Dyson Heppell - The Best

Surrounded by one of the best midfields ever. I don't think Selwood was taking the best opponent. Or the second best. Or the third best. He was running around getting touches whilst his superstar team mates took on the quality opposition.

Two can play at this game

Teammates make little difference when you get the footy yourself.

Well considering Heppell after 15 games has had more possessions then Judd's 22 games for the season say's more than you think.

No, it doesn't.

The reserves ones or senior ones?

Not sure why you're persisting with this, but if you knew anything about Thompson's and Geelong's selection policy when it came to fresh draftees, you'd know the amount of games he played was out of the ordinary.

And to keep his spot for most of the year in one of the most dominant sides is noteworthy.

Do you really think getting a game for Essendon this year is that special?

Yep Day will be a gun.

If anything you would questionn why they took Toy instead of Heppell. If they didn't commit to Toy early on in the piece I reckon they would have most likely taken Heppell in the draft.

I'm not sure Toy is going to be anywhere near as good as Heppell but time will tell.
Mate, GCS took Toy as a freebie 17yr old. They didn't take him with any of their draft picks.

Did you even read my post?

I said if they didn't comit to him early on (as a 17 yo) they may have taken Heppell in the draft. They weren't exactly going to take Heppell when they had Toy who can fill the same sort of role.

I love Heppell but that is a ******ed statement. Possession numbers have grown dramatically over the last decade so the correlation isn't there.

So true. Possession numbers from the last five seasons cannot really be compared with anything previous. That said Heppell still compares favourably.

West Coast 2002: 295 disposals per game.
Judd 2002: 15.0 disposals per game (22 games) / 5.1% of disposals (in games he played).

Geelong 2007: 384 disposals per game.
Selwood 2007: 19.2 disposals per game (21 games) / 5.0% of disposals.

Essendon 2011: 359 disposals per game.
Heppell 2011: 21.5 disposals per game (15 games) / 6.0% of disposals.

That said. Each has been great in their first season. Judd was a revelation at the time, Selwood settled into a premiership winning midfield with ease and Heppell has shown poise and class which is unusual in a first year player.

So true. Possession numbers from the last five seasons cannot really be compared with anything previous. That said Heppell still compares favourably.

West Coast 2002: 295 disposals per game.
Judd 2002: 15.0 disposals per game (22 games) / 5.1% of disposals (in games he played).

Geelong 2007: 384 disposals per game.
Selwood 2007: 19.2 disposals per game (21 games) / 5.0% of disposals.

Essendon 2011: 359 disposals per game.
Heppell 2011: 21.5 disposals per game (15 games) / 6.0% of disposals.

That said. Each has been great in their first season. Judd was a revelation at the time, Selwood settled into a premiership winning midfield with ease and Heppell has shown poise and class which is unusual in a first year player.

On that basis, Jack Steven at StKilda also has better stats than either Judd or Selwood and compares more closley to Heppel (Steven has just kicked a lot more goals)

But no StKilda supporter would be stupid enough to suggest he is anywhere near the class of Judd and Selwood.

Why not wait and see. The guy is hardly out of nappies, he may be a great or he may be an early developer.

Teammates make little difference when you get the footy yourself.

because somehow, magically, when you play as a rover or ruck-rover you "get your own ball", but if the place you line up when the ball is bounced is roughly 25 metres away, you somehow cease to earn your own ball; rather you run around "loose" picking up "easy possessions".

Never mind that wings and flanks are essentially midfielders these days. It is IMPOSSIBLE to be inside or win your own ball if you start on the back flank or the wing; however if you start on the bench and rotate through the middle, you do win your own ball.

Yeah, that makes perfect sense :eek:

On that basis, Jack Steven at StKilda also has better stats than either Judd or Selwood and compares more closley to Heppel (Steven has just kicked a lot more goals)

But no StKilda supporter would be stupid enough to suggest he is anywhere near the class of Judd and Selwood.

Why not wait and see. The guy is hardly out of nappies, he may be a great or he may be an early developer.

Which is exactly why I haven't put much weight on such statistics.

Luke Shuey.

you WC supporters are like a ****ing broken record :rolleyes:

We get it, you think Shuey should win. You have to go into every single thread and, despite the fact Shuey's already been spoken about in great length in a thread that a) isn't about Luke Shuey, or b) about the Rising Star; you still have to mention his name, yet again.

God it's boring

Jack Steven? What are you on about?

This is Steven's 3rd year ffs.

At the same point in their careers Judd won a brownlow and Selwood was already an established star of the competition.

Have a look at Steven's stats from his first 15 games and he is nowhere near the level of Judd or Selwood...or Heppell for that matter.

We get it, you think Shuey should win. You have to go into every single thread and, despite the fact Shuey's already been spoken about in great length in a thread that a) isn't about Luke Shuey, or b) about the Rising Star; you still have to mention his name, yet again.

God it's boring
I will change it up for you, Ash Smith is a smokey for the NABRS.

Not sure why you're persisting with this, but if you knew anything about Thompson's and Geelong's selection policy when it came to fresh draftees, you'd know the amount of games he played was out of the ordinary.

And to keep his spot for most of the year in one of the most dominant sides is noteworthy.

Do you really think getting a game for Essendon this year is that special?
Which star was he keeping out of the side? Kane Tenace? Joel Reynolds?

God it's boring

LOL.

You make it sound as though a discussion of the relative RS credentials of Zac Smith, David Swallow or Luke Shuey won't inevitably be interjected with 'Yeah, but Heppell...' Essendon fans.

God it's boring

If you want to limit discussion of the Rising Star or comparisons of young midfielders to Essendon players, head back to the Essendon board.

**** you West Coast supporters are a thick bunch.

What does this thread have to do with the rising star? If you want to discuss Shuey go to one of the rising star threads and discuss him there.

**** you West Coast supporters are a thick bunch.

What does this thread have to do with the rising star? If you want to discuss Shuey go to one of the rising star threads and discuss him there.

Because people bring it up in the topic? Because, sometimes, discussion isn't limited to just the thread title or the topic post? :rolleyes:

It happens with every thread outside of the club board. Deal with it. :cool:

Because people bring it up in the topic? Because, sometimes, discussion isn't limited to just the thread title or the topic post? :rolleyes:

So why are you having a go at Essendon supporters for sticking to the topic?

Gotta love the desperation of West Coast supporters for Shuey to win the RS. They bring it up in every single thread the can, even the ones that have nothing to do with the RS, then try and act as if they don't care when pulled to task.

Not fooling anyone at all.

People as in West Coast supporters? 7 pages and 98 posts of on topic dicsussion until the first reference to the rising star was made. I bet you can't guess which team the guy follows? Or the next off topic post after that? Go on, have a stab in the dark.

Dyson Heppell - The Best