Play Nice Dustin Martin to North | 31/8: DM signed at RFC for 1.3m/7yrs

With a poor midfield we should absolutely be pursuing Martin.

Salary should be realistic.

JZ/Cunners/Swallow(declining) are B graders, and Goldstein is paid very high as premium ruck - Martin better but with issues.

Summary. No i wouldn't do it.

2 premium mids, like Kelly and Shiel instead......cut where needed, and just pay a bit more?

Legit?

Surely a tad too old for our expected window.
Really? Our window should be when Ziebell, Cunners, JMac, Atley, Brown etc hit 28/29 and are in their prime. Fyfe is the same age as Cunners. Any later and we will be wasting a whole generation of players. It's why, personally, I'm in favour of trading early picks over the next couple of years for players in that age range.

Anyway, I would prefer Fyfe over Martin and, imo, he is the one we should be trying to lure over with our massive salary cap space.

Must admit what are we doing with the 2mil+ of mostly underforming veterans (not Spud, I'd have kept him over other the rest) now gone?

We picked discards from other clubs and no key signing FA, so surely must have heaps to spend?

Why do we have no legitimate stars in mid and just always picking up (handy) scraps instead?

Where all these massive salary savings going and what is our plan? (assuming there is one). If it's just enough to keep players, well......yep.

Must admit what are we doing with the 2mil+ of mostly underforming veterans (not Spud, I'd have kept him over other the rest) now gone?

We picked discards from other clubs and no key signing FA, so surely must have heaps to spend?

Why do we have no legitimate stars in mid and just always picking up (handy) scraps instead?

Where all these massive salary savings going and what is our plan? (assuming there is one). If it's just enough to keep players, well......yep.
I'm hoping that we're frontloading a bunch of contracts this year, because you're right, we don't exactly have a ton of expensive players on our list.
If we are frontloading, that would create an even bigger hole for next year and the year after, perfect to go after Shiel/Martin/Fyfe.

WTF is wrong with people saying they want him - he is an absolute flog of the highest order

no, he isn't. He is percieved that way because he had tatts/ association with bikie dad.

and believe me... we tried going across the "only nice guys" recruitment too after Cousins/Connors etc and now we have a group of players with no killer instinct..

I would also like to give a shout out to The Filth Wizard, pleas be gentle :(

I don't think he will leave anyway, but thats just me.

Cunnington and Dusty fendoff comp would be footy pr0n.

If Barrett says it; it means we arent getting Martin.

I'd rather Josh Kelly, I'd nearly say Fyfe but the amount of money needing to pay him would just be too much. I am not much a fan of Martin.....but I guess if you get Martin for 800k in comparison to Fyfe for 1.2m+ (as from what I have heard in the media that it would prob need to be that and Fyfe would also need to see a possible premiership)....well I'd prefer Martin but I'd really not want Martin at all.