looked at in a little detail. I did a correlation graph the other week with the pair’s scores from the 2009 season. Obviously i didn't take too much notice about the first few rounds due to Cooneys injuries coming into the season and thus a lack of a pre season for him.

2eydxmb.jpg

The graph doesn’t show to much correlation in terms of stealing points from each other, there are cases when one of them cracks the ton, the other may not score quit as well but it’s only a matter of a few points, not a big correlation.

Based on this and personal opinion, I don’t believe that it will effects Boyds scoring potential if Cooney was to average 100+. Likewise do i not believe that having both players in your team is a bad thing. The Western Bulldogs are a strong team and in the past few seasons have rarely been blown out of the water, so i don’t think you will see both players scoring low for many games unless due to form or injury.

:eek: :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: wow thanks for that!!!

2eydxmb.jpg

This is excellent stuff mate! :thumbsu:

I have heard the word around the club will be that he will be given the chance to move hrom the HBF to the midfield this season. With kerr being told that he will be used more and more up forward this season the Eagles need a mature player to protect their guns in Swift, Masten and co. This is where Butler comes in. As the above posts suggest, yes he will be played a bit in the backline, but not as a lock-down defender. As I have previously said the word is that he will used to help out Hurn when rebounding the ball as Hurn will start to get the forward tag. At under $300,000 he is a lock for me and many others.
The word from where?

Opinions on Cooney v Gibbs?

At the moment my setup is: Ablett, Ziebell, Scully, Martin, Dangerfield with either Cooney or Gibbs.

I like the idea of 2 premium, 2 mid pricers and 2 rookies
2 rookies starting in the mids? Risky, what happens if they are duds (rookies) your season is over